Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Size: Tall Handle|Change
Price:$5.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2011
I have fine hair and already own a Sonia Kashuk paddle brush that has a mixture of boar and nylon bristles, so I figured this brush would work great too. The boar bristles in this brush are great for distributing oils and the nylon bristles are great for grabbing onto my hair (which is thick even though it's fine). I also like that this brush does not cause static flyaways or pull and tug at my hair. This is a great, affordable brush that makes blowouts so much easier.

Important notes: brushes with natural bristles are recommended for all hair types as they do less damage to hair. Also, if you were wondering what size to get, the smaller the diameter of the brush, the more lift and volume it provides.
22 comments| 104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
I've had the same issue with round brushes for years, they all have some type of grip product located on the handle which always grabs a few strands of my hair and proceeds to rip them out which hurts (I have fine hair so any pulled out isn't a good thing). An issue of my InStyle magazine came and this brand of brush was recommended, at the price point it's at it's unbeatable, so I logged onto Amazon, ordered and it was here within a few days. I love that the handle of the brush is all one piece, no rubber grippers, etc. to pull strands out. The boar bristle and nylon mix works fantastic to grab my hair, pull it straight and add shine while doing so. I highly recommend this brush.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
The brush I received had hard bristles and brand name on the handle was already starting to scratch off. I posted a picture of the brush. The seller was amazon. Beware of counterfeits.
review image
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2012
This is for the Spornette Porcupine Rounder Brush-2"

This is my one of my favorite round brushes (the others being the Marilyn Ovali and the Marilyn Tuxedo), I have shoulder length, fine straight hair, but lots of it, and I use this brush about every other time I do my hair, and sometimes on its own as it's really fast. Most of the time I use two brushes (can be different ones) at a time (one in my hair, and one styling another part). The Spornette doesn't grip the hair as well as the Marilyn brush, but it does provide a better lift, and I've had my Spornette porcupine (no porcupines used;)for a long time, and haven't lost any bristles. Guess I got lucky.

Mine is VERY sturdy, and very easy to handle. It's a little on the heavy side for such a small brush, but I only paid seven plus dollars for it, and it was well worth it. There are many Youtube blowout videos and quite a few of them set the hair with the brushes as they go along (some use four at a time)...and I've seen them with all sorts of round brushes...metal, boar, porcupine). No matter what brush you choose, for the round brush part, your hair needs to be almost dry. One of my favorite round brushes (the Tuxedo) sat around for years because I didn't know that...my hair was just too damp. You live and learn.

This brush is wonderful for the price point. Used with my new Ionic hair dryer (not expensive, but a good one), my hair looks very shiny and professionally styled even when I only use this brush. It's easy to get that "Just came from the salon look" after you've practiced a while Enjoy!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2007
THIS IS THE BEST ROUND BRUSH THAT I'VE EVER USED! PERFECT SIZE DIAMETER, EASILY GRABS THE HAIR AND GIVES A NICE SOFT RESULT.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
This brush is horrible... I don't understand how it gains so many 5-Stars!
I bought it because of the customer reviews hoping it can be my everyday use brush. When I received it, I was like "is this really used on human hairs?" It is so cheaply made and feels very stiff and stinging. It was OK the first time I used it to brush my bang. Just I got to be super careful not to hurt myself. But after I used for about 4-5 times, it started to lose those black brush hairs. That is tolerable as well. The thing I cannot stand is that it's easy to get dirty and oily when I brush my "dirty" hair for only once! And it's hard to clean it up. I tried to clean it with another brush in hot water, it just doesn't work...
I had no choice other than throw it away... Please do not buy...
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2011
I didn't know that this brush existed until I watched the Wen blowout video on youtube. My blowout technique still leaves much to be desired (practice makes perfect!), but even I can get smoother, straighter hair with a curl at the bottom with this brush. No more scorching flat iron!

It does shed, since it's mostly boar bristles, but that's to be expected. The nylon bristles are longer than the boar, so if one were to try to use it as a "normal" brush on the scalp, it would be uncomfortable. For short hair or "regular" brush use, I'd recommend all boar, but for blowouts, this brush can't be beat!

Here's a little blowout tip to protect your hair: use the nozzle! The heating elements on most dryers are right at the opening, so holding the dryer too close to the hair can fry it. The nozzle focuses the air and distances it from the heating elements, reducing the heat damage and speeding the drying process.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
This brush works great with helping to blow dry my long hair. The brush really grabs & holds my hair so it is not just blowing around everywhere, which cuts down on the frizzies. I highly recommend the Spornette Porcupine Super XL Round Brush!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
I was really excited to try this brush and find out if the natural hairs are worth the hype. It seemed to smooth my hair and grab it to help style. One negative was that the brush shed more than I did! I would find pieces of the brush hairs on my clothes, floor, and throughout the house. Also the printed label on the handle rubbed off onto my hand within the first two weeks and I transferred this to my other brush handle and other areas in the bathroom before I realized what had happened.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
Love this porcupine brush. Great for getting to the bottom of my very thick hair, wonderful for distribution the natural oils in hair, super nice for blow drying my hair. Only downside is while it is easy to remove hair from it with a comb washing it is sort of a pain as it doesn't dry as quickly as a synthetic brush would.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.