Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book!!
Very rarely do you come across a book written with such wisdom, humility, thoughtfulness, passion and sensitivity. If spiritual matters matter to you, if understanding human psyche is a "passionate habit" for you, if the intersection between these two intriguing human phenomena always spark your intellect, and if you want to know how practical can complicated ideas be,...
Published on December 5, 2007 by Hisham Abu Raiya

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Escape from reality isn not an antidote
Religion and spirituality are not synonymous, but are unfortunately used interchangeably by many people, including the author. Spirituality is a connection with our deeper selves and our interconnectedness. Religion, for many, is creation of a fantastical being to solve the problems we cannot cope with or choose to ignore. It is truly unfortunate that many practitioners...
Published 6 months ago by Ron Beasley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating book!!, December 5, 2007
Very rarely do you come across a book written with such wisdom, humility, thoughtfulness, passion and sensitivity. If spiritual matters matter to you, if understanding human psyche is a "passionate habit" for you, if the intersection between these two intriguing human phenomena always spark your intellect, and if you want to know how practical can complicated ideas be, Spiritually-integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred is a must book for you. Throughout much of the history of the field of psychology, religion and spirituality, perhaps the most distinctive human phenomena, have been viewed from a stereotypic, narrow, and negative prism. "Mass delusion" and the "Opium of the masses," you know! In a gentle, thorough, balanced and precise way, Dr. Kenneth I. Pargament, an internationally known researcher in the field of psychology of religion, first challenges the basic assumptions of mainstream psychology with regard to the role spirituality plays in the well-being of the individual. Then, he brilliantly establishes the theoretical foundation of the whole endeavor by defining spirituality in an existential dynamic way, a definition that is also broad enough, and nonjudgmental, to be applicable to individuals from diverse religious and spiritual backgrounds. Drawing on his extensive readings, the empirical literature in the field of the psychology of religion, and his immense clinical work, he next evenhandedly walks the reader through the road of "hope and challenge" that leads to the integration of spirituality into psychotherapy. You will fall in love with this book! I can assure you also that after you are done reading this masterpiece, you will not wait long to joyfully read Pargament's other masterpiece, The Psychology of Religion and Coping: Theory, Research, Practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, December 11, 2007
In his book, Spiritually-Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred, Dr. Kenneth Pargament builds the case, as the title suggests, for exploring and utilizing a spiritually-integrated approach within psychotherapy. The author introduces spirituality, provides a historical framework for its place in psychology, and introduces why and how clinicians could address spirituality with clients. The author uses empirically and clinically supported illustrations to explain how spirituality can impact clients, as part of the solution, or oftentimes, part of the problem. Regardless of its nature and outcome, one point is clear, spirituality in one way, shape, or form, enters into the treatment room with our clients. As the author points out, it is now our challenge (and opportunity), to begin to account for and address this "3000 pound elephant" in the room. This book is edifying as well as a pleasure to read. It is filled with engaging, elucidatory and diverse quotes ranging from Gandhi to Kenny Rogers! Pargament draws on his many years of clinical practice, seamlessly weaving a plethora of salient, real-life examples with his knowledge as a research scientist. The vast resources and diverse citations used throughout the book reflect a large breadth and depth of knowledge that in itself creates a lens of spiritual and psychological integration within its text, while explaining the importance of this bridging in psychotherapy. Spiritually-Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred is a must-read for those who are interested in a framework for exploration of integrating spiritual issues into clinical care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapy, May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pargament strikes a chord between the disciplines of psychology and caring ministry. His insight and research are second only in his ability to express his insights articulately and with great sensitivity to psychological/spiritual dynamics. I have found this book to be milestone in my work as a hospice chaplain, and I highly recommend it to anyone who seeks to deepen her or his insight into the work of caring ministry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for pastoral counselors, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would like this book in hard-copy after reading it electronically. It is a thorough, but objective view, of how spirituality can affect individuals both positively and negatively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual Issues in counseling and therapy, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred (Paperback)
Excellent resource. Well written. Provides thorough details on 30+ scales to assess client's spirituality and beliefs. Very detailed yet easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written...good coverage of subject matter, January 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred (Paperback)
I reviewed this book for a course I am teaching on Spiritually and Psychotherapy and decided to use it as my course textbook. It covered the material well and his writing makes the material easy to comprehend. The author's wonderful spirit pervades this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Research based exploration of how spirituality has an unavoidable place in counseling, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Highest rating for Pargament once again. He brings to religion/spirituality a level head for both research and the profound effects of faith on an individual's pyschology. Easy to read and clearly written any pastor, psychologist or layperson will benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Escape from reality isn not an antidote, May 6, 2014
This review is from: Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred (Paperback)
Religion and spirituality are not synonymous, but are unfortunately used interchangeably by many people, including the author. Spirituality is a connection with our deeper selves and our interconnectedness. Religion, for many, is creation of a fantastical being to solve the problems we cannot cope with or choose to ignore. It is truly unfortunate that many practitioners of psychotherapy encourage their patients to create bizarre constructs to escape reality instead of doing the hard work necessary to deal with it. our minds seem to have the capacity to create all kinds of escape mechanisms. That is not mental health, it is delusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spiritually Integrated Psychotherapy: Understanding and Addressing the Sacred
$29.00 $24.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.