Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book to share with a few young friends, ages 4 to 8., September 26, 2012
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
I am a school librarian and chose this book as a read-aloud for the first week of school for my 2nd and 3rd grade classes. They loved it, especially the side conversations going on in the background. Some of the language was new to them, such as "quarrel" and "muse," which afforded opportunities to think about what the words might mean and make inferences based on the story, surrounding words, pictures, or each other's prior knowledge. It's a little tricky as a read-aloud because of the small details and words that are hard to see from far away, though we did have fun with it anyway. It's probably better suited to reading with just a couple of children up close and having them follow along with the words or read the side conversations themselves. There is a lot to discover in the pictures and lots to talk about in each story, making this a great book to share with a special young friend or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whimsy Under the Sea, July 18, 2012
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
Tao Nyeu presents four short stories in her latest picture book about two BFFs, or make that FFAs (Friends for Always). The first story starts with a spat, as the two friends disagree on a chilly day whether socks or mittens should be worn on tentacles. Not a problem for most readers, but then we're not cephalopods. The second story offers a surprise. When Squids dreams he has X-ray vision, readers get to lift the flap to see what's going on inside a giant submarine cruise ship. Story number three, "The Hat," is the strongest of the bunch. Octopus finds a cowboy boot and decides it's a hat. His confidence in his choice wilts as other sea creatures see the boot as a vase, flowerpot, and doorstop. Luckily Squid shares his friend's vision. In the final story, the pair imagine what the fortune in their cookie holds for them.

Nyeu creates a whimsical world for the friends to inhabit. Her silkscreen illustrations, in subdued pastel hues, are intricate and full of surprises. Beginning readers will pour over the witty details and asides, such as a pair of lobsters gossiping over bowls of soup. ("So I heard Lucy molted the other day." "You don't say!")

Squid and Octopus is a charming addition in the long tradition of fictional duos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations, sweet stories., October 7, 2014
By 
Jojo (Northern California, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
This book is so whimsically drawn and has sweet stories. I really liked it, and was pleasantly surprised to even see a die cut included it. However, my nearly 4 year is still getting used to the idea that we don't read every book cover to cover every bedtime - so the multiple story format is something he's getting used to. His attention also started to waiver a little, so I may put this on the shelf and revisit in another month or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for all ages, June 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
I'm reading this book to my Sunday School class. They love the pictures and conversations and the friendship between Squid and Octopus is better than Spongebob and Squidward!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship stories, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
Wonderful short stories and sweet illustrations. Themes include resolving arguments, appreciating one's own talents, following one's instincts, and sharing tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cutest book I've read in a long time...., April 18, 2014
By 
Kate (Logan, Utah) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
Can't get enough of the adorable illustrations and commentary. This book is both sweet and funny (like really funny in a quirky off-beat sort of way). ;) Makes me smile every time I read it with my boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kids love it!, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a gift for my friends three kids aged 3-7, and they can't put it down. It's a big win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable book, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
This book has sweet stories about friendship. We actually decorated our baby nursery in these colors and framed some of the illustrations from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Squid and Octopus: my son's go-to book at bedtime, November 6, 2013
By 
Jason A. Tselentis (Charlotte, North Carolina U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
Nyeu's adorable pictures and heartfelt stories give children as young as 4 guidance and suggestions in dealing with difficulties such as bad dreams and fashion decisions. Not only is it a fun book to read, thanks to the excitement that these friends share, but it's also a fun one to look at thanks to the beautiful illustrations and layouts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Granddaughter enjoyed it very much, August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always (Hardcover)
I was told that my five and a half year old granddaughter enjoyed this story a lot.
The title was suggested by the mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always
Squid and Octopus: Friends for Always by Tao Nyeu (Hardcover - June 14, 2012)
$16.99 $11.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.