Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!
Okay enough with the "not for kids? really? comments" Yes you'd think with the ESRB M rating that would be obvious but people still buy these games for kids all the time. Grand Theft Auto, Saints Row, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed, Borderlands, Mortal Kombat... all of them rated M for Mature and all of them flooded with kids that sound like 12 year olds. So yeah I feel...
Published on November 23, 2010 by Will and/or Caroline C.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, but not without merits.
Splatterhouse is one of those games you just can't expect too much from. It is average by pretty much every scale. It has entertainment value, but it's undermined by some nasty flaws.

A major issue is the loading times... the amount of time you spend waiting on this game to do something is ridiculous. Nothing kills the gaming mood more than having to waiting on...
Published on April 3, 2012 by Zombie Kermit


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR CHILDREN!!!, November 23, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Okay enough with the "not for kids? really? comments" Yes you'd think with the ESRB M rating that would be obvious but people still buy these games for kids all the time. Grand Theft Auto, Saints Row, Call of Duty, Assassin's Creed, Borderlands, Mortal Kombat... all of them rated M for Mature and all of them flooded with kids that sound like 12 year olds. So yeah I feel it valid to still say not for kids.

First off this game is in absolutely ZERO ways for children... blood, gore, violence, language and nudity. Seriously the opening movie is detailed in a way I've never seen in a videogame. Main character wakes up in pool of his own blood, tries to get up and his guts spill all over the floor, not a gush of blood... his guts. Instead of finding little trinkets or packages hidden around you find pieces of nude pictures of the main character's girlfriend that get pieced together in the "collectibles" section of the menu.

I'm writing this game as a fan (not die hard) of the Splatterhouse franchise since I grew up with it. I was going to wait off until this game came down in price but I found out that it would have the original 3 splatterhouse games unlockable and that warranted a release day purchase for myself. Basically the game plays about as expected... take a classic side scroller beat 'em up and convert it into a 3rd person 3D brawler without changing the overall plot very much (guy searches haunted mansion full of beasts and other vicious looking monster type enemies to save girl). Appeal to the mature audiences by cranking up the gore and blood to cover the floor and walls (and screen), then just for good measure make the collectible items in the game torn up nude pictures of the large breasted blonde female character love interest of the game scattered about the levels.

Overall story is written by comic writer Gordon Rennie (Judge Dredd) and has a all metal soundtrack: Lamb of God, Mastadon, Five Finger Death Punch, and more.

Splatterhouse is what you'd expect... pretty much a summer horror action flick in the form of a game. It's not an artsy game in the slightest and appeals to everything that people try to deny liking. At worst it's a monument to the lack of creativity in the game market & at it's best it's a guilty pleasure for nostalgic gamers. But hey, I like it so far ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I expected., November 26, 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I have been following this game since Bottle Rocket was still tinkering with it, and I have to say, I think the wait was worth it.

Controls: 3.5/5, my two biggest problems are a problematic camera and I cannot seem to just block without rolling around. I am a twitch individual though, so the latter of these issues can probably be forgiven.
Story: 4.5/5, it's a B-movie turned into a video game. Mindless gore, violence, and nudity everywhere, and they never take themselves that seriously. It's wonderful.
Graphics: 4/5, I have seen better graphics, but they never promised to break the mold. I like the damage effects as you lose health though.
Sound: 4/5, a pleasant mix of death metal and orchestral music do a good job at setting the pace for brawling, boss battling, and platforming, as needed.

Pros
+ Hyperviolent, not enough games revel in this like they should. It's almost impossible to take seriously, except there is a lot of pretty graphic violence. I'd be impressed if you couldn't tell that from the box though.
+ Great voice acting from Jim Cummings as the Terror Mask. You may know him better ask Darkwing Duck. YES.
+ Original three Splatterhouse games can be unlocked. I think very few people will be buying this without having played the originals, so this is a huge plus for them.

Cons
- Long loading times when you die.
- Quick time events that restart boss battles if failed. I don't know if all bosses have this, but the first one did and it was supremely irksome.
- Aforementioned control issues, but I may get better at the game.

Final thoughts
I am enjoying this game thoroughly. There is a point in the first level where you get your arm ripped off, and proceed to beat enemies to death with it. That pretty much sets the pace for the game. That being said, I will not be turning to this game for deep, introspective musings about the state of the world. Unless that state involves monsters.

Overall, 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Title that flew under the radar, November 29, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
A title that seemed one of the big dogs at E3 when it was announced but then flew right under the market. I completely forgot about this game until I heard about it being on sale and picked it up for a modest $8. For $60 bucks, I could see myself being a little disappointed, but for $40 and below its one hell of a bargain.

The storyline is involving, and really draws you in. As you learn more about the estate and the people involved, you begin to see cut scenes from your past that slowly piece together why exactly you are in the situation you are in. Lots of collectibles and unlockables, so it gives you reason to replay the campaign. In addition to these, as you slaughter countless enemies, you rack up BLOOD points which you use to learn new skills and enhance your abilities. If a portion of the story is giving you an increasingly hard time (and trust me, there are sections that are extremely difficult) you can always grind a couple levels before and rank up your skill so the harder portion is easier to beat. (Have yet to do this myself but I know the option is available.)

What shocked me most is how well the story is told. In addition to the survival horror elements the gameplay provides, the eerie atmosphere perpetuated by the environment keeps you on your toes, while the narration of the Terror Mask relaxes with you with temporary comedic relief. Its an experience in itself how the game constantly sways your mood through the proper use of comedy, horror, and drama that the story seamlessly blends.

If you are looking for a complex and intricate experience, you are looking at the wrong title. If you want a couple months of fun and some good laughs, don't hesitate to pick this up, for the price its at now, its unbeatable.

Did I mention you can also unlock the previous 3 splatterhouse games? Yeah, they're there too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing back a blast from the past, August 27, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Many of the old gamers remember the Arcade/Turbo Grafix 16 version of the game. Fast Forward many years later, here comes the Modern day version of a classic. I believe this game is a remake of the previous.

First off, let me say this game is as the title says. Avoid this game for the wee tikes. The game is action packed horror. Bashing & smashing monster mutations along the way while trying to find the fate of your girl friend. A little trite, but classic.

THE GOOD: Story line is pretty solid. I love the relationship between the mask and it's host. It's entertainment. The power-ups & skill improvement make some brutal thrashing-combos. The boss fights are interesting as well as creative.

THE BAD: The only thing that I questioned was the controlling. On the XBOX 360, I found it a little "delayed" at times. I came out victorious, so the controlling issue was forgiving.

This game isn't for everyone, so if you're a huge fan of the horror/gore genre, then the game is right up your alley. What makes this game even better is that when you accomplish certain goals in the game, you can unlock the original three classic games. They really did this title justice, and then some. Since this game has been out for a while, the price makes this title worth while!

Play this game, & unleash hell. One things for sure: never a dull moment for this title..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never has a house been this splattered..., June 26, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you're looking to buy Splatterhouse, either for the nostalgia associated with the 16-bit originals or because you like seeing a burly dude rip zombies in half, expect a fun ride. What you should not expect is a genre-changing masterpiece of highbrow art. This game is the equivalent of watching B-grade slasher flicks while drinking cheap beer - it's as fun and obnoxious as it is crude and shameless.

The story has the substance of cotton candy, and that's what makes it so entertaining: you're a college dweeb (in a Mastodon shirt, heck yeah!) who dons a mask (similar to one worn by Crystal Lake's infamous one man abattoir) to both save his life and help him save his girlfriend from a Lovecraft-inspired madman and his gang of nasties. In the process, you become a lumbering beef-puppet that the mask (a sentient wise-apple voiced by the inimitable Jim Cummings) uses to enact its own revenge.

You punch, grind, slash, and disembowel (literally, ick) your way through the dusty halls of a mansion, post-apocalyptic city streets (complete with a broken Statue of Liberty, you maniacs!), twisted carnival attractions, and temple dungeons in your quest to spill as much blood as possible to not only save your best girl, but to also upgrade your skills. The more blood that gushes, the more powerful you become. And oh, how the blood gushes.

As fun as it is to forcibly rend the heads from your opponents and huck them at other opponents, it can sadly grow tedious. There is very little diversity in the monsters you fight, and palate swaps are abound. You'll also only be able to watch the same cut-scene where you tear the arms off of a zombie clown while gore covers the screen before your eyes glaze over. There are some neat features, such as your body visibly taking damage as your health wears down (you can even lose an arm and then use it as a weapon!) and your sneakers squeaking when you end a sprint.

To avoid too much of the same thing, the game has moments of 2D that make you wistful for the games of yore. On the subject of 2D games, all three of the original Splatterhouse games are available as in-game rewards. As if that isn't enough, you can unlock smutty pictures of your girlfriend by finding their pieces scattered in easy- and not-so-easy-to-find areas throughout the game. Hooray for 3D-rendered boobies!

The game is really short, but in contrast has unreasonably long load times. Even installing the game doesn't cut down the loading, which in some cases was long enough for me to take a pee break and still have to wait. There's little replay value aside from finding missed collectibles and hunting achievements, and the arena-style mini-game is really only worth playing if you're a completionist.

All in all, Splatterhouse is campy fun and is more than worth worth the bargain-bin price. Ask yourself how many games let you smash a 2x4 over the head of a slimy monster oozing questionable fluids and have chainsaw duels with meat monsters. Just this one, so click the "Buy Now" button and have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome remake of a classic!, November 6, 2011
By 
darq85 (michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When i heard a while back that namco had remade splatterhouse for the 360 i knew i had to have it! I was always a big fan of part 2 and especially part 3 on the genesis years ago, and i couldnt believe how low key they kept this great remake. Its bloody gory violent adult beat em up fun fest! Loved how some of the levels reverted to its 2d roots out of no where, really added nostalgia that only a older gamer who played the first versions wouldve recognized. The naked picture fragments of his girl were an awesome addition, as well as the fact that the three original titles were unlockable to play thro the story mode, that was especially awesome to me since i never owned a sega master system and never had the joy of playing the original installment of this series. I reccomend this game strongly to any fan of the original series, and to any fan of bloodsport beat em up games, its very exiting challenging and interesting. Great job Namco!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disgustingly Offensive ... in the Best Way Possible!, February 3, 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Let me just preface this review by stating something that anyone interested in Splatterhouse should already know: this game is *NOT* for kids. Not even slightly. In fact, it is likely not for many people, though the reasons why will vary.

"Who *is* this game for," you ask? Well, fans of the original Splatterhouse games for one; fans of over-the-top, sensationalized violence for another; fans of straightforward beat 'em ups in the vein of God of War; and anyone with an affinity for the themes and styles of certain print and video media, including The Evil Dead, Dead Alive (among many others), and the literary works of H.P. Lovecraft. Splatterhouse delivers outstanding fan service on all these points.

For the sake of review length I won't go too much into some of the technical issues with Splatterhouse that other reviews have oft highlighted. Yes, the handful of side-scrolling segments can be frustrating and the insta-deaths here will feel unfair. Yes, the gameplay may become a little repetitive, though it never stayed this way long due primarily to the wide array of means by which enemies can be dispatched.

For me, the production values (great CGI cutscenes throughout), voice acting (top-notch thanks to Jim Cummings' demented turn as The Mask), and attention to the themes and inspirations of the original games allowed me to *easily* overlook any perceived technical shortcomings.

Splatterhouse is a must-buy for a certain segment of gamers out there ... and I think you know who you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars reasonable homage to the classics, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game isn't up to par with the older games, but it's worth the price at this point just to get the 3 old ones on the disk. Overall it's pretty okay, a bit repetitive with the quick-time events, and not terribly deep combat, but I didn't buy it because I believed it would be the richest gaming experience ever. I expected the game to be more or less what it is, a good beat 'em up with a horror inspired storyline. I didn't expect the humor to be as sharp, so that was a plus.

I'm happy with what I got out of it, but it does have flaws.
The controls are good, not great.
The game is repetitive at times.
The humor was unexpected and welcome.

If you're a fan of the originals, and you understand that that's not what the base campaign here is, you'll enjoy yourself enough to justify the price. If you have no idea what the original series is, you may not have as much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, but...., February 9, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I think this game is great. Offers up a lot of Gore. Old Splatterhouse games are able to be unlocked. Downloadable content is also available on Xbox Live. New masks and a few arenas are available for purchase. As far as gameplay, there is a ton of button mashing going on here. Some RPG elements with upgradeable moves and combos. Some minor platforming in the form of side scrolling. The camera tends to get wonky at times and can add some frustration to the gameplay. Loading screens can be very annoying especially if you die a few times in the platforming levels. Overall the game is fun if you can find it for a good price, I wouldn't dump $60 on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, Gory and Crazy Fun!, May 22, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Splatterhouse is a game that fans of horror movies will love with a little bit of patience. It has a few flaws, but still manages to be one of the most memorable games I've ever played.

The story, setting, music and characters are awesome. The voice acting is outstanding, and it's just a blast to witness unfold.

The controls and game play are good. This is not the type of brawler that just lets you win. Each enemy has a different strategy and like the old Splatterhouse games, you have to fight them right, or face serious repercussions. Your life bar goes down fast, and can go away before you know it, and that may turn some people off. It's not an unfair challenge, it just takes some time to understand.

Don't listen to the critics from so-called "PROFESSIONAL" sites like IGN, Gamespot and so-forth that have been PROVEN to take bribes for higher review scores. This game rules, and is totally worth the small amount of money it goes for now.

I totally reccomend Splatterhouse to horror movie fans, especially if you like movies like "The Evil Dead."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Splatterhouse - Xbox 360
Splatterhouse - Xbox 360 by Namco (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.