Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul's letters: the oldest documents of the Catholic faith
Father Pacwa is a biblical scholar of remarkable depth, but he's also a preacher who can communicate to ordinary people. He has produced something remarkable here: a profound synthesis of St. Paul's thinking on a variety of subjects, but in a form that's digestible for parish groups and home Bible studies. His special focus is the Church's sacraments, but he also touches...
Published on July 8, 2008 by thehomefront

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title
I was disappointed at first by this book. I was expecting it to be about St. Paul. And it wasn't! It is really a study of six of the seven sacraments and understanding them in light of St. Paul's writings. I think if I had known that I would not have purchased the book.
With that said, I found the book to be wonderfully enriching - if you are looking for a better...
Published on January 6, 2009 by J. Yaquinta


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul's letters: the oldest documents of the Catholic faith, July 8, 2008
By 
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
Father Pacwa is a biblical scholar of remarkable depth, but he's also a preacher who can communicate to ordinary people. He has produced something remarkable here: a profound synthesis of St. Paul's thinking on a variety of subjects, but in a form that's digestible for parish groups and home Bible studies. His special focus is the Church's sacraments, but he also touches upon other doctrinal, moral, and disciplinary issues. With this overview, we can recognize our present-day parishes in the congregations of so long ago. The Church is one, not only throughout the world, but through all time. This is the best introductory Bible study to Paul I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for its style and format, August 6, 2008
By 
Rich Leonardi (Cincinnati, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
In addition to what other reviewers have written, allow me to add a note about this book's style and format. Fr. Pacwa respects the intelligence of his readers, and doesn't hesitate to introduce deep theological points and insights, using etymology and history to explain them. Decades of preaching these concepts to a wide variety of audiences no doubt helps him do so. Likewise, the format is not of the "What-the-readings-mean-to-me" variety. Fr. Pacwa takes a cognitive approach to instruction, and readers are expected to probe and discuss meaty subject matter from the text. I intend to use this book for my weekly catechism group this fall; the fact that it is reasonably priced is an added bonus for the group's members. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource of Year of Saint Paul, July 30, 2008
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
This book written by Father Mitch Pacwa, of EWTN fame was specifically written for the Year of Saint Paul. Written and presented in a way that makes it very intereactive, Fr. Mitch presents Saint Paul's teaching on six of the seven Sacraments. Each of these chapters/sessions delves into what Saint Paul taught and its relevance for us today.
The book also includes a checklist/reading guide to aid those who would like to read through the Pauline corpus during the Year of Saint Paul. The list is designed to help the reader make it through the writings of St. Paul in about three months, while taking no longer than 10 minutes a day to do so!
This is a very original book, presenting fresh material that is engaging and exciting. The boxes within the book provide interesting information, including some recent research that gives a new take on the Letters to Timothy and Titus.
Highly recommended!
I am the author of The How-To Book of the Mass: Everything You Need to Know but No One Ever Taught You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title, January 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
I was disappointed at first by this book. I was expecting it to be about St. Paul. And it wasn't! It is really a study of six of the seven sacraments and understanding them in light of St. Paul's writings. I think if I had known that I would not have purchased the book.
With that said, I found the book to be wonderfully enriching - if you are looking for a better understanding of the sacraments (or at least 6 of them) in light of St. Paul's writings. I learned quite a bit and was satisfied. However, I purchased the book to preview for a group study on St. Paul and I would not select this book for that group. It would be a great book for catechists teaching sacraments or anyone wanting to learn more about how St. Paul's writings influenced the sacraments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St. Paul study Guide Great!, October 26, 2008
By 
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
Knowing Fr. Mitch Pacwa from EWTN I figured this would be a good study guide...but I was wrong. IT'S AN AWESOME STUDY GUIDE! In fact, it became such a good resource that we've ordered 25 books for the prayer and Bible study group at my Church. It's the perfect study guide for use with your Bible in class and for home study. If you're looking for a good resource that's concise and easy to use, yet sophisticated for study groups, then this is the book to buy! Fr. Mitch Pacwa, this here is a winner and perfect guide for use with the dedication of the Year of St. Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St. Paul comes alive for Catholics!, November 18, 2008
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
I have to admit - I originally thought this small book (only 96 pages) would be light on helpful details and lacking in depth. I was completely wrong. Fr. Pacwa really packs a punch in "St. Paul: A Bible Study for Catholics," including a lot of useful information in a very readable fashion.

The book is perfectly titled: this is a book for Catholics who wish to understand St. Paul better. Scott Hahn once said that for Catholics the Gospels are a "home game," but the writings of St. Paul are an "away game" - we might win a few, but we can't wait to get back home to the Gospels. But this common perception shows a misunderstanding of Paul's writings, due mostly to 400 years of misinterpretation of the great Apostle starting with Martin Luther. St. Paul is an eminently Catholic saint, and his writings, properly understood, form the foundation for so much of Catholic practice and belief. This book goes a long way towards recapturing that truth.

Fr. Pacwa structures the book around the sacraments (he excludes the anointing of the sick since Paul doesn't refer to that sacrament in his canonical letters). This allows a Catholic to see how Paul's writings address the very practical life of the typical believer. By revealing the underlying scriptural roots of the sacraments, Fr. Pacwa allows the Catholic to see the sacraments not as some "add-on" to the faith, but part of its very foundations traced back to the first century. I especially enjoyed the chapter on Holy Orders, as Fr. Pacwa gives a clear explanation of the biblical basis for the sacrificial nature of the Christian priesthood.

This is a perfect book for the Jubilee Year of St. Paul, and for anyone at any time wishing to dig deeper into the writings of this great Saint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St. Paul and the Sacraments of the Catholic Church, October 10, 2008
By 
Antoinette Klein (Hoover, Alabama USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
Father Mitch Pacwa, Jesuit priest and popular host of programs on EWTN television, invites you to immerse yourself in the writings of St. Paul and discover their relevance nearly two thousand years later. Fr. Pacwa explores the central teachings of the Catholic Church, most specifically those associated with six of the seven sacraments, in this easy-to-follow book.

The format is exceptionally inviting whether you are reading alone or as part of a Bible Study group. In each of the six chapters, the reader is given points to consider, related Biblical references to investigate, several pages of easy-to-read yet scholarly information, discussion questions, and a goal to practice as a conscious effort to live the type of life St. Paul did, bold and creative in today's challenging society.

I was fortunate to be able to attend six sessions, one on each chapter, given by Father Pacwa himself. It was a tremendous blessing to be able to hear him expound on the many Pauline themes he outlined in the book, all guideposts for personal growth through the writings of the apostle Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St Paul, Jubilee Year of the Apostle Paul, August 31, 2008
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
Excellent Bible study for Catholics. Through scripture, author Father Mitch Pacwa helps Catholics to draw a deeper of understanding of their faith and the sacramets. Using the New and Old Testament readings of Paul through the eyes of this scripture scholar brings great insight and understanding to those who complete the study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A study for the Serious Bible-Study Group, November 21, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
I agree with the Customer Reviews, especially the comment "Fr. Pacwa respects the intelligence of his readers, and doesn't hesitate to introduce deep theological points and insights".
However, we have a Bible Study Group that is finding Father Pacwa's book to be difficult. In my opinion, before tackling Father Pacwa's Bible Study, our Bible-Study Group would have benefitted from a more chronological study of St Paul's life and his letters FIRST. (Bible-Study is not new to our group--our group has been meeting for 2 years.)
In my opinion, in order for a group to really comprehend the SOLID FOOD that Fr Pacwa introduces via St Paul's Scriptural passages, it might make better sense to really understand the MILK first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, January 17, 2009
By 
Margaret Zold (Crandon, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics (Paperback)
This is an easy reading book. Fr. Pacwa makes the message clear, and helps us to see just where the Church gets the sacraments from. Then he has questions to help you to think and really get the message into your heart and mind. We are using it for group study, but you really need to do the study on your own before going to the group because there is such a lot of information to think about and meditate on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics
St. Paul: A Bible Study Guide for Catholics by Mitch Pacwa (Paperback - May 2, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.