Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Stand Off
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars21
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2013
This movie was alot of fun to watch, and very enjoyable. It starts off a bit slow as you are introduced to the various characters, However, after that it really takes off, and the longer you watch, the better it gets. The actors were all very very good and the plot was great. The interaction between the actors makes for rich humor with out being stupid, and you never know what will happen next. So, you have humor, action, budding romance, hitmen, mob bosses, crime, upset mothers, and all kinds of wonderfull characters to enjoy. Filmed in Northern Irland, so sometimes the accents are a bit hard to understand, but not often. This movie can be viewed by the whole family. No F-bombs, no nudity, no sexual situations, and what violence there is was done with taste and consideration. If you decide to see this movie, I'll bet you will not be dissatisfied. Enjoy.
22 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Very funny movie. It is set in Belfast Ireland and the cast is mostly Irish and British, other than Brendan and YaYa. Fast paced with lots of action and humor. I am a fan of Brendan Fraser from the Mummy movies. Colm Meaney provides a strong perfomance as well. The film is directed by academy award winning director Terry George.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2013
This is a combination crime-drama comedy which is light on both, but entertaining just the same. Joe Maguire (Brendan Fraser) is watching a shop for his cousin in Ireland. Due to a number of odd circumstances Joe becomes the hostage of a young desperate man (Martin McCann) who recently robbed a crime boss (David O'Hara). As they are held up in the shop, Detective Weller (Colm Meaney) is outside negotiating.

Fraser and Meany provide the proper light comedic element to this film filled with quirky characters from our stars down to the gypsy Travellers. Meany is the old fashion home spun detective, our Andy of Mayberry. He tries to keep the situation real and low key while there are other departments who make this out to be something which requires major intervention.

The film also includes father/son relationships, Joe's love interest, and of course the Irish mafia. This feature is definitely worth a view. It would make for a good date night film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
I really liked the film. I am a big fan of Director Terry George, and he really delivers. I am a big fan of YaYa and Colm Meaney. It was good to see Brendan Fraser again. I loved him in the Mummy movies!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Any fan of Brendan Fraser and Colm Meaney will definitely want to see this one. It is watchable by most the family. Fraser plays a man that tries to escape his wife and her mafia family in New York by going to Ireland. There he runs his Uncles Antique shop while he's away. Meaney plays the officer in charge at the hostage negotiations.

Spoiler: He gets caught up in the escape of a fish market robber in the shop, and to make matters worse the bag he took is wanted by the Irish mafia. Then what he would never expect is to meet his son and grandson while he is there. This is a fun movie and not at all what I expected.

CA Luster
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
STAND OFF is a surprisingly engaging dramedy from Irish director Terry George. The script involves a young American relocated to Belfast to manage his cousin's curio shop; a young gambler indebted to a ruthless loan shark; a dedicated lawman with a son trying to follow in his dad's footsteps, and an odd assortment of village locals.
It's all presented with lots of comical coincidences and physical humor. The cast led by Brendan Fraser and Colm Meany is excellent and the movie is really quite entertaining. I recommend STAND OFF for anyone seeking something a little different.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Watched this because of David O'hara. Wasn't expecting much, but I was surprised. Bit slow in the beginning but then the plot began some twists and turns. The main characters wind up in a hostage situation, which on the surface doesn't sound funny at all, but sets up in this film as hilarious. Those who found it boring must be looking for more "action" type movies. This has "characters" rather than action. Takes place in Belfast many years past "The Troubles" but event that is part of the plot. Really funny charming film from Northern Ireland. I plan on viewing more, and hope this part of the world produces more films like this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
In Ireland a local gambler owes a hood $. The hood decides instead of the $ he will take the local's son as the hood has been unable to have a child.

The local, encouraged by his friend, decideds to rob the fish market as it is said that there is $ there. When he arrives to do the deed there is little $ there because people use debit cards. He takes off and ends up in Brendan Fraser's antique shop. Reminded me of Albino Alligator and Dog Day Afternoon as they are stuck there.

Some occasional funny parts, some swearing, thick accents. Brandan appears on the front but he is not the main chracter, likeable none-the-less. Also, an odd character twist that not even Brandon is sure about.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
Stand off with Brendan Frazer is a hit! It's a wonderful little gem of a movie that included Colm Meaney as the detective and David O'hara as the mob king. Everything that can possibly go wrong, does! But, it makes for a really good comedy. Brendan Frazer is such an under rated actor and always brings such honesty to the roles he is playing (plus he is super sexy, as well, without even trying). It had me from the start. It is definitely worth watching this awesome movie and I will encourage friends and family to watch!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
I'm a Brendan Fraser fan so I had to see this movie (even though I had never heard of it before). I thought it was going to be more of a thriller but it was more comedic. It was surprisingly good with a few unexpected twists.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.14

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.