Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sposts Illustrated " The basketball Book " scores again !
I bought the SI Basketball book because I had already bought the baseball and football books, and was very pleased with them.. I expected the basketball book to be of the same quality of writing and photos of the other two. I was not diapointed. The book is full of great articles by quality writers, and with many photos by the famed photo staff at SI. If you want a good...
Published on January 8, 2008 by C. Young

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Basketball Picture Book
Again, an excellent picture book of college basketball,,,,but lacks important information on the sport of basketball, college basketball and its overall history....
Published 9 months ago by L. S. Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sposts Illustrated " The basketball Book " scores again !, January 8, 2008
By 
C. Young (Stewartstown, Pa.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
I bought the SI Basketball book because I had already bought the baseball and football books, and was very pleased with them.. I expected the basketball book to be of the same quality of writing and photos of the other two. I was not diapointed. The book is full of great articles by quality writers, and with many photos by the famed photo staff at SI. If you want a good quaility book, and are a basketball fan, this book is worth the more then fair asking price. The origins of the game to the present day game is covered as well as profiles on the superstars of each decade, is excellent. This is an exceptional book, buy it, it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sports Illustrated Basketball Book, January 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
I bought this for my 9 year old grandson who is a HUGE basketball fan. It may be too in depth for most kids, but if they're a good reader and have that passionate interest they'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Basketball Book, December 31, 2007
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
Great basketball book. Excellent if you'd like to get an appreciation of the 60's and 70's of NBA basketball (as well as current information).

Highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another in the series, February 28, 2014
By 
WDX2BB (New York State) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
You have to give the gang at Time Inc. credit -- they know how to package and repackage their product. They have produced all sorts of anthologies and collections over the years, and they have been generally worthwhile.

The 50th anniversary of Sports Illustrated sparked a series of books looking back. After going through baseball and football, SI came up with "The Basketball Book." It's a worthy successor.

The book, edited by Rob Fleder, doesn't have any particular order, with one exception. Individual decades get their own little sections, complete with all-stars, historical developments, etc.

Alexander Wolff and Jack McCallum start the book with a nice overview of the game and its roots. From there, the volume offers a combination of words and pictures, with the emphasis on photography. Well, it is Sports Illustrated. The articles come from a variety of stories printed in SI over the years. There's Frank Deford on Bill Russell, Rick Reilly on Shaquille O'Neal, Gary Smith on Jim Valvano, John Underwood on John Havlicek, John Papanek on Pete Maravich, and so on. The whole article isn't reprinted, but some good editing boils each story down to one page here. The adjoining page is devoted to a full-page picture of the subject.

The rest, though, is just great pictures. Some you might remember if you are a regular, long-time reader of the magazine. Sidney Moncrief dunking, Elvin Hayes rejecting, Michael Jordan shooting. Most of the book concentrates on the NBA, but college basketball is more than adequately represented, and the women's game pops up once in a while too. (The WNBA will have to wait for the next book, apparently.)

There's one other bonus to discuss when reviewing "The Basketball Book." I've said before in this space that coffee-table books, while beautiful to examine, sometimes aren't exactly a best buy for consumers. In this case, the original list price was $34.95, which might be a bit high for a book that can be examined in a relatively short period of time.

But now that this book has been out for a while, it has turned up in the bargain section of the bookstore. This was one marked down to $9.95. At that price, this book is definitely worth a look ... or six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
I bought this for my three year old son who is obsessed with basketball. We flip through this book every day. The pictures are amazing. The book is packed with information, too. I'm not even a sports fan, and I love the book. It's really well put together and enjoyable for any age and level of sports enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My nephew loved it, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
Got this as a gift for my nephew who is a basketball fan, he and many of the other fan's at the party loved the photography and informative stories in this book. Great action shots, interesting history & great information about the game and players of basketball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super nba book, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
awesome book tracing the history of basketball. fun for all ages. great photos. makes me feel like I am at the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PURCHASE FOR THE BASKETBALL LOVER, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
My grandson LOVES this book, he loves basketball and this was exactly what he wanted for the information he needed. He's 15 years old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Basketball Lover's Dream!, November 15, 2013
By 
Organized Mom! (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
This book has provided hours of reading entertainment for my son. The illustrations are beautiful, and the exposure to non-fiction text is great for young boys. If your chid is a reluctant reader, but loves sports, these books are perfect. If you love college basketball, this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Basketball Picture Book, November 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book (Hardcover)
Again, an excellent picture book of college basketball,,,,but lacks important information on the sport of basketball, college basketball and its overall history....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book
Sports Illustrated: The Basketball Book by Rob Fleder (Hardcover - October 23, 2007)
$29.95 $22.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.