Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2013
I loved the Thief series when it first came out so I visited it. probably my favorite game ever and playing again reinforced it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
So much to be learned here by modern game developers. Though the graphics obviously seem primitive now, the voice acting still shines and the level design and gameplay are terrific. Modern games by comparison involve so much more handholding than older ones like Thief. For example here you have to actually consult and know how to read a map, as opposed to simply blindly following a floating waypoint marker or compass on a minimap. And the game benefits from it. You have to take in your surroundings and assess how to proceed, which adds an element of strategy that you rarely see anymore. And this is without getting into the story and characters, which are all very good. Garrett is a tremendous anti-hero, and still a refreshing change of pace from the stone-cold killers we are often asked to play.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
as of 2014 this game still stands up as a great stealth game. The graphics unfortunately were dated even when the game came out but there are a lot of mods that can improve that. Bottom line is that if you like sneaking around and lots of tension in your games then you ought to yourself to play the game that practically created the genre.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
If someone asked me to show them evidence that video games can be art, the first game I would show them would be Thief: Gold.

It has historical importance as the first first-person stealth game. The envy of developers who wish they made it. Many have been Looking Glass understudies. This old dog still has a few tricks to teach the games of today (I won't grind an axe about the reboot here, except to say that it dispenses with a lot of the freedom and has a very different focus, though fans of the old games are completely divided as to whether the new game is good on its own terms or not).

Here are some tips to get the best experience:

First thing to do when you get the game is to apply the 'tfix' patch; this ensures that the cut-scenes will all play, you can use modern hd resolutions, and it allows you to then apply the separate hd texture patch (if you wish it). Then install openal for good reverb on the sound propogation.

The intro and end credits might not play on their own in this distribution, in which case you have to select them in the main menu to see them.

The game is a study in atmosphere and immersion. The feeling of being somewhere you're not and paying a price if you're caught. The moody, ambient musical loops, and alien colour scheme. You'll do yourself a disservice by not playing at night without any distractions.

The controls can be intimidating at first but become natural with time. Rebind the keys to allow strafing and free mouselook. Maybe consider tweaking the inventory buttons as well.

Don't bother blocking in combat, just move in, strike, move out/side step (although you should use combat only as a last resort, unless you're looking for a challenge).

Try not to quicksave overly often or it may suck out all the tense moments.

I recommend playing on normal at first, even if you deprive yourself of extra content with the extra objectives higher difficulty gives you. It is more liberating to get to use Garrett's full (sometimes lethal) toolset and do whatever the situation requires.

Try to get accustomed to the A.I. patterns. They have different alert states. Push the boundaries and experiment. Don't be hesitant to save before trying something, or you may find yourself back at the beginning.

USE YOUR EARS. Footsteps--your own and your enemies'--are crucial to pinning their location and knowing when the coast is clear.

Pay attention to the light gem; you're effectively invisible when it is completely dark. Put your sword and bow away if you don't need them as they increase your visibility. Equipping a fire arrow will light you up like a beacon. Crouch when you don't need to be standing.

The weakest thing about the game is the mantling, particularly on ladders. Garrett hates ladders. You might want to try the 'attach to ladder automatically' toggle and see if that makes things better.

Drink in the surroundings; the world is detailed but it doesn't place the detail in your path so that you can't miss it like a forced cut-scene. Eavesdrop on every conversation and read every note to get a feel for the world.

Some people get dismayed when they meet some of the stranger critters of the Thief universe, so consider that a forewarning--you're not entering the real world, and it's not -just- about stealing (although sneaking is a permanent constant).

Personally, I think the enemy variety adds to the escapism of playing the game, and it definitely forces you to come up with alternative strategies than how you might deal with guards.

However if this doesn't sound like something you'd appreciate, Thief 2 might be more up your alley--it's definitely focused more on the stealing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2014
Thief and Thief 2 are amazing. The graphics are dated, but very few stealth games are as fun to play, and the story makes you say "Wow". As far as getting the "Gold" version - if you already have the regular version, I would say you are not missing much with the gold version. The Magi level is more style than substance, and the Thieves' Guild level gets a little tedious. The Theater level is really well done, though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2014
With all of the new patches and hardware that are out now, Thief Gold can now be played in 4K resolution and it looks simply amazing!

First.. it's now widescreen, then there's the color & texture improvements and finally there's 4K to make it look like you're playing it in a drive-in theater's humongous screen. (80" screen optional)

"COMING SOON.. TO A MONITOR NEAR YOU"
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
Didn't pay a cent for it, and the time I have played it I can say there is fun to be had here. It definitely feels really old school because it is old school (nothing wrong with old school!). It's definitely fun, if you can get it for free that's always a positive. Otherwise I'm not sure if I would shell out 5 dollars for this unless you've played it before or have been really interested in buying it for awhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
This is a great game, the first of the "stealth" games and you can enjoy it with much improved graphics thanks to the fan made HD Mod! simply look up "Thief Gold HD Mod" in any search engine and in minutes you'll have high resolution graphics making every level just look incredible. it won't turn Gold into a 2014 game but with the enhanced graphics you'll be immersed in the game better than ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2014
Thief was one of my favorite games when it first came out. In fact, I liked it so much that I wanted to play it on a better system, so I upgraded my computer for the first time. (And had more fun with it!) This is still a game that's worth playing due to its importance in PC gaming history, and generally being fun all around. I'd recommend picking it up to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2014
Do not be fooled by the graphics of this game. The adventurous game play and medieval nostalgia defienantly make up for the lack of graphics. For an old game, I felt like I was playing a new 2014 game, and found myself engaged 100% of the time. If you like games like Skyrim (action adventure games) I would suggest getting this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.