Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, but a good book overall
This is a brief review of the 3rd edition published in 2012. I am a physician with a minor in nutrition science back in college. I train in swimming, cycling, and running (triathlon).

If you are looking for a "For Dummies" book on endurance nutrition or something with a little bit of everything, then this book will meet that need. However, if looking for a...
Published on October 2, 2012 by Kevin A. Swartz, MD

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For those wanting LOTS of information
This book is VERY detailed. Great if that's what you're looking for, but I was looking for something less complicated. Honestly I didn't read the whole book, but skimmed the chapters I thought would be helpful. To me it reads more like a text book. I wanted more of a meal-plan type book to use while training for marathons. If you are a serious runner it may be helpful,...
Published on January 9, 2013 by Boston Berlee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic, but a good book overall, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
This is a brief review of the 3rd edition published in 2012. I am a physician with a minor in nutrition science back in college. I train in swimming, cycling, and running (triathlon).

If you are looking for a "For Dummies" book on endurance nutrition or something with a little bit of everything, then this book will meet that need. However, if looking for a whole lot of detail, then you may be a little disappointed in a few chapters but this is only because the subject of nutrition is Huge and I'm sure only so much can be put into a ~400 page book.

In my opinion, the first 3 chapters can be entirely skipped, unless you are starting with knowing nothing at all about basic nutrition in which case these chapters may serve as a good start for you.

Chapters 4 and 5 are most useful chapters and contain the real info that most readers will be looking for. However, some of this information has been covered in some popular general Triathlon training books. That being said, these chapters in this book expand beyond what you'll find in The Triathlete's Training Bible or Going Long: Training for Triathlon's Ultimate Challenge (Ultrafit Multisport Training Series). I am quite sure I'll be going back to these two chapters again and again in the future.

I've skipped Chapter 6 to read later so can't comment on that yet but skimming through it looks like it'll be worthwhile to read.

The section on Ergogenic aids (chapter 7), I found concise and confirmed what I think most well read athletes should already know so worth reading if you aren't familiar with these yet.

The remaining 7 chapters are specific to certain sub-groups of athletes and so chances are only one or two may pertain to any one reader; I've read a couple of them and found a couple pieces of good information but some readers might find them more useful depending on your needs (see chapter titles below).

I didn't actually realize until after reading 60% of the book, but there is a selected bibliography at the end. It would be nice to have that bibliography referenced in some way to make it a little easier for the reader to pursue more detailed information if they so choose.

One HUGE pet peeve of mine that totally drives me insane and I just can't write a review without mentioning it. The default units used throughout the text is to use the English system of measurements often mixed with metric; it gets very confusing when most anything else you'll read on the subject will state something like 1g/kg of "X" and be reading a section where you already know this but then get tripped up by seeing something like 0.5g/lb.

Anyway, this is not a bad book at all and tries to cover a whole bunch of information. In doing so, it's likely to have a little "something for everyone"; however, I would like even more in depth regarding some of the hard science and clinical studies behind sports endurance nutrition. Though, to be fair, I think this book does a good job overall and will meet the needs of > 90% of whom I'd suspect to be the usual readers on this topic.

Chapter 1: Daily Hydration Essentials
Chapter 2: Energy Nutrients for Optimal Health and Performance
Chapter 3: Vitamins, Minerals, and Electrolytes
Chapter 4: Your Training Diet
Chapter 5: Food and Fluid Intake for Training and Competition
Chapter 6: Weight Loss, Muscle Building, and Changing Body Composition
Chapter 7: Ergogenic Aids
Chapter 8: Nutrition for Triathlon
Chapter 9: Nutrition for Cycling
Chapter 10: Nutrition for Distance Running
Chapter 11: Nutrition for Swimming
Chapter 12: The Athelete with Unique Nutrition Considerations
Chapter 13: Performance Boosts and Problem-Solving with Nutrition
Chapter 14: Nutritional Strategies for Extreme Environments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it 6 Stars..., November 15, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
Simply put...This is the go to book for triathletes and (ultra)marathoners. For $14, it's worth a $1000. It helped me finish my first Ironman and has changed how I fuel and eat. I'm a doctor and I recommend this book frequently. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for endurance athletes., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
This book is awesome if you're an endurance athlete or looking to get into an endurance sport. It breaks down everything if you're into that and it gives examples and summaries if you don't care about knowing the "whys" about everything and just want to know what to do. Keep in mind that this is not a diet book. This book doesn't tell you how to cut calories in order to lose weight. It tells you how to replace the key vitamins and nutrients in order to train and compete at a high level. I reference this book a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly informative and helpful., May 31, 2012
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
I have been doing endurance sports for 10 years and even though I already know a lot about nutrition for going long, this book helped me immensely. It explained the reasons behind a lot of the common practices in endurance sports nutrition as well as sifting through diet "trends" in the sport. Ryan did a fantastic job of explaining the importance of supporting all body systems with proper fueling and supplements if needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
Awesome book. From the first page to the last one. If you are planning to take nutrition to the next level, and see improvements from the very first week this is a "must have" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for ATCs!, July 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
Provides updated, relevant and important professional information. Absolutely essential for all ATC and personal trainers--you won't be disappointed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great info, packed with numbers, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
This book gets into great detail about nutrition and training. Great reference to have on-hand. Good to pair with "Racing Weight" by Matt Fitzgerald.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explains it all, November 10, 2012
By 
running gal (Santa Maria, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
It is super thorough but reads like a textbook. It is a great reference book so I am glad I purchased but definatly not easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She is able to tie a lot of complex concepts with supporting information into an easy to read and understand book, November 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
I've used a lot of this book as a guideline for nutrition planning on and off the race course. She is able to tie a lot of complex concepts with supporting information into an easy to read and understand book. I highly recommend this book to athletes and the layperson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!!, April 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. (Paperback)
Well titled and thorough! Perfect for all of the multisport athletes wanting to dial in the most traditionally most neglected part of multisport--nutrition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed.
Sports Nutrition for Endurance Athletes, 3rd Ed. by Monique Ryan (Paperback - March 1, 2012)
$21.95 $15.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.