Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting romantic science fiction
When her beloved Alex apparently died in a crash, Cora Daniels lost her will to live. She became reckless driving her space vessel Freedom and keeping up repairs as if she planned a suicide crash deep in her subconscious.

When the Freedom finally fails, Cora, using all her skills, manages a safe emergency landing on an unknown planet. Aliens capture her and...
Published on November 30, 2007 by Harriet Klausner

versus
18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what a perverse little tale
Starts out with the heroine strapped to a metal table and being prodded by sexual instruments from aliens who then use her as a breeder to the human on the planet who was once her fiance 6 years ago and now has no memory of her or how he got to the planet. Wow. The aliens are flamingos or ostriches and the back story is that humans did land there 400 years ago but their...
Published on July 14, 2011 by Lorraine Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting romantic science fiction, November 30, 2007
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
When her beloved Alex apparently died in a crash, Cora Daniels lost her will to live. She became reckless driving her space vessel Freedom and keeping up repairs as if she planned a suicide crash deep in her subconscious.

When the Freedom finally fails, Cora, using all her skills, manages a safe emergency landing on an unknown planet. Aliens capture her and take her to a prison encampment where she meets other humanoid species who are being forced into breeding by their guards who believe humans are dumb beasts of burden. Cora vows to escape, but is stunned when she sees Alex is one of the prisoners. He does not remember her or anything before his captivity. However, she now has a reason to live free as she plans to liberate her, Alex and the others.

Obviously reminiscent of Planet of the Apes, STAR CRASH is an interesting romantic science fiction that is at its best when readers obtain insight into the aliens and how they see humans as being beneath them. However, when the plot turns to sexual encounters, it decelerates as these trysts feel unnecessary. Still fans who appreciate outer space encounters of the first kind will enjoy Elysa Hendricks' entertaining look at comparative anthropology from ET's perspective.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting tale on an alien world, March 12, 2008
By 
Ann Macela (Bartlett, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
A tale of valor, ingenuity, and love set on an alien planet with truly alien beings. Hendricks builds a complete world with intriguing, interesting cultures, one human, the other, definitely not. Cora Daniels is an intelligent, crafty and courageous heroine who meets even the challenge of finding the lover she thought was dead and concluding she might have to give him up again. The love-making sizzles. Both Cora and Alex know true freedom at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, December 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
Well written and compelling look at what could happen on a planet where humans are not the dominant species. Cora is a likable and strong heroine, and her actions are true to her character. Her relationship with the hero sizzles! Great story and I loved the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction, Romance and Terror all wrapped up in a truly excellent suspense, January 2, 2009
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
When Alex, the man she loved had gone off into space without her and died seven years ago, something inside Cora Daniels had died as well. Yes, she'd later followed him into space as the very successful pilot of her own space vessel Freedom, but when Freedom fails, only her incredible skills and her intrepid ship keep her from sharing his fate -- or does it?

Cora has crash landed on a hitherto uncharted world that will quickly bring the reader to mind of Planet of the Apes for the planet is inhabited by intelligent, birdlike humanoids who regard homo sapiens as we would cattle or dogs as beasts of burden and breeding stock, at best pets - at worst expendable. Cora soon finds herself herded into a pen with other human woman by the beings she dubs "the Flock."

The federation to which Earth is merely a probationary member has very strict rules regarding first contact and Cora's translator chip appears to have been damaged in the crash. She has no way of indicating to her xenophobic captors that she and her fellow slaves are intelligent beings.
As Cora becomes familiar with the lay of the land she becomes aware that the compound she has found herself in makes it's livelihood from pit fights that pit the human males against each other in the arena. The winner lives to fight another day and is valued as breeding stock. The women's purpose is to labor and produce offspring. Though the other females appear to be content with their lot in life, to Cora this is tantamount to rape and she is prepared to fight to the death rather than submit when she finds herself alone in a pen with a savage male. But something about the brute seems very familiar.

Zan has experience with reluctant females and is certain he can coax this one into submission, not that he was above using force if necessary. But when the female speaks to him in a long forgotten language and claims to know him it triggers images that make his head ache. He doesn't know if she speaks the truth about his past but he does know that this is one woman he will not allow his handlers to take from him as they had all the others.

Now with her reason for living restored Cora's only goal is to escape this world and take Alex with her. She had always been the dominate person in their relationship until the day when he'd rebelled and left to follow his own dream, but Alex is no longer the awkward shy young man who had worshipped her and followed her lead. Though he loves Cora with all his heart the awareness she reawakens in him includes his sense of responsibility both as a First Contact agent and as a fellow captive. He has a stake in this world, sons and daughters and although he knows his destiny will cause them both heartache his place is on this world among the descendants of a long ago space crash. He must negotiate for his people with the Flock to restore their dignity or die in the effort.

If these star-crossed lovers are meant to be, who will be the one to bend? This is an excellent science fiction tale. Yes, it is definitely a romance novel but not for the faint of heart. If the reader goes into the story with this in mind I believe that they will truly enjoy the action, suspense and the true grit of the protagonists, I know that I did. I could not put this book down and hope the author will write more stories like this. ~ reviewed for PNR Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling! Scifi, June 2, 2012
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
Intriguing concept for an alien world. I don't usually read Scifi romance, but I have to say this one was quite enjoyable. I loved Cora's independent and dominant personality, even in the face of being captured and kept as livestock. The romance between her and her lost love was fantastic. It kinda reminded me of the TV show STAR GATE, which I love. Human colony on far away planet, rediscovered hundreds or thousands of years later.
~Krystal Shannan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review on Star Crash, March 24, 2012
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first futuristic book ever and I was so very pleasantly surprised ! The author really blew me away ! And the love that Cora feels for Alex is absolutely stunning she will fight against anything and anyone to win back her man ! Loved it ! Well done Elysa !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what a perverse little tale, July 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
Starts out with the heroine strapped to a metal table and being prodded by sexual instruments from aliens who then use her as a breeder to the human on the planet who was once her fiance 6 years ago and now has no memory of her or how he got to the planet. Wow. The aliens are flamingos or ostriches and the back story is that humans did land there 400 years ago but their numbers are dwindling because they're being hunted like animals for - wait a minute - the author never tells us besides the human males are thrown into the ring against Zan the barbarian who kills the human men and impregnates the women. To make it even more bizarre, Cora, the heroine, realizes that Zan is Alexander her fiance and tries to get him to leave the planet with her, but he feels guilty about the children he's sired across the planet so he won't go and there's your friction. They love one another but she wants off the planet and he wants to stay. She's been living her life for 6 years, rebuilding it after they told her he had died, and her ship crashes onto this planet where she finds him. Once his memory comes back, he remembers that the reason he left her was that he was fearful of always following her, that he would lose himself to her stronger will/character. What happens? She stays on the planet with this guy who couldn't make a decision to save his soul except to leave her before he lost himself and look where that decision got him.. Adoption works. He hasn't seen these children he's brought forth in 6 years, doesn't know how many there are since he was a breeder although he's sure of 2. Is he the father of the human race on this planet? I read the book and I was so hoping they would leave the planet together. She could have rescued his son and said good bye, have a nice life, I've made a life for myself in the past 6 years, but she caved to this idiot. I rarely write bad book reviews but this book left such a bad taste in my mouth that I had to warn readers: hero lacking in spine and heroine caving to live in pup tent unless she's angry with him, then she'll sleep on her ship and lock him out, but I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Read, December 26, 2007
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
From the first line, Star Crash, by Elysa Hendricks captured my attention. A long time fan of the author because of her vivid portrayal of other worlds and other beings this book didn't fail to deliver what it had promised.

How could I not be pulled in by a work that began with the heroine strapped down and spread eagle. Add to that, Coral Daniels as a pilot was extremely believable. She was a can do heroine, something I've always admired in the author's work.

When Cora sets out to keep herself alive and from mating with any of her captors she's overjoyed to find that Alex, the man she'd loved in the past but had thought to be dead was alive. Of course there is a problem of this wouldn't be a romance now would it? Alex has no memory of Cora. To Cora that doesn't matter, she's determined to get to safety and to take Alex with her willing or not.

Cora is smart, super independent and extremely likable. For the REAL fans of Sci-fi this book is a winner. I won't deny there are some steamy love scenes to heat up the readers on these cold winter nights. But heck I'm over 21. I loved them and the book. Wonderful job, Ms. Hendricks. I can't wait for your next work. My alter ego also loved it and that's saying something.

Namaste

Adam omega
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written and loved the story, September 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Crash (Star Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't come across a storyline quite like this before and I really loved the feeling of believing that his really could happen to humans in another world.
This book was written very well to make me feel like I was being sucked into the world.
Loved this story and will keep reading from this author.
Thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of crashed and burned..., March 9, 2010
By 
amf0001 (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Star Crash (Mass Market Paperback)
This actually had some interesting ideas (so points for world buiding/concepts), but it didn't work for me. Female pilot crashes on unfamilar planet and then discoveres odd alien life (ostrich like creatures) have dominated the weak humanoid figures (more than monkeys, less than people) breeding them and fighting them for their amusement. She the discoveres that she is going to be bred wtih the chief fighter - who was her lover who disappeared and was declared dead 6 years ago.

But it was written in such a clunky way, that even though the ideas had merit, I started to skim, and then jump whole pieces and still know what was going on. It just wasn't emotionally or intellectually engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Crash (Star Chronicles Book 1)
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.