Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of humor and excitement in this fast-moving adventure
"Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams," written and directed by Robert Rodriguez, continues the cinematic adventures of the Cortez family. Alexa Vega and Darryl Sabara lead the cast as Carmen and Juni Cortez, a brother-and-sister team of kid secret agents. SK2 is a truly multigenerational story; in addition to featuring Antonio Banderas and Carla Gugino as the kids'...
Published on August 25, 2002 by Michael J. Mazza

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SpyKids2 Island of Lost Dreams
Great movie except for 1 thing! bought it for my grand kids--ages 9-3. We were really enjoying all the action and even the moral lessons...when all of a sudden close to the end...Carmen socks her "boyfriend" in the nose and tells him he is full of S***. What a let down!!! we all just looked at each other and said "did they not think children would watch this?" and why did...
Published on February 18, 2009 by Woodi


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of humor and excitement in this fast-moving adventure, August 25, 2002
"Spy Kids 2: The Island of Lost Dreams," written and directed by Robert Rodriguez, continues the cinematic adventures of the Cortez family. Alexa Vega and Darryl Sabara lead the cast as Carmen and Juni Cortez, a brother-and-sister team of kid secret agents. SK2 is a truly multigenerational story; in addition to featuring Antonio Banderas and Carla Gugino as the kids' parents, the film also costars Ricardo Montalban and Holland Taylor as the kids' maternal grandparents.
In this film, the spy kids trace a missing device to the fantastic island lair of an eccentric scientist (a fun performance by character actor Steve Buscemi). As the kids pursue their mission, they have a continuing rivalry with another brother-and-sister spy kid team (played with nice touches of Nellie Olson-ish nastiness by Matt O'Leary and Emily Osment). This kid-vs.-kid conflict gives an added kick to the fast-paced story.
SK2 is a really fun and exciting film. There are some wacky, Willie Wonka-ish images and satiric touches (one memorable sight gag involves some overprotective Secret Service agents). Some of the colorful special effects sequences seem to be homages to classic Ray Harryhausen films. And the film is filled with great spy gadgets; these kids really out-Bond 007 himself.
The performances are solid all around; the cast members have enjoyable chemistry with each other. The casting of Montalban (a sci-fi/fantasy icon due to his roles as Khan in "Star Trek" and Mr. Rourke from "Fantasy Island") is particularly inspired; the veteran actor brings tremendous charm and warmth to his role.
I haven't yet seen the original "Spy Kids" film, so I have to judge SK2 on its own. It's suitable, I believe, for the whole family; the violence in the film is of the cartoonish, non-lethal variety, and the film presents a nice message of family loyalty and togetherness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Spy Kids 1....'cept better., August 8, 2002
By A Customer
I'm not a big fan of movie sequels, because they're made mostly for the buck and nearly always turn out rotten. But I've gotta say, "Spy Kids II" was a real swinger. (That's good.) Here's the basic plot:
The OSS now has a Spy Kids division, where kids do the dirty work adults can't. Carmen and Junie, the kids from the original movie, are some of the top spies. Also in this division are two troublemaker/brilliant kid spies who compete with them for different assignments. Through one thing or another, they end up on an island with large mutant creatures. Their mission? Get a transmooker device on the other side of the island and save the world...or something. Anyway, their parents find out, and go after them. Mix in the in-laws, and you've got a bizarre but really goofy plot that moves along really well.
Okay, that's just a small summary of the plot, but you get the basic idea. "Spy Kids II" turns out to be as funny..and creative...as the first movie. Even more so. It's not quite as weird as "Spy Kids I"...no mutant humans. Now mutant animals...well, that's just cool. So are the sophisticated high-tech gadgets. And the special effects...FANTASTIC. Also, Carmen and Juni get along much better, which is relief. Because the characters are already established, the storyline and the dialog of the movie seems to move along even better than "Spy Kids I". Gregorio's in-laws are a very nice touch, and it adds some pretty funny moments. The characters from the first movie, Floop and Minion, are also there, as well as Uncle Felix ("I'm not your uncle.") and Machete. This seems to make it flow easily from one movie to the next. And, of course, with moments like the theme park and the dance scene, (the ballet part, oh, I died laughing) it offered many laugh-out-loud for the audience to enjoy.
As for the cons of the movie, there weren't very many. The camara shots are kind of jumpy and jerky, like the first movie. Being a storyboard artist, I liked that, but I know that it gave some people headaches. The plot is a little confusing..you're not quite sure who knows what or how they found out unless you pay close attention, but nothing major. And the telepathy scene...why did they have that? It was kind of pointless. I wonder if there was more to that originally before the editing process. And, in the credits they have Carmen doing a teeni-bopper thing. Boy, speaking of pointless...
These are just minor things, of course. There were tips of the hat to "Jason and the Argonauts," "Indiana Jones," and "Jurrassic Park." It wasn't crude or especially violent (Though the skeleton part and the fighting mutant animals might scare some little kids.) there was hardly any swearing ... Overall, this was a delightful and witty movie that entertained the whole family.
Bottom line: If you liked "Spy Kids I", see "Spy Kids II", because it's even better. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We�ve Got A Franchise!!, September 6, 2002
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
"Spy Kids 2: Island of Lost Dreams" is another in a line of great sequels to great movies. Overall, if you enjoyed the first film you'll be very pleased in the next installment in this "Bond for Kids" comedy/adventure series!!
THE STORY:
Carmen and Juni Cortez (Alexa Vega and Daryl Sabara) are back in a bigger and wilder adventure than before. This time the Cortez siblings are locked in a dead heat to get to the bottom of a mystery concealed by a remote and mysterious island before a rival team of Spy Kids beat them to the punch.
THE COOL THINGS:
The "Island of Lost Dreams" expands upon the Spy Kids world tenfold as we are introduced to the entire Spy Kids organization including its hierarchies and ultra-cool weapons. The "monsters" in this installment are also more formidable looking (mutated/spliced animals) as compared to the comical mutated humans from the first movie. We also get introduced to the extended Cortez family tree as Ingrid's parents gain a supporting role. In all, seeing the competing Spy Kids and the newer and cooler weapons made this movie more enjoyable.
BEST SCENES:
1. The Monster Duel
2. Popstars Carmen and Juni!!! (HILARIOUS!!!)
3. Battle at OSS
THE VERDICT:
Spy Kids was generally regarded as a good, solid movie not only for kids and families, but anyone in general. It was fun, entertaining and all around enjoyable. Summed in a nutshell, Spy Kids 2: Island of Lost Dreams is even better!!!
Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another imaginative kids movie!, August 10, 2002
By 
Spy kids is back! It's a great family flick and although it gets sort of stretched out in the middle, it quickly catches up on the plot. What makes this movie worth the 5 stars? Well it's creative, fun, and funny. Rodriquez is getting really good now with a family film that has a great plot! One thing good about this movie is that (just like Rush Hour 2), the sequel is better than the original. Kids as well as adults will love the imaginative devices and the fact that it's a sci-fi kids film. Just like Austin Powers makes up a dirty-parody version of the James Bond movies, Spy Kids make up a kids version of the James Bond movies! The movie is enjoyable. Those of you who loved the original will enjoy this. I still prefer Monsters Inc. though! Okay fine-it doesn't have the extraordinary special effects!... But... It's worth watching on the big screen. It's fine piece of entertainment!

What's it about?: The world needs the help of two super agents once again. Carmen and Juni are back except this time their mystery involves a "mystical" island. They are fighting against their enemies once again. They stumble onto a (mad?) scientist and his "mystical" creatures! But this time the mission is harder. So hard that their WHOLE family has to tag along as super spies.

Kids will love this movie that features really cool parents and fascinating kids that are spies. It's one of the better movies of the summer. A little something for Lilo &Stitch fans! The adventure in this sequel is better than the original's plot and this time there are more spectacular devices to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SpyKids2 Island of Lost Dreams, February 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie except for 1 thing! bought it for my grand kids--ages 9-3. We were really enjoying all the action and even the moral lessons...when all of a sudden close to the end...Carmen socks her "boyfriend" in the nose and tells him he is full of S***. What a let down!!! we all just looked at each other and said "did they not think children would watch this?" and why did they even think that line needed to be in this movie for them? Ruin a whole movie for just one stupid unneeded word.....how very sad....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie!, August 8, 2002
By 
P. Steiding (Petaluma, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just saw this movie today and I have to say that in my opinion it's better than the first movie! Those crazy spy kids are back with their parents and now grandparents. Uncle Felix is back (or as his portrayer, Cheech Marin says, "I'm not your Uncle Felix!"), as well as a few other characters! Though these characters screen appearance is brief but they are still in the film. And I have to say it is nice to see Ricardo Montelbon in the movie! I don't want to give the plot or any part of the movie away so I'll just say that the special effects were fantastic, the movie was quite humorus, kept me laughing. My daughter and her friend (both 9) loved the movie as well!
This movie is for the entire family. Parents will enjoy this just as much as their kids! I would have to say there there were quite a lot of parents in the theater that I was in today and I even saw several adults coming in without children!
It's pretty easy to figure out what is going on in the movie (they don't give much away in the trailers so I really can't go into the complete details - not my rules) but you will still enjoy yourself.
One more thing, make sure to sit through the entire credits, don't just get up and walk out as there is still some stuff to see during the credits.
Take the family, take the kids & their friends, or if you're an adult take yourself but this is a fun enjoyable movie for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kid's movies get better every year., August 20, 2002
By 
dvrx "dvrx" (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Spy Kids 2 is hilarious. It's campy. It's one of the few kids movies that doesn't throw a lot of jokes in for parents to understand into the script, and it's wonderful.
The star of the show, by far, is Juni. He's hilarious. He's the coolest kid of any movie I've seen in a long time, and I've seen a LOT!
If you've seen Spy Kids and you liked it, you'll probably love Spy Kids 2. There's a ton of new gadgets, a bunch of jokes, and a ballet scene.
Yup, a ballet scene.
For adults, there's a lot of cool actors in this movie. Ricardo Montalbon from Fantasy Island (to stick with the Island theme) and Holland Taylor (Max from Mission: Impossible, to stick with the Spy theme.
A new spy family, the Giggles, is headed by the father, played by Mike Judge. Sound familiar? He was the writer/director of Office Space (also played Stan, the manager at Chotchkies) and creator of Beavis and Butthead.
Finally, a mad geneticist played by Steve Buscemi. (Reservoir Dogs, Con Air, Fargo, Armageddon... actually, what HASN'T he been in?)
Put them all together and you've got one entertaining movie.
Go see it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first, August 1, 2002
By 
Wes Martin (Maryland, USA) - See all my reviews
Spy Kids 2 is a spectacular time at the movies. Continuing a first movie in a series can be tough, but when you've got enjoyable characters and non-stop action in the sequel, it's hard to not want more. The movie is funny, dialogue clever, special effects dazzling, and characters enjoyable. If you're a fan of the first Spy Kids, this is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SPY KIDS 2: THE ISLAND OF LOST PLOTS, June 26, 2003
By 
Robert Rodriguez wears multiple hats in this sequel to his hit kid's movie: He's credited as Director, Writer, Editor, Director of Photography, Production Designer, Music and Special Effects Superviser. Which probably goes a long way towards explaining why this sequel just doesn't measure up. The reverse of the old saying "Too many cooks spoil the broth" applies to the mess that is SPY KIDS 2.
#2 has junior spies Carmen (Alex Vega) and Juni (Daryl Sabara) Cortez finding their position as the top spies in their unit challenged by Gary and Gertie Giggles, who have unfairly been stealing credit for Carmen and Juni's successes. This rivalry stretches on so long that it isn't until halfway into the movie that the main plot finally surfaces.
On a desert island a mad scientist named Romero (Steve Buscemi) is creating strange mutant animals for his bizzare menagerie. The creatures include such original species hybrids as spider-monkey, cat-fish and dragon-fly. Ha ha. Not.
Unfortunately Romero isn't the only one who's lost the plot. (Blame Rodriguez, which is a shame because he's one of my fave Directors). Unfortunately the kids find themselves in way over their heads, being pursued by various dinosaurs who naturally want to eat them but also finding allies among the creatures too. However, Juni has a tracking device installed in one of his teeth so it's Greg (Anotonio Banderas) and Ingrid (Carla Gugino) to the rescue with the help of Ingrid's parents; whom Greg especially dislikes. Oddly Ricardo Montalbahn who plays Grandpa doesn't point up at the sky while on the island and shout "Ze plane! Ze plane!" Tattoo would not be impressed.
Meanwhile Gary and Gertie's tireless trickery to become Numero Uno sees them literally buried up to their necks in deep poop.
While the original was fun, ISLAND OF LOST DREAMS is an ordeal, even down to Alan Cummings reprising his role from the first movie as Floop; giving the viewer a good idea what Pee-Wee Herman would look like after an hour being stretched on the rack. This isn't helped by cheesy effects that look like they belong in a Larry Cohen B-movie, not a Hollywood blockbuster; even though Rodriquez has included a homage to Ray Harryhausen's skeletal swordsman from JASON AND THE ARGONAUTS.
While SPY KIDS was a fun, sharp and inventive movie that could be enjoyed by kids and adults alike; ISLAND OF LOST DREAMS is just a mess.SPY KIDS 3D is on the way. Here's hoping it's a lot better than this inferior sequel which seems to run an awful lot longer than 95 minutes. Keep a look out for the grandparents in their franchise spinoff SPY GERIATRICS: THE ISLAND OF LOST DENTURES. Worse still, Banderas and Gugino are given little to do here. If,like me you liked the first one; then you won't be so forgiving of this.
DVD extras include "Robert Rodriguez's 10 Minute Film School", a doco about the movies stunt kids and their training, Director's commentary, deleted scenes, a music video, a look at the gadgets in the movie, behind the scenes montages, the Total Access feature "Day In The Life Of Spy Kids", a stills gallery, art gallery and teaser trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse than the first, September 7, 2002
By 
And I thought that one was pretty awful. My kids loved the first one so I took them to this one - judging by thier reactions, they didn't like it as much either. The plot is lame, thin and a kid over 9 would agree that it is pretty silly to the point of stupidity. The special effects are by far and away the worst I have seen in a movie in a long time. My kids kept commenting "that looks fake". To say the least, they were awful, not one effect looked real in the least. The characters had even less development than the first and the acting, even the acting of relatively accomplished actors such as Banderas and Buschimi was strained and contrived. Very young children will enjoy seeing the Spy Kids again, parents should simply do themselves a favor and nap through this dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spy Kids 2
Spy Kids 2 by Robert Rodriguez
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.