Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2005
This, the 2nd in his concept album series is excellent, the sounds are played with such a level of intimacy and warm romance that not only does it stand out a wonderful jazz album in its own right but also can be used to set the mood for that special dinner!

The playing is lovely, the warm timbre casting you back to the very birth of jazz and evokes nothing but the deepest of emotion and highest praise for Mr. Marsalis and to think he was not yet at his prime on this album!!!!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2003
This CD was early on a part of my jazz listening, and as a jazz trumpet player, I inadvertently picked up a bunch of style and technical elements from wynton's playing. Wynton is a traditionalist, but by using a stand up bass instead of a tuba he really transcends a time scale in his pieces and defies categorization. His use of articulation as an element of swing is textbook. If you play the trumpet, and you want to know how to play jazz, then pick this up. Bourbon Street Parade especially is the most textbook New Orleans swing chart i've ever heard.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 1998
I heard this CD for the first time in the cabin of a sailboat anchored in a cove at night. It is classic Wynton and classic jazz. Very dreamy and romantic. Sit back, sip your favorite wine and gaze at the stars with your lover while listening to this.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2007
With a subtitle like "Intimacy Calling", you'd expect the mood of this CD to be young Chet Baker. It starts off that way - Wynton applies a light touch to "When It's Sleepy Time Down South", then gets too quiet on "You Don't Know What Love Is". "Indelible and Nocturnal" has a very nice melody, and it's an original song. Things pick up a little with "I'll Remember April", which also adds a saxophone. You'll barely notice the additional horns in this and one other song. "Embraceable You" is another very quiet song, then "Crepuscule With Nellie" is a wakeup call. Wynton plays through the song straight without soloing. Wynton sits out "East Of The Sun", which makes it a Marcus Roberts piano feature. Reginald Veal on bass and Herlin Riley on drums play on most of the songs, and Robert Hurst and Jeff 'Tain' Watts come in on "What Is This Thing Called Love". The rhythm section is very tasteful throughout. The tempo picks up with "Lover", slows with "Yesterdays", and is a little raucous with "Bourbon Street Parade". The faster songs on the CD help break up the series of ballads and make it a 4-star CD. Obviously Wynton is not breaking any new ground on this CD of 11 standards and one original, but he's a good trumpet player, and you might have a spot for this in your CD changer.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Another selection of tunes I enjoyed. I do like to put his music on a mix with other classic jazz cd's, though. It's a lot of trumpet, and not so compelling as Miles. I really enjoy it mixed with Bill Evans and the like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2015
Wynton Marsalis is top notch. Listening to his talent makes my face and heart SMILE. Mr. Mr. Marsalis' is uplifting and healing.His music is instrumental therefore w/o words, however it speaks timeless volumes of beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"With 'Intimacy Calling,' Marsalis brings his own heroic individuality to the expression of tenderness magnified and recalled by a stretch of trumpet tones and ensemble colors that are themselves contrasted by the celebratory swing of eroticism ascended to the diamond point of romantic precision. Songs are delivered with either consummate relaxation or form variations on the muscularity that results when the heart takes on the force of a bull turning its form against the magnetic rhythms of the object of ardor...Yes, it is obvious that when Wynton Marsalis hears intimacy calling, he knows how to answer." ~ Stanley Crouch ~

Wynton Marsalis' "Standard Time, Volume 2: Intimacy Calling" is the second of a series of six albums of standards that he recorded during a period of twelve years. The first series came out in 1987 and the last of the series was recorded in 1999. What Mr. Marsalis showed off on Marsalis Standard Time ~ Vol.1 was his ingenious brilliance in interpreting some of the most-adored standards of all-time with his exceptional trumpet artistry. He continued the same creativity not only on this second series, but on the succeeding volumes as well, Standard Time, Vol.3: The Resolution Of Romance and Standard Time, Vol.5: The Midnight Blues.

On this recording, he has the backing of some of the finest sidemen in the industry starting with pianist Marcus Roberts, saxophonists Wessell Anderson and Todd Williams, bass players Robert Hurst and Reginald Veal, drummers Jeff Watts and Herlin Riley. All the players showed off an extraordinary expertise in their respective instruments resulting in a par excellence musicianship particularly with the renditions of some of the highlights which include "I'll Remember April," "Yesterdays," "You Don't Know What Love Is" and the only tune from this set that he didn't play at all, "East of the Sun (And West Of The Moon"). It features one of the most talented jazz pianists in the music scene, Marcus Roberts. "Indelible and Nocturnal" is an original tune that shows off the fine trumpeter's composing skills.

Since this is one the best from the six series of "Standard Time" and one of my favorites (I love Volumes 1, 2, 3 and 5), I most definitely recommend this album to any jazz lover who appreciates the exquisite sound of Wynton Marsalis' trumpet. He belongs to a select-few-group whose artistry goes beyond the genre of jazz. The multi-Grammy winner is also very adept on classical music not only as a remarkable performer, but also a prolific composer. And not to mention the various recognitions and honors he received for his unparalleled contributions to the arts. He is surely one of the top jazz artists who can command respect from a true appreciator of this art form.

Have a lovely listening adventure!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
After I start listening Orfeu and start enjoying his music, one friend of my recommended to try Wynton Marsalis. That's it!!! Wynton is very gooooood. This nice warm romantic music and perfect for romantic evening or for relax after hard day at work - it helps you to forget and relieve stress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
Excellent Cd. Addicted to the song "When its sleepytime down south" and sleep to it everynight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
My favorite evening listening. The first track is so beautiful I'm afraid my heart might crack! ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.