Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always get squaretrade for your electronics
Ive been using them for years on almost everything electronic I buy. Had a few cases where the product failed and I needed them and you email or call, they ship you a box with a prepaid shipping label, goes out to their repair facility, if it cant be fixed within two weeks they refund you the money for your original purchase.

Its also great for when you buy...
Published on December 17, 2012 by Amazon.Buyer

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Order & item info not automatically obatined from Amazon
This is an extended Warranty purchase, that was bought at the same time as the actual item, There is no coordination between Amazaon and SquareTrade about the "order"; which specific item was purchased, price, Amazon order number etc., Specifically no info on what this extended coverage is applicable to, even though the extended warranty was purchased together...
Published 9 months ago by For You


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always get squaretrade for your electronics, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Ive been using them for years on almost everything electronic I buy. Had a few cases where the product failed and I needed them and you email or call, they ship you a box with a prepaid shipping label, goes out to their repair facility, if it cant be fixed within two weeks they refund you the money for your original purchase.

Its also great for when you buy something from a store instead of an online retailer. cause you scan and upload your receipt right away so if a year or 2 later product fails..no need for original receipt. they have it on file and never ask you. Just dont be lazy and do that part right away. They dont force you to but you should.

1 repair and 2 refunds so far that have made up for over 10 of my squaretrade purchases...

Always get a squaretrade..not only cheaper than any other extended warranty, but they have great customer service. They make the process extremely easy. I have had a few cheap things need warranty replacements that I didnt think were worth a warranty (like now a compter case I bought for 70 bucks) and I wish I had boughten squaretrade for the ease of RMA process...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Order & item info not automatically obatined from Amazon, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
This is an extended Warranty purchase, that was bought at the same time as the actual item, There is no coordination between Amazaon and SquareTrade about the "order"; which specific item was purchased, price, Amazon order number etc., Specifically no info on what this extended coverage is applicable to, even though the extended warranty was purchased together with the item. Amazon "pops" up the option to buy the coverage along with the item, but it is listed as a separate purchase. That would have been ok if Amazon and Squaretrade coordinated & synch'ed up on the specific item purchased. Square trade sends a "contract" with no information on what is covered. I had to call Square Trade, who required me to send them (email) the pdf copy of the Amazon order as proof of purchase, delivery / shipment information and also provide the description of the item and serial number etc. I can understand they not having the last part but, the "purchase order" info and ship / delivery info must minimally be directly communicated by / obtained from Amazon. They automatically list the coverage date as order date + a couple of days, even though the item I ordered was back-ordered and did not ship for 3 weeks after purchase. When I called Square Trade their attitude was it is your responsibility to call us and convey the information, if you want the coverage. Also, the contract sent is a "generic" boiler-plate one. Does not conta8in their "contract #", which is required if you need to approach them for coverage. Even after I mailed "proof of Amazon Purchase", they did not send me the Contract that identifies the item of purchase covered and their contract number. The customer support is not consistently good. I called about 5 times total to resolve issues with my different order from Amazon. A couple of the folks are extremely cooperative. Others are very rude. Some misleading. When you buy the coverage (in my case a Large TV), they boast "in home" coverage for TVs larger than 35 in screen, but they hide the fact that only hardware issues are covered, and not software or firmware issues. That important "exclusion" detail comes in the contract emailed later. They also don't proactively tell you, you need to mail /email them the Amazon order "proof", to be eligible for the coverage. If you would ever need the coverage, they will not cover until you mail them the "proof of purchase". If I bought a 5 year extended warranty and I need the coverage in the 5th year, if I did not know I needed to send them the "proof of purchase"from Amazon, I would need to scramble after 5 years to did-up he Amazon order info, proof of shipment / delivery etc. Why can't this be obtained from Amazon when the square-trade coverage was purchased, as an integral part of purchasing the actual item from Amazon. That information should include make and model of the item along with the purchase price, date etc. Also, why doesn't square trade proactively seek all the required information from the purchaser of the item, instead of waiting for the purchaser to "discover", he/she needs to provide some critical information to square trade for the coverage to be valid. Seems like finding anyway possible to deny a coverage later on. At least that is impression I get, as they don't include the contract # and other critical information in the actual contract. So,when I need the coverage I have no solid "proof" with me that the "generic contract" sent to me, was supposed to cover this specific item for this specific period. Lots of issues I see need to be rectified with square-trade extended warranty purchase through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LAST TIME I BUY INTO THIS SCHEEM, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
The way that they have this setup is totally UN-acceptable. They charge you and then it takes a week of chasing down the paperwork to make the plan work. It is a complete pain in the BUTT, and I will never purchase another extended warranty thru Square Trade. They really need a better system. My neighbor and good friend, filed a claim with Square Trade over (6) six months ago and is still trying to get the item replaced. They have given him the runaround for months stating that he did not file the appropriate paperwork when he purchased the item. The item was out of the Manufactures warranty time but they still had him trying to get the Manufacture in China to replace the item. He cannot even get the Manufacture to answer an E-Mail. Your results may vary !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fridge Replacement, December 6, 2012
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
I love Square Trade! I have had them on many items and had not had to use them until recently. My ice maker in my french door refrigerator broke and the parts were on back order for way too long. Square Trade sent me a check for the total purchase price of the refrigerator from almost 2 years earlier. They are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RIPOFF ALERT!!!, March 1, 2013
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
RIPOFF ALERT!!! RIPOFF ALERT!!! RIPOFF ALERT!!! RIPOFF ALERT!!! RIPOFF ALERT!

LOOK HOW SQUARE TRADE RIPS PEOPLE OFF! THEY DENIED MY WARRANTY CLAIM TELLING ME MY TV IS UNDER MANUFACTURE WARRANTY. THE PURCHASE RECEIPT SHOWS THE TV OVER 1 YEAR OLD. THEY LOCKED MY CLAIM STATUS SO THAT I CANNOT UPDATE IT OR REPLY TO IT. I SENT 4 EMAILS AND NO REPLIES FROM SQUARETRADE. LOOK AT THE DATES AND SEE HOW OLD THIS CLAIM IS. BUYER BEWARE!!!

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Most exasperating company!, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Setting up these warranties is a nightmare. They send you a confirmation, and then want you to send them a receipt of purchase. If you don't set it up right when you get the email, you have to call to set it up. Here is a tip. Some of their people are helpful, and some try to put you off. Hang up and call back until you get someone who will actually set up your warranty and send you confirmation. I have been working on setting up four warranties for the past 3 hours, and now I am trying to find a receipt from an item I purchased in November to send them. They sent me the receipt in the first place. You are stuck with them if you buy from Amazon. This is the only thing I really don't like about Amazon. I have no idea if they really cover items. I guess it would depend on who you get when you call them. Good luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea and well worth it, December 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Super idea for anything electronic over $100.00. I have used them before and filing a claim was no questions asked and they sent coverage payment super quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth It, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Used this protection plan in the past and it was well worth it. My product stopped working and got a replacement through this plan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Square Trade 2 year Home Protection Plan, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Was charged twice for it. Don't know how to get it off my card. Only needed one plan for the two years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Customer Service, January 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: SquareTrade 2-Year Home AV Protection Plan ($75-100) (Electronics)
Turns out I cannot use the plan for my Roku which I am returning. But Square Trade was excellent about instantant refund (I"m within the 30 day range to do so). I'd use them again because of good customer service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.