Squanto's Journey: The Story of the First Thanksgiving
 
 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Good | See details
Sold by All-Booked-Up.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Squanto's Journey: The Story of the First Thanksgiving [Hardcover]

Joseph Bruchac , Greg Shed
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Best Books of 2014

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback $6.99  
Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Book Description

September 15, 2000 6 - 9 years1 - 3560L (What's this?)
In 1620 an English ship called the Mayflower landed on the shores inhabited by the Pokanoket people, and it was Squanto who welcomed the newcomers and taught them how to survive in the rugged land they called Plymouth. He showed them how to plant corn, beans, and squash, and how to hunt and fish. And when a good harvest was gathered in the fall, the two peoples feasted together in the spirit of peace and brotherhood.
Almost four hundred years later, the tradition continues. . . .


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

Most American children know the story of the Pilgrims and the first Thanksgiving, but the Native American side of the tale is far less familiar. Joseph Bruchac, a prolific and award-winning author of Native American descent (The First Strawberries, A Boy Called Slow) describes life in 1620 for a man who was destined to save the Pilgrims even as he was losing his family and tribe. Told from Squanto's point of view, this historically accurate and detailed story brings to life one of the most important moments in America's past. Demonstrating how much his people (the Patuxet, the People of the Falls) value honor, Squanto befriends English traders, even after being kidnapped and taken to Spain. After much hard work, Squanto manages to sail back to his homeland, where, in spite of his discovery that many of his people have died from disease brought by white people, he acts as envoy between the English and his own people, and helps the pilgrims survive in their new world.

Throughout this moving tale, Squanto's belief that "these men can share our land as friends" poignantly shines through. Greg Shed's gouache illustrations capture the warmth and dignity of Squanto and his friends. Young readers will be fascinated by this lesser-known perspective on the Thanksgiving tradition that remains strong today. (Ages 6 to 10) --Emilie Coulter

From School Library Journal

Grade 2-5-A picture book that focuses on the young Indian who helped the Pilgrims survive the brutality of the New England winter. When he was 24, an English captain abducted Squanto along with 20 of his tribesmen and took them to Spain to be sold as slaves. Spanish friars helped him escape to England where he learned the language and dreamed of going back to his native land. When he finally returned, he served as translator and mediator between the English colonists and the other Indian tribes. He convinced Samoset, a sachem of the Pemaquid, to accept and work with the white settlers. It was this cooperation that helped the tiny Plymouth Colony to survive. Many authors have given the Native American credit for his role in the survival of the colony. What distinguishes this first-person account is the authenticity of detail. In his author's note, Bruchac describes the research that he used to flesh out the story with dates and names. However, because of the wealth of facts, the text has a stilted quality. Shed's full-page gouache illustrations are beautifully executed in golden, autumnal tones. There is a richness of detail in the pictures that echoes the passion for historical accuracy in costume and interior-and-exterior dwellings. However, the full-bled illustrations tend to overwhelm the text and the uniformity of their size and placement can become somewhat tedious. Still, most libraries will want to own this version.
Barbara Buckley, Rockville Centre Public Library, NY
Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 6 - 9 years
  • Grade Level: 1 - 3
  • Lexile Measure: 560L (What's this?)
  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Silver Whistle; 1 edition (September 15, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0152018174
  • ISBN-13: 978-0152018177
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 11.3 x 0.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.9 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (18 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #964,429 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Joseph Bruchac is a highly acclaimed Abenaki children's book author, poet, novelist and storyteller, as well as a scholar of Native American culture. Coauthor with Michael Caduto of the bestselling Keepers of the Earth series, Bruchac's poems, articles and stories have appeared in over 500 publications, from Akwesasne Notes and American Poetry Review to National Geographic and Parabola. He has authored more than 50 books for adults and children. For more information about Joseph, please visit his website www.josephbruchac.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thanksgiving Story November 5, 2000
By A Customer
Format:Library Binding
This book is an excellent way of sharing the first Thanksgiving with children. It is told from the perspective of the Native Americans, a perspective that is often overlooked. The illustrations are beautiful and help to tell the story visually.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book about Squanto December 7, 2009
Format:Paperback
This is a nice book about Squanto, beginning with when he was forcibly taken to Spain and sold into slavery, through learning English and travelling back to North America to eventually help the Pilgrims as they established their new colony. Most of what I learned about Squanto was new to me.

Each 2-page spread has a full page illustration. The illustrations are attractive in gold, autumn tones.

There is a brief glossary on the back of the very last page, mixed in with copyright information, it's easy to mess. However, there is no pronunciation key which would have been very helpful for the names of the Indian tribes and individuals.

Also be aware, this book doesn't really teach you much about the Pilgrims or about the first Thanksgiving, so you need another book for those topics, but this is a nice addition to a collection of "Thanksgiving" books for children in the elementary school years.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars realistic November 11, 2008
Format:Paperback
I didn't know about the story about Squanto and his life before and during when the settlers arrived on the shore, but now I do. thank you for breaking the mythical 'thanksgiving image' that we have thought for so many years. our society needs to know the truth, and not sugar coat it.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars luminous illustrations April 28, 2011
Format:Paperback
I love the story of Squanto - a young man who endures incredibly bad situations, and still has the courage and dignity to help others. The illustrations in this book make Squanto's world come alive. Easy text - great for younger readers.

Everything Joseph Bruchac does is excellent.

My older readers also like "Squanto, Friend of the Pilgrims" by Peter Buchard.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stuanto's Journey December 13, 2010
By Bean
Format:Paperback
This is a wonderful book that tells the other side of the Thanksgiving story. It is a little difficult for young children to understand but older elementary children would learn a lot form this book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
High hopes for this book were ultimately disappointed by the poor level of writing and editing. However promising, this concept is delivered without grace, humor, or skill. I once hear a writer say successful writing "shows," not tells...well, this book "tells."

My K-3rd grade audience was confused by this book, and no wonder: an odd first-person introduction by "future Squanto" (1621) drops the reader into a narrative about past Squanto (confusingly written in the present tense by past Squanto), transitions again into "present tense" (1621) Squanto to talk almost-not-at-all about the pilgrims' Thanksgiving, and then ends with a "I'll always be here" message (is this pre-thanksgiving Squanto again? An older Squanto?). I'm sure the author probably thought having Squanto tell the story might make it more compelling, but he neglected to help Squanto sound like an actual person. Instead, he recites his experiences in a dry, mechanical way as it he weren't actually the one in the experiences. Different terms are randomly swapped out to refer to the same Indian tribes and areas of the world...I had to keep putting the book down and explaining to my kids, "that must be a translation for the name of that Indian tribe." It feels like a non-native person did a lot of research and tried to "sound native" by sometimes using English-language translations of Indian words and other times using the words themselves...it just doesn't work and feels like someone is trying to work in as much research as possible rather than write a successful children's book.

This is the real problem: the story isn't presented compellingly and it ignores its young audience's needs.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to Thanksgiving April 17, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Joseph Bruchac is a wonderful teller of the Native American Stories. This is a well written, touching story of Thanksgiving that can be read year after year. A family keeper.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a picture book but isn't... October 19, 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Don't buy this book unless the child is at least 8 or 9. It looks like a picture book but it is really text-driven. Moreover the text is complicated. The illustrations are well-drawn but dull. I wonder if the the author ever read it to a child. He doesn't make this interesting story easy to grasp.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars It would be best read in 2 sittings and needs explanation
I read this book to my 2nd graders. It would be best read
in 2 sittings and needs explanation, but it is a wonderful, rich
in theme book.
Published 13 days ago by sharon k johnson
5.0 out of 5 stars "The true story of Squanto and the First Thanksgiving."
A fantastic Thanksgiving picture book for older readers. It's the real story, related by Native Americans with beautiful full-page drawings in an over-sized book. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Hope Irvin Marston
2.0 out of 5 stars I was very disappointed in this book
I was very disappointed in this book. I ordered it bc I was looking for something specific and couldn't remember exactly which book I was looking for, but since the artwork was so... Read more
Published 1 month ago by concerned mom
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Debt to Native Americans
I bought this book to go along with a Pilgrim Barbie. It's a great kids book. Words are printed over illustrations on every page. Read more
Published 5 months ago by Neem
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
The book arrived in great condition.
Published 5 months ago by Hope Mucklow
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Story!
We enjoyed reading this story around Thanksgiving time. I think the artwork is great and the story has a nice message. Read more
Published 11 months ago by SuperTwinsMom
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written
I chose to include this in my homeschool instruction. It is a beautiful account of the often under-taught role of Squanto and his role in the Pilgrims survival at Plymouth.
Published 12 months ago by Marcy Cassin Swisher
5.0 out of 5 stars Squantolicious
The story of Squanto has great content for young people just being introduced to biographies being read to them. 3rd graders will read this on their own. Read more
Published 18 months ago by Rhonda Garcia
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category