Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Rating: 3.85
Overall Rating: 3.85 // Action: 3.75 / Emotion: 4 / Romance: 4.5 / Sensuous: 2 / Intrigue: 3 / Medieval Flavor: 5 // Humor: 8 / Tears: 0

"Spring's Fury," Denise Domning's third book in her five-book series, "The Graistan Chronicles," is another adventure in true medieval-flavored reading. Although the book can easily be read as a stand-alone book, "Spring's...
Published on February 14, 2011 by LoveMy5Dogs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LIKED IT
I liked this book. I do not know if I will read the others but the author did a good job of making the woman strong and self-reliant, while the man came off as being very human, showing feelings and insecurities even though he is supposed to be this great big strong knight. I would recommend.
Published 23 months ago by avid reader


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall Rating: 3.85, February 14, 2011
By 
Overall Rating: 3.85 // Action: 3.75 / Emotion: 4 / Romance: 4.5 / Sensuous: 2 / Intrigue: 3 / Medieval Flavor: 5 // Humor: 8 / Tears: 0

"Spring's Fury," Denise Domning's third book in her five-book series, "The Graistan Chronicles," is another adventure in true medieval-flavored reading. Although the book can easily be read as a stand-alone book, "Spring's Fury" features a hero and heroine that were introduced in book one of the series, "Winter's Heat." Would recommend reading at least the first book of the series before reading this third book to get a better feel for the events and emotions occurring herein.

Gilliam FitzHenry, the fourth son of Henry of Graistan, has been handed his life's dream -- a keep of his own. Gilliam is having to rebuild Ashby because it had been partially burned down during a siege (that occurred in "Winter's Heat"). Gilliam wants to marry the wild, unruly, daughter of the previous ruler of Ashby, Nicola, because {1} the people of Ashby love her, and {2) she knows how to manage Ashby into prosperity.

Nicola, however, has no desire whatsoever to marry any man, much less the man she saw kill her father (during said siege). Nicola has been spoiled by her father, John of Ashby, who allowed her to train with his men. In true youthful visions of grandeur, Nicola believes she is capable of ruling and protecting Ashby on her own -- if only her overlord, Rannulf of Graistan, would see the light.

Rannulf, however, is more than willing to marry off Nicola to get the willful, trouble-making, escape-attempting ward off his hands. "Spring's Fury" is an exciting account of how Nicola tries to escape her marriage and Gilliam's efforts to catch and subdue his new bride. The book is full of adventures, romance, and the day-to-day intricacies of medieval life.

The book is also filled with two well-developed, intriguing secondary characters who add depth to the story; namely, {1} Tilda (Nicola's "more sister than servant" best friend) and {2} Jocelyn (Gilliam's weakling-minded squire). A plethora of other villagers also add realism and insightfulness to the tale.

A more detailed, spoiler-ridden synopsis/review of "Spring's Fury" appears at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hero and a Heroine you just have to like, December 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
Read the book in one sitting and I loved it! There were just enough conflicts that made it really interesting and it was quite refreshing to have a heroine who was tough, not always angry, not a simpering fool and very like-able. There was enough historical detail of where they lived and how they lived without going overboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sdtrong woman character and a likeable knight :), September 10, 2002
Let me start by saying I loved this book. I had to buy it used as I could not find a copy that was new.
This is a fantastic story. First the main hero of the story does not belittle or mistreat the heroine (Nicola) as they do in many of the period pieces. He lets her warm up to him and even seems to enjoy sparing with her. In fact it is he who requests that his brother let him marry her. He knows that to see his people (which was more than he could hope for)through the winter he needs her to make sure that all the winter preparations are taken care of. Therefore amazing her in the fact that someone needs her! Also the fact that he finds her beautiful (as non one else has) and not the giantesse of Ashby makes her come to love him.
There is also a side plot where Gilliam is training a new quire (Jos) who does not know how to be a little boy let alone a squire. It is fun to see him grow up and gain responsibility throughout the book.
This book has it all intrigue, deception, a woman warrior, growing love and a strong woman character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
I have read each of the stories of the 4 brothers and I warmly recommend all of them. However, Spring's Fury is my preferred one...First of all because the heroine is not the usual type of woman so beautiful that nothing else counts. She is a warrior and saves herself many times in the book without the help of the male character. Secondly because it paints a world different from what other stories in the same historical period do. I have to admit I felt many times in the first chapters enraged on the trap Nicola found herself and the way her people forcefully married her. I never realized that women could have been considered less than slaves then, like they had no value, no mind, no soul! The way Gilliam treated her was brilliant and for once a convincing way to concur a woman's heart! He was looking for a partner to fulfill his obligation to the people depending on them and was not ashamed to recognize Nicola's value in everything she did, including her ability with a sword.

This was a wonderful couple and well matched in all aspects. Their story was a great read and to be honest made me much less satisfied with almost anything else I read afterwards up to the point I had to switch to a different time period to stop comparing all the books with Denise's series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series!, April 19, 2012
By 
Mary72 (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
Don't let the Kindle price fool you...this series is great!! Get all 5 books and read them in order!

This book is book 3 of 5, and my favorite one of this series. The story line has everything - love, hate, action, and it's a really fun, sexy and a great read. I could not put this book down and loved the characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
This book was written very well. Great characters, well thought out plot, and the author did her homework in regards to her historical research. Nothing frustrates me more when a book is released that wasn't proofread. No problems here! Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spring's Fury, July 22, 2012
By 
S. Knapp (Bonney Lake, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the story line and its historical events. Loved the characters, the love story and the way the author described each person and made the story come alive. Any movies coming from this series. Think it would be great if there were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars springs fury, March 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of this series, Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter, LOVED them all. Strong females and lots of humor. I down loaded all four and once I got reading I could not stop. The ending of Summers storm had me laughing out loud untill tears rolled down my face. Love for all seasons is next on my kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Series, December 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
What happens when two strong, independent characters are thrown together? Read Ms.Domning's "Spring Fury" and find out. I have read all of the books in this series and this one is by far the best. Be sure to read the books in order, so you don't miss out on who is who in the series. Loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable book, August 21, 2012
By 
Diana M. Gray (Bothell, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spring's Fury (Kindle Edition)
I was fortunate enough to get this book for free while it was on hundredzeroes.com. I had no issues reading it all the way through. The main characters are well written and I enjoyed the banter between them especially early on. Kept me reading till the end. Well worth the 99 cents non Prime members will pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spring's Fury
Spring's Fury by Denise Domning
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.