Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SpongeBob SquarePants Season 4
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 27, 2013
Disc 1: Episodes 61-65

Episode 61
Fear of a Krabby Patty-Mr. Krabs opens the Krusty Krab for 24 hours.
Shell of a Man-Mr. Krabs loses his shell.

Episode 62
The Lost Mattress-Spongebob, Patrick and Squidward buy Mr. Krabs a new mattress.
Krabs vs. Plankton-Plankton slips in the Krusty Krab and he's going to sue it.

Episode 63
Have You Seen This Snail?-Spongebob forgets to feed Gary and Gary runs away in search of a new home.

Episode 64
Skill Crane-Squidward tries to win a prize from the new toy machine.
Good Neighbors-Squidward tries to relax on his Sunday off.

Episode 65
Selling Out-Mr. Krabs retires from his job.
Funny Pants-Squidward tells Spongebob about his laugh box.

Disc 2: Episodes 66-70 and 72

Episode 66
Dunces and Dragons-Spongebob and Patrick go back into Medieval Bikini Bottom.

Episode 67
Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy VI: The Motion Picture-Spongebob starts his own Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy film.
Enemy In-Law-Mr. Krabs' mother has a new boyfriend and that's Plankton.

Episode 68
Patrick Smartpants-Patrick becomes super smart when Spongebob puts on the wrong head.
SquidBob Tentaclepants-Sandy's invention turns Spongebob and Squidward together.

Episode 69
Krusty Towers-Mr. Krabs starts a hotel business.
Mrs. Puff, Your Fired-Mrs. Puff is replaced by a more stronger teacher.

Episode 70
Ghost Host-The Flying Dutchman stays at Spongebob's House.

Episode 72
Wishing Your Well-Mr. Krabs builds a Well.

Disc 3: Episodes 70-75

Episode 70
Chimps Ahoy-Spongebob and Patrick help Sandy build the best invention.

Episode 71
Whale of a Birthday-Mr. Krabs has to make the best birthday for Pearl.
Karate Island-Spongebob has been invited to Karate Island to be King of Karate.

Episode 72
All That Glitters-Spongebob breaks his Spatula.

Episode 73
New Leaf-Plankton has changed his ways by selling nicknacks.
Once Bitten-Gary has been going around Bikini Bottom biting citizens.

Episode 74
Bummer Vacation-Mr. Krabs has sent Spongebob on vacation.
Wigstruck-Spongebob wears a goofy wig all day.

Episode 75
Squidtastic Voyage-Spongebob and Patrick travel around inside Squidward.
That's No Lady-Patrick disguises as a woman.

Disc 4: Episodes 76-80

Episode 76
Hocus Pocus-Spongebob thinks he turned Squidward into an ice cream cone.
The Thing-Spongebob and Patrick find a rare animal who is actually Squidward.

Episode 77
Driven to Tears-Patrick gets his driver's license.
Rule of Dumb-Patrick has been known as King.

Episode 78
Best Frenemies-Mr. Krabs and Plankton team up find the secret formula for a Kelp Shake.
Born to be Wild-Spongebob and Patrick fear of Wild Bikers.

Episode 79
Squid Wood-Spongebob makes a wood doll of Squidward.
The Pink Purloiner-Spongebob thinks that Patrick stole his jellyfish net.

Episode 80
Best Day Ever-Spongebob's best day didn't work out the way he planned.
The Gift of Gum-Patrick gives Spongebob a giant ball of used gum.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
While not the worst season of the hit show, you can see the shift in quality from the original three season. Ever since the movie(WHEN THE ORIGINAL CREW AND CREATOR LEFT) things have taken a turn for the worse. I would recommend you try those out if you are new to Spongebob. Growing up with the better episodes, (Survival of the idiots, Jellyfish Jam, Band Geeks) it is really disappointing that the show has fallen from grace. Don't get me wrong, this season is the better of the newer seasons, and is not as AWFUL as the ones to come. Coming from a life long fan of Spongebob, the REAL series ended after the movie as it was SUPPOSED to do so.
55 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I still love SpongeBob and even this season held more than a few laughs. I loved "Ghost Host" and Mrs. Puff, you're Fired", and more than a few others, but "Chimps Ahoy", and "That's no Lady", "Rule of Dumb" and "Driven to tears" were not quite my favorites for some reason, although I would still watch them, if only to see the better ones in this season. "Fear of a Krabby Patty" was an absolute riot, while" Patrick SmartPants" came off as rather dull. My absolute favorite in this season, is "Lost Mattress". While there are none that I would miss, there are some that I favor over others. While there are some clinkers, this is still a good season though not quite its best.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
This is a very interesting season to talk about, to many this is when the show went bad, During this season Stephen Hillenburg (the showrunner) left as well did most of the writers and directors, this changed the tone of the show and many left it as a result however this season is still good in my opinion, yes it has bad episodes and is of lesser quality than seasons 1-3 but there are still plenty of good episodes in my opinion.

Fear of a Krabby Patty: SpongeBob develops a fear of krabby patties after working at the Krusty Krab 24/7 for many days. This episode is absolutely hilarious, SpongeBob and Squidward's reactions to working 24/7 are hilarious and it only gets better when SpongeBob goes to Plankton for help, every gag works and is an incredible season premiere - 10/10

Shell of a Man: SpongeBob imitates Mr. Krabs in a navy party when Mr. Krabs' shell breaks. This episode has a great setup and is one of the few Mr. Krabs episodes not about money, it is very funny ,has a great plot and a nice twist ending - 9/10

The Lost Mattress: SpongeBob, Patrick and Squidward try to retrieve Mr. Krabs' mattress to help him recover from his cash coma. Like Fear of a Krabby Patty this episode is really funny though not as memorable as Fear of a Krabby Patty, also unlike in many later episodes the Squidward torture is funny because he is a jerk that deserved it - 9/10

Krabs vs. Plankton: Plankton sues Mr. Krabs. This episode has a genius concept and all of court jokes are perfect - 9/10

Have You Seen this Snail?: Gary moves away. This is one of the few emotional and heartbreaking episodes of the series and it deserves some real props for that, it isn't filled with jokes but the plot is fantastic - 10/10

Skill Crane: Squidward tries to win a claw game. This is perfect episode, it's hilarious seeing Squidward's reactions to this evil claw machine, all of the jokes work and similar to Fear of a Krabby Patty It is full of hilarious expressions, one of the few good post movie Squidward torture episodes
- 10/10

Good Neighbors: SpongeBob and Patrick start the good neighbor lodge. Sadly unlike Skill Crane this is a Squidward torture episode done wrong. The plot is uninspired, messy, and forgettable, SpongeBob and Patrick are so ignorant that it makes them extremely dislikable, and the episode is extremely harsh towards Squidward. All he wanted to do was to have a good Sunday! He did nothing wrong, yet he loses all of his Sundays to community service and SpongeBob and Patrick get off scot free. You can skip this episode - 4/10

Selling Out: Mr. Krabs sells the Krusty Krab. This episode is good, it has some funny jokes though not a ton, it has a good story and it gives some good character development to Mr. Krabs, not amazing but still good - 8/10

Funny Pants: Squidward tells SpongeBob a story that makes him try not to laugh. This episode has a good idea though the ending makes little sense. I like the banana peel gag though that isn't much, and SpongeBob's laugh is extremely irritating in this episode, it's annoying and one of the weakest episodes in the set though not the worst - 5/10

Dunces and Dragons: SpongeBob and Patrick journey back to the medieval ages. Wow, this episode is just wonderful. Not only does it live up to being a special by being really epic and grand but it is hilarious as well. One of Season 4's greatest gems - 10/10

Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy VI: The Motion Picture: SpongeBob tires to make the "real" Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy movie. This episode is a pretty great parody of the making of film and the reason for making it is truly funny. the movie itself is also pretty darn funny - 9/10

Enemy-In-Law: Plankton dates Mama Krabs. This episode isn't too funny but has a decent story, not much else to say - 7/10

Patrick SmartPants: Patrick: Patrick becomes smart. Seeing Patrick become smart is really cool. The humor also works really well and it actually has a good plot twist - 8/10

SquidBob TentaclePants: SpongeBob and Squidward become fused together. It has a cool premise and tone, the jokes aren't that funny and I could see someone finding some of them creepy, still fairly solid- 7/10

Krusty Towers: Mr. Krabs turns the Krusty Krabs into a hotel. This episode is excellent, so much so that like some other episodes I thought it came from seasons 2/3. The jokes are extremely funny and the magic of the characters are in full force - 10/10

Mrs. Puff You're Fired: Mrs. Puff gets fired in place of a drill sergeant. This may be my favorite boating school episode, the drill sergeant is one of the funniest one timer characters and like Krusty Towers every gag works - 10/10

Ghost Host: The Flying Dutchman tries to become scary again. It is an entertaining story and gives some cool character dynamics - 7/10

Wishing You Well: SpongeBob makes a well. I really like the jokes and the revelations at the end are fairly funny, once again like Krusty Towers the magic of the characters is enjoyable here. It has a decent and ironic song too - 8/10

Chimps Ahoy: SpongeBob and Patrick try to make a good invention to save Sandy's treedome: It isn't the best but the actual machine as well as Patrick keep this a funny affair - 8/10

Whale of a Birthday: SpongeBob buys Pearl gifts while Mr. Krabs and Squidward set up her birthday. This episode isn't perfect, Squidward is out of character, but the actual performance is funny and the mall gags work - 7/10

Karate Island: SpongeBob gets invited to Karate Island. I like the action scenes and the silly plot twist, it is an entertaining, action packed episode though not the funniest out there - 7/10

All That Glitters: SpongeBob gets a new spatula. This episode is stupid. Almost all of the jokes don't work (for the very few that are there except for maybe the doctor in training joke) the episode is full of filler, there is just so much wrong with this. Honestly it's hard to find anything to enjoy in this episode, it's annoying boring and everything feels wrong - 4/10

New Leaf: Mr. Krabs and Plankton become friends. This episode isn't funny but I like the story of Mr. Krabs and Plankton becoming friends - 7/10

Once Bitten: Once Gary bites Squidward Bikini Bottom thinks Gary is turning people into zombies. Not the funniest but the story is interesting and the plot twist is cool. Good stories and decent plot twists thrive in this season - 7/10

Bummer Vacation: SpongeBob tries to go to work during his vacation. The gags are quite funny and is a nice dissection of SpongeBob's love for his job, a neat concept with good jokes - 8/10

Wigstruck: SpongeBob gets a wig and shows it off. This is an okay episode, not many funny moments except "I Told ya that movie was terrible." the story is alright, not the best but not the worst - 6/10

Squidatstic Voyage: SpongeBob and Patrick go inside Squidward. I love the idea and the visuals but sadly it is ruined by Patrick's over bearing stupidity and jerkiness - 6/10

That's No Lady: Patrick changes himself and becomes someone else. It is a funny episode, not much else to say - 7/10

Hocus Pocus: SpongeBob and Patrick think Squidward turned into ice cream. I like the premise and some of the jokes but the plot could've been better handled, also random Wizard of Oz reference - 7/10

The Thing: SpongeBob and Patrick think Squidward is an animal. Like Good Neighbors this is another bad Squidward torture episode. Unlike say Club SpongeBob and Jellyfishing the jokes aren't funny, the story is so one sided against Squidward and he gets punished while SpongeBob and Patrick get away with no consequences. (again!) Not as bad as Good Neighbors but still poor - 4/10

Driven to Tears: Patrick earns a driver's license making SpongeBob jealous. Honestly this is one of the most underrated SpongeBob episodes, it often gets accused of being a Patrick's a prick episodes but I heavily disagree. 1. Patrick actually has a reason to be jerky 2. It isn't that bad 3. SpongeBob and Patrick make up and the episode has an extremely sweet ending, also some good jokes here - 8/10

Rule of Dumb: Patrick is found out to be royalty. I like this episode. Similar to Driven to Tears Patrick has a reason to be a jerk and is an interesting story. It has a very cool tone you don't get a lot - 7/10

Best Frenemies: Mr. Krabs and Plankton team up to take down kelp shakes. I love this episode, the Mr. Krabs and Plankton team up is awesome and kind of has an epic tone though I can't put my finger why, either way this is one of Season 4's greats - 9/10

Born to be Wild: SpongeBob fears that a biker gang is coming. It has a fun story and a few good jokes - 7/10

Squid Wood: SpongeBob makes a Squidward puppet to entertain himself which eventually almost replaces Squidward. The beginning is okay and kind of annoying but the end is lazily written - 5/10

The Pink Purloiner: SpongeBob thinks Patrick stole his jellyfishing net: This is a good story, has a good plethora of jokes and similar to Driven to Tears it has a really sweet ending - 8/10

Best Day Ever: SpongeBob tries to have the best day ever. I like the story, it actually would've made a good series finale - 7/10

The Gift of Gum: Patrick gives SpongeBob a big wad of gum. This episode is okay. I love the animation but it isn't that funny - 6/10

Overall I like this season. Yes it is weaker than seasons 1-3 but most of the episodes are good, some are excellent and the bad episodes aren't that bad. Heck the stories are stronger than seasons 1-3 but not as funny in general. Some the episodes I thought were from seasons 2/3 which should tell you something. I like this season and recommend it even if it isn't the best one out there

Final Season Rating - 7.5/10

Best Episodes
Fear of a Krabby Patty
Have you Seen this Snail?
Skill Crane
Dunces and Dragons
Krusty Towers
Mrs. Puff, You're Fired

Worst Episodes
Good Neighbors
Funny Pants
All that Glitters
The Thing
Squid Wood
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2016
I purchased this Spongebob season 4 because my toddlers love the little yellow guy. In fact, my entire household can sit around and watch the episodes. We were about to head on a road trip, and I knew that life would be easier if they were able to watch their favorite character during the ride. Having something "new" worked out, because they had seen all of their other DVD's time and time again, so it was nice to see some different things. These discs got the job done. I will definitely be ordering more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
no this is not for myself but rather for my baby brother of who would never let anyone sleep without his dose of spongebob daily... so for the price its worth it and honestly for the quick times ive gotten from this dvd set id probably pay double... good thing i didnt have to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
My son loves having all of his Spongebob episodes on a handy set of DVD's. We are working on getting all of the seasons so he has a full set. These DVDs are always a great quality and the packaging always looks neat. Definitely recommend for any Spongebob lover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
Who doesn't love Spongebob? I know I do! Buy it through Amazon Instant Video so you can watch it immediately and anywhere you can get on the web. I am slowly moving all my movie purchases to Amazon Instant Video. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
The title pretty much says it all. Seasons 1-5 are good, Seasons 6 and onwards is not. Let's run down the episodes in this season.

List of Season 4 episodes (with airdates!).

Disc 1:

4x01. Fear Of A Krabby Patty / Shell Of A Man (Aired May 6, 2005)
4x02. Lost Mattress / Krabs v.s. Plankton (Aired May 13, 2005)
4x03. Skill Crane / Good Neighbors (Aired May 20, 2005)
4x04. Selling Out / Funny Pants (Aired September 23, 2005)
4x05. Enemy In-Law / Mermaid Man And Barnacle Boy 6 (Aired September 30, 2005)

Disc 2:
4x06. Patrick Smart Pants / SquidBob TentaclePants (Aired October 21, 2005)
4x07. Have You Seen This Snail? (Aired November 11, 2005)
4x08. Dunces And Dragons (Aired November 18, 2005)
4x09. Krusty Towers / Ms. Puff, You're Fired (April 1, 2006)
4x10. Chimps Ahoy / Ghost Host (April 8, 2006)

Disc 3:
4x11. Whale Of A Birthday / Karate Island (Aired May 5, 2006)
4x12. All That Glitters / Wishing You Well (May 12, 2006)
4x13. New Leaf / Once Bitten (September 15, 2006)
4x14. Squidtastic Voyage / Bummer Vacation (September 22, 2006)
4x15. Best Day Ever / Wigstruck (Aired November 10, 2006)

Disc 4:
4x16. That's No Lady / The Thing (Aired November 25, 2006)
4x17. Hocus Pocus / Driven To Tears (Aired December 1, 2006)
4x18. Rule Of Dumb / The Pink Purloiner (Aired December 8, 2006)
4x19. The Gift Of Gum / Best Frenemies (December 15, 2006)
4x20. Rise And Shine / Waiting / Sing A Song Of Patrick (December 22, 2006)

Season 4 is great. Watch it, since it's one of the Seasons 1-5 seasons, but don't watch the newer ones, unless if you want to lose brain cells............
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
Our whole family loves Spongebob, and collecting all the season mean endless hours of watching one episode after another. I have no complaints at all for this video. It's the same hilarity as before. Yes, there are some episodes I like more than another, but w/ such a large compilation, we take the ok with the good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.