Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3 of the original "First-Person Sneaker" series
Thief: Deadly Shadows is the third game in the original Thief trilogy, continuing the adventures of master thief Garrett. The Thief series, starting with Thief: The Dark Project, was the first game of its type that turned the FPS genre on its head by making you avoid conflict. In the Thief games, you instead use shadow & sound to avoid guards and other NPCs while going...
Published 21 months ago by Jacob Wilson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So So
The new Thief title is so much better, and stays more true to the original Thief image. I would not recommend this.
Published 6 months ago by Brandon Edington


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part 3 of the original "First-Person Sneaker" series, March 29, 2013
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
Thief: Deadly Shadows is the third game in the original Thief trilogy, continuing the adventures of master thief Garrett. The Thief series, starting with Thief: The Dark Project, was the first game of its type that turned the FPS genre on its head by making you avoid conflict. In the Thief games, you instead use shadow & sound to avoid guards and other NPCs while going about your business depriving them of their valuables. In fact, on the highest difficulty setting you can fail if even a single person sees you.

Each game has a very engaging story throughout it, with all three games tying together into an overall theme of balance between nature & technology. This third game concentrates on The Keepers, the mysterious organization charged with maintaining the balance. As a youth, Garrett trained as a Keeper and they have maintained contact with him throughout the trilogy. Having lost touch with their original purpose, the organization finds itself dealing with trouble from within its own ranks, and a reluctant Garrett must now help them "clean house" as it were.

Even with dated graphics by today's standards, especially on the first two games, I would highly recommend the Thief trilogy to anyone who likes sneaking around. The atmosphere of the games - a steampunk city caught between magic & industry (and influenced by the Ultima series) - is very engaging, and the gameplay is still extremely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game,Great price, June 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
I had an older version of the game years ago. And I must say this one is even better. I am using windows 7 with no problems. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite all-time games, April 23, 2013
By 
Sooner (Norman, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
Thief III is a game that stands the test of time, particularly in this day of melee first-person shooters. As Garret, the player must engage in logic and stealth to finish missions. Indeed, face-to-face combat in this game is all but verboten. There is plenty of free-play and a massive world in which to roam. The story line is engaging and, for what it's worth, the voice acting is actually quite good. Garret has lots of fun toys and the missions are fairly open-ended. I highly recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You are Garret., February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
This happened to be the first Thief game of the series that I played, but once I realized it was the third game, I found the first two and played them as well, Excellent series, with a great concept, You actually have to use your brain, unlike so many other games that are just shoot, or slash and smash with lots of meaningless eye candy and serve no purpose but to look cool and get you hooked on an artificial adrenaline rush. Those are satisfying at times, but Thief is a thinking man's game with a bit of action so you don't get bored after hours of play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Old Fave, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
I have always loved the Thief games--DS being my favorite (climbing gloves--WOO). In light of Thief 4 coming out next year (PLEASE!!!) I wanted to replay DS. My discs were worn out though and would not load. I was hesitant to download DS as I've heard it won't run on Win 7 but I gave it a shot.

It works great on Win 7 (on my Inspiron laptop). No issues downloading or installing or playing. I didn't have to do a thing to get it to run correctly as was often suggested for Win 7 users.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic stealth game, August 20, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (SAN DIEGO, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
Before there was Assassin's Creed, before Prince of Persia there was Thief. I loved this game the first time around on the console, and even though the graphics look dated it's still an engaging game. A gamepad is something I would recommend though. all in all still fun and a welcome change from the usual "shoot first ask questions later" first person games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school dishonored., February 14, 2013
By 
blackeclipsevii (Purchase, New York, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
From the bit of Thief: Deadly Shadows I have played, it is just like Dishonored. Both games are incredible amounts of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So So, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
The new Thief title is so much better, and stays more true to the original Thief image. I would not recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars this game is definitely worse than its predecessors, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Deadly Shadows [Download] (Software Download)
It's not terrible, it's just not nearly as fun or interesting as Thief 1 or 2. They try to replace fun/interesting gameplay by just putting you in a wider variety of scenarios (ie: a civilization in the sewers, the pagan area, a ship full of zombies, etc.). Whereas the older games involved a lot of exploring, the levels are so small that this element of the game is largely missing as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thief Deadly Shadows [Download]
$8.99 $4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.