Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WAY, THE TRUTH, THE LIFE . . .
This book is third installment of the Goodmans' chronicling of the investigative researches and discoveries of the journalistic odyssey which is Democracy Now, in my opinion, at least, the most important public project of the past decade. The word from Radio Free America is there to remind us that we do not live by bread alone. I wax Biblical, because the holiest thing...
Published on April 28, 2008 by cvairag

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlikely heroes
This is a book that makes you proud of the Americans who stand up and say "No! No more, things have to change." Many of the people who are profiled in this book did not set out to take a stand, they made that decision on the fly and made a difference.

My favorite section is the one about the students at Wilton High School who were putting on a play, "Voices in...
Published on July 7, 2009 by Patricia Kramer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WAY, THE TRUTH, THE LIFE . . ., April 28, 2008
By 
cvairag (Allan Hancock College) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is third installment of the Goodmans' chronicling of the investigative researches and discoveries of the journalistic odyssey which is Democracy Now, in my opinion, at least, the most important public project of the past decade. The word from Radio Free America is there to remind us that we do not live by bread alone. I wax Biblical, because the holiest thing one can do at this point is to stand up for our rights. The Goodmans, with characteristic attention to the crucial detail, make this point clear in the book which discusses, some of the key incidents shaping the contemporary political milieu, ranging from the plight of the Connecticut Librarians to the fate of the Jena Six, and the issues emerging from them. To think that the "average American" is now to be counted among the "voiceless" masses of the world, in the wake of the fascist ideology which infects the Bush regime, the complicity of our subservient mainstream corporate-owned media, and the spineless, apparently calculated compliance of the "opposition" party, is to realize how far the ideals of democracy have fallen in our dear nation. But, the Goodmans focus on hope here, in these inspiring portraits of those ordinary folks who had the courage to stand up for what they knew, and because of their stance we now know, was right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing Up to the Madness, July 27, 2008
STANDING UP TO THE MADNESS BY AMY GOODMAN AND DAVID GOODMAN: The award-winning and bestselling brother and sister team Amy Goodman (popular and successful host of the TV and radio show Democracy Now!) and David Goodman (an investigative journalist), authors of Static and Exception to the Rulers return with Standing Up to the Madness. The Goodmans strike out on a new path in, aiming to not retread on the familiar ground of endlessly criticizing the Bush administration and its endeavors, but to report and record grassroots stories of people from across the country who have suffered under the current regime, and how they have fought back and gained some ground.

The stories in the book are grouped into subjects on how science is being threatened, schools and education being threatened, the war in Iraq, and simply "Standing up to the Madness." There is the story Malik Rahim, a native of New Orleans who was there when Hurricane Katrina struck, and is still there now trying to rebuild the ravaged country and its torn and exiled people. Rahim tells of the little help he has seen from the government, and what there remains now. He also provides startling insights into the horrific acts of racism that are now commonplace in the ruins of the city. But Rahim has started a charity group from scratch, Common Ground, that is now strong and increasing in size and popularity, providing aid and shelter to the many citizens of New Orleans that still have no where to call home.

Raed Jarrar, a US citizen originally from Iraq, tells the story of his being prevented from flying on JetBlue because he was wearing a T-shirt that read "We Will Not Be Silent" in both English and Arabic. Clearly it was because of the color of his skin, and with help from the original manufacturers of the T-shirt, he was able to make a stand for freedom of speech. Librarians across the country tell their story of standing against the Patriot Act and its supposed allowance of turning over library members reading histories. Psychologists speak out against the use of their members being used as litmus tests and decision makers when witnessing torture at Guantanamo Bay. American soldiers back from Iraq tell the true story of what was really taking place in the Middle East, and why every day is another step in the wrong direction.

It is easy to criticize the Bush administration, but the authors of Standing Up to the Madness challenge the reader to do something other than criticize. Through the voices and lives revealed in this book, one can see that change and justice is possible, and with an epilogue of advice and suggestions, it gives one fuel to begin the change that is necessary to make American the land of the free once again.

For more reviews, and writings, or to buy yourself a copy, please visit [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, December 14, 2008
"Standing Up to the Madness" tells of everyday people who take a chance and stand up for what they believe in and become the greatest power in America. Both current and historic turning points are covered.

Montgomery Bus Boycott - 1955 (Rosa Parks) - lasted over a year. A resulting case went to the Supreme Court which overturned bus segregation.

Malik Rahim protesting the failure to rebuild much of New Orleans post Katrina. The group "Common Ground" resulted - a group of volunteers. Meanwhile, the disaster was transformed into a windfall for Bush cronies' companies. Public schools became privatized, and much public housing eliminated.

George Christian, executive director, along with four other mild-mannered librarians forming the board of Connecticut libraries sharing a computer system, stood up toe FBI agents demanding information on library users to "protect against terrorism." There were 143,000 such requests in 2007 - no judge approval required. Only one led to a terrorism conviction, while 1,000 requests admittedly broke the law or regulations. The American Library Association encouraged libraries to use software that automatically erases records of book use - provided the book is returned and fines paid. The Connecticut libraries obtained ACLU legal support, and the government eventually dropped the case.

The Pentagon Papers (1971) exposed how the government secretly expanded the Vietnam War in the 1960s and then lied to cover it up. Nixon then ordered a break-in to Ellsberg's psychiatrist to get evidence to discredit him.

A survey of 1,600 government scientists in 2007 revealed nearly half perceived/experienced pressure on climate change information released. Dr. James Hansen, America's preeminent expert on climate change was required to have all site postings, papers, and interview requests reviewed by NASA P.R. staff - specifically a 24-year-old George Deutsch who was a political appointee lacking even his claimed B.A. degree and wanting to prove "intelligent design." The Executive Branch also slashed Hansen's budget 20% retroactively (40% effective), and brought in sci-fi author and global warming denier Michael Crichton for White House advice in 2005. This section also cites considerable Congressional testimony and review showing blatantly biased editing. Industry is now making large grants to university research centers.

The Goodmans also report the contradiction between U.S. prosecution of German "enhanced interrogation" (sleep deprivation, hypothermia, stress positions) of non-uniformed Norwegian resistors, vs. our logic for doing the same at Guantanamo Bay.

The authors overreached, however, writing about Raed Jarrar, an Iraqi emigre, who became upset that his wearing a T-shirt with an angry slogan in Arabic and English while trying to board a plane caused a negative reaction among passengers and federal agents. The Goodmans and Jarrar should have had more sense to try to make this an example of courage, instead of the reality of being "tone-deaf."

"When fascism comes to America it will be wrapped in the American flag" - authorship uncertain, but describes the U.S. post 9/11 with the Bush administration's abrogation of limitations while ramming through its agenda, deceptions, and secrecy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Our Responsibility, November 6, 2008
Amy and David Goodman provide good evidence to be shared with our government officials. Just as their heroes stood up, so must we. With the recent election, we must "hold our representatives feet to the fire". I became an adult in the 60's and have lived the times described. President-elect Obama has said he is listening. Let us, right and left combined, let him know, with hard evidence support, what we require of our government as Amy and David have represented so well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing up to The Madness : Ordinary Heros in Extraordinary Times, May 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amy and David, as usual, do a fine job of detailing important current and recent historical events, providing facts and details and singling out those unsung heros usually ignored or barely mentioned by the mainstream media and press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unlikely heroes, July 7, 2009
By 
This is a book that makes you proud of the Americans who stand up and say "No! No more, things have to change." Many of the people who are profiled in this book did not set out to take a stand, they made that decision on the fly and made a difference.

My favorite section is the one about the students at Wilton High School who were putting on a play, "Voices in Conflict" featuring the words of Iraq War Veterans. They had previously done plays that dealt with graphic sex, homosexuality, and violence, but this play was banned from being performed at the school. The subject of this play was war and that would not be tolerated.

The banning backfired because the story spread and the students were asked to do nine performances of the play at the National Theater in New York City and other theaters in Connecticut. After the last performance, the actors stated their feelings as they stood on the stage.

"Why is talking about the war 'sensational and inappropriate'?
Since when has war not been graphic and violent?
If they consider the words of the soldiers biased, why do they allow an army recruiter into the school cafeteria?
Why has the school been silent on these issues?
Why did it take a New York Times article to start discussion?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Up to the Madness: Ordinary Heroes in Extraordinary Times (Paperback)
This was a Christmas gift for my husband. He watches Free Speech Tv and praises Amy Goodman for unvestigative journalism.He says that everyone needs to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, December 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Haven't read it; gave it as a gift. Was a perfect gift for a fellow social worker :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We can all do this, October 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book really gets you thinking about what you would do in any given situation where you feel injustice is being done. It's inspirational and truly eye-opening. Take the time to dig deeper than what you hear on the news and in print. Are you really getting the truth? Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hope filled and exhilarating quick read, October 6, 2009
By 
N. Baldwin (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed Standing Up to the Madness for its inspiring stories. I've never read any Amy Goodman before this book and I think its a great introduction to her work as a journalist. I first heard her and her brother David speaking about their book on City Arts & Lectures on KQED. It was such an amazing interview and the stories they told were incredible. The librarians standing up to the Patriot Act was just amazing. I have to admit I really enjoyed their writing style. There's a certain air of common sense in the way they approach each story and they have a very humanistic style. Its a very quick read because the stories are very compelling you just can't put the book down. Some of these stories I knew very little about based on mainstream reporting for example the Jena 6 case. If all the news you ever get is the few soundbites on the major cable news channels then you get nothing at all of the real stories. And while the adversity that these common day heroes have to overcome always feels so enormous and impossible there's always a sense of hopefulness in each story that I think sets their writing apart from ordinary reporting. Its a book that I'm going to give to a good friend to read and hopefully they'll do the same when they're done. I have to admit it gives me comfort to know that the Goodmans are out there, doing what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Standing Up to the Madness: Ordinary Heroes in Extraordinary Times
Standing Up to the Madness: Ordinary Heroes in Extraordinary Times by David Goodman (Paperback - March 31, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.