Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Squibnocket on DVD!
I can remember stumbling across this in the back of my local video rental store, taking it home, and just being blown away by how beautiful it was - visually and musically. This is the rehearsal time prior to the tour that was also recorded, and eventually became the wonderful James Taylor (Live) double album. Both this video and that album are full of impeccable playing...
Published on September 11, 2006 by Duncan Mok

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POOR Production!
I just received my copy of the newly released Squibnocket DVD which I also own on laserdisc. The performance is EXCELLENT to say the least, BUT the qualty of the production is very poor. There is a delay between the audio and video tracks durng the majority of the musical performances which is extremely frustrating. Hopefully this is just a production batch issue that...
Published on October 29, 2006 by RLA


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Squibnocket on DVD!, September 11, 2006
By 
Duncan Mok (Rockaway, New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
I can remember stumbling across this in the back of my local video rental store, taking it home, and just being blown away by how beautiful it was - visually and musically. This is the rehearsal time prior to the tour that was also recorded, and eventually became the wonderful James Taylor (Live) double album. Both this video and that album are full of impeccable playing and singing from James and the band. I think this is the only live video available of the greatly missed Don Grolnick playing in James' band. It also features the wonderful Michael Landau, who pulled out incredibly lyrical pedal steel sounds from his electric guitar... I can still remember looking and listening with my mouth wide open!

But best of all is the glorious joy with which this ensemble makes music. It's so relaxed and beautiful and inspiring.

I'm so glad this is finally being released on DVD - I've been waiting a long time... I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squibnocket (aka - Going Home), August 28, 2006
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
This is the most inviting music video I've ever seen. The ambience of the post and beam barn, the warm lighting, the quality of the mix, and the richness of the music all lend to an intimate setting and the ultimate James Taylor concert.

This is a DVD that you will watch over and over again not only if you're a James Taylor fan but also if you enjoy watching the finest musicians meticulously practice their craft.

It's been a while since I've seen this video, but as I recall songs - old and new, are treated with wonderful vocal and instrumental arrangements that will captivate you as you listen.

I highly recommend this DVD and would like to say "thank you" for finally releasing it Sept this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POOR Production!, October 29, 2006
By 
RLA (New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
I just received my copy of the newly released Squibnocket DVD which I also own on laserdisc. The performance is EXCELLENT to say the least, BUT the qualty of the production is very poor. There is a delay between the audio and video tracks durng the majority of the musical performances which is extremely frustrating. Hopefully this is just a production batch issue that will be corrected in subsequent releases. Again, an EXCELLENT performance that should be purchased by all JT fans. Here's hoping they get it corrected soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Squibnocket, April 10, 2007
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
Having looked for another James Taylor DVD to purchase besides Pull Over Tour and Live at Beacon Theatre, I came across this unique title 'Squibnocket' on Amazon.

The DVD was shot in 1993, and I could tell it was shot earlier than the Pull Over and Beacon Theatre DVDs as JT had a bit more hair on his head back then.

Squibnocket is very different to the other two JT DVDs, in that its not a concert but a rehearsal inside a barn.

What's great about this DVD is its very casual, and that you could just sit back and feel as though you're in that barn with JT and the crew.

Sound and image quality isn't bad, but doesn't compare to the top notch quality of Beacon Theatre. This is probably due to technology at the time when it was shot. None the less, its a great DVD to have for your JT collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, May 13, 2007
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
watched about ten minutes then gave up on the out of sync video and audio

i'm an ardent fan but this is a waste of money.should never have been released like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of Life is enjoying the passage of time, January 11, 2007
By 
UB 44 "Bill" (Ballston Lake, N.Y.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
This was one of my favorite VHS tapes and I was overjoyed to see that it was available on DVD. The Secret of Life is my all time favorite JT song and he opens with it. The ambiance of that wonderful barn and setting near the sea compliments his music in a very special way. Not only does James sing so many of his classics but he shares in depth,warm, personal interview material regarding his life and his art. He is a master craftsman at prodycing music that makes you both think and fell. I have seen JT live in Saratoga and Albany, NY (the hometown of his lovely wife), many times, and it is always a treat and a blessing. The musicians that were and are still with him are as good as they come and add so much to the total experience.

James, we are both getting a little long in the tooth but keep on keeping on and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music and setting, November 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
I first saw this concert on the Disney Channel in the early eighties and taped it on VHS, but eventually the tape wore out. It features many of Taylor's greatest hits as well as several songs from his then new album New Moon Shine, especially The Frozen Man, which is my personal favorite James Taylor song. Due to the time in which it was made, the picture is not up to today's digital standards, but the music is well worth the price, and I do recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James at his best, January 15, 2007
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
In a laid back, family type environment, in a beautifully adapted barn, James and his fellow musicians and vocalists give a fantastic performance of the music we expect to hear from them. As a Taylor buff, I can say that this performance rates way up there in being "easy on the senses." Family and friends were the only ones to see this thing live, so snuggle up with your loved ones and feel the groove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Warm and Wonderful Performance With Incomparable Atmosphere, June 30, 2013
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
This 1991 dvd, filmed as JT and his band were preparing for the tour for his then new album "New Moon Shine," is a unique live dvd like no other: recorded at his barn in Squibnocket on Martha's Vineyard, "Squibnocket" captures Taylor at his loosest and a most relaxed; the beautiful, breezy atmosphere lends greatly to the quality of the performance, as JT and the band cut loose on 15 classic songs played and sung expertly, including "Fire and Rain, "You've Got a Friend, "Sweet Baby James," and many more. Interspersed is a fun and revealing interview with the artist discussing the songs, his involvement in the writing process, and many other entertaining tidbits that will fascinate fans. The sound and picture are glorious. The performance is unforgettable. "Squibnocket" is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JT's BEST, October 8, 2007
This review is from: Squibnocket (DVD)
I have the VHS version of this DVD and just couldn't do without the DVD as well. It is the absolute best music video James Taylor has out so far. All of the music is performed in JT's farmhouse in Nantucket over 2 days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Squibnocket
Squibnocket by James Taylor (DVD - 2006)
$11.98 $9.99
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.