Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Tasteful Patriotic Recording Yet
The Spirit of Freedom is a fascinating patriotic recording which makes full use of the power, beauty and richness of an outstanding men's chorus. After listening to this recording you will wonder why no record company has produced a men's choral recording of these songs before. Trumpet, drum, men's chorus and other instrumentalists teem up to provide wonderfully...
Published on July 8, 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of "The Spirit of Freedom" CD
Being a fan of martial and patriotic music, I have an extended collection of CDs covering this musical genre.

Having read positive reviews of The Spirit of Freedom CD, I looked forward to listening to it. Unfortunately, I was disappointed, not by the performance of the Washington Men's Choir (Camerata), which was excellent, but by the incongruous musical...
Published on April 27, 2011 by Andrew Logar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Tasteful Patriotic Recording Yet, July 8, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
The Spirit of Freedom is a fascinating patriotic recording which makes full use of the power, beauty and richness of an outstanding men's chorus. After listening to this recording you will wonder why no record company has produced a men's choral recording of these songs before. Trumpet, drum, men's chorus and other instrumentalists teem up to provide wonderfully authentic arrangements of Yankee Doodle (including all verses) and Chester (which was the founding father's choice for our National Anthem). All of the service songs are here -- and the fact that they are performed by such a wonderful men's chorus (as opposed to the mixed choruses in the Shaw and Morman Tabernacle recordings) finally gives these songs the authentic flavor they so richly deserve. In addition to these songs are the complete National Anthem (4 verses including one written by Oliver Wendell Holmes), the Navy Hymn and an absolutely stunning performance of the National Hymn ("God of Our Fathers"), which makes use of an unbelievable trumpet obligato based upon Copland's "Simple Gifts." The only weak link in the collection is an overblown arrangment of the "Battle Hymn of the Republic" by the Camerata's Director. Despite the "Battle Hymn," the disk is by far the most tasteful recording of patriotic songs yet and the liner notes are a history lesson in and of themselves. After listening to the offerings by Shaw and many others, I am convinced that this is the Patriotic Recording against which all others should be measured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Patriotic Recording Ever!, May 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
The Spirit of Freedom is the definitive recording of American Patriotic songs! Nothing else compares - neither the Morman Tabernacle nor Shaw recordings even come close to this superb disc. For performance quality and repertoire - this is truly the best recording available. The "Navy Hymn," "Hail to the Cheif" and the "National Hymn" are truly amazing and are among my personal favorites. This is a disc that no American family or child should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Recording of "Hail to the Chief", November 7, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
The Washington Camerata's great male sound is perfect for patriotic music. I especially like the renditions of the military songs, the "Navy Hymn" and a stirring "Hail to the Chief" (with trumpet and drums)- all of which place this recording way above the competition. I imagine that whoever wins the presidential election will surely want a copy of the Washington Camerata's "Hail to the Chief."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic patriotic songs, November 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
Great CD with all the patriotic favorites from Army, Navy, Coast Guard and Marines. My parents, in their late 60's, loved it! Lots of the songs are those that we changed the words to in elementary school and laughed about. It's great to hear the actual words. Inspires awe, love of country and God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, June 16, 2001
By 
ROBERT A MCGOVERN (HENDERSON, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
A well organized CD with very appropriate selections for anyone who wants to seriously listen to patriotic music. This item competes with like selections performed by the Mormon Tabernacle Choir which is also quite good, but The Spirit of Freedom is all male which adds something different to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spirit of Freedom: Very Good CD, July 12, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
I won't rehash some points other reviews above have covered. This music reminds me of some of the music used in Tom Clancy films. "America The Beautiful" arrangement sounds somewhat mournful but is stirring. I think it is appropriate considering what our country has been through in the last few years. "America" (My Country Tis of Thee) is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captures the Spirit, June 13, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
I ordered this CD to take to college with me, and was not at all disappointed. It always lifted my spirits to play this and remember what it is that has made our country great. We've lost so much by not passing on our heritage to this next generation, and though my parents have done their best, I myself was unaware of these rich hymns and choruses from our history. This is a stirring collection, excellently sung and recorded. Anyone interested in enjoying the best of our past and in feeling the pride of our forefathers should definitely add this to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality performance, April 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
This is a very high quality performance CD. The trumpet and snare drum accompaniments are excellent. (the piano accompaniments, although well done, sound a bit cheesy.) My 6-year old son is probably one of the few kids in the country that knows all the words to "Hail to the Chief" because he goes to sleep to it every night. As many times as I have had to listen to this CD (and I am a professional musician!), the quality continues to sustain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patriotic Songs of America, July 25, 2004
By 
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
AWESOME!! This is the way these songs were meant to be sung. You will NOT be disappointed if you want traditional renderings by an awesome chorus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good choice of songs and hymns, June 22, 2005
This review is from: Spirit of Freedom (Audio CD)
This CD is a collection of good patriotic songs and service hymns very well sung. The quality of the recording is good, the songs sound good and the Washington Men's Camerata gives an excellent performance. A good CD to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spirit of Freedom
Spirit of Freedom by Washington Men's Camerata (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.