Buy New
$13.34
Qty:1
  • List Price: $15.95
  • Save: $2.61 (16%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it tomorrow, April 25? Order within and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Spit and Passion (Blindspot Graphics) Paperback


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.34
$6.78 $8.98

Frequently Bought Together

Spit and Passion (Blindspot Graphics) + Indestructible
Price for both: $20.89

Buy the selected items together
  • Indestructible $7.55

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Series: Blindspot Graphics
  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY; Gph edition (October 23, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1558618074
  • ISBN-13: 978-1558618077
  • Product Dimensions: 8.9 x 6.9 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #616,186 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Veteran punk writer and illustrator Road weaves text and art together in a charming and angst-ridden coming-of-age story. Cuban-American and raised in a traditional Catholic family, the preteen Road has a number of identity issues: she does not fit into her cultural mold, she finds salvation in punk rock, and she has a conflicted gender identity. Embracing her tomboy nature, Road begins to come to terms with herself as a gay woman, building a closet for her secret that becomes her refuge. Road's identification with her teenage self feels genuine, and her recollections of pop culture (both embraced and rejected) of the 1990s will strike nostalgic chords in readers of that generation. Road balances long sections of prose with pages dominated by art; her pencil and marker style, with images populated by strange and imperfect-looking characters, is well suited to her story, even if the ending doesn't entirely solve her identity issues. Grotesque images of dangling eyeballs and gushing brains reflect the alternative scene the young Road has discovered. Readers who enjoyed Alison Bechdel's Fun Home will probably empathize with Road's story of sexual exploration and punk rock. (Nov.)

From Booklist

As a 12-year-old in Florida, Road felt a constant call to hone her identity: gay, Cuban American, gender queer (although the term wasn’t then in her vocabulary), member of a loving and female-dominated household, miserable middle-schooler, and Green Day devotee. Her smarts and imagination allowed her to balance all those things by playing them off of each other through fantasies, fan letters to Billie Joe Armstrong, and the discovery that the school counselor could help her feel better about herself. In this passionate account of self-revelation, Road flashes her talents as a cartoonist and symbolist to portray herself slouching down the school hallway in gender-neutral punk clothing and tearing her eyeballs out and strangling them when overwhelmed. The tight narrative is depicted in loose yet detailed black-and-white art, which evokes a child who is not so much confused as provoked by others’ confusion. A brave crossover book for fans of Ariel Schrag or Alison Bechdel, as well as for readers of queer literature who haven’t yet experienced a serious graphic novel. --Francisca Goldsmith

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I don't usually like graphic novels--but I'm glad that I took a chance with this one! This memoir is an amazingly rendered, spot-on story of what it's like to grow up feeling like an outsider and then have your whole life be turned around by the discovery of a favorite band. There's too few books out there that handle both music/nostalgia and also real issues with any kind of depth or integrity, and this book succeeds.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Road's drawings are incredible and this memoir is such a sweet gift for anyone who has ever felt like a weirdo or an outsider. I highly recommend it!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa25e2cd8)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?