Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and excitement in Belfast.
This movie was alot of fun to watch, and very enjoyable. It starts off a bit slow as you are introduced to the various characters, However, after that it really takes off, and the longer you watch, the better it gets. The actors were all very very good and the plot was great. The interaction between the actors makes for rich humor with out being stupid, and you never know...
Published 21 months ago by GJW; Florida

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Blah, boring.
I really like Brendan Fraser but he actually has not much screen time in this movie. Colm Meany is another actor I like but i just couldn't get into his character at all. It just didn't get my attention. I got bored 20 minutes in, but kept hoping it would get better. I ended up just feeling like I had wasted an hour and a half. It's not worth watching a second time.
Published 3 months ago by Maryll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and excitement in Belfast., March 29, 2013
By 
GJW; Florida (Deland, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
This movie was alot of fun to watch, and very enjoyable. It starts off a bit slow as you are introduced to the various characters, However, after that it really takes off, and the longer you watch, the better it gets. The actors were all very very good and the plot was great. The interaction between the actors makes for rich humor with out being stupid, and you never know what will happen next. So, you have humor, action, budding romance, hitmen, mob bosses, crime, upset mothers, and all kinds of wonderfull characters to enjoy. Filmed in Northern Irland, so sometimes the accents are a bit hard to understand, but not often. This movie can be viewed by the whole family. No F-bombs, no nudity, no sexual situations, and what violence there is was done with taste and consideration. If you decide to see this movie, I'll bet you will not be dissatisfied. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny and entertaining British crime comedy. I love this genre and this comedy version is well worth seeing. I say B+, March 25, 2013
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
"We were robbed, he got the brown bag. Yes, that brown bag." Jimbo is a young father who has a gambling problem. When he gets in deep to a local mob boss he has one choice. Pay him back or give him his son. With his back against the wall he decides to rob a fish market, but for a non-criminal things don't always go right. This first and foremost is a really funny comedy. Just seeing the events unfold on its own is really funny and entertaining to watch but when mixed with the dialog it makes it that much more fun to watch. This movie combines the best of British crime movies with American comedy. While this movie won't win any awards it is one of the most entertaining movies that I have seen in a while and I recommend this. The type of movie you can just put in and not really have to think about, just watch and enjoy. I liked it. Overall, very entertaining and very much worth seeing. I give it a B+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Movie, March 29, 2013
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
Very funny movie. It is set in Belfast Ireland and the cast is mostly Irish and British, other than Brendan and YaYa. Fast paced with lots of action and humor. I am a fan of Brendan Fraser from the Mummy movies. Colm Meaney provides a strong perfomance as well. The film is directed by academy award winning director Terry George.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Flick, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
I really liked the film. I am a big fan of Director Terry George, and he really delivers. I am a big fan of YaYa and Colm Meaney. It was good to see Brendan Fraser again. I loved him in the Mummy movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STAND OFF IS A LOT OF FUN, April 20, 2013
By 
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
STAND OFF is a surprisingly engaging dramedy from Irish director Terry George. The script involves a young American relocated to Belfast to manage his cousin's curio shop; a young gambler indebted to a ruthless loan shark; a dedicated lawman with a son trying to follow in his dad's footsteps, and an odd assortment of village locals.
It's all presented with lots of comical coincidences and physical humor. The cast led by Brendan Fraser and Colm Meany is excellent and the movie is really quite entertaining. I recommend STAND OFF for anyone seeking something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I WILL CALL YOU BACK, April 16, 2013
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
This is a combination crime-drama comedy which is light on both, but entertaining just the same. Joe Maguire (Brendan Fraser) is watching a shop for his cousin in Ireland. Due to a number of odd circumstances Joe becomes the hostage of a young desperate man (Martin McCann) who recently robbed a crime boss (David O'Hara). As they are held up in the shop, Detective Weller (Colm Meaney) is outside negotiating.

Fraser and Meany provide the proper light comedic element to this film filled with quirky characters from our stars down to the gypsy Travellers. Meany is the old fashion home spun detective, our Andy of Mayberry. He tries to keep the situation real and low key while there are other departments who make this out to be something which requires major intervention.

The film also includes father/son relationships, Joe's love interest, and of course the Irish mafia. This feature is definitely worth a view. It would make for a good date night film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gambling Debt to pay, April 22, 2013
By 
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
In Ireland a local gambler owes a hood $. The hood decides instead of the $ he will take the local's son as the hood has been unable to have a child.

The local, encouraged by his friend, decideds to rob the fish market as it is said that there is $ there. When he arrives to do the deed there is little $ there because people use debit cards. He takes off and ends up in Brendan Fraser's antique shop. Reminded me of Albino Alligator and Dog Day Afternoon as they are stuck there.

Some occasional funny parts, some swearing, thick accents. Brandan appears on the front but he is not the main chracter, likeable none-the-less. Also, an odd character twist that not even Brandon is sure about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars standoff, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Slow starter but a very entertaining movie. The cast was great and the story kept you on you on your toes waiting for the next turn of events. Brendan Fraser always funny didn't fail here .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stand Off its a hit!, August 29, 2014
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
Stand off with Brendan Frazer is a hit! It's a wonderful little gem of a movie that included Colm Meaney as the detective and David O'hara as the mob king. Everything that can possibly go wrong, does! But, it makes for a really good comedy. Brendan Frazer is such an under rated actor and always brings such honesty to the roles he is playing (plus he is super sexy, as well, without even trying). It had me from the start. It is definitely worth watching this awesome movie and I will encourage friends and family to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blah, boring., September 14, 2014
By 
Maryll (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stand Off (DVD)
I really like Brendan Fraser but he actually has not much screen time in this movie. Colm Meany is another actor I like but i just couldn't get into his character at all. It just didn't get my attention. I got bored 20 minutes in, but kept hoping it would get better. I ended up just feeling like I had wasted an hour and a half. It's not worth watching a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Stand Off
Stand Off by Terry George (DVD - 2013)
$20.99 $5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.