Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's This? Napping on the Job?
You know how some episodic DVDs creep up on you one episode at a time, and some gather all their episodes and hit you like a fist? Well, not only did SpongeBob SquarePants Halloween hit me like a fist, but it also burst through the ceiling of all expectations (funny and absurd) to emerge as my all time fave SpongeBob DVD!!!!! (Until the next one.)
But seeing as I...
Published on September 18, 2005 by SpongeBob Fan

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a Scaredy Pants, buy the Season Sets!
First of all, understand that the content itself is 5 stars easy...it's Spongebob! The 3 stars is simply because these collections aren't as cool as the Season sets. The second release in the continuous line of Spongebob "themed" (compilation) DVDs, Halloween, includes 10 episodes that draw almost evenly from all three seasons of this awesome show. There's only one...
Published on September 30, 2004 by B-MAN


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's This? Napping on the Job?, September 18, 2005
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
You know how some episodic DVDs creep up on you one episode at a time, and some gather all their episodes and hit you like a fist? Well, not only did SpongeBob SquarePants Halloween hit me like a fist, but it also burst through the ceiling of all expectations (funny and absurd) to emerge as my all time fave SpongeBob DVD!!!!! (Until the next one.)
But seeing as I only have practically 90 episodes to go until I've seen all, that's no big surprise. But as Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost would moan, "Enoooough! Listen uuuupp......"

Scaredy Pants.
It's Halloween in Bikini Bottom, and SpongeBob has quite simply had enough of everybody scaring him. Now it's his turn for a pay back! And what better to be than a round ghost imitation of the Flying Dutchman in clogs? (Even though Squidward's pirate wear looks more realistic.) But he just isn't scaring anybody. Maybe a visit from the real Dutchman would be in order? The ending is hilarious, so all in all a good ep. - 8 outta 10.

Imitation Krabs.
SpongeBob's on constant lookout for Plankton and his schemes to steal the formula. So when he gets Squidward and Krabs out of the way (a day off and a rolling penny) and steps into a robo Krabs (reminds one of Krab Borg in a way), it's all the more confusing for the perky fry cook. Maybe 6 and a half hours of constant testing should be enough to wear the fake Krabs down... or is it? Kind of grows on ya. "Nobody moves, nobody gets hurt." - 8 outta 10.

Franken Doodle.
When a giant pencil falls into Bikini Bottom, naturally SpongeBob and Patrick are very enthusiastic. They manage to have a lot of fun with that pencil (Squidward even gets hair!!!!!!!) until the dreaded Sponge Doodle is drawn. He and the pencil now wreak havoc around Bikini Bottom. Will SpongeBob live to tell the tale, or will he meet the sharp (or worse, rounded rubber) end of the evil magic pencil? Sponge Doodle's language is vulgar, so I couldn't understand half of it. But still pretty good. - 7 outta 10.

I Was a Teenage Gary.
Squidward's "volunteered" to watch Gary for SpongeBob while he goes to a jelly fishing convention with Patrick for a long weekend. But 3 days of neglect is too much for the poor pet. So SpongeBob's shocked to walk in and find Gary half-dead. Squidward has to give Gary a shot with snail serum (the doc's too squeamish), but due to SpongeBob's carelessness, pricks him on the nose. Eventually, another snail is added to the populace... or even 2 if Squidward has anything to do with it? Catch the hilarious "mew the miaw miaow" ending. Meoooow, meooow, meow meow-meow meow... - 9 outta 10.

Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost.
Accidentally straying from an active game outside, a throwing shell accidentally lodges into the head of a wax Squidward (apparently it helps conquer all artistic media). Poor SpongeBob and Patrick do everything they can to save it, but to no avail. The problem is, they think it's the real Squidward, so they're shocked when a white (real) Squidward emerges from the bathroom. Now this is either time to evacuate the town... or for Squidward to have a little revenge on the uptake... if you know what I mean. A fantastic episode. Squid, can't get enough of him! - 10 outta 10.

The Secret Box.
It's small. It's a box. It's a small box. But inside is the Best Secret Ever! And SpongeBob will go to any lengths to get it. Even sneak under Patrick's rock. It may ruin a friendship they've had for such a long time and even made a Best Friends Forever club ring for, but he'll do it. I mean, what if it's an embarrassing snapshot of him at the Christmas party? Suspenseful, but not so much it kills me. - 7 outta 10.

Band Geeks.
Let's face it, Squidward's kinda always had a dream to be a world famous musician. So he isn't likely to pass up a chance to perform, at the Bubble Bowl, with his arch rival from high school and band class Squilliam Fancyson watching, in a hurry. The problem? He doesn't have a band. So he recruits everyone in Bikini Bottom at short notice. Will the band flop and crush Squidward's one chance of happiness into little tiny bite-size pieces, or will it be a sweet sweet victory? Genius. Pure genius. Addicted from first watch. - 20 outta 10 (I tried to make the rating meter bigger, it was that good!)

Welcome to the Chum Bucket.
When it comes to cards, Mr Krab's always taken Plankton to the cleaners. But one unlucky slip means that he lost the one thing that matters... SpongeBob's contract. A devastated SpongeBob is transported to the Chum Bucket, but won't make a single patty. Not even after an exact replica of the Krusty Krab kitchen, vibrating slippers, a pony ride, a bedtime story... Touching in the end. - 8 outta 10.

My Pretty Seahorse.
SpongeBob likes spring. Understatement. So you can believe his luck when he finds and tames a wild seahorse he calls Mystery. (Well, it was Mystery, Grace or Debbie.) But as it turns out, the Krusty Krab is no place for bucking broncos that eat every thing in sight. So it's either hide Mystery in the kitchen, or CowBob RanchPants gets fired! Once again, a touching episode, but only due to the bowl of onions on the desk. - 8 outta 10.

The Idiot Box.
Normally when it comes to ordering stuff, you play with the thing inside and throw away the outside. But in SpongeBob and Patrick's case, they throw away the inside, a brand new screen TV, and play in the outside, a box. Squidward is not amused or interested... until an avalanche starts in the middle of the box! How do they make all these sound effects? Is it the (makes rainbow shape with hands) imaaaaaginaaaationnnnnnnnnnn or perhaps, something more? Only one way for Squidward to find out... Totally funny, too cool, and if you don't find the racing car ending hilarious, you really haven't lived! - 10 outta 10.

Wait, I'm getting something...
Yeah. Apparently, Squidward's ghost is feeling unusually generous today. He has decided to spare ye a horrible fate if ye really don't like SpongeBob. (sssssssssssssssssissssss.)
So at least try this DVD out, and if ye do not liketh it, there is an alternative. All you must do is tend to my every whim, and tickle my fancy on command...
Now get this DVD. Now. Or thou shalt unleash the horrible wrath of Squiiiiidwaaaard........
(I think they make a cream for that now.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! But only ONE "Halloween" episode!, October 7, 2002
By 
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
My family loves Halloween and especially Halloween specials. So we pre-ordered this one. It's a great DVD packed with 10 great episodes -- some are aboslutely hilarious. But buyers should note that there's only one truly Halloween-themed episode. The other 4 are loosely "spooky-themed" (i.e. monsters, robots, etc.). True, it's labeled as "Spooky Sea Tales" but the huge Halloween type and pumpkin image can be misleading. Nonethless, is this DVD worth it? YES. The extra 5 episodes make it even more of a value. Should you buy it? YES! Is it funny? YES!! This is SpongeBob at his best! Enough reading. Go buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a Scaredy Pants, buy the Season Sets!, September 30, 2004
By 
B-MAN "B" (Earth, occasionally. Until I get bored.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
First of all, understand that the content itself is 5 stars easy...it's Spongebob! The 3 stars is simply because these collections aren't as cool as the Season sets. The second release in the continuous line of Spongebob "themed" (compilation) DVDs, Halloween, includes 10 episodes that draw almost evenly from all three seasons of this awesome show. There's only one episode here actually set on Halloween ("Scaredy Pants"), but some of the others do have a related theme. For example, "Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost" and "I was a Teenage Gary". Not to mention there's the hilarious "Band Geeks" and not one but two episodes featuring Plankton, which is always good. As I said it's not the content, it's the representation. Considering all of these episodes will be available on the Season sets I have to recommend that be the way you get them. The "Halloween" DVD offers 3 episodes from Season 1, 3 from Season 2, and 4 from Season 3. For a casual fan wanting a good taste of some choice Spongebob, I would say pick it up, but for us Bikini Bottom loyalists and wanna be residents, the complete Season box sets are the only way to swim!

Here are the episodes (next to each is the season number):

01. Scaredy Pants (1)

02. Immitation Krabs (2)

03. Frankendoodle (3)

04. I was a Teenage Gary (1)

05. Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost (1)

06. The Secret Box (2)

07. Band Geeks (2)

08. Welcome to the Chum Bucket (3)

09. My Pretty Seahorse (3)

10. Idiot Box (3)

extras: "Scaredy Pants" music video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spongebob Halloween Specials!, November 14, 2002
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
Enjoy watching SpongeBob SquarePants? Then you'll definitely enjoy his DVD "Halloween". It contains ten episodes on DVD(five episodes on VHS).
The DVD is featuring these episodes:
Scaredy Pants
Squidward, The Unfriendly Ghost
Frankendoodle
I Was A Teenage Gary
Immitation Krabs
The Secret Box
Band Geeks
Welcome to the Chum Bucket
My Pretty Seahorse
The Idiot Box
10 great episodes, a must buy for all SpongeBob SquarePants fans, or anyone who has seen the show and finds it amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, April 5, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
This SpongeBob SquarePants DVD has to to be the best one yet! it has a lot of funny episodes from different seasons of the television series. It's really original and the episodes are just good! It's a good collection of 10 episodes and it has over 90 minutes of fun. The special features aren't the best ever because they could have added more, but it's the episodes themselves why you should purchase this item. Below is the list of episodes this DVD contains and the grade I give them.

1) Scaredy Pants (Halloween episode) = A

2) Imitation Krabs = A+

3) Frankendoodle = A++ (funny!)

4) I Was A Teenage Gary = A

5) Squidward, the Unfriendly Ghost = A+

6) The Secret Box = A+

7) Band Geeks = A

8) Welcome to Chum Bucket = A+

9) My Pretty Seahorse = A

10) Idiot Box = A+

Trust me, you won't be sorry. Go SpongeBob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween!, January 15, 2005
By 
Cumulonimbus Harpe "samsmylife" (Fresno, California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
This Halloween compilation features 10 episodes each from season 1,2 & 3. A good selection of hilarious and scary episodes. Here they are:

1. "Scaredy Pants"(Season #1)

2. "Immitation Krabs"(Season #2)

3. "Frankendoodle"(Season #2)

4. "I Was A Teenage Gary"(Season #1)

5. "Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost"(Season #1)

6. "The Secret Box"(Season #2)

7. "Band Geeks"(Season #2)

8. "Welcome To the Chumbucket"(Season #2)

9. "My Pretty Seahorse"(Season #3)

10. "Idiot Box"(Season #3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has 10 EPISODES! Trust me!, August 22, 2002
A Kid's Review
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
Here are the 5 BONUS eps on DVD.
-Band Geeks
-Idiot Box
-The Secret Box
-Welcome to the Chum Bucket
-My Pretty Seahorse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Response to Redmond WA reviewer..., August 18, 2002
By 
J. OLeary (The Batcave, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
FYI--this DVD has 10 episodes on it. You were probably confused by the Amazon review above, which is a review of the VHS tape which only contains 5 episodes. The DVD has 5 Halloween episodes and 5 bonus episodes, so look--you don't have to fork over 30 bucks for 12 episodes, just fork over 15 bucks for 10! Also, the next Spongebob DVD has been announced for Nov 5 release--it's called Sea Stories, and will also contain 10 episodes. So come on, sign back in and give Spongebob 5 stars as he deserves, or you'll be haunted by Squidward the unfriendly ghost...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a HUGE guilty pleasure, October 22, 2002
By 
Because I watch a two-year-old girl almost every single day, I'm practically forced to watch cartoons on an endless basis. And while most of them are tedious to bare through, I find Spongebob Squarepants to be very entertaining for BOTH kids and adults! Don't expect this to be an educational show but rather something to laugh to if you're down or just feel like chuckling at some stupid, mindless jokes... I've been addicted to this show for quite some time now but had never seen a halloween episode before, so the second that I saw this on video I snatched it up and bought it as quickly as I could. And while all of these episodes are great, I was rather disappointed at my realization of how the newer DVD version had 5 extra episodes and how only one of the episodes was an actual halloween one!
I absolutely love watching Spongebob Squarepants (especially when the evil Plankton is present) but I've honestly seen funnier ones than these before. And while I find this collection of shows to be a minor let-down, I do recommend this for "Squidward, the Unfriendly Ghost".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahahahahhhahahahaha, February 17, 2004
By 
Alfredo Watkins "Fredo" (San Bernardino, Ca, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween (DVD)
This movie is one of the best out of all the spongebob dvd's. Its so funny to think of spongebob getting scared to death. Every episode is like a peice of gold to me.theyre just so hilarious. For 15 bucks on Amazon its a good deal to almost cry because of laughter. I love Frankendoodle where spongebob and his permanantly drunk/crazy drawing sword fight with pencils. And at the end of Band Geeks, where spongebob is singing i practically choked because it was so funny. my 5 year old sister brother dad and mom crack up whenever they watch spongebob. That's why my dad bought himself the whole first season dvd which I recommend. I don't see how I could write such a big review for 10 episodes....because its worth it of course. Anyways to end the review of the magical yellow funny lookering guy with his sponge shape and buck teeth...this is a great and hilarious movie for your whole family to enjoy and laugh their butts off too.
FINALLY..
Ze End
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween
SpongeBob SquarePants - Halloween by Tom Kenny (DVD - 2002)
$14.98 $7.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.