Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Extra Security For A Little Bit of Money
First off, it needs to be said that this is not a high security safe nor is it a fire safe. This is essentially a lockable steel box that is a step ahead of a locking security box or mobile safe that could simply be stolen with anyone strong enough to lift it.

With that in mind, the price of this unit is reasonable. Yes it may not be fire rated or have...
Published on April 15, 2011 by Craig Warrington

versus
56 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Provides only false security.
This item is junk. I was so disappointed with the product that I sold it to a family member who will only use it to keep medicine for day care children safely stored. At night, nothing will be in the box and the door will be left open. The lock has two bolts, about three inches apart, located in the center of the very thin door (about 3/32" thick very soft sheet steel)...
Published on March 12, 2010 by Dr. J. Yoni


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

132 of 136 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Extra Security For A Little Bit of Money, April 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
First off, it needs to be said that this is not a high security safe nor is it a fire safe. This is essentially a lockable steel box that is a step ahead of a locking security box or mobile safe that could simply be stolen with anyone strong enough to lift it.

With that in mind, the price of this unit is reasonable. Yes it may not be fire rated or have locking bolts all the way around the door, but for under $90 (as of this writing) you essentially get what you pay for.

The Good:

* The digital keypad works well. The instructions make it very easy to program a combination of your choosing, and there is an option to disable the beeps for someone who needs to get access to their safe without others knowing (for instance if you were trying to obtain a handgun during a break-in without disclosing your location).

* The actual safe is constructed from 1/8th plate steel with a black painted finish. It is actually fairly heavy (just under 28lbs) and would obviously deter a thief for at least a little while. I've read some comments on how someone could pry the door open with enough force and although that may be true, they could probably run a Sawzall around the safe and cut it out from the wall much sooner. A safe of this level is not meant to stop everyone and is more of a deterrent, so when used in the proper capacity it works well.

* The safe comes with a few extras such as tags to label and hang various keys, straps that could be used to hold things like a handgun against the back wall of the safe (more about that later), and a cheap plastic file which can hold important documents, social security cards, cash etc, etc. In truth none of these items are really needed and I won't use most of them, but I suppose it is a nice little bonus. They also include AA batteries (name brand even) for the locking mechanism and to have a product with batteries included is indeed a rarity these days.

* Installation is fairly easy. All that is necessary is to find a standard stud bay (16" OC framing) and cut a hole in the drywall (there is no template included, but it is just a matter of cutting a hole the same size as the back of the safe). It goes without saying that you want to ensure the stud bay is not full of electrical wiring, plumbing, HVAC ducting etc, and obviously it would be best if this was an interior wall to prevent you from having to remove insulation (which could leave the safe being very hot or very cold at various parts of the year). The safe installs with four screws that fasten into the studs on either side, and the lip of the safe covers the hole which not only makes for a cleaner installation, but also prevents someone from sticking a blade of a hacksaw or sawzall in the wall and just cutting the screws. Again... it won't stop a determined thief, but it sure would slow them down hopefully long enough for them to be discovered or for them to simply get frustrated and give up.

* The shelves have little plastic clips that hold them into position. In my case because the shelves were dislodged during shipping, one of these clips was broken, but the weight of the shelves is substantial enough that it isn't a problem so they stay where they need to be. The nice thing is since the shelves are removable it allows for more versatility depending upon your needs.

* The hinges for the safe are on the interior so that does make it harder to break into. Also, because the unit is practically flush (the locking knob and keypad stick out a very small amount) you could hide the safe behind a picture without any problems.

The Bad:

* As some other reviewers have mentioned, shipping could potentially be an issue. Looking at the safe it states it is made in China, so when you consider this unit is shipped half way across the globe and eventually to a distributor who then sends it to Amazon who then in turn sends it to you - well obviously there is a chance you could experience some damage. In my case the safe itself was in perfect shape (it is protected by some EPS foam blocks) but the two shelves on the interior were loose inside the safe so they were bouncing around quite a bit. I didn't see any scratches, but I'm sure more than one person has experienced some damage due to careless shipping. This really isn't a problem with the safe itself other than to say Stack-On should have inserted some foam blocks on the interior of the safe to prevent the shelves from rattling around.

* The batteries to operate the lock are installed on the inside of the door. This means when the batteries run out and need to be replaced, you won't be able to unlock the safe. There is a set of keys which can be used to bypass the lock (you need to remove the Stack-On plastic cover on the front of the unit to expose the lock), but in my view that sort of defeats the purpose of having an electronic lock in the first place and now you need to hide the keys somewhere that they can't be easily located. Other safes have battery compartments which can be accessed from the outside of the safe which seems like a much better option in the event of battery failure.

* Stack-On does provide some thin cheap foam to line the shelves, but honestly it is probably not worth retaining and it gets wrinkled every time you slide something on one of the shelves. I'd recommend getting some of the shelf liner material you can obtain at your favorite big box store to line the shelves if desired.

The Ugly:

* The locking mechanism itself is fairly substantial in size and actually takes up a good portion of the middle third of the safe. This means you don't get full use of that shelf and you need to plan ahead a bit to ensure everything fits into the safe. It will easily hold some valuables, a handgun, some cash, sensitive documents, a prescription bottle or two etc, but don't expect to hold half a dozen expensive watches, a jewelry collection, and three firearms... because it isn't going to happen. Just keep in mind this is a fairly small wall safe and the depth is limited by a standard 2x4. If you need more room you may want to consider a larger unit that could be built into a wall and have greater capacity. It is slightly disappointing to realize almost 1/6th of the interior space of the safe is taken up by the locking mechanism, but if you know that up front it shouldn't be a surprise.

Other thoughts:

I'm happy with this safe and with the pricepoint, but it is important to remember what you are buying. This is not a high security device nor is it a fire safe. If someone is determined to steal your belongings this won't stop them although it might slow them down. I'd say this is much more useful to keep nosey friends, cleaning or service people, and family / children from digging through your stuff when you aren't around, and it works well as a place to keep a handgun or two so kids don't have access to them. I believe the code on the door can be a combination of between 3 and 8 digits, so if you are concerned about security I'd recommend using more that just 3 or 4 digits as that makes it exponentially more difficult to guess (and no... you should not use your ATM pin number, your house number, or your birthday).

As to handguns, I question if this is a great place to keep one that is used for home defense. You may be able to get to the safe quickly, but finding the keypad in the dark, entering a code without fumbling, opening the door, taking out the handgun, chambering a round etc, etc could all take valuable time and it might not be feasible. Also, the straps that Stack-On provides are Velcro and are meant to help keep the handgun held against the back of the safe. If you really needed access to the weapon, the idea of tearing off a strip of Velcro while trying to gain the element of surprise doesn't exactly work. I'd recommend ditching the Velcro straps and just leaning the handgun against the rear wall or if necessary look into getting some type of magnetic strap that won't be so loud when you remove it.

In truth, a better option for a home defense weapon would be to get a smaller purpose built handgun safe for a bedside table - but that is for each person to decide. In my case I do store a handgun in the safe but that is primarily to keep it secure - not as a home defense weapon.

One reviewer commented on the plastic locking knob and from my experience it appears the plastic knob actually just covers up a metal locking mechanism, so it doesn't appear there will be any concerns with longevity. Also the safe does include two locking bolts - each of which is approximately 3/4" in diameter. It may not keep a determined thief at bay forever, but if you do a good enough job of hiding the safe behind a picture or at the back of a closet, a thief can't steal what they don't know exists... so plan ahead and don't feel the need to tell everyone where it is (and if you are really concerned about privacy, you probably don't want to post a review on Amazon telling everyone you have this safe!).

Interesting note: If hiding the safe behind a picture you might want it to be behind a family photo or "ugly" piece of art. If a thief doesn't like the picture or artwork they aren't about to steal it and thus less chance of actually finding the safe.

All things considered I'm happy with the purchase. Considering I am moving from one of those cheap locking security boxes to this I feel much better because previously all someone had to do was pick up my locking safe and walk away (it even had a carry handle), but now for the most part the contents of my safe are (pardon the pun) safe and secure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT choice for the proper application., January 19, 2011
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
The PWS-1522 is a "price point" or entry level security unit providing basic safeguarding of valuables etc. For LESS than $100 you can't go wrong, we use them as add-on sales for clients or throw them in with larger remodeling jobs. The average family has loads of valuables just lying around: petty cash, credit cards, ID cards, financial documents, private info on CD/DVD/USB or external computer drives. Not to mention Jewelery, watches, coins and extra keys. This should not be a stand-alone system or sole security item. It is meant and should be used in conjunction with alarm, gun safe, floor safe etc. It keeps the opportunistic thief [teenage kids, dopey friends of your kids, hit 'n run break in] from a quick score. With enough time and/or skill ANY security mesure can be defeated. Oddly the people who give this unit poor marks obviously thought they were buying the home equivillent to Fort Knox. We have marketed higher end in-wall safes in our business BUT they started at $400 plus the cost of our labor. There are some fantastic wall units at $400 to $1,000 dollars. Guess what, they did not sell and I sat on them forever! At that range most folks opt for a free standing safe. Anyways with a cordless sawzall and a 6" demo blade it really does not matter what unit you have, if someone really wanted it they could just saw the studs around it and take it somewhere to bust it opem!
We looked at a lot of entry level units [we only stock one] and Stack On is a Wacaunda, Il. based company although made overseas [like everything these days!] and offer a three year warranty. At this price point it had by far the best and most CONSISTANT level of quality. I have installed dozens of these without ONE customer problem. We do however quality control each item when we receive it to insure we do not show up to the client's home a problem unit. The only minor issues we have had were shelf clips [plastic] MIA or broken and a few cosmetic paint blemishes, which is easily cured by a quick alcohol prep. and touching up with BBQ grill flat black paint.
Until I see another unit at $100 or LESS that is better I'm going to stick with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Purchase, March 1, 2009
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
Initially, I couldn't find the key hole to initially unlock the safe so I could put batteries in it. They have hidden it well. I called Sportsman's Guide and they gave me the number for Stack-On and they told me that the key hole is hidden under a little plastic plate between the handle and keypad that pops off.

With some shims from Lowe's, I got it to fit so snugly between the studs that it almost didn't need to be screwed in. It fits flush with the drywall face and opens nicely every time. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Product, May 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
I got the Stack-on Wall Safe for secure storage of handgun(s) and ammunition. Based on the one negative review, I hesitated, but I decided anything can break in transit and ordered it. It arrived as promised, all there, and all in great shape. Installation was a snap, and programming the combination worked like a charm. It is solidly built, operates as advertised, and ideal for my purpose. A great value in my opinion. With the key or combination it opens quickly, and it locks securely. A very low price for the peace of mind in knowing that my firearms are not accessible to unauthorized persons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, March 6, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Cary, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
I ordered this a little over a month ago and received it quickly and in good shape. The install was very simple and took less than 15 mins with a drywall hand saw, tape measure, stud finder and cordless drill. The hardest part of the install was determining where it should be located and if it would work in that spot. (eg: was there plumbing/electrical)

My only complaint about the product is that the unlocking dial appears to be plastic. While it does work as expected - I question it's durability over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 69 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Provides only false security., March 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
This item is junk. I was so disappointed with the product that I sold it to a family member who will only use it to keep medicine for day care children safely stored. At night, nothing will be in the box and the door will be left open. The lock has two bolts, about three inches apart, located in the center of the very thin door (about 3/32" thick very soft sheet steel). Consequently, the 'safe' can easily be 'peeled' open using a heavy screwdriver, negating the security of the rather heavy bolts. The box should not be used for storage of defensive firearms when the homeowner is absent. Adding a rolled edge would make the door more rigid and secure, as would having the bolts separated by more than a few inches. It has a good, individual feature: the keypad 'beep' can be disabled. Some similar lock-boxes cannot be silently opened and will alert a burglar to the homeowner's location and intent (Better get the combination right the first time!). The box has a deceptively secure appearance in photos. But I would not recommend its use where security of the contents is desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars between studs wall safe, March 6, 2008
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
Was very easy to install. Simple combination to program. Would highly recomemed! Comes with a lot of extrasfor storage. Good Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First received damaged, second good. Updated to one star, December 24, 2012
By 
PJ Photo (Pembroke Pines, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
The first one I received must have been dropped on its corner by UPS. The outer box and inner box were damaged on a corner and the safe was bent on that corner and the paint was chipped slightly. I didn't want to try to straighten it and damage it further. I contacted Amazon, and as usual, they were wonderful about sending a replacement. The second was packaged the same and although the inner box was damaged, the safe was undamaged. Of course, the plastic retainer clips on the shelves were destroyed on both safes. This is unavoidable because of the way the safe is packaged by the manufacturer. I don't consider these clips necessary, so no big deal.

As for the safe, it is exactly as described and exactly what I expected and needed. Installation was about 30 minutes with a utility knife, drill, stud finder, laser level and tape measure.

I would have given 5 stars if the manufacturer packaged the safe more securely. This item is 30 lbs and it doesn't take much for it to be damaged in transit. Amazon could package it better, but it would not likely reduce the risk of damage.

Update 6/25/13:
Just found out how easily this safe can be opened with a paperclip in the keylock. Once I read about this, I tried it myself and had it opened within 10 seconds. Not secure enough for firearms or anything of value. I've sent an email to StackOn as there was no phone number for them in the documentation that came with the safe. I have not heard from them yet. Supposedly, there is an updated lock they will send if you ask. Please, if you intend to buy this or any StackOn safe to secure a firearm, think twice. This issue is not new and there are many postings on the Internet about this problem with StackOn safes. StackOn should recall these safes, or at least be more responsive to customers who contact them. If you already own a StackOn safe, try the paperclip, then contact StackOn for an updated keylock.

Update 8/2/2013:
Been over a month since I first contacted StackOn. Be aware that they will block your email as spam, replying with another email address to send your email. That email will go through, but if you're lucky enough to get a response from them, your reply back will also be blocked as spam. Since you can't send a response back to the person who actually is looking into your issue, you have to send an email back to the unblocked address and hope it gets to that person. Mine did, but that didn't help. They're "looking into it". Come on, the ability to open the StackOn products with a paperclip is all over the internet. I find it hard to believe that the company is claiming ignorance to the problem while the criminals (and if you have teenage children, I'm sure them also) are well aware of the extremely easy way to get into these "safes". StackOn calls them safes, but they are not! StackOn claims that since they are California DOJ approved, the "safes" are secure. All they have to do is replace the keylock with a secure $4 keylock (which they have sent out to some folks) and the security increases substantially.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to find a wall unit, or even a drawer unit, that is sufficiently secure. I don't have space for a fullsize safe, but will continue to look for something secure. If StackOn had been reasonable and sent an updated keylock, I would have bought another of their products, but they've lost that sale.

Just be aware, these units are OK to keep your firearms out of the hands of small children, but don't fool yourself into believing they are secure against theft, or older children that know how to use the internet and can find a paperclip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to install., December 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
This safe is better built than I expected. It is very heavy, but easy to install. It fits perfectly between 16" on center studs. It can be installed in about 1/2 hour. I took the safe out of the box, measured the opening where I was going to install the safe and then checked to see where the studs were located. I cut out the opening and then, in my case, I added blocking to give me an area to screw the safe into. I slid the safe into the opening and then secured the safe with four screws. That was it. The door opens and closes perfectly.

The one drawback is that the door only opens to the right. I installed the safe behind a closet door. When the closet door is open I cannot open the safe door. I have to go into the closet and close the door to access the safe. Only a small drawback, but would be nice to have had a left opening option.

This safe pretty much sits flush with the wall. It could be installed behind a picture frame and no one would know it was there. The frame on the safe is pretty wide, so you don't have to be exact when cutting out the hole in the wall. The frame will cover the opening as long as you're close and it looks like it was installed by a professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was looking for., May 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock (Tools & Home Improvement)
I needed more of these but was concerned by bad reviews I had read. The bad reviews I read indicated the packaging was bad causing the product to get damaged and that it was constructed out of cheap easy to open steel.

I am very happy with this product. The steal is a heavy and strong as I expected and the packaging is fine. I spent $250 for the same size wall safe that didn't look as nice and had a much cheaper 5 push button combination lock. This safe has a full keypad combination lock.

the only draw back is that it didn't come with any padding. I had to put down some old socs to avoid my gun resting on the rough steel of the box.

I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock
$244.00 $99.99
In stock. Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.