Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by Allure many times
I have fine hair and already own a Sonia Kashuk paddle brush that has a mixture of boar and nylon bristles, so I figured this brush would work great too. The boar bristles in this brush are great for distributing oils and the nylon bristles are great for grabbing onto my hair (which is thick even though it's fine). I also like that this brush does not cause static...
Published on March 13, 2011 by Glamour Girl

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spornette Porcupine Rounder Brush, 2-Inch Diameter
I was really excited to try this brush and find out if the natural hairs are worth the hype. It seemed to smooth my hair and grab it to help style. One negative was that the brush shed more than I did! I would find pieces of the brush hairs on my clothes, floor, and throughout the house. Also the printed label on the handle rubbed off onto my hand within the first two...
Published 18 months ago by kkauggie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by Allure many times, March 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have fine hair and already own a Sonia Kashuk paddle brush that has a mixture of boar and nylon bristles, so I figured this brush would work great too. The boar bristles in this brush are great for distributing oils and the nylon bristles are great for grabbing onto my hair (which is thick even though it's fine). I also like that this brush does not cause static flyaways or pull and tug at my hair. This is a great, affordable brush that makes blowouts so much easier.

Important notes: brushes with natural bristles are recommended for all hair types as they do less damage to hair. Also, if you were wondering what size to get, the smaller the diameter of the brush, the more lift and volume it provides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! An InStyle Recommendation, July 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've had the same issue with round brushes for years, they all have some type of grip product located on the handle which always grabs a few strands of my hair and proceeds to rip them out which hurts (I have fine hair so any pulled out isn't a good thing). An issue of my InStyle magazine came and this brand of brush was recommended, at the price point it's at it's unbeatable, so I logged onto Amazon, ordered and it was here within a few days. I love that the handle of the brush is all one piece, no rubber grippers, etc. to pull strands out. The boar bristle and nylon mix works fantastic to grab my hair, pull it straight and add shine while doing so. I highly recommend this brush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BRUSH, May 7, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THIS IS THE BEST ROUND BRUSH THAT I'VE EVER USED! PERFECT SIZE DIAMETER, EASILY GRABS THE HAIR AND GIVES A NICE SOFT RESULT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, April 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is for the Spornette Porcupine Rounder Brush-2"

This is my one of my favorite round brushes (the others being the Marilyn Ovali and the Marilyn Tuxedo), I have shoulder length, fine straight hair, but lots of it, and I use this brush about every other time I do my hair, and sometimes on its own as it's really fast. Most of the time I use two brushes (can be different ones) at a time (one in my hair, and one styling another part). The Spornette doesn't grip the hair as well as the Marilyn brush, but it does provide a better lift, and I've had my Spornette porcupine (no porcupines used;)for a long time, and haven't lost any bristles. Guess I got lucky.

Mine is VERY sturdy, and very easy to handle. It's a little on the heavy side for such a small brush, but I only paid seven plus dollars for it, and it was well worth it. There are many Youtube blowout videos and quite a few of them set the hair with the brushes as they go along (some use four at a time)...and I've seen them with all sorts of round brushes...metal, boar, porcupine). No matter what brush you choose, for the round brush part, your hair needs to be almost dry. One of my favorite round brushes (the Tuxedo) sat around for years because I didn't know that...my hair was just too damp. You live and learn.

This brush is wonderful for the price point. Used with my new Ionic hair dryer (not expensive, but a good one), my hair looks very shiny and professionally styled even when I only use this brush. It's easy to get that "Just came from the salon look" after you've practiced a while Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The search for a great brush is over!, April 10, 2011
By 
teamGau (Northfield, OH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really love this brush. It leaves my hair soft and shiny and full of body. The bristles are not harsh on my scalp either! I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Brush for Dogs & Cats, March 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We have three rescue dogs & two cats, all of which are long haired(Gordon Setter, Aussie, Hienz 57, Maine Coon, Calico). The brush is great for all. Won"t get the tangles out, but works wonders on leaves, moss, etc.. My wife likes it so well she's getting one for herself(Yes, she tried it before we used it on the cats/dogs!). Would add more, but the animals are lining up for brushing and won't take NO for an answer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best blowout brush I've ever owned, August 4, 2011
By 
K. Davidson (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't know that this brush existed until I watched the Wen blowout video on youtube. My blowout technique still leaves much to be desired (practice makes perfect!), but even I can get smoother, straighter hair with a curl at the bottom with this brush. No more scorching flat iron!

It does shed, since it's mostly boar bristles, but that's to be expected. The nylon bristles are longer than the boar, so if one were to try to use it as a "normal" brush on the scalp, it would be uncomfortable. For short hair or "regular" brush use, I'd recommend all boar, but for blowouts, this brush can't be beat!

Here's a little blowout tip to protect your hair: use the nozzle! The heating elements on most dryers are right at the opening, so holding the dryer too close to the hair can fry it. The nozzle focuses the air and distances it from the heating elements, reducing the heat damage and speeding the drying process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have long, very thick, unruly hair., February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This brush works great with helping to blow dry my long hair. The brush really grabs & holds my hair so it is not just blowing around everywhere, which cuts down on the frizzies. I highly recommend the Spornette Porcupine Super XL Round Brush!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Brush!, December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this brush. I do not say this lightly because I'm very picky about brushes. This is just the best brush I've probably ever purchased. The only problem I've had with it (and believe me, I can live with it) is that I've had some of the natural bristles fall out. The brush consists of about half natural and half synthetic bristles. I don't know why this happens - must be some flaw in manufacturing. If the makers of the brush could fix this one little problem, it would be beyond perfect. I don't think anybody should hesitate to buy it even with this little glich.

Sharon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Brush, December 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this brush because the boar bristles are supposed to distribute oils and grip hair better for blow drying. Sure enough, it works. I blow-dried my permed hair straight this morning in a matter of 50 minutes ( i have thick shoulder length hair that is semi-coarse). I was very pleased by the performance of this brush and I LOVE the nylon bristles. Some people may not enjoy their scratchy feel, but I am accustomed to brushing my hair with a metal bristle brush so I really liked it. The reason why I gave this brush four stars is because I question the quality of the brush...I had some little black bristles all over the floor after I was done blow-drying my hair and I know that another reviewer has had the same issue. I have never used another boar bristle brush before though, so I guess I can't really compare the quality to other brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spornette Porcupine Rounder Brush
$1.60 - $34.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.