Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing guide to creating edible art
I just received my copy of this amazing book! Followers of Heather's blog [...] will recognize many of the desserts featured in this book but will be pleasantly surprised to find some new and beautiful treats!

For those that are looking for just a recipe book, this is probably not for you. Although it is filled with fun and creative recipes (as well as...
Published on April 19, 2012 by Elizabeth Hofeldt

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to inspire your Inner Artist
I was somewhat disappointed with this book, It really just covers basics of making desserts and some are very hard to understand the whys and whats of the procedures. Yes it does have a lot of material to cover in it and I have look it over a couple times, but I haven't really use any of the recipes in it as of yet. No recommended for new beginnings.
Published 21 months ago by CreativeHeart


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing guide to creating edible art, April 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
I just received my copy of this amazing book! Followers of Heather's blog [...] will recognize many of the desserts featured in this book but will be pleasantly surprised to find some new and beautiful treats!

For those that are looking for just a recipe book, this is probably not for you. Although it is filled with fun and creative recipes (as well as recipes for basic cookies, cakes, fondant, icings, etc) this book is a how-to on baking and decorating artful desserts. Heather exceeds all expectations and has truly developed something that the everyday baker can use to further their artistic skills to make unique and awe-inspiring desserts. This is not your typical "how to frost a cupcake" kind of book - be prepared to really go outside the box to create edible works of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average baking book, April 23, 2012
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
As other reviewers have noted, this is NOT a typical how-to-bake-a-cake book (although if you need help with that, you'll certainly find it!). Heather is a true artist, and brings a unique perspective to the world of sugary confections. Her stunning (and tasty!) creations are creatively presented and impeccably photographed, but also approachable enough for someone who has zero baking skills or instincts (*ahem*, ME). If you're a fan of her whimsical, colorful, lighthearted blog, you'll find even more to love in the version on paper, because Heather takes you through all the foundational elements of art and baking so that you can apply those techniques to ALL of the delightful recipes both in the book and on her blog.

So if you're looking to move away from standard cupcakes, then you'll love trying out such inventive recipes as Sweet Coconut Sushi with Chocolate 'Soy' Sauce or Matcha White Chocolate Cheesecake. And if you've ever wondered how to take inspiration from design and pop culture and apply it to the art of baking, then look no further than the Marikmekko Cookies, Dale Chihuly-Inspired Candy Nesting Bowls, and Mad Hatter Marshmallow Pops.

And the icing on the proverbial cake is Heather's down-to-earth writing style and sweet Southern disposition. Trust me, you WON'T be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but slightly disappointing., December 29, 2012
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
I had this cookbook on the top of my wishlist for Christmas, and was super excited when my brother got it for me. I love her blog, and her recipes are over-the-top-amazing. Flipping through the book, there are a lot of great recipes, and even though there are a lot of pictures, there seems to be hardly any pictures of the finished product. This makes me a little sad, and put off from the book.

It's a wonderfully different cookbook, though. This is the first I've seen a cookbook talk about the art of baking and it's possible for anyone to do anything in this book. It even includes templates for some of the recipes.

There are a lot of recipes from her blog, which actually I'm happy about. Just because it's on her blog doesn't mean it shouldn't be in her book. I was very happy to see the edible spoons and Queen of Heart cookies because they are beautiful and it saves me the printer paper and ink to print out a recipe.

If you're a fan of the blog, I say get the book! It's stunning and helpful, but I am being sour about the lack of finished product pictures for some of the recipes. I don't see myself making anything yet out of the book, but one day I'm going to buy a set of paintbrushes and get started. =o]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Inspiring & completely Do-able, July 16, 2012
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
For a cake, cookie & desert book with artistic license this is a great book.

For starters despite the lovely and elegant look of all of these deserts each and every one of the recipe/projects is completely within the realm of realism for even a beginner to create - and feel pretty darn proud of the results.

Ms. Baird provides a wonderful & easy to understand primer for even the luddite baker: providing decent foundation recipes: Madeira Cake & Almond cakes which are easy to sculpt. and tips for simple tricks with elaborate results: stamped impressions on rice paper to create the sophisticated postcard cookies and a bottle neck to make realistic mushroom cookies. To sculpting simple but eloquent hardy candy desert bowls and decorations.

Most desert decorating books are overwhelming and can leave me feeling wistful rather than inspired. Ms. Baird gave me an entire book of lovely options that excited me and left me believing I can totally do anything in this book.

Loving this book from beginning to end and highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing at first sight, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
Just rcvd the book through the post. The book is amazing at first sight, the pages are full of colorful tastes. I have not read the book yet, but i have no doubt regarding Heather's writing & baking & arting skills, since i do follow her blog. The reason why i post this comment is its super-fast delivery. Living in Turkey and rcvd in 12 business days though with the cheapest international freight. It was supposed to be 18-32 workings days, so i was just suprised and much happy with this delivery. Thanx !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Beautiful Pictures, June 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
I follow the Sprinklebakes blog and I love it. So naturally I was so excited about her 1st cook book and she did not disappoint. I have made several recipes from her book and they were delicious, but there was a show stopping recipe....BANANA PUDDING CAKE. What?!?!?! When I made this cake for my family, they went bananas! Her instructions are easy to follow and the results are outstanding. Great Job Heather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bakery Cookbook this Year, May 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
I have not been able to separate myself from this book since buying it two weeks ago. Here's why:

A Great Reference for Beginners: Many of Heather's recipes are great for beginners. She includes recipes for simple sugar cookies, homemade fondant, several kinds of icing, and even a list of stencils in the back for those just beginning to play with colored fondant, the painting of food, and the sculpting of icing as a medium. In many ways the cookbook is advanced too-you'll see lovely macaroons, meticulously hand-painted cookies, and a slew of other jaw-dropping recipes.

Visually Inspiring: to say that Heather's baked goods are more like art would be an understatement. In fact, Heather's baked goods are art. As the title suggests, her approach to baking takes a cue from her past history as a painter and photographer and inspires readers on how to bring that background to something as everyday as cookies and cakes. See pages on brush strokes and the different kinds of candy dough to get an idea of just how malleable this baking "art" form can be.

A Primer on Baking Equipment, Art Supplies, and Decorating Tools: Sometimes, it can be hard to imagine just how Heather gets such amazing results for her blog. With the opening pages of the Sprinkle Bakes Cookbook, you get a sense for what works and what doesn't. As I'm always advocating the use of a silpat in my own kitchen, it's fun to see that Heather uses parchment paper for her work instead. Plus, I can take advice from Heather's other tools like Rolling-Pin Guide Bands or Piping Tip Brushes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Source of Inspiration for Bakers at All Skill Levels, July 15, 2012
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
This book is a great resource for bakers at all skill levels, whether you like to bake occasionally, or you are an experienced pastry chef. The recipes are easy to follow, and Heather has included very helpful tips to facilitate
creating these wonderful works of edible art-she has even included explanations of art terminology and technique for those who aren't familiar with it, and it can make exploring your artistic side feel less intimidating if you don't have her fine art background. Her beautiful photographs really grab your attention and get you intrigued with the recipes, and they also make this book gorgeous enough to display on your coffee table when it's not at home in your kitchen. If you need an inspiration for a memorable dessert to suit any occasion, or you need a special gift for somebody who bakes, this book is perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, creative, and easy to reproduce results!, June 25, 2012
By 
J. Blair (CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
I am so happy I got this cookbook. I don't buy many, but this one deserves a spot on my shelf! There are basic recipes for all of the things you might consider using for decorative baking, and then there are loads of pictoral instructions on decorating options way more interesting than fondant + frosting. Heather Baird's notes on each cake and cookie type help avoid many of the problems first time bakers encounter with these recipes and are bits of golden common sense you usually have to learn from Grandma. I am so very pleased. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stand Out at the Next Bake Sale, June 7, 2012
This review is from: SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist (Paperback)
This book is filled with amazing photos, step by step guidance through what hangs the average beginning baker up and even sprinkles in loads of southern charm. Best of all it's filled with recipes that are sure to stand out at the next bake sale or party! All I can say is Heather Baird Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist
SprinkleBakes: Dessert Recipes to Inspire Your Inner Artist by Heather Baird (Paperback - May 1, 2012)
$19.95 $13.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.