Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, budget-priced re-issuing of the 1999 Universal Monsters discs, and technically a FIVE-movie collection!
IMPORTANT NOTE, ADDED JUNE 22, 2012: This review was originally posted to the Universal 100th Anniversary Classic Monsters DVD 4-pack that includes Dracula, Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein and Creature from the Black Lagoon. However, Amazon has seen fit (as they so often do) to ALSO post the reviews for this product on the listing for the SECOND Universal Monsters...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Brian T

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie Quality Not the Best
These movies are great classics and were fun to watch. However, it needs to be noted these are NOT remastered copies and when you watch the movies you see a lot of grainy texture in the film and there are white dots coming across the screens during the movies. Also, in some of the movies there is no score which would have been added at the theaters when they originally...
Published 1 month ago by geekpreacher


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, budget-priced re-issuing of the 1999 Universal Monsters discs, and technically a FIVE-movie collection!, March 22, 2012
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
IMPORTANT NOTE, ADDED JUNE 22, 2012: This review was originally posted to the Universal 100th Anniversary Classic Monsters DVD 4-pack that includes Dracula, Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein and Creature from the Black Lagoon. However, Amazon has seen fit (as they so often do) to ALSO post the reviews for this product on the listing for the SECOND Universal Monsters 4-pack, which comes out in the fall of 2012, and which does NOT contain these films, but four other classic monster films: WOLF MAN, INVISIBLE MAN, PHANTOM OF THE OPERA and THE MUMMY. Please don't think that I placed it there myself, if that's where you happen to be reading it. Thanks.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

ANOTHER IMPORTANT NOTE, ADDED DEC. 31, 2012: Due to Amazon's inexplicable policy of porting reviews from one product listing to other listings (regardless of whether the products are the same!), I'm unable to properly review the SECOND "Classic Monsters" 4 disc collection under it's own listing as my review of the FIRST set already appears there, and Amazon does not allow "multiple" reviews on what it perceives to be the same product. As such, both the first AND second Classic Monsters collections have the same 38 reviews (as I write this), nearly all of which should ONLY be attached to the product listing for the first set. Thus I've no choice but to pad this review out a bit further to encompass BOTH sets, I've opted to include details about the bonus features for each of the four discs in the second set (THE MUMMY, THE WOLF MAN, THE INVISIBLE MAN and THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA) underneath the product details for the four discs in the first set, as outlined further down this review. Suffice it to say that the for those who've not seen these films (and let's face it, potential new fans are being born every day!) and those weary of emptying their wallets for the recently released deluxe Blu-ray Collection, the second DVD set is every bit as worthwhile as the first, and likewise repackages the four 1999 DVD releases, complete with copious special features.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

You'll probably read many reviews slagging this release for simply repackaging the original 1999 DVD releases of these films. That's exactly what they are, so for those of you who already own those excellent releases, or better yet, later upgraded to the more-inclusive "Legacy Collections" (with the originals and their many sequels in slick packaging) or the 75th Anniversary ultra-deluxe Legacy editions of DRACULA and FRANKENSTEIN, you're better off waiting for the Blu-ray editions, which were announced so late in 2011 that only a fool would think that this edition--which blatantly re-uses the sleeve artwork from the 1999 editions on its cover--somehow contained new hi-def remasters (or what have you) this soon after the announcement was made.

Universal's 100th Anniversary line is, in fact, almost entirely made up of repackaged OLD DISCS. Is it some insidious plot to slap movie fans (and especially Universal Monster movie fans) in the face? Of course not. Is it a way for a major media company to re-purpose old stock that was no longer selling? Of course it is, and I say more power to them, especially if it gets these four classic films into the hands of people who've never seen them before at a compelling price point that won't strain one's finances. I always find it puzzling that many supposed hardcore fans of these films, the ones who moan the loudest every time something is re-issued, seem to think that EVERYONE ELSE has seen all the great movies out there just like they have, when nothing could be farther from the truth; new movie buffs are born every day. In fact, a child born in 1999 would be 13 years old right now, the PERFECT AGE to take a crack at these old gems. I'm sure most kids today might scoff at them, but if even a handful come to appreciate them in the context in which they're presented on these special edition discs, and at a bargain price point, then the repackaging of these titles (and another four that are coming in Vol. 2 later in the year) will not have been in vain.

That said, you can safely assume--nay, expect--that this set will drop in price as the year progresses. I wouldn't be surprised at all if it hits the ten dollar mark at some point, perhaps even on Amazon, and that's for four discs that many of us happily shelled out twenty bucks a pop for back in 1999, many with drool pouring from our mouths because we were finally able to see them on such a technologically superior format to our old video tapes and laserdiscs. Well, subsequent, improved DVD editions (of some titles, anyways, but NOT all of them) have apparently spoiled people enough that they'll see fit to piss all over this release and steer everyone away from it. I can only hope if you haven't seen these films before, you'll ignore the unfairly negative reviews (after all , the CONTENT of these discs drew near-unanimous praise back in 1999, some of which still holds up today) and give this set a shot.

As I write this, neither the Amazon listing nor the other reviews gives you any idea of what's actually included in this set. So here's what you get:

DRACULA Bonus Features:
- The Road To Dracula, an original documentary
- Commentary by David J. Skal (which is excellent, by the way, as are all of the others)
- New score by Philip Glass and the Kronos Quartet
- Poster/photo montage
- SPANISH LANGUAGE VERSION OF DRACULA (this effectively makes this a 5-MOVIE set)
Original 1999 release is here (note the overwhelmingly positive reviews):
Dracula (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

FRANKENSTEIN Bonus Features:
- The Frankenstein Files: How Hollywood Made a Monster
- Commentary by Rudy Behlmer
- Frankstein Archives
- Boo! - a short film
- Production Notes
- Cast & Filmmmakers
Original 1999 release is here (again, note the positive reviews):
Frankenstein (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

BRIDE OF FRANKESTEIN Bonus Features:
- She's Alive! Creating the Bride of Frankenstein Documentary
- Commentary by Scott MacQueen
- The Bride of Frankenstein Archives
Original 1999 release is here (once again, note the generally positive OVERALL rating, despite near universal disdain for the transfer on this particular title):
The Bride of Frankenstein (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON Bonus Features:
- Back To The Black Lagoon
- Commentary by Tom Weaver
- Production Photography
Original 1999 release is here (and yet again, note the positive reviews)
Creature From the Black Lagoon (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

ADDED DEC. 31, 2012: Bonus features for titles in the SECOND Classic Monsters DVD collection:

THE MUMMY Bonus Features:
- Mummy Dearest: A Horror Tradition Unearthed
- Commentary by Film Historian Paul M. Jensen
- The Mummy Archives
- Theatrical Trailers
Original 1999 release is here:
The Mummy (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

THE WOLFMAN Bonus Features:
- Monster By Moonlight documentary
- Feature Commentary with Tom Weaver
- The Wolfman Archives
- Theatrical Trailer
The Wolf Man (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

THE INVISIBLE MAN Bonus Features:
- Now You See Him: The Invisible Man Revealed (documentary)
- Commentary with Film Historian Rudy Behlmer
- Production Photographs
The Invisible Man (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA Bonus Featurs:
- The Opera Ghost: A Phantom Unmasked (documentary)
- Feature Commentary with Film Historian Scott MacQueen
- Production Photographs
- Theatrical Trailer
Phantom of the Opera (Universal Studios Classic Monster Collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome set., March 9, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
What Amazon doesn't tell you is that the Spanish version is also included in the Dracula DVD. Nice extra. I watched them all, and the quality is good, sound is also very good. Some of the commentary is. I don't remember Tom Weaver commentint of the Creature DVD last time. I love to listen to the commentary. I love the fact that they're on separate disks. I only wish they were on Blu Ray. Should have included Wolfman or Wolfman Meets Frankenstein. For the 100th Anniversary, put out a classic Monster Blu Ray set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection, November 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
The Universal Classic Monsters: The Essential Collection [Blu-ray] was too expensive, so I bought the DVD set. The product came in the mail today, and it arrived in great condition. It had 4 great movies for a great price. The movies included were, Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, and Creature from the Black Lagoon. These are the 1999 DVD versions of the films, but the quality was pretty good for these older movies. I just watched Frankenstein on my Play Station 3, and it looked great. I know the picture is not as good as the Blu-ray set, but it still looked very impressive. I love all of these films, but Frankenstein and The Bride of Frankenstein still remain my favorites(Frankenstein is probably the first horror movie I ever saw).Dracula is another one of my favorites. Bela Lugosi is classic as Dracula. Creature from the Black Lagoon was good, but not great. Over all,the quality is great, and you could watch these over and over again. And what more would you ask than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, September 9, 2012
By 
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
Growing up, I LOVED these old "horror movies". Like the format of "multi-movies" on the same DVD. VERY PLEASED with this product. Fast shipping, too, made this transaction VERY POSITIVE!!! THANKS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Deal This Side of Cable, December 12, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
THIS REVIEW IS FOR "Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary)," BUT IT ALSO INCLUDES INFORMATION REGARDING ITS SISTER PURCHASE, Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection (The Mummy (1932) / The Wolf Man / The Invisible Man / Phantom of the Opera (1943))

These 2 DVD's are on sale for $150.00 at TCM, in one box, with the same exact films, but with additional features about the making of the films, interviews, and whatever they could throw in. This is a gift for my Dad, who watches a lot of late night television, so I know that he's either either already seen the additional information about these films, or would Never bother to watch the additional information on the DVD's ("Special Features" is a swear word in our home). Paying @14.99 per DVD ($5 dollars cheaper than these individual DVD's on TCM as well) and saving me $120.00, makes me happy. My Dad gets the best 8 horror flicks of all times, and I get the happiness of giving him a gift I know he will use, in its entirety, not ignored, or tossed aside partially used. This is one of the best win-win presents I've ever given him.

I may have failed to mention that my Dad and I were watching an old movie on Turner Classic Movies and he was saying that it was too bad they never show the black and white Horror Flicks he grew up loving, his particular favorite being Creature from the Black Lagoon, when an ad came on for the $150.00 box set of all 8 of these films. He went on and on for awhile about the ridiculous price, and who needs those Bleeping Spec*$^ Featu$@& anyway. He watches a lot of the Biography Channel, so he pretty much saw all the interviews they'd include. He went on about how they're selling them instead of showing them, and oh, what a waste. I was so pleased to find that not only could I get this very nice gift for him, but I could get it at a much lower price. Which, if I told him about, he'd be very proud of me. As it is, I know there's no chance he'll open the Special Features portion anyway, so it'll be our little secret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four old classic horror pictures together at a bargain price., November 5, 2013
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
Like a lot of people, I grew up seeing black and white horror movies. At that time you could see two movies plus several cartoon features for about 25 cents. This fantastic collection has four classic movies and at a bargain price. They include: Dracula, one of the first ones ever produced. Frankenstein, which is the first original one made, as well as the classic The Bride of Frankenstein. The last movie in this collection I recall seeing the first time in an old movie theater, which is The Creature from the Black Lagoon.

I enjoyed viewing these movies again in this DVD. Yes, it is true that these old films are sometimes a little unclear but that does not take away from the enjoyment of seeing these classic old movies in the DVD format.

In conclusion, if you are a horror movie buff, and enjoy seeing the early black and white versions of these old classics, you may want to check out this DVD collection.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Predator Hunter: A warrior's memoir)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Monsters, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
I grew up enjoying these old movies. Yes they are dated and the makeup and all the other star wars stuff is not there .But ,they are classic in every sense of the word. And watching them makes me remember the old TV shows in Chicago always on a Friday night when they would play these films over and over.... My Favorite one is Bride of Frankenstien. I reminds me of another movie Gods and Monsters, where the same thing is said in both movies. Anyway if your young enough to remember these movies I give them a big A+ ... How often can you watch 4 movies in little time as 4 and half hours? for the time they where made they are great.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's difficult to want only one!, January 6, 2014
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
The collection and price for this DVD set is for lack of a better word remarkable. As a young Frankenstein lover I'm overwhelmed with the amount of bonus features and enhances on the videos. Being an admirer of the black and white cinema and how they relied on acting to make the movie a hit rather than computerized special effects I'm impressed and constantly surprised no matter how many times the movie is played. An incredible price for unmistakably the most memorable characters to pave the way for cinema today! High recommend from this fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All great classics!, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
This arrived quickly and in perfect condition. These classic monster movies are unbeatable. If you like good old fashioned monster movies, add this to your collection. To show how strongly I feel about these, I already had the two Frankenstein movies, and I bought this just for Dracula and Creature from the Black Lagoon. You can see how movie making has changed, by watching these. Pay close attention to the sound track in Bride of Frankenstein. You'll notice some of the same music used in the old Flash Gordon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE MONSTERS ARE COMING DOWN UNIVERSAL STREET", September 30, 2012
This review is from: Classic Monsters Spotlight Collection [Dracula, Frankenstein, The Bride of Frankenstein, Creature from Black Lagoon] (Universal's 100th Anniversary) (DVD)
THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE ESSENTIAL UNIVERSAL CLASSIC SET! LUGOSI'S DRACULA IS STILL IN THE TOP 3 CREEPIEST DRACULA'S EVER, KARLOFF'S FRANKENSTEIN FEATURES ARE BY FAR THE BEST OF THE MONSTER/MAD DOCTOR FILMS OF ALL TIME,AND THE CREATURE FROM THE BLACK LAGOON WAS SO WELL MADE, IT SPAWNED IMITATORS TO THIS DAY. IT IS THE PERFECT MONSTERVISION MARATHON!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.