Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DEMO is OUT!!! IT IS AMAZING!!!
The graphics in Elite Force 2 are FANTASTIC!!! Out of all of the games using the Quake3 engine - these have to be the Best Graphics I have seen! The detail is second to none!! I am having a hard time writing this review because of how great this games is (demo) and I am having a hard time puting it into words! OHhhhh - this is also COOL! Music in games is always...
Published on May 5, 2003 by Steve

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor level design & short game length.
I found this game very disappointing. The demo held promise, but the gameplay in the full version is not up to par. There are two main things that detract from the game: first, the level design is very rigid--you can't explore the levels much and the way to proceed is always very obvious (with only a couple of exceptions); second, the game stops to load every 3 to 5...
Published on June 29, 2003 by Jonathan D Moreau


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The DEMO is OUT!!! IT IS AMAZING!!!, May 5, 2003
By 
Steve (Kirkland, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
The graphics in Elite Force 2 are FANTASTIC!!! Out of all of the games using the Quake3 engine - these have to be the Best Graphics I have seen! The detail is second to none!! I am having a hard time writing this review because of how great this games is (demo) and I am having a hard time puting it into words! OHhhhh - this is also COOL! Music in games is always great...puts you in the mood.... Elite Force 2 took it to the next level and made it JUST LIKE A MOVIE! If the action gets tense - the music adjusts to be more intense.... if an apponent appears in the distance...the music adjusts to make you feel like something is going to happen (even if you can barely see them)....it is really hard to describe - it is MUCH better than I'm describing it. Its not just a pre programmed "play this music when the player gets to this point" sort of thing - it REALLY adjusts to the environment you are in and what is going on!!! If you haven't tried the demo - GET IT!!
This definately deserves higher than a 5!!! YES....its THAT GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's see....PLAY THE GAME BEFORE you gripe about it..., May 26, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
That lady who left a bad review here recently does not, obviously, understand that a more complex game (that will include a romance for th elead character) needs to be more realistic. Unless she wants to see girl on girl action in this sequel. Give me a break. ONE star because there's no girl in the game? I have played the demo as well, and can fully agree that this has the potential to extend the star trek universe in MANY positive ways. Graphics are , as expected, superb. Plot line hasn'
t really been revealed too much yet. However, it is known that the plot will be taken from the series. In the finale of the tv show the voyager went into a wormhole. Then, they went to a commercial. After the commercial, they came out of the wormhole and nothing was ever explained as to what had happenned inside the wormhole. This game is the answer. Very interesting. I have seen that the system requirements are relatively low compared to todays' average powerhouse game releases...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set Phasers to Fun!, May 26, 2013
By 
Brian McCain (Peoria, Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
Seeing how this product and most of the reviews for it are quite dated now, I thought it would be kind gesture to give people a heads up for those using more current hardware.

First off, the game seems to have no problems running on Windows 7/8, but of course if you're running a widescreen monitor (which were still quite rare or nonexistence when the game came out), I suggest you google "Elite Force II Widescreen" to get some tips and tricks on how to run the game in widescreen (thank goodness this came out at a time where engines like UE2 allowed you to upscale via console or ini edits).

Now, unto the gameplay:

If you have played either the first EF or none of them: the game pretty much adopts are more twitchy/Quake III fragfest-style shooter theme. If you're more accustomed to more tactical/slow-paced shooters like current-gen games, prepare to get your butt handed to you on a silver platter. Of course if you're familiar with Doom/Quake style games, you will feel right at home blasting people to bits at knee-jerk speeds.

Story: The prologue focuses on the ending of the "Voyager" show, where the cast is finally able to make it back to the Alpha Quadrant. After that though the game then turns into a more original plot seeing how there is pretty much no real ST canon following Voyager (unless you count that horrid Nemesis film as such). That and Star Trek Online is an MMORPG, and this is a twitch FPS so you should consider which type of gameplay genre you prefer before deciding a purchase.

Graphics: If you're running an Nvidia GPU/Graphics Card, I suggest after you look up how to make the game widescreen/HD, you should add the game to the Control Panel and force ANYTHING that improves image/graphics quality (example: AA, AF, Texture quality, etc). If you're running an ATI card, I suggest you do whatever are the equivalent measures.

Extras: The game does boaster a Multiplayer suite, but seeing how old the game is I doubt you'll find any servers outside gathering friends and/or family for a LAN match, but if you're like me who doesn't care how real the opponents are, you can choose the "SoloMatch" feature to test your meddle against AI/CPU/NPC/Bot opponents who are still formidable, and the options still allow you to adjust Time/Frag limit, map and mode choice, and which characters the bots will play as (and so forth).

Another Recommendation: This is for those who are fans of the new timeline/universe (whether or not you were converted by the reboot or a trekkie who adores both universes). They recently released a new Star Trek game simply titled "Star Trek(The Video Game)", and it uses the reboot cast and more current gaming technology. Note that EF2 is a FPS and Star Trek is a TPS(Third-person Shooter) that adopts gameplay more akin to Gears of War/Uncharted type games. If you'd rather have a ST game that's newer and based on the new films, I suggest you get "Star Trek" instead, just expect that game to be pretty demanding as well as far as combat and puzzles go. Though if you're a die hard trekkie who enjoys the whimsical banter of either universe and that's motivation enough to grind the learning curves of more skill-based games, I suggest you get BOTH EF2 AND the new Star Trek game!

Well, I hope whoever sees this review finds it helpful. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far surpasses the quality of EF1, July 30, 2003
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
Star Trek Elite Force II is an awesome game for a few reasons:
1) You get an idea of the reaction to when Voyager returned to Earth.
2) The story/plot is far deeper than the original.
3) It takes place on THE Star Trek flagship, the USS Enterprise-E.
I am a big Star Trek fan, and I am extremely glad that this game takes place on the Enterprise-E with Captain Picard. Some people freak out that you don't see the other TNG crew members. Here's why:
1) This game takes place after Star Trek Nemesis.
2) Riker and Troi are aboard the USS Titan.
3) Data is dead.
4) Ingame it explains Worf is on leave.
5) Dr. Crusher is now working at Starfleet Medical
6) And Geordi has moved on from the Enterprise.
This game shows what happens to the Hazard Team with many cheers and very few boos. And the Multiplayer function I feel is much more player-friendly.
So, if you're thinking about getting this game, liked TNG better than Voyager, and loved EF1, this will be an incredible gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor level design & short game length., June 29, 2003
By 
Jonathan D Moreau (Overland Park, KS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
I found this game very disappointing. The demo held promise, but the gameplay in the full version is not up to par. There are two main things that detract from the game: first, the level design is very rigid--you can't explore the levels much and the way to proceed is always very obvious (with only a couple of exceptions); second, the game stops to load every 3 to 5 minutes. I suppose this is good if you forget to save (like me), but it *constantly* interrupted the game. Some other reviews have praised the graphics, but I found them somewhat pedestrian, compared with, for example, No One Lives Forever 2, which was visually stunning. One other complaint is that the game is very short; I finished it in about 9 hours. And much of *that* time was spent wandering around the Enterprise on "information gathering missions." I suppose it would be fun if you like scanning other crew members with your tricorder! Unless you have an unlimited budget for games, you may want to spend your money on something more worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but 'elite'?, July 14, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
This game's graphics and story line are much improved on the first entry, ST: Elite Force. It also adds some puzzle-solving tasks, which is a nice way to break up the action. If you liked the first game you are likely to enjoy this sequel, but don't expect anything new to the FPS genre.
Some issues:
The single-player game doesn't take long to complete - a day or so, if you're putting in solid hours. This may not be much of a concern if you plan to play multi-player.
Second, and I know this is subjective, the designers (at Ritual) have given us very few holomatch maps from which to choose, and they all look like they came from Doom III. What happened to the space station maps of EF ver. 1?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome force 2, June 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
THIS IS THE BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY ENTIRE LIFE! And belive it or not, I HATE star trek. My friend convinced me to try it for a minute. And I played it for an hour. The graphics are completely outstanding! There are tons of different guns and this something called a holodeck is awesome. you can play awesome games on it. The storyline is great and the levels are awesome, from destroyed hulls of a spaceship, to mercenary spacestations, to frozen military bases on a mountain, to harsh volcanic planets, and you get to fight all these awesome alien things. I THINK THIS GAME AT LEAST COMPARES WITH GRANDTHEFT AUTO VICE CITY! And you have to be crazy, or it has to be an absolutly fabulous game! ( the answer is the latter one) Get it! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELITE FORCE II, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
What can I say? I love Star Trek. I love shooting things. I enjoy the graphics and the variety of things you get to do like exploring to find stuff. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's no Elite Force 1, November 12, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
The gameplay is nice, the graphics are pretty nice, but the game overall is just OK. About the gameplay, I'm glad that you actually have a tricorder and use it for different things. Actually, it's integral to use the tricorder if you want to beat the game, because you use it to find walls that you can shoot through, poison gas vents you have to seal, and bioscanners you have to avoid. The weapons aren't all that great, they seem to be overdone. The phaser rifle sounds like it has enough power to take out a tank, but you have to shoot everything twice to kill it. And the enhanced phaser rifle has clips! Who ever heard of a phaser that you had to reload? That is just a little annoying, but it reloads in like .5 seconds, so I won't complain about that.

Now about the graphics, the models are all very high-res, and so are the textures (For a game that was made in 2003) but they are made to look almost comic-like, instead of realistic. The textures have almost no specularity (so everything looks flat) and the fog could use some work. The story doesn't seem very special, either. And did I mention that this game isn't easy? Some parts take all the fun out of playing a FPS. The game also uses cinematics WAY too much. About every five seconds it will take control away from you to show Munro push a button or something trivial like that. After playing games like Half Life and Portal, I know that you don't need cinematics as much, but I like a few of them. Several times playing the game I thought I might as well be watching the show, because I sure as heck wasn't playing a game.

Overall, it wasn't worth the $45 I spent on it. Maybe $5 dollars would have made it worth it. Then again, maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first ...., May 5, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC (Video Game)
This game is great. I just downloaded the single player demo, and it is totally awesome! all new features like the tricorder really add to the excitement!
New weapons, new terrain, new aliens.
Read my lips: get this game! you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC
Star Trek Elite Force 2 - PC by Activision (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / XP)
$99.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.