Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bit extreme, but entertaining
I recently bought this book and devoured it in two days. I found it extremely entertaining and thought provoking. Some people have called splatterpunk unnecessarily disgusting, shocking just for the sake of being shocking, but I don't agree. Once you get past all the gore, the only shocking thing about most of these stories is the messages they are trying to convey...
Published on January 3, 2007 by A. Kadijevic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Splatterpunks: Extreme Boredom
I was actually really excited to order this book, but what a let-down. The stories left me lukewarm at best. I don't think any of the stories were downright terrible, but they just weren't very stimulating, as I now can't remember one detail that stands out in my mind. But I do remember getting bored and dumping it off on the used bookstore lady in my town.
Published on December 9, 2009 by xillah


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bit extreme, but entertaining, January 3, 2007
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
I recently bought this book and devoured it in two days. I found it extremely entertaining and thought provoking. Some people have called splatterpunk unnecessarily disgusting, shocking just for the sake of being shocking, but I don't agree. Once you get past all the gore, the only shocking thing about most of these stories is the messages they are trying to convey. Incest, rape, murder - those things are shocking, and they happen every day. It seems to me that the authors in this book are simply trying to get readers to look at the horror that goes on every day and think about it, rather than just change the channel to something more aesthetically pleasing. Besides the seriousness of those issues, there are a few tales included in this book which should make you laugh out loud if you have any sense of humor at all.

I highly recommend both Splatterpunk I and II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will haunt you for the rest of your life, November 24, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
"Abandon all hope , ye who enter", is what should be written on the first page of this book. Abandon all hope of ever ridding your mind of the horrific images conjured up in this collection of depraved short stories, Richard Christian Matheson's RED, a mere two pages, is the most horrifying, discusting,perversity of circumstance I have ever read in my life;I have never forgotton it and still have periodic nightmares where I wake up screaming and clawing at the air... And I'm not even going to think about "Crucifax Autumn" by Ray Garton, it makes my gag reflex violently act up..... If there is one book to buy, or fear it is "Splatter Punks"..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still valid after all these years...maybe more so., June 5, 2007
By 
W.E.Wheatley (Texas, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
I bought this back in 1992 when a lot of 'gore' writing, or splatterpunk was still relatively new to mainstream; if one pins it down to Clive barker's Books of Blood which many do. But it still works today in 2007. To address some of the issues in other reviews, many of the authors do not want to be pigeon holed with a specific label such as splatterpunk, but they all freely volunteered their works for this volume. I think the issue is one of being labeled as an author, not an issue of what these works are solely unto themselves. Most of the authors voiced that they write many things aside from splatterpunk works, and they wanted that to be known. As far as not being extreme, as in extremely gross and overly graphic, that is a point addressed by the editor - that splatterpunk is NOT just about gross out, that its characters and plots are just as valid as any other work of fiction. Each author is briefly introduced before their story and the essay over the splatterpunk category itself by the editor is worth the price alone - particularly since all the copies are used and cheap. It's a fun, interesting and largely unique volume of horror that's worth a place on anyone's bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Splatterpunks: Extreme Boredom, December 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
I was actually really excited to order this book, but what a let-down. The stories left me lukewarm at best. I don't think any of the stories were downright terrible, but they just weren't very stimulating, as I now can't remember one detail that stands out in my mind. But I do remember getting bored and dumping it off on the used bookstore lady in my town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book made me sick and thats a commpliment!, March 18, 1998
By 
seanb@dolphin.upenn.edu (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
Many of theses tales made me uncomfortable with their depravity and sexual violence. However if you can stomach it -read on. The stories themselves are worth reading but some of the commentary in between is verbose. Not for entry level horror fans or the weak of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
If your into really eff'ed up horror stories....then this bad boy is for you! Really good book, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collection, September 24, 2013
By 
Tonto (Fort Worth, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
This book never flinches, never falters, and never lets up. These brave writers put upon paper the thoughts that you are afraid to think... You will not find any monsters here nor any demons but the demons that exist within us all. Remember in Hell raiser II, the guy in the asylum with the straight razor? That's nothing compared to the terrible things in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best anthologies of extreme horror, November 8, 2010
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
In case you don't know, the term "splatterpunk" came about in the mid-to-late 1980s as a term for extreme horror fiction. Now, extreme horror didn't necessarily mean horror literature with over-the-top gore and blood and all that came along with it, but often that's what splatterpunk became ... or was ... or is. Basically, splatterpunk was a sub-genre of horror that was a reaction to relatively meek, commercial horror. Horror author David Schow is credited with coming up with the term "splatterpunk" in 1986 at the World Fantasy Convention in Providence, Rhode Island.

Which writers are considered splatterpunk writers? Well, there have been more than a few, but the most notable are Schow himself, Joe R. Lansdale, Clive Barker, Poppy Z. Brite, Jack Ketchum, Craig Spector, John Skipp and a handful of others.

Today, the term "splatterpunk" has mostly faded away, but it still pops up from time to time.

Then along comes the book I'm writing about in this post, Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror, published in 1990 and edited by Paul M. Sammon.

Within this book's pages you find short story after short story, many by some of the writers listed above, that contain gruesome and shocking material. Yes, there's gore to be found here aplenty, but there's also a fair share of more thoughtful horror pieces.

But every story within will keep you on your toes and give you a jolt as if you've just drank a gallon of espresso.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gross out horror, September 28, 2004
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
This anthology is not for everyone, but it was a great way for me to discover some wonderful authors. I've read it at least 4 times, and I never tire of it. This is by far one of the best anthologies I've ever read.

And I've read quite a few... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! (*BARF!*) ...IF you can stomach it....., July 12, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror (Paperback)
This has to be the SICKEST, MOST REPULSIVE book I have ever read, yet it's still VERY scary and disturbing, and all of the stories and essays are well written. Pleasent Dreams.... HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror
Splatterpunks: Extreme Horror by Paul M. Sammon (Paperback - Dec. 1990)
Used & New from: $2.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.