Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A ROLLICKING AND YET HISTORICAL ADVENTURE. SIMON FONTHILL IS A HERO FOR FANS OF SHARP, FLASHMAN, OR CAPT. ALAN LEWRY.
WELL WRITTEN HISTORICAL FICTION. THE SIMON FONTHILL SERIES IS A JOY. SIMILAR TO THE SHARP SERIES OR THE FLASHMAN BOOKS BUT THEY HIGHLIGHT DIFFERENT CAMPAIGNS TO THOSE TWO GREAT SERIES. IN ANY CASE THEY HAVE A PLACE ON MY SHELF NEXT TO THOSE AND THE ALAN LEWERY, HORATIO HORNBLOWER, ETC.
Published 10 months ago by NCS

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I cudda been a contender
This book had some good characters except for the wild west character, whom I found to be a little far fetched. The Hero was far too soft and kind to his enemies to have been a captain in Her Majesties forces and his batman partner a little confused about directions to be a scout. The historical battle settings and descriptions were very good.
Published on July 5, 2007 by Richard P. Barlow


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I cudda been a contender, July 5, 2007
By 
This book had some good characters except for the wild west character, whom I found to be a little far fetched. The Hero was far too soft and kind to his enemies to have been a captain in Her Majesties forces and his batman partner a little confused about directions to be a scout. The historical battle settings and descriptions were very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Ending, Slow Beginnning, December 21, 2007
By 
C. J. Hannah "cj" (Pagosa Springs, Colorado) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I found the central character to be a bit undeveloped and of minimal interest at the start. The major secondary character, 352 Jenkins, works well and in many cases is much more interested than Fonthill. I found all the secondary and minor characters well drawn and engaging, which helped Fonthill's characterization. The technique here seems to be a gradual, incremental revelation of Fonthill, which, to a degree works nicely. The historic events and places were of interest and well used, and at the end of the novel, the reaction of Fonthill to the battles made him much more interesting and complex, which then made some of his actions throughout the book more interesting. The problem here is one of structure, i.e., Fonthill needs to be complex at the beginning, so that the events he experiences color the entire book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A ROLLICKING AND YET HISTORICAL ADVENTURE. SIMON FONTHILL IS A HERO FOR FANS OF SHARP, FLASHMAN, OR CAPT. ALAN LEWRY., November 2, 2013
By 
NCS "DRACO" (San Mateo, Ca.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
WELL WRITTEN HISTORICAL FICTION. THE SIMON FONTHILL SERIES IS A JOY. SIMILAR TO THE SHARP SERIES OR THE FLASHMAN BOOKS BUT THEY HIGHLIGHT DIFFERENT CAMPAIGNS TO THOSE TWO GREAT SERIES. IN ANY CASE THEY HAVE A PLACE ON MY SHELF NEXT TO THOSE AND THE ALAN LEWERY, HORATIO HORNBLOWER, ETC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NEVER Underestimate Your Enemy, March 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another excellent read in the Simon Fonthill and 352 Jenkins series although not as good as Guns at El Khabir. There is adventure for sure and instead of Ahmed they have a Texan who rode with Custer as their sidekick. Jenkins is hardly used like in Guns and Simon doesn't get much development either. The interesting part is that General Colley and his staff just won't accept the fact that these untrained Boer farmers can pick off a redcoat from 600 yards away, hitting him in the head, with a Wesley Richards cap and ball rifle, and do it consistently. Looking at it as objectively as possible Majuba Hill was really just a skirmish but showed a lot of flaws in British tactics and training that the Brits would relearn all over again in the 2nd Boer War and again in World War One. The British had an extremely advantageous piece of ground on the summit of Majuba Hill but refused to dig in, never thinking that the Christian Boers would attack them on a sabbath day. Boy were they wrong and Colley pays with his life. Simon ends up in two duels for even more excitement with an arms rep from Krupp. Anna is only a footnote in this book, married to the hated Covington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 11, 2009
By 
V. Horadam (Mesquite, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just recently started reading the Simon Fonthill series. Nevertheless, each installment has been a captivating and action-packed read. To be honest, I did not read with an eye to evaluating the character development in this book, as I had read the previous 3 books in the series. The characters are well developed as is the general plot in my opinion. The action, as always, is exciting and historically accurate within the constraints admitted by the author. This is an excellent way to reaffirm ones' knowledge of the history of the area and of the time period involved, and to travel alongside believable characters as they live the adventure. I am hooked on the books and the series, and eagerly await the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEXT TO READ, February 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not knowing what I am about to read but I do know that John Wilcox is a highly recommended writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series)
The Last Stand at Majuba Hill (Simon Fonthill Series) by John Wilcox (Mass Market Paperback - November 1, 2007)
$9.99 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.