Back to Business Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia Bose SoundTouch 130 Amazon Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Valentine's Day Cards Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 13, 2011
I have fine hair and already own a Sonia Kashuk paddle brush that has a mixture of boar and nylon bristles, so I figured this brush would work great too. The boar bristles in this brush are great for distributing oils and the nylon bristles are great for grabbing onto my hair (which is thick even though it's fine). I also like that this brush does not cause static flyaways or pull and tug at my hair. This is a great, affordable brush that makes blowouts so much easier.

Important notes: brushes with natural bristles are recommended for all hair types as they do less damage to hair. Also, if you were wondering what size to get, the smaller the diameter of the brush, the more lift and volume it provides.
22 comments99 of 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
I've had the same issue with round brushes for years, they all have some type of grip product located on the handle which always grabs a few strands of my hair and proceeds to rip them out which hurts (I have fine hair so any pulled out isn't a good thing). An issue of my InStyle magazine came and this brand of brush was recommended, at the price point it's at it's unbeatable, so I logged onto Amazon, ordered and it was here within a few days. I love that the handle of the brush is all one piece, no rubber grippers, etc. to pull strands out. The boar bristle and nylon mix works fantastic to grab my hair, pull it straight and add shine while doing so. I highly recommend this brush.
0Comment56 of 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
The brush I received had hard bristles and brand name on the handle was already starting to scratch off. I posted a picture of the brush. The seller was amazon. Beware of counterfeits.
review image
0Comment13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2007
THIS IS THE BEST ROUND BRUSH THAT I'VE EVER USED! PERFECT SIZE DIAMETER, EASILY GRABS THE HAIR AND GIVES A NICE SOFT RESULT.
0Comment23 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2012
This is for the Spornette Porcupine Rounder Brush-2"

This is my one of my favorite round brushes (the others being the Marilyn Ovali and the Marilyn Tuxedo), I have shoulder length, fine straight hair, but lots of it, and I use this brush about every other time I do my hair, and sometimes on its own as it's really fast. Most of the time I use two brushes (can be different ones) at a time (one in my hair, and one styling another part). The Spornette doesn't grip the hair as well as the Marilyn brush, but it does provide a better lift, and I've had my Spornette porcupine (no porcupines used;)for a long time, and haven't lost any bristles. Guess I got lucky.

Mine is VERY sturdy, and very easy to handle. It's a little on the heavy side for such a small brush, but I only paid seven plus dollars for it, and it was well worth it. There are many Youtube blowout videos and quite a few of them set the hair with the brushes as they go along (some use four at a time)...and I've seen them with all sorts of round brushes...metal, boar, porcupine). No matter what brush you choose, for the round brush part, your hair needs to be almost dry. One of my favorite round brushes (the Tuxedo) sat around for years because I didn't know that...my hair was just too damp. You live and learn.

This brush is wonderful for the price point. Used with my new Ionic hair dryer (not expensive, but a good one), my hair looks very shiny and professionally styled even when I only use this brush. It's easy to get that "Just came from the salon look" after you've practiced a while Enjoy!
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2011
I didn't know that this brush existed until I watched the Wen blowout video on youtube. My blowout technique still leaves much to be desired (practice makes perfect!), but even I can get smoother, straighter hair with a curl at the bottom with this brush. No more scorching flat iron!

It does shed, since it's mostly boar bristles, but that's to be expected. The nylon bristles are longer than the boar, so if one were to try to use it as a "normal" brush on the scalp, it would be uncomfortable. For short hair or "regular" brush use, I'd recommend all boar, but for blowouts, this brush can't be beat!

Here's a little blowout tip to protect your hair: use the nozzle! The heating elements on most dryers are right at the opening, so holding the dryer too close to the hair can fry it. The nozzle focuses the air and distances it from the heating elements, reducing the heat damage and speeding the drying process.
22 comments15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
This brush works great with helping to blow dry my long hair. The brush really grabs & holds my hair so it is not just blowing around everywhere, which cuts down on the frizzies. I highly recommend the Spornette Porcupine Super XL Round Brush!
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
This brush is horrible... I don't understand how it gains so many 5-Stars!
I bought it because of the customer reviews hoping it can be my everyday use brush. When I received it, I was like "is this really used on human hairs?" It is so cheaply made and feels very stiff and stinging. It was OK the first time I used it to brush my bang. Just I got to be super careful not to hurt myself. But after I used for about 4-5 times, it started to lose those black brush hairs. That is tolerable as well. The thing I cannot stand is that it's easy to get dirty and oily when I brush my "dirty" hair for only once! And it's hard to clean it up. I tried to clean it with another brush in hot water, it just doesn't work...
I had no choice other than throw it away... Please do not buy...
22 comments3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
I was really excited to try this brush and find out if the natural hairs are worth the hype. It seemed to smooth my hair and grab it to help style. One negative was that the brush shed more than I did! I would find pieces of the brush hairs on my clothes, floor, and throughout the house. Also the printed label on the handle rubbed off onto my hand within the first two weeks and I transferred this to my other brush handle and other areas in the bathroom before I realized what had happened.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2010
This is one of the best eye serums I've tried... which isn't many but includes some notable ones. There may be more cost effective products out there but this works for me and Amazon's prices are much better than you'd find in the department stores.

However... this stuff is still expensive and the pump on the package delivers far more of the product than is needed to cover the undereye. I usually use about half a squeeze but because the pump is spring loaded it's very hard not to end up with leftovers. Applying too much of the stuff will result in a white powdery residue under the eye-- it wipes off but it can be annoying if you're out in public.

I find it's better to unscrew the top entirely and use the straw thingy to dollop a reasonable portion of the serum on the finger and go from there.
0Comment22 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.