Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL DEBUT!!!!!!
Henley College in Massachusetts is quite a place and Dr. Sophie Knowles teaches math there. She also makes math puzzles and brain teasers for several publications. Her students love her. She also has a hunky boyfriend who is a helicopter pilot for a medical evacuation and transfer group, MAstar.

A tradition at the Math/Sciences Building, Benjamin Franklin...
Published on July 5, 2011 by Lori Caswell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was an okay read with some seriously misguided character opinions and thoughts.
There’s not much to say really because this is a cozy mystery and they kind of always follow the same rules, you know. Still, it was an interesting spin with a maths professor headlining this particular series. The mystery wasn’t much of a mystery once I figured out who did it but I was curious to see how Sophie would solve it and react. So… The plot...
Published 1 month ago by Isa @ Words in a Teacup Reviews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL DEBUT!!!!!!, July 5, 2011
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Henley College in Massachusetts is quite a place and Dr. Sophie Knowles teaches math there. She also makes math puzzles and brain teasers for several publications. Her students love her. She also has a hunky boyfriend who is a helicopter pilot for a medical evacuation and transfer group, MAstar.

A tradition at the Math/Sciences Building, Benjamin Franklin Hall, is to celebrate birthdays of famous scholars with the students. Something terrible happens at the latest party that changes everything for several party attendees. Dr. Keith Appleton, without a doubt the most disliked member of faculty at Henley, is found dead in his office.

All the evidence points to Sophie's assistant Rachel, as the prime suspect, for several reasons including the fact that he refused to recommend her for medical school. Sophie knows there is absolutely no possibility or probability that Rachel could have killed the professor. Sophie decides to do a little investigating of her own trying to factor out just who the actual killer is, while being careful not to get herself subtracted completely out of the equation.

This is a wonderful debut to a really smart new series. The setting is intriguing, the plot complex but not over the top and the characters span the gambit. These are characters that I am sure to fall in love with as the series continues.

Ada Madison knows her subject matter very well. She has a Ph. D. in a Physics and a BA in Mathematics. She is also a fantastic storyteller so even those of us who did not excel in math or science still feel at home with this story. She has published other series, under different aliases and her Web Page tells you all about them, plus even has puzzles too.

This is my first experience with this author but will be working some of her other works into my reading schedule. I also will be anxiously awaiting the next edition to the Professor Sophie Knowles Mysteries. They are off to a marvelous start.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from The Berkley Publishing Group, a division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strike 3 But It's a Hit!!, July 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ada Madison is Camille Minichino's third swing at an author title -- and the result is a hit! The Square Root of Murder is her best book yet, no matter how the author bills herself.

Perhaps its her familiarity with the world of academia and the suburban Boston setting or her experience developing cozy mysteries that intrigue, amuse and delight, but "Square Root" provides a great way to begin sampling this author or renewing a previous acquaintance.

The plot is well-covered in previous reviews. The characters are well-developed and interesting, covering the gamut of personality types to be expected at a small New England college facing change. To me, the college itself is the most intriguing character in the book and I look forward to renewing my acquaintance in what I hope will be a soon-to-follow second installment in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More good characters from a delightful writer, July 5, 2011
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great new characters from Camille Minichino writing as Ada Madison. Bad behavior from dysfunctional university administrations, faculties, students and their families will give this thoughtful puzzle-solving math professor many opportunities for sleuthing adventures. Hurry up with the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining whodunit, July 9, 2011
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
At Henley College in Massachusetts, Professor Sophie Knowles is a student favorite as she makes math easy to understand. She also, under a pseudonym, publishes puzzles and brain teasers in various publications. In her microscopic spare time, she does craftwork in the form of beading at her friend Ariana's store. The one description she never thought would apply to her is amateur sleuth, but that is what happens when the college's most unpopular professor, who is disliked by students and teachers alike, is murdered.

The police are looking at Sophie's assistant Rachel as their prime suspect. Keith Appleton was giving Rachel a hard time with her thesis and she was heard saying terrible things about him. The cops find a report on yellow paper that Rachel wrote all marked in red saying sarcastic things about her research. Sophie believes Rachel is innocent so she sets out to prove her assertion. However, she soon realizes that Rachel and three other students lied about what they knew about the crime scene. Sophie keeps digging, but almost digs her owngrave.

Although an amateur sleuth placing herself in peril being a sub-genre recurring scenario, and a puzzle solver lead has been done by Parnell Hall (see The Puzzle Lady series); Ada Madison provides a fresh entertaining whodunit due to the college setting and the fortyish mathematician. Sophie is an intelligent person who works her investigation using the same skills she applies to math problems and puzzle making. The heroine lives a full life with her significant other, has good friends and a job she loves; and though her days are jammed, she makes time to search for the killer in this enjoyable new academic mystery series.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars she gets it right, November 5, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's a cozy mystery and this means atmosphere, cleverness, and no more than a modicum of violence. It was a pleasure to read the incidental mentions of things mathematical. There was no meaningless and artificial juxtaposition of terminology. Where mathematics is mentioned, the lingo is accurate. Told in the first person, the narrator is self-effacing, leaving it to us to judge whether she is clever or not. She seems to think that she muddles through to the solution, but then, even Sherlock Holmes used to get upset with himself having missed what he thought should have been obvious. (I read the book on Amazon Kindle.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent new cozy from a first-rate author, October 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first in a new series, but the author (Ada Madison) has written a number of previous books as Camille Minichino. She is probably my favorite mystery author, but since her mysteries under her own name are rather hard to get hold of, this new cozy moved easily to the top of my must-read list. I was not disappointed; it is excellent, every bit as good as her previous series. One gets a good feel for life in a New England town, campus life, and the challenges of balancing work with off-campus friends and family. As others have said, the setting is an academic one, but Professor Sophie Knowles has other dimensions to her life too, and she is capable of much warmth and human understanding. She also knows herself very well. She can admit her little shortcomings, such as not always being perfectly organized or doing everything in its proper order (as one might expect a mathematician to do). There are many humorous moments, and the story moves along quickly. I also appreciated the quick resolution near the end; this author doesn't add useless information; the book resolves well and leaves us wanting more. Well-done and beautifully written! I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to next book in series, September 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
The lead character is a woman with a doctorate in mathematics, creating a setting that is unusual for academic mysteries, which tend to be about English departments (as that usually is the author's field). There is a wonderfully drawn pain-in-the-ear administrator that anyone with academic experience will recognize. Readers also will learn some things about medevac helicopters; I always appreciate mysteries that teach while they entertain. I want to meet the lead character again and so have ordered the next book (not yet out). I will willingly overlook the unlikelihood that a small college such as the one at which Prof. Knowles teaches is the site of multiple murders, a necessary device to continue the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ada Madison gets an A+ for this new series, July 16, 2011
By 
CJ-MO (Missouri, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Math professor Sophie Knowles is teaching summer school on the small campus of Henley College in Massachusetts. While on the job, Sophie uses math games and activities to help students better understand math. A true devotee of mathematics, Sophie's idea of relaxing is devising puzzles and brainteasers for publication.

Sophie's assistant Rachel is trying to get accepted to medical school, but doesn't stand a chance without a recommendation from her advisor. Unfortunately, Rachel's advisor is the unpopular professor Dr. Keith Appleton who has said he will not give her the needed recommendation. Rachel is understandably furious, but while she isn't the only person that has issues with the professor, circumstances put her at the top of the suspect list when Dr. Appleton is murdered. Sophie is convinced Rachel is innocent and is determined to solve the murder based on facts and logic, the way she would one of her math problems.

"The Square Root of Murder" is a well-written mystery with an interesting setting and appealing characters. I enjoyed getting a glimpse at life as a professor, both the good (getting the chance to help young people succeed in college) and the bad (academic politics). Sophie is a unique and engaging main character. She is extremely intelligent, caring, and compassionate, even when in the course of the investigation she learns sensitive secrets about another character that hasn't always treated her fairly.

The primary supporting characters are also likeable. Sophie's best friend Ariana Volens owns a bead shop and is all about intuition and more mystical things like reading a person's aura in contrast to Sophie's practical, logical way of dealing with things. Ariana is constantly trying to get Sophie to loosen up and enjoy things like beading and meeting new people, when Sophie would be satisfied staying home and working on a puzzle. However, Ariana's encouragements are obviously done out of caring and she's not pushy or bossy. Their personalities complement each other, and the two friends make a good pair.

Sophie's boyfriend Bruce Granville is a medevac helicopter pilot and is likeable, but somewhat of an unknown. While I don't feel I really get to know this character, what I see is that he is a brave, kind person who truly cares about Sophie. If he remains involved with Sophie in future books, his character will need to be further developed in order to make the series even better.

I love the way "The Square Root of Murder" is constructed. Nothing is random in this cleverly plotted book. Different aspects of the characters and events that occur throughout the book are all important pieces of the puzzle which come together in the satisfying conclusion. While the summer session comes to a close at the end of the book, I am looking forward to another "term" with Professor Knowles in the classroom and on another case!

The author's new series will appeal to fans of the academic mysteries written by Amanda Cross or Maggie Barbieri. Ava Madison is a pen name for author Camille Minichino. The entertaining and intelligent writing style will appeal to those enjoy Minichino's physics related mysteries or the cozies written under her other pen name, Margaret Grace.

This review was originally written for The Season for Romance E-Zine. The book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very promising beginning, January 5, 2012
By 
CTcitizen "Eva Irene" (Killingworth, CT, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love cozies, but many tend to be sappy or corny. This one is smart, interesting, and well written. I hope there will be more books about Sophie, the math professor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun read!, December 27, 2011
By 
Forest (Nashua, NH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was a cut above regarding the quality of the writing. The plot moved along, the characters were definitely interesting and developed, and the killer was well hidden until the end. I am looking forward to the next book in this series---which for me, will be a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles)
The Square Root of Murder (Professor Sophie Knowles) by Ada Madison (Mass Market Paperback - July 5, 2011)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.