Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gameplan & Context Long Overdue
The concept of analytics in sports and the prospect of its ultimate utility resulting in competitive advantage has progressively gained traction at the organizational level in professional sports. However, despite its growing legitimacy, many executives and decision makers have struggled to employ a comprehensive strategy to realize the full potential of an analytics...
Published 16 months ago by Tony DeFeo

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very generic and basic
I expected something else from this book. I was looking for discussions about specific cases of sports analytics impacting decision making and making a difference in the output of a sports agent (be it an athlete, a team, a scout, a sports investment fund). I was looking for discussions about specific KPIs, how they are captured, the reasoning underlying their conception...
Published 13 months ago by Wes Lindon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very generic and basic, November 12, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I expected something else from this book. I was looking for discussions about specific cases of sports analytics impacting decision making and making a difference in the output of a sports agent (be it an athlete, a team, a scout, a sports investment fund). I was looking for discussions about specific KPIs, how they are captured, the reasoning underlying their conception and why they add (or fail to add) value.

Instead, I found the book to be quite generic and basic, containing very little that someone who has any experience as an analyst in any industry would not know.

Also, I felt that the book reads more like a manual, with a very bland narrative and no story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gameplan & Context Long Overdue, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers (Hardcover)
The concept of analytics in sports and the prospect of its ultimate utility resulting in competitive advantage has progressively gained traction at the organizational level in professional sports. However, despite its growing legitimacy, many executives and decision makers have struggled to employ a comprehensive strategy to realize the full potential of an analytics initiative. Many times these efforts are impeded due to the daunting challenge of forming and integrating a complete analytics program that can compliment and support the goals of the organization, which without help can be a massive undertaking that can be discouraging, easily procrastinated, or only partially executed.

Mr. Alamar has done a masterful job in providing those decision makers and fans alike a comprehensive blueprint from which they can gain a contextual understanding of the distinct components that need to be configured to ensure success. I found this book to be extremely through in explaining both the advantage an analytics program can have in an uber competitive setting, but also the role of quality personnel and processes as the prime ingredients of a successful analytic plan. Whether it is the NFL, NBA, MLB, NHL, or the Champions League, success is always at a premium and sustained winning is usually found in the margins. This book offers a unique resource that competently describes the interaction among leadership, data management, information systems, and predictive analysis required to produce new data in a timely manner for more efficient decision making that ultimately promotes more successful outcomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Introduction to Sports Analytics, July 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers (Hardcover)
Professor Alamar sets forth a comprehensive, yet easily readable in depth introduction to sports analytics. The book is a perfect mixture of concepts, explanations and stories, which makes the book very enjoyable and addictive (I read it in two days). This is a sport neutral book (only anecdotes and examples are sport specific), which makes the content applicable to all sports. It is a must read for anyone interested in sports, from a decision maker at a team, all the way to the most casual of fans as it is an understandable introduction to a very complex and increasingly influential facet of sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, easy read, July 30, 2013
This review is from: Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Alamar writes a very informative and entertaining book detailing the importance of data analytics in sports. This is a fascinating read for any saber-minded sports fan, and an absolute must read for serious fans of the NBA. In "The Blind Side," Michael Lewis compares Alamar to Bill James and like James, Alamar is able to break down serious data metrics in a clear, insightful, and lively manner. Getting an inside peek into the front offices of major sports franchises is fascinating. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Accessible, August 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers (Hardcover)
While I'm not directly involved in either sports or analytics, I found this book compelling. The writing is clear and comprehensive. I particularly appreciate Alamar's Blueprint for Analytic Success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required for all decision-makers in elite sports organizations, October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Decision-makers at all levels throughout elite sports organizations should strongly consider investing their time in understanding the material presented in this book. My advice is to repeat the following cycle until it is no longer adding value to the decision-making process(es): 1) review the material; 2) apply one or more concepts; 3) repeat. Following this approach will undoubtedly result in several value-adding cycles and improve upon the analytics competencies of both the individual and organization.

My advice and my confidence in the result are based the experience I have working with elite sports organizations on the development and execution of their analytics programs. Generally speaking, those organizations that have mastered the concepts covered in this book are well-poised to maintain the competitive advantages that they've gained through their analytics programs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing; quite elementary, April 7, 2014
This basic manual provides little insight into the subject, and contains little of interest to any but those with interest in a simple "manual". The book is brief (124 small pages) and the author appears to have labored to fill even those pages. Example: three and a half pages are devoted to the "insight" that if you're developing a data base on players, you would do well to standardize the way player names are entered and include first, middle and last names in order to avoid confusion when players share first and last names! See, I did it in one sentence, and it really didn't even need to be said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It was disappointing in how little it revealed, February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a little disappointed with the lack of specific, in-depth examples for each sport in the book. It is a good guide on using data from setting up a database to using it and if that is what you are looking for then it makes a solid introduction on that theme. However I have already read many books on research and it is no different.

If anything, this shows how far we have to go in sports analytics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Insider Info but Lacking on Detail, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers (Hardcover)
I was hoping for a little more detail from the book. It had some great insider information, but I felt that it was lacking in certain areas. I also found that there were several places in which he repeated himself. Unfortunately, there are not many books on this topic. With that in mind I do recommend this book to anyone interested in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real World Management, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While the author demonstrates the academic & quantitative credentials for this subject it his connection to the professional and its realities that most impressed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sports Analytics: A Guide for Coaches, Managers, and Other Decision Makers
$24.95 $19.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.