Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic that still holds up today
I loved the Thief series when it first came out so I visited it. probably my favorite game ever and playing again reinforced it.
Published 13 months ago by D. Wentz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not as great as what i remembered.
Published 1 month ago by Ben Myers


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic that still holds up today, July 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
I loved the Thief series when it first came out so I visited it. probably my favorite game ever and playing again reinforced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time greatest stealth games, February 21, 2014
By 
Roberto A. Caminos "RACU" (Albany, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
as of 2014 this game still stands up as a great stealth game. The graphics unfortunately were dated even when the game came out but there are a lot of mods that can improve that. Bottom line is that if you like sneaking around and lots of tension in your games then you ought to yourself to play the game that practically created the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rare artifact, March 5, 2014
By 
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
If someone asked me to show them evidence that video games can be art, the first game I would show them would be Thief: Gold.

It has historical importance as the first first-person stealth game. The envy of developers who wish they made it. Many have been Looking Glass understudies. This old dog still has a few tricks to teach the games of today (I won't grind an axe about the reboot here, except to say that it dispenses with a lot of the freedom and has a very different focus, though fans of the old games are completely divided as to whether the new game is good on its own terms or not).

Here are some tips to get the best experience:

First thing to do when you get the game is to apply the 'tfix' patch; this ensures that the cut-scenes will all play, you can use modern hd resolutions, and it allows you to then apply the separate hd texture patch (if you wish it). Then install openal for good reverb on the sound propogation.

The intro and end credits might not play on their own in this distribution, in which case you have to select them in the main menu to see them.

The game is a study in atmosphere and immersion. The feeling of being somewhere you're not and paying a price if you're caught. The moody, ambient musical loops, and alien colour scheme. You'll do yourself a disservice by not playing at night without any distractions.

The controls can be intimidating at first but become natural with time. Rebind the keys to allow strafing and free mouselook. Maybe consider tweaking the inventory buttons as well.

Don't bother blocking in combat, just move in, strike, move out/side step (although you should use combat only as a last resort, unless you're looking for a challenge).

Try not to quicksave overly often or it may suck out all the tense moments.

I recommend playing on normal at first, even if you deprive yourself of extra content with the extra objectives higher difficulty gives you. It is more liberating to get to use Garrett's full (sometimes lethal) toolset and do whatever the situation requires.

Try to get accustomed to the A.I. patterns. They have different alert states. Push the boundaries and experiment. Don't be hesitant to save before trying something, or you may find yourself back at the beginning.

USE YOUR EARS. Footsteps--your own and your enemies'--are crucial to pinning their location and knowing when the coast is clear.

Pay attention to the light gem; you're effectively invisible when it is completely dark. Put your sword and bow away if you don't need them as they increase your visibility. Equipping a fire arrow will light you up like a beacon. Crouch when you don't need to be standing.

The weakest thing about the game is the mantling, particularly on ladders. Garrett hates ladders. You might want to try the 'attach to ladder automatically' toggle and see if that makes things better.

Drink in the surroundings; the world is detailed but it doesn't place the detail in your path so that you can't miss it like a forced cut-scene. Eavesdrop on every conversation and read every note to get a feel for the world.

Some people get dismayed when they meet some of the stranger critters of the Thief universe, so consider that a forewarning--you're not entering the real world, and it's not -just- about stealing (although sneaking is a permanent constant).

Personally, I think the enemy variety adds to the escapism of playing the game, and it definitely forces you to come up with alternative strategies than how you might deal with guards.

However if this doesn't sound like something you'd appreciate, Thief 2 might be more up your alley--it's definitely focused more on the stealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, February 28, 2014
By 
M. Howells (Harrisburg, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
So much to be learned here by modern game developers. Though the graphics obviously seem primitive now, the voice acting still shines and the level design and gameplay are terrific. Modern games by comparison involve so much more handholding than older ones like Thief. For example here you have to actually consult and know how to read a map, as opposed to simply blindly following a floating waypoint marker or compass on a minimap. And the game benefits from it. You have to take in your surroundings and assess how to proceed, which adds an element of strategy that you rarely see anymore. And this is without getting into the story and characters, which are all very good. Garrett is a tremendous anti-hero, and still a refreshing change of pace from the stone-cold killers we are often asked to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
I got the game via the promotion, it's a nice game. Worth the money. I hope you all buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thief is AWESOME, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
Thief and Thief 2 are amazing. The graphics are dated, but very few stealth games are as fun to play, and the story makes you say "Wow". As far as getting the "Gold" version - if you already have the regular version, I would say you are not missing much with the gold version. The Magi level is more style than substance, and the Thieves' Guild level gets a little tedious. The Theater level is really well done, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
Not as great as what i remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey Now, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
This game was free when I downloaded it. It's an old classic. I can't really complain due to the nature of it being free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok Game, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Thief Gold [Download] (Software Download)
This game is all right. The game ran smoothly on my i5 laptop with 4 gigs of ram. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Thief Gold [Download]
Thief Gold [Download] by Square Enix
$6.99 $2.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.