Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Stainless Flatware Guide
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
5 star
86%
4 star
14%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 15, 2013
This book, along with the Replacements Ltd. online database, is a major source for identification of stainless tableware patterns. A substantial error in the book is that the authors have interpreted "Fraser's WMF" to mean "William Fraser." It doesn't. The WMF stands for the manufacturer, Württembergische Metallwarenfabrik AG, of Geislingen, Germany, founded in 1853 and one of the world's major manufacturers of tableware to this day. The Fraser in "Fraser's WMF" was Gorden Freeman Fraser (1914-2005), a successful Berkeley, California, retailer who at first worked with, then was gradually bought out by, WMF. Fraser's became a major distributor of WMF in Europe and the USA, and Gorden Fraser came to play a significant role at WMF in the design and marketing of its tableware. But the bottom line is: WMF does not stand for "William Fraser," nor is or was there anyone of that name associated with WMF. Sadly, thanks to being published in the "bible" of stainless identification, this error may never be stamped out.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2005
This book is the best I've run across...Its easy and very thorough, with pages and pages of patterns...Great for quick and easy identification....Easy to find facts and makers...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2007
Love it! This is the bible of stainless flatware identification. It is very well organized, easy to follow, and narrows down your search immediately. I highly recommend it to anyone who deals in vintage & new stainless flatware. 5 Stars!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
If you buy a lot of flatware, this is a great product. A little out dated, but most of what I sell is vintage, so it works great for me. You can access the same information online, but sometimes it helps to have the book format, especially when you have no clue to the manufacturer or name of the pattern.. Well worth the purchase price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2008
I HAVE GOTTEN ALOT OF USE OUT OF MY STAINLESS GUIDE AND WISH IT EVEN HAD MORE PATTERNS IN IT. BOB PAGE AND REPLACEMENTS LTD DID EVERYONE A GREAT SERVICE BY MAKING THIS BOOK. [...]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2000
This book saves time narrowing down your search for the right flatware!! It can take forever to figure out what you want to eat with for the next 10+ years if you rely on department stores to have a decent selection, cause that's very hard to find!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2009
An exhaustive resource for stainless steel collectors or re-sellers. Clearly identifies hundreds of stainless patterns. Excellent photos & drawings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2009
This is a wonderful reference book for anyone who sells or collects nice stainless flatware. The photos and drawings are very helpful and accurate -- it is well organized and easy to use! I highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
Very Pleased. The book has come in very very handy and I've been able to identify different flatware so much faster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2015
Good book- made it possible to figure out what we have
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse