Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly FUNNY
Forget all the panners, downers and other pooh-pooh'ers. This thing is one laugh riot after another. Too many to mention. Give it a rest, guys. This is a parody, a spoof. I laughed all the way through even after the THIRD time I watched.
Published on July 15, 1999

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, yet it does entertain
Leslie Nielsen is Dick Steele, code named Agent WD-40. When his deceased girlfriend's daughter, Barbara Dahl, (both played by Stephanie Romanov), is captured by the evil General Rancor (Andy Griffith), Agent Steele is sent to rescue her and to stop the General from his evil plans. With the help of the beautiful Veronique Ukrinsky (Nicolette Sheridan), there is a 'slim and...
Published on November 23, 2002 by Priscilla Stafford


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, yet it does entertain, November 23, 2002
By 
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
Leslie Nielsen is Dick Steele, code named Agent WD-40. When his deceased girlfriend's daughter, Barbara Dahl, (both played by Stephanie Romanov), is captured by the evil General Rancor (Andy Griffith), Agent Steele is sent to rescue her and to stop the General from his evil plans. With the help of the beautiful Veronique Ukrinsky (Nicolette Sheridan), there is a 'slim and remote' possibility that they might succeed! Will the duo be able to save the world? Also starring is Charles Durning as The Director who has a love for 'camouflage and disguises', Marcia Gay Harden as Miss Cheevus (say her name real fast ;), Barry Bostwick as Norman Coleman, and Elya Baskin as Professor Ukrinsky.
Just looking at the names of the characters, I'm sure you suspect that this movie will have lots of puns, silly jokes, slapstick comedy, and stupid scenes. Your right! It's amazing how much silliness could be incorporated into this movie which parodies all forms of spy and action movies! The jokes at times work well though at times they fall completely flat. Also the same jokes are used a lot and come off a bit boring after many repeats. But some scenes do come off right and made my family roll off the couch laughing! Some of my favorite scenes:
*Leslie Nielsen's 'kung fu' against the Russian agent.*
*Leslie Nielsen and Nicolette Sheridan making those ridiculous faces at each other in the airplane!
*The last 'battle' with the good guys versus the evil guys.
But ultimately, 'Weird Al' Yankovic's opening credits is the best part of the whole movie! It was so extremely funny, he makes fun of some of 007 movie's opening credits. I gave this movie an extra star because of the great 'Weird Al' Yankovic.
So, to put it all together, "Spy Hard" is nothing special though it has many entertaining qualities to it. Expect lots of silliness and stupidity. On the good side is that the movie is one 1 hr. and 20 min. lots, it does not get too boring and repetitive. I recommend the movie for those who love this type of slapstick comedy. The movie is rated PG-13 because of crude humor and some sexual humor. For this reason I recommend parents to see this movie before showing their children, but I suggest that very young children shouldn't watch "Spy Hard".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly FUNNY, July 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
Forget all the panners, downers and other pooh-pooh'ers. This thing is one laugh riot after another. Too many to mention. Give it a rest, guys. This is a parody, a spoof. I laughed all the way through even after the THIRD time I watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nielsen at his finest, and "Weird Al" Yankovic's best theme!, October 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Spy Hard [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I loved this movie! It is a must see for anyone with a slight sense of humor. I was rolling in the ailes, and Yankovic's theme blows me away (Pun intended!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HYSTERICAL, March 18, 2005
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Leslie's goofball movies and outside of his Naked gun flicks,i thought this was the funniest. In fact,it's quite similar to the Naked gun movies as far as what Leslie does in the story and that cant be a bad thing! Very funny movie,and yes of course quite ridiculous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You have to be in the mood for dumb comedy: 3 1/2 stars, April 10, 2004
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
Okay, this is a dumb movie. What little plot there is only serves to connect a loosely arranged set of parodies and puns in true Leslie Nielsen form. However, if you're in the right mood, it can be a entertaining way to spend an hour and a half. Leslie Nielsen plays agent WD-40 who sets out to rescue agent Barbara Dahl (Stephanie Romanov) from the evil and prosthetic clutches of Doctor Rancor (Andy Griffith.) Beginning and end of story. Along the way, viewers are treated to send-ups of various movies and celebrity personalities. The humor is erratic, as the script is burdened with groaners and jokes that simply don't work as much as it is carried along with its laugh out loud moments. The sophomoric comedy often works because of the element of surprise: the best laughs come when the viewer is least expecting them. It helps if you're familiar with many of the films that "Spy Hard" parodies. The only brilliant part of this film is the Weird Al Yankovic segment during the opening credits. It is so funny on its own that it warms up the audience for more laughs. I don't think I would have been so willing to find humor in the silliness if Weird Al hadn't already started me laughing.
This is pure sophomoric, spoof comedy in the spirit of National Lampoon and Saturday Night Live - all, of course, with the distinctive touch of Leslie Nielsen. Leave your intelligence at the door - and then settle down for some truly mindless, occasionally hilarious, comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nielsen comedy, September 17, 2009
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
If you like ridiculous gags, puns and satirical jabs then this movie is great. It's one of the all time stupid funny movies, from the time Weird Al sings the credits its non stop goofy. Leslie is showing his age and obviously can't do quite as much physical humor as in earlier movies. Regardless of faults it will make 80 minutes fly by. And as a bonus most women can't stand this type of humor so your wife will leave you alone, except for the occasional eye roll and guffaw as she walks past. (as if a movie about shared pants is more sensible)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrible, but Not Great either, August 22, 2007
By 
L Gontzes (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spy Hard [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I'm going to have to agree with most of the previous reviewers in saying that this is indeed not the best of films compared to other spoofs out there.
Spy Hard, following in the footsteps of Date Movie, Epic Movie, Shriek if You Know What I Did Last Friday the 13th, and the Scary Movie series, is a parody of several films including James Bond, Home Alone, Pulp Fiction, and even Jurassic Park among others.
It is a humorous movie... at times. The casting is good, though most of the dialogues could have been a lot better. What it comes down to is that they could have and should have worked on the humor much more.
The girls are a great addition; Nicolette Sheridan was simply AMAZING!
Short appearances by Fabio, Hulk Hogan, Weird Al Yankovic, Ray Charles, and others did nothing really to significantly improve the mediocrity of this movie.
Overall, far from being a masterpiece, it just might provide for an evening's entertainment if one is in a really silly mood and/or intoxicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not Leslie's best, January 6, 2004
By 
steve (Jefferson, Ga USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
I was expecting a lot more from this movie. A lot of the jokes fall flat. Think of National Lampoon's Loaded Weapon 1. Although Spy Hard is not as horrible as that one, it still in no way measures up to the greatness of Airplane! or the Naked Gun movies. This movie is probably worth a rental from your local video store, but I wouldn't recommend buying it. The best part of this movie is the opening title sequence by Weird Al Yankovic. It spoofs the typical James Bond opening credit sequence. When I first saw that at the theater, I almost fell out of my seat from laughing so hard. The opening credits alone may be the best reason to see this movie. After that, it's a so-so movie with some funny parts but mostly gags that fall flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nielsen, December 6, 2003
This review is from: Spy Hard (DVD)
Spy Hard...a spoof movie and another in the classic collection of the comedy genius of Leslie Nielsen. Not up there with the Naked Gun Collection but still a refreshing comedy with plenty of spoofs. Andy Griffith plays the bad guy, General Rancor and it's Leslie Nielsen(Agent WD-40) who has to save the world from his imminent tyranny. Leslie Nielsen is great, Nicolette Sheridan is also very good and sexy in this picture.:) They don't make enough comedies like this anymore. A must have for anybody who likes the goofy fun of Leslie Nielsen films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Leslie Nielsen parody. Hey - is Leslie related to Rick from Cheap Trick? Just wondering...Full of Hawai'i Five-0 vets., June 12, 2006
By 
Rich The Reviewer (Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spy Hard [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Let's see; Nielsen, Barry Bostwick, Charles

Durning, Andy Griffith, et, al. Nicolette

Sheridan is worth watching by herself! And

Weird Al Yankovic, who was also in the 1st

Naked Gun movie did a good job with the

Soundtrack song! Durning steals the show,

almost, with his disguises to hide from his

ex-wife's attorney - especially as pieces of

furniture! Get this, Wrongfully Accused and

2001: A Space travesty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spy Hard
Spy Hard by Rick Friedberg (DVD - 1999)
$9.99 $6.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.