Customer Reviews


685 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (163)
3 star:
 (88)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH TOO QUICKLY ?!!
Coming on the heels of the author's last "Stone Barrington" novel (released Oct, 2013) and only three months before the next Barrington sequel "Carnal Curiosity" to be released this April (2014) I wasn't terribly impressed with either the quality or originality of this particular book. The general impact of the novel has merit, but the characters and plot could have...
Published 10 months ago by Robert Steven Thomas

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is Stuart losing his touch or is Stone losing his?
Been reading Stone and Holly since the beginning but lately the stories have all been losing their ump. Had a hard time getting into this one as it is so ho hum and basically the same prose as in other installments. They've all gotten boring and rather unbelievable which to me means the writer is the one getting boring and unbelievable. I'm sure Stuart does not need the...
Published 10 months ago by Book Poor Teacher


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is Stuart losing his touch or is Stone losing his?, January 19, 2014
Been reading Stone and Holly since the beginning but lately the stories have all been losing their ump. Had a hard time getting into this one as it is so ho hum and basically the same prose as in other installments. They've all gotten boring and rather unbelievable which to me means the writer is the one getting boring and unbelievable. I'm sure Stuart does not need the money badly enough to keep turning out sub class novels. Come on I want to see more plot to the works. Again. Like it use to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Continuing Woods' downslide, February 10, 2014
I've been reading Stuart Woods since he began writing fiction, but I don't know if it's his age or that he's cranking out these Stone Barrington novels almost as fast as they can be printed, but his plots seem to become more ridiculous with each new novel. Not only do random women continue to hop into Stone's bed at the speed of light, and he has a son who's the next cinematic genius, but he is great pals with the outgoing President and possibly the next one! The biggest objection I have to this book (outside of John Fratelli's almost instantaneous transformation from convict to suave sophisticate) is that Stone behaves in a way that's dumber than those girls who run through the woods in cheesy horror movies, trip and bite it. A character whom Woods has created to be smart, analytical, and intuitive, behaves in a way that's totally out-of-character. I mean, really, who would give someone you've only known for a short time, who might be involved in a crime, access to your house and all your security codes when you've got millions of dollars just sitting around? No one, of course! The best part of these books is the witty banter between Stone and Dino, and because they are still amusing, I've kept reading. If they move any further into the realm of ridiculousness, though, I'm afraid I'll just have to take a pass. There are too many other series out there that are still being written at a consistently high level to waste my time with head-shaking silliness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH TOO QUICKLY ?!!, January 7, 2014
By 
Robert Steven Thomas (author, researcher, retired executive) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Coming on the heels of the author's last "Stone Barrington" novel (released Oct, 2013) and only three months before the next Barrington sequel "Carnal Curiosity" to be released this April (2014) I wasn't terribly impressed with either the quality or originality of this particular book. The general impact of the novel has merit, but the characters and plot could have stood a bit more pre-planning, thought and additional effort. If you enjoyed "Doing Hard Time" you will not be disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please ...Get Real...No!, March 11, 2014
Yup - if you make it through this Woods opus count the number of times you use these phrases...when I first learned his output is up to 4 books a year I wondered how he would keep up...after the last few, I am now wondering what he does the rest of the 11 weeks tween deadlines - cause I doubt he's spending more than a week churning out these re-hashing of the Good Life of Mr Barrington, Esq. I mean every book now Stone bones a few women, spends time traveling away from his practice (I know he's independently wealthy but why does the lawfirm even tolerate his abscences??) and spends conspicous amounts of money on fine food/wine/merchandise.....boring!

But for those who gave this book rave reviews - especially the ones who complimented Wood's "research" : this plot features a pile of 1966 vintage $100 bills which - more than once - are mentioned as being different from today's by the "special red seal". Nice Google work, Stu, but did you forget that the portarit of Franklin since 1996 is freakin' 3x the size of the older bills? Do you really need to have color vision to notice a 1966 bill looks different?

Please! Get real! NO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Plot so thin you can see thru it, January 26, 2014
By 
I've been a Stuart Woods fan for many, many years. The last 2-3 years is getting harder to read his books.

Mr. Wood is so lazy on his storyline, I doubt he spends more than a day to write this book. This "new" Stone is so dumb I'm surprise he can find his own bathroom.

Where are the book editor, sleeping?

=========
Not so spoiler alert:

This plot is so stupid I can't take it. Hank the "kidnap victim" opens and answers the door as Stone found the house where Hank was suppose to be held ransom, She was not tied up, claims to have not ran away when the kidnaper gone shopping because she was afraid of the dark? Really that's believable?

Than Stone can't return the ransom 5 million dollars, has to hold it in his house for some time. Than Stone "dates" Hank again, this time giving her the key of the house with the security code, where the money happen to be. REALLY, REALLY!!? What a surprise Stone was rob and got tied up... what the hell? Stone is so dumb in this story, no wonder he's call "Stone".

Please Mr. Wood, take 2 whole days next time you write a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disappointing political woven inserts, January 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do t buy books to further political agendas of the writer unless it is purposely written as a partisan book. Thought Woods, who does churn out light reading, would be refreshing as an alternate pace to some of my other reading. That he has to blatantly inject his partisan. I ewes turns me off- really, idolizing Chris Mathews and "fauxing" Fox? Last book I will ever purchase written by him. Next time just write a political book and label it as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars siand up guy., January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
the story plot to my opinion was very dumb. ihave read most all of his novels but this one is totally stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not his best effort., February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have read almost every book Stuart Woods has written but this one is a true disappointment. Not up to his normal standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still offers great entertainment on its fast-paced pages full of mystery, thrilling action, beautiful girls and shiny cars, January 13, 2014
“Standup Guy” written by Stuart Woods is new twenty-eighth installment in popular and bestselling Stone Barrington series that brought his new adventures that will not disappoint using proven formula for fans of this long-lived series.

Stone Barrington once worked for the NYC police department as Detective, but took over a position of legal consultant to a respectable law firm handling cases with which his firm doesn’t want to be publicly connected.

In “Standup Guy” Barrington’s new client is a polite man that came to him looking for a legal expertise on unusual, but interesting problem. And once this man will leave, that won’t be the end of their acquaintance, but the beginning of wild and mysterious chase from Florida to Northeast because of the great interest in this man and his problems of many people who are known to Barrington…

The main character and his adventures after almost 30 novels expectedly become somewhat predictable but still offer great entertainment on its fast-paced pages full of mystery, thrilling action, beautiful girls and shiny cars with the addition of political twist that may not be liked by everyone.
Therefore if you read the earlier Stuart Woods novels you’ll know what to expect, and if not, you can join free from this installment, although it is recommended to start from the beginning because the first parts were the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not interested the restaurants some rich lawyer eats in, just doesn't have any punch.
And the name Stone Barrington is so tacky, reads like a soap opera-a total waste of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Standup Guy (Stone Barrington)
Standup Guy (Stone Barrington) by Stuart Woods (Audio CD - January 7, 2014)
$29.95 $21.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.