Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformational
As a pastor, I have read many books on spiritual development and growth. As a Christian seeking to grow spiritually, I have read even more. Like a previous reviewer, I would place this book on par with Richard Foster or Dallas Willard--perhaps even higher because it is so very accessible. I am particularly taken with the way in which the author links a person's natural...
Published on July 24, 2006 by K. Parsons

versus
27 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guide for Discipleship? maybe
I have read this one through, (college course) and I have found that it is probably pretty good for just that. I would not expect a person (even a moderately knowledged Christian)to pick this one up and understand the kind of word usage that Adele uses. It's alright some times but at others borderlines mysticism, in practices "Inner Healing," "Labyrinth Prayer," and...
Published on November 11, 2007 by J. Schack


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transformational, July 24, 2006
By 
K. Parsons (Berwyn, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
As a pastor, I have read many books on spiritual development and growth. As a Christian seeking to grow spiritually, I have read even more. Like a previous reviewer, I would place this book on par with Richard Foster or Dallas Willard--perhaps even higher because it is so very accessible. I am particularly taken with the way in which the author links a person's natural desires with his or her best choice of disciplines. As all Christians know, it is easier to read about spiritual disciplines than practice them, and I have certainly been guilty of that. However, in the weeks since I bought Calhoun's book, I have read very little. Rather, I have been PRACTICING. And that says it all. Phenomenal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Synthesis of the Spiritual Disciplines, March 22, 2006
By 
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
As a chaplain in hospice care and for a professional sports team I am always looking for books that synthesize larger topics or "weightier" works and bring practical applications to the forefront.

Calhoun's contribution does an excellent job of presenting (succinctly) the necessary introductions into the spiritual formation practices that have been a part of the church for so many years. The greatest advantage for myself is the ability to use this book as a launch pad into other parts of the community that cover the various disciplines in greater depth or detail. And the practical aspects of the book make this a necessary purchase!

This book is a must read for lay leaders, an excellent resource for pastoral leaders, and a welcome addition to any church, school, seminary, or personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual Disciplines Handbook, February 6, 2006
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
Adele Calhoun has done a masterful job exploring and expanding our minds in the realm of the spiritual disciplines. This book is accessible and, at the same time, contains a depth of perspective and spirituality--quite a remarkable combination. I believe this is the best book on the spiritual disciplines written since Richard Foster's Celebration of Discipline, first published 25 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource for Spiritual Disciplines, June 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
Calhoun's book is unlike any other in this area. Although it starts like others describing what spiritual disciplines are and why they are useful, the direction Calhoun takes is completely different. Her emphasis is very strongly on helping us express our desire to draw near to God, and to provide a number of practices to try which may help with this goal. The book is essentially a `catalog' of spiritual disciplines, arranged around seven themes with the acronym WORSHIP - Worship, Open Myself to God, Relinquish the False Self, Share My Life with Others, Hear God's Word, Incarnate the Love of Christ, and Pray. For each area there are about a half-dozen disciplines (e.g. prayer includes breath prayer, centering prayer, contemplative prayer, fasting, liturgical prayer, prayer walking and others). For each discipline there is a helpful chart which provides a definition, states the desire or goal, shares some scripture verses, a summary of what the practice involves, and the God-given fruit that can come. For each there are also reflection questions (for yourself or group study), spiritual exercises, and a list of related resources for more information. Linear-thinkers or those with a more analytical bent may want to also read other books on spiritual disciplines, as several of these cannot be adequately addressed in a few pages.

The author does a fantastic job balancing two objectives: to serve as a spiritual friend encouraging the reader to listen to their God-given desires to draw near to Him and point the reader in a good direction to fulfill these holy desires; and yet provide a thorough encyclopedic reference for the spiritual disciplines. Although some of practices may seem esoteric or mystical (and have parallels in other faiths), Calhoun is a very solid Christian and is not teaching anything that is contrary to sound doctrine. I would recommend the book for any Christian longing to know God better and looking to explore new spiritual disciplines as a means of spiritual transformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staying Under the Dove, April 28, 2006
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
If you want to "keep company with Jesus", Adele Calhoun points the way, through classic and modern spiritual disciplines. The disciplines, she explains, can give God's Holy Spirit opportunity to hover over our hearts-- just as he hovered dove-like over the waters at creation.

For readers seeking to go deeper into Christian life, or find renewal, or healing, or fresh insight, Calhoun's handbook will be a welcome guide. From Gratitude to Celebration, Prayer to Unplugging, and more, both the new Christian and the veteran will find thoughtful, original paths to walk with God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, January 28, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
This book is a valuable resource with spiritual exercises which enhance spiritual formation. I'd highly recommend it for ministers, counselors, pastors, spiritual directors/mentors and small group leaders. Exercises can be used in a group or with individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, practical entrypoint into spiritual disciplines, November 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
Adele Ahlberg Calhoun does the world a great favor with this handbook. She takes the often esoteric world of spiritual disciplines and provides a means to meaningfully engage them. However, she does this without diminishing the disciplines by making them easy "steps to maturity" or the like. This book is accessable. It can be followed from front-to-back, or simply used to engage specific disciplines. Anyone who takes the Bible seriously sees the importance of spiritual discipline in the life of mature followers of Jesus. This handbook is the place to start on such a path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book on spiritual disciplines, May 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
We have been using this book as a basis for a Lenten Study Group on Spiritual Disciplines. The laity and myself have found it to be engaging and like the format which suggests practical applications for each spiritual discipline. GREAT BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, June 8, 2009
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever owned. I want to buy one for everyone I know! We have a small group that studied many of the disciplines using this book as a guide and it was a great tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good resource for small groups, May 17, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us (Paperback)
I downloaded a free sample of this book on my Kindle, and then decided after reading the introduction that I would prefer to buy the hard copy. Once the book arrived, however, I realized that I didn't actually need it at all...browsing the book only confirmed my suspicions that I already KNOW a lot about spiritual disciplines...now I need to start putting these things into practice. I think this book would be a great resource for small groups wanting to deepen the worship life of their congregation within an intimate, supportive community. The most interesting parts of this book for me were actually the introduction and then appendices at the end. The appendices include:

-A Spiritual Growth Planner for those who aren't sure yet which discipline they would like to focus on
-An outline for an 8-week sermon series
-Suggestions for spiritual mentors
-Outlines for small group study meetings
-A comprehensive and descriptive list of the names of God for meditation
-Suggestions for putting the scriptural "one anothers" into practice
-Postures for prayer
-Suggestions for bonding hours with God
-Suggestions for Fasting Prayer for the church
-Discussion on spiritual "seasons, stages, and ages"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us
Spiritual Disciplines Handbook: Practices That Transform Us by Adele Ahlberg Calhoun (Paperback - October 19, 2005)
$20.00 $13.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.