Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I Spit on Your Graves (Canongate Crime Classics) Paperback – January 1, 2001


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, January 1, 2001
$18.60
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Frequently Bought Together

I Spit on Your Graves (Canongate Crime Classics) + Discourse on Colonialism
Buy the selected items together
  • Discourse on Colonialism $9.58

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "Spectrum" by Alan Jacobson (available in paperback and Kindle book).

Product Details

  • Series: Canongate Crime Classics
  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Canongate Crime (January 1, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1841951048
  • ISBN-13: 978-1841951041
  • Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 4.1 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.9 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (11 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,906,241 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"In the tradition of Karl May and Franz Kafka, Boris Vian imagines an America even more amazing than the land he has never visited...A vivid and startling performance." -- J. Hoberman

"To Americans Boris Vian has long been one of the hidden glories of French literature...[I Spit on Your Graves] is a singular book, not for the squeamish, and not to be passed by." -- Jim Krusoe --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Language Notes

Text: English (translation)
Original Language: French

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Chris Ward VINE VOICE on April 8, 2005
Format: Paperback
If you've read James M. Cain and David Goodis and Jim Thompson and Charles Williford and like the dark, tough-as-nails paperback original fiction of the forties and fifties, pick this up. It's a postwar Frenchman's take on the dark underside of America, a place he'd never been-- so his imaginary America is even more corrupt than the stuff the Americans were writing. It's sleazy "realism" (that is: fantasy), with all the teenaged girls panting nymphos and all the men racist pigs. The jargon is just "off" enough to raise a smile (though the translation is probably fine-- I read it in English), and the behavior of our "hero"-- a black man passing as white named Lee-- is completely reprehensible. He hates _everybody_. Due to the odd nature of its authorship and its aspirations, this is an entertaining read: not necessarily a good novel, but an intriguing and entertaining one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 8, 1998
Format: Paperback
It's the book I always advice to people who read too little or who don't like litterature. And at each time they like it very much. It's really easy to read, the style is quick and accurate. A lot of action, a bit of sex... with the Boris' style which is different as usual, it's the Vernon Sullivan style less intricate but just as good. Now it's not still censored so everyboby should take the opportunity to read it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By OZGUR on December 10, 2000
Format: Paperback
This book is one of most important mile stones in Boris Vian's literal life, and a must read for B.V. fans. The book is banned in many countries because of its direct approach to sexuality and racism. It is a short book and one may read it in couple of hrs, I recommend it to viewers. I dont want to state my personal thought about the book not to effect th readers about the book. My advice would be to read it and attain some knowledge about the life of the writer to have a structural thought for the book
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on July 10, 1998
Format: Paperback
Boris vian was the lightest spirit of the french thinkers. This book sarcastic to death can reveal such aspects of life and human behaviour that you remain breathless.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Im going to spare you all the pretense that this is a great book for its structure, narrative, theme, subtext, etc (the usual literature hype) its a classic book about a classic topic, REVENGE. A black man who can pass as white performs the horrid to correct the wrongs he has been dealt (and his brother). If you wanna read a psychological thriller then read this. The nay sayers seem to be under the assumption that there are more realistic books written about the topic or perhaps they themselves have published something better and see fit to rate it so poorly.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Rowan on March 26, 2013
Format: Paperback
I'm half way in. Be careful reading some other reviews that spoil the plot!

My issue is with this printing, or rather, this translation. Although it mostly reads ok, there are between two and five errors on most pages. I would seek another translation. Mistakes include layout issues including line breaks, paragraph breaks, punctuational mistakes, spelling mistakes, amongst others. I would say that the translator has a limited knowledge of English. Sometimes I wondered if they used google translate!

Otherwise, the paper is quite nice, the book seems fairly well bound, but whoever edited this thing did a terrible job! I'm tempted to contact them and offer a piece of my mind...
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?