Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic episodes,but no special features.
Sponge For Hire comes out November second 2004. It has 8 great episodes. The episodes are:

1: Krusty Krab training video

2: Can you spare a dime

3: Missing Identidy

4: Krabby Land

5: Wet Painters

6: New student starfish

7: Mid-life Crustacean

8: The Camping episode

Now these...
Published on September 6, 2004 by Frankloon

versus
33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only 8 episodes and all are from Season 3.
I started buying these "compilation" dvds of Spongebob back when the first one came out (Nautical Nonsense/Sponge Buddies)because at the time it was the only option for having him on DVD. Of course a few discs later they decide to release the First Season set. I can imagine some of you reading this have already collected all of these "compilation" discs of which this...
Published on September 26, 2004 by B-MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only 8 episodes and all are from Season 3., September 26, 2004
By 
B-MAN "B" (Earth, occasionally. Until I get bored.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
I started buying these "compilation" dvds of Spongebob back when the first one came out (Nautical Nonsense/Sponge Buddies)because at the time it was the only option for having him on DVD. Of course a few discs later they decide to release the First Season set. I can imagine some of you reading this have already collected all of these "compilation" discs of which this one I believe is the 11th but I have to tell you this one may be the most unecessary volume yet because not only does it contain just 8 episodes (like the previous SpongeGuard on Duty collection), but they're all from Season 3. Meaning this disc will be obsolete with the release of Season 3 on DVD. Then again, by the time Season 3 is released all of these compilations will be obsolete. Bottom line: If you're interested in the season sets, there is no reason to buy these compilations. With 11 of them so far, just about all of seasons 1-3 are out now (there's about 15 or so episodes that haven't been released yet). However if you're not buying the seasons sets for whatever reason, it's not like you're going to be disappointed with the entertainment on this one. If you only have a few of these "compilation" DVDs or none I highly recommend not buying anymore of them and instead investing in the Season sets if you like the show because they're complete. Also I'm pretty sure the cost will be more effective when bought in sets. You also cut down on the number of discs, they're organized better, and they're chronilogical. The choice is pretty simple.

Episodes included on "Sponge For Hire":

01. Krusty Krab Training Video

02. Wet Painters

03. Can You Spare a Dime?

04. New Student Starfish

05. Missing Identity

06. Mid-Life Crustacean

07. Krabby Land

08. The Camping Episode

"Look at it!...Look at it!..." - Patrick

"I'm ugly and I'm proud...I'm ugly and I'm proud!!!..." - SB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'd wait, January 15, 2005
By 
Cumulonimbus Harpe "samsmylife" (Fresno, California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
All of the episodes on here are from Season 3. There are some pretty funny episodes on here but if I were you, I'd wait until the Season 3 set comes out on DVD instead. Why? Well, because you get more episodes for about 25$ dollars more. Once all the seasons come out on DVD, all of these 8-episode DVDs will be no longer worth buying. Season 3 is scheduled to come out in October, so we have about 10 months still to wait. Anyway, here are the episodes on this DVD:

1. "Krusty Krab Training Video"

2. "Wet Painters"

3. "Can You Spare A Dime?"

4. "New Student Starfish"

5. "Missing Identity"

6. "Mid-Life Crustacean"

7. "Kraby Land"

8. "The Camping Episode"

That's all the episodes, hope my review has helped you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic episodes,but no special features., September 6, 2004
By 
Frankloon "Franklool" (Los angelas ,Calafornia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
Sponge For Hire comes out November second 2004. It has 8 great episodes. The episodes are:

1: Krusty Krab training video

2: Can you spare a dime

3: Missing Identidy

4: Krabby Land

5: Wet Painters

6: New student starfish

7: Mid-life Crustacean

8: The Camping episode

Now these are all great episodes,but there are no special features on this dvd. But if you only buy these dvds for the episodes,then you should get this dvd.

This dvd deserves four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SpongeBob Rocks!, November 24, 2004
By 
Troy G. (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
The only reason why I bought this DVD-Is for my personal favortie SpongeBob cartoon, "Can You Spare a Dime?" In this cartoon, Squidward has lost his job working for the Krusty Krab, after he got into a feud with his boss, Mr. Krabs. Squidward becomes homeless, and ends up living with SpongeBob. SpongeBob Tries to help Squidward out in more ways than one. When SpongeBob felled down the stairs, he tells Gary, the cat-purring snail that Squidward is NOT a free-loader. Moments later, Squidward bosses SpongeBob after Spongebob gave him some lemonade. Squidward throws the lemonade, and asks SpongeBob for some soup. SpongeBob got Squidward some Alphabet soup that reads, "Get A Job", and then Squidward wants SpongeBob to tell him a story, SpongeBob gives him the want-ads. Finally SpongeBob Gave Squidward the remote, Squidward wanted to watch "Oprah", but ends up watching a sock-puppet show instead as he saws 2 fishes talking about JOBS! Squidward tells SpongeBob that this wasn't his show! Then Squidward argues with SpongeBob, and then SpongeBob shows Squidward out to the curb, drags Squidward Out of the pineapple, and then pressures Mr. Krabs to give Squidward a second chance. Evidentally, Squidward is back working as a counter worker and everything goes happily ever after. oh yeah, there are a couple of more cartoons worth seeing. "Mid-Life Crustacean", "New Student Starfish", and the "Krusty Krab Training Video". SpongeBob still remains Saturday Morning's favorite cartoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars squidward, July 25, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
krusty krab training video

can you spare a dime

missing idenity

krabby land

wet painters

new student starfish

mid-life crustacean

the camping episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best icebreaker for spongebob beginners., June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
This is the one to look for when trying to explain to others what and who is spongebob. with 8 episodes including the classic Camping Episode. whether you are a fan explaining or a kid trying to explain to a parent this title Sponge for Hire is the one to go too. For the most part it gives an introduction to the rest of the cast and most of all Spongebob is Completely Clean and Safe for Younger Audiances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sponge For Hire (VHS and DVD), February 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5 Wacky Stories
NOTE: all episodes including more on the DVD is from Season 3

Krusty Krab Training Video:
The Krusty Krab has it's first training video.

Can You Spare a Dime?:
After Squidward quits his job and loses his house, he stays with Spongebob.

Missing Identity:
Spongebob tells the story of when he lost is Identity.

Krabby Land:
To get kids to come to the Krusty Krab on Summer Break, Mr. Krabs opens up a fun place for kids.

Wet Painters:
Mr. Krabs hires Spongebob and Patrick to paint his house without getting a drop on anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just reviewing it. I don't wanna be a burden., November 15, 2005
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
Can you Spare a Dime?

Contrary to Mr Krab's popular belief, money and career isn't really everything. Sure, Squidward quit in anger because Mr Krabs thought he'd stolen the first dime he ever made (it's worth noting he's been in business for a long time). He'll survive without it! He'll have Bikini Bottom eating out of the palm of his tentacle!

"Spare change? ... Spare change?"

OK, bad example. But anyway, naturally innocent Sponge Bob lets Squid move in with him and treats him like a king. Also naturally, Squid takes advantage, though he doesn't "want to be a burden". How long can Sponge take it? A few weeks? Several months? Or so long that the old narrator gets tired and they have to hire a new one? The way I see it, there are 3 possibilities. 1: It's as good as Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost. 2: It's as good as Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost. Or 3: It's as good as Squidward the Unfriendly Ghost! (If you've never seen Squid crying his eyes out before, this is the only episode besides Dying for Pie that you can do so.) - 11 outta 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!!!!!, December 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
These episodes are all form season 3, I believe...It comes with great episodes! The episodes are:

Krusty Krab Trainning Video 4.5/5 (POOP= People Order Our Patties!)
Can You Spare A Dime? 5/5
Missing Identity 4.5/5
Krabby Land 4.5/5
Wet Painters 5/5 (One of my favorites)
New Student Starfish 5/5
Mid-Life Crustacean 5/5
The Camping Episode 5/5

AWESOME DVD! There aren't a lot of special features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars opion on SpongeBob SquarePants, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire (DVD)
My little sister likes the movie I can barely watch a movie but overall it is a great movie for her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire
Spongebob Squarepants - Sponge for Hire by Tom Kenny (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $5.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.