Customer Reviews


800 Reviews
5 star:
 (509)
4 star:
 (177)
3 star:
 (55)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TO BOLDLY GO... Enterprise, the first Star Trek broadcast in HD
It is the mid 22nd Century: over a hundred years before Kirk and Spock. The crew of Earth's latest breakthrough Warp 5 starship; led by Captain Jonathan Archer, are making their first steps into the galaxy. Firmly believing humankind has been held back for too long by Vulcan interference, Archer is eager to embark on Enterprise's mission of deep space exploration...
Published on July 12, 2009 by Christopher Pike

versus
40 of 53 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad ending for a great television tradition...
"Enterprise"... the woefully misbegotten stepchild of Star Trek. This series had its moments and the cast was quite good, however the show was bad.. In fact, it was awful. The blame for this miscarriage lies solely with Rick Berman and Brannon Braga, who only cared about how much further they could milk the franchise and take advantage of the fans' eagerness for Trek...
Published on October 6, 2006 by Brent Soileau


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TO BOLDLY GO... Enterprise, the first Star Trek broadcast in HD, July 12, 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: Enterprise - Season One [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It is the mid 22nd Century: over a hundred years before Kirk and Spock. The crew of Earth's latest breakthrough Warp 5 starship; led by Captain Jonathan Archer, are making their first steps into the galaxy. Firmly believing humankind has been held back for too long by Vulcan interference, Archer is eager to embark on Enterprise's mission of deep space exploration. Survival proves perilous the farther from home they travel. Outmatched by superior aliens equipped with far more powerful weaponary, this first crew face a steep learning curve. Among their challenges will come Klingon aggression, militaristic Andorians and the Suliban; a race receiving aid from the future.

Those whose discovered Star Trek through JJ Abrams' 2009 movie and are currently awaiting the 2013 sequel - Star Trek Into Darkness, will probably appreciate Enterprise's uncomplicated "stripped back" technology style the most. It pitches all the familiar trek-nology seen in the other Star Trek TV series and films at a less advanced stage, trying for something less routine and far-future fantastical. Much of the crew are too scared to use the transporter, a device mostly called upon to beam equipment and supplies around. Instead space suits are regularly seen, together with having to step through complicated airlocks and time spent in decompression and decontamination. Phase pistols are the defensive side arm of choice. Although with projected energy weapons having only recently replaced pulse, blaster-style ones, they're still as Starfleet experimental as the Enterprise NX-01 starship itself. Instead of invisible shields that encompass whole starships like a bubble, protection from alien attack comes down to polarising the hull plating. Instead of tractor beams, capturing another ship requires a grappler deployed from bomb bay doors on the underside, through which small shuttlepods are regularly launched. When you're at a disadvantage, you have nothing but your wits to rely on and this show was about as far from the 24th Century's technobabble saves the day approach as it was possible for Trek to realistically get.

One of the aspects that sets Enterprise apart from Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager, is the more down-to-earth characterisation of its crew and often a "first time" naivety when faced with a perilous universe. They're imperfect and largely unprepared for a galaxy full of alien lifeforms, extraordinary circumstances, stumbling and making misteps along the way - often with best of intentions. Captain Archer, interested me from the outset (being a fan of Scott Bakula from Quantum Leap) his Captain out there alone with no support, no rulebook or role models to learn from their mistakes. He's a man with a strong prejudice about the Vulcans. While that and some questionable decisions often bring him dangerously close to unlikeable, we get plenty of examples throughout the series that Star Trek's most famous pointy-eared race also still have someway to go, in order to evolve into the likeable kind typified by Spock and Tuvok. Better aspects to Archer's personality are brought out by Shran, a blue-skinned Andorian who appears semi-regularly throughout the 4 years and twice during Season One. Both are deeply skeptical of the Vulcans and yet altogether, they will ultimately end up forging an interstellar alliance known as the Federation.

Other notable crew members include Trip, a likable Southern Engineer who's long friendship with his Captain, somehow manages to survive his occasional bouts of insubordination. T'Pol, initially an observer from a Vulcan government concerned about the impact of humankind's deep exploration, serves as the Enterprise's Vulcan Science Officer and gradually grows more accustomed to an almost entirely human crew and their different perspective. Also helpful is the ship's eternally optimistic alien Doctor, Phlox. He's a Denobulan, who often treats the crew with some very unusual medicine including the leech-like, osmotic eel! In charge of defending the ship, is an explosives obsessed, British armoury officer named Malcolm Reed. Hoshi Sato deftly handles alien languages, in her role as the ship's Communications Officer. Finally space boomer Travis Mayweather is the navigator, one of few humans born in space to a family who run a cargo ship.

Like the Original Series in the 1960s, Enterprise came to a premature end when it was cancelled in 2005 after only 4 seasons. Unlike previous series The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager, this show wasn't widely syndicated beyond the now defunct network TV station, UPN. A revealing brand-new 3 part retrospective documentary promises to delve deep into Enterprise's misfortunes. What it was like making Star Trek after a decade and a half uninterrupted run... and how the show wasn't entirely the prequel its producers wanted to make. How they had to deal with Network Executives for the first time, who hampered creative decisions with what they required a Star Trek series to include. Even given those flaws, I ultimately enjoyed much of this show while it lasted... particularly Season 4. I still believe there is unfulfilled potential left in Enterprise and it holds a unique place - as a prequel to both the old franchise and JJ Abrams' motion pictures. After many years without brand new Star Trek adventures beaming across our television screens (where it belongs)... there's perhaps no better time to reappraise this in High Definition. See both where it all began and ironically, how it all ended. Judge for yourself.

-------------

Episodes ratings: * poor, ** average, *** good, **** excellent, ***** classic

DISC ONE:
1 & 2. BROKEN BOW ***** Feature-Length Premiere
3. FIGHT OR FLIGHT ****
4. STRANGE NEW WORLD ***
Audio Commentary with co-creator/executive producer Brannon Braga, director James L. Conway, visual effects producer Dan Curry and cast members Connor Trinneer (Trip Tucker) and Dominic Keating (Malcolm Reed) on Broken Bow -- NEW!
Audio Commentary with Brannon Braga and Rick Berman on Broken Bow
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on Broken Bow
Deleted Scenes from Broken Bow (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Fight or Flight (SD)
In Conversation: Rick Berman and Brannon Braga--NEW! (HD)
Archival Mission Log: Creating Enterprise (SD)
Archival Mission Log: O Captain! My Captain! A Profile of Scott Bakula (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 02 (SD)
Cast Introduction -- NEW (SD)
Network Presentation -- NEW (SD)
Syndication Presentation -- NEW (SD)

DISC TWO:
5. UNEXPECTED **
6. TERRA NOVA ***
7. THE ANDORIAN INCIDENT *****
8. BREAKING THE ICE ****
9. CIVILIZATION ****
Deleted Scene from Unexpected (SD)
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on The Andorian Incident
Archival Mission Log: Cast Impressions: Season 1 (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Enterprise Secrets (SD)

DISC THREE:
10. FORTUNATE SON ****
11. COLD FRONT ***
12. SILENT ENEMY ****
13. DEAR DOCTOR ****
14. SLEEPING DOGS ***
Audio commentary with writer/story editor André Bormanis and visual effects producer Dan Curry on Silent Enemy -- NEW!
Deleted Scene from Sleeping Dogs (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Star Trek Time Travel: Temporal Cold Wars and Beyond (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Admiral Forrest Takes Center Stage (SD)

DISC FOUR:
15. SHADOWS OF P'JEM ****
16. SHUTTLEPOD ONE ****
17. FUSION ***
18. ROGUE PLANET **
19. ACQUISTION **
Audio Commentary with writers/executive story editors Mike Sussman and Phyllis Strong on Shadows of P'Jem -- NEW!
Audio Commentary with co-creator/executive producer Brannon Braga, director David Livingston and cast members Connor Trinneer (Trip Tucker) and Dominic Keating (Malcolm Reed) on Shuttlepod One -- NEW!
Deleted Scene from Shuttlepod One (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Inside Shuttlepod One (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 01 (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 03 (SD)

DISC FIVE:
20. OASIS ***
21. DETAINED ****
22. VOX SOLA **
23. FALLEN HERO ****
24. DESERT CROSSING **
Deleted Scenes from Oasis (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Fallen Hero (SD)
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on Vox Sola
Archival Mission Log: Enterprise Outtakes (SD)
Enterprise: ON THE SET -- NEW (SD)

DISC SIX:
25. TWO DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS *
26. SHOCKWAVE ****
Deleted Scene from Two Days and Two Nights (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Shockwave, Part 1 (SD)
Documentary: TO BOLDLY GO: Launching Enterprise -- NEW! (HD)
Part 1: Countdown
Part 2: Boarding the NX-01
Part 3: First Flight
Archival Mission Log: Celebrating Star Trek (SD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


209 of 250 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine start to a great show, February 18, 2005
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Star Trek Enterprise known in the first season simply as "Enterprise" goes back to the roots of the Federation when mankind begins to explore deep space. The first season contains some fine episodes

Broken Bow

The crew of the Enterprise start their maiden voyage early to take a wounded Klingon back to his homeworld.

Fight or Flight

The crew encounter an alien ship with a bunch of dead bodies aboard. An alien ship later arrives and accuses the Enterprise crew of killing them.

Strange New World

Some of the crew land on an uninhabited planet. When they begin to see strange things, they feel that they are being watched.

Unexpected

When the crew visit an alien ship, Trip's encounter with a female on board results in him becoming pregnant.

Terra Nova

The Enterprise crew visit an outpost colonized by humans only to discover that they reverted to a primitive state.

The Andorian Incident

The crew visit a Vulcan monastery and the Andorians later enter and accuse the Vulcans of spying on them.

Breaking the Ice

The Enterprise encounters a comet and Archer sends a team down to explore, when they become trapped, a passing Vulcan ship offers to help.

Civilization

The Enterprise meets a primitive alien race that is suffering from a disease and the crew offer to help.

Fortunate Son

The crew of an Earth cargo ship are being mauraded by alien pirates and the Enterprise crew attempts to stop the people from starting a fight

Cold Front

When group of Suliban sneak on board, an Enterprise crewmember reveals that he was sent from 900 years in the future to stop them.

Silent Enemy

While an unknown alien ship is targeting the Enterprise and leaving, some crew struggle to find an appropriate item for Malcolm Reed's birthday.

Dear Doctor

When Doctor Phlox asked by a dying pre-industrial alien race to help them, he faces a dilemma about whether helping them would be playing God.

Sleeping Dogs

The crew encounter a gas giant planet with an abandoned Klingon ship in low orbit and a few become trapped on board when investigating

Shadows of P'Jem

T'Pol is recalled by her superiors but is abducted during her last mission with the Enterprise crew. When she is rescued, it is decided that she can stay with Enterprise a little longer

Shuttlepod One

When Tucker and Reed are on a shuttle mission and see pieces of the Enterprise hull, they are convinced their ship was destroyed.

Fusion

A renegade group of Vulcans visit the Enterprise and introduce T'Pol to mind melding

Rogue Planet

The crew visit a rogue planet and discover an alien ship on board with crew hunting an intelligent indigenous life form

Acquisition

A group of Ferengi pirates commandeer the Enterprise and start to plunder it.

Oasis

The crew are told about a nearby alien shipwreck with supplies they need but warned that it is haunted. (Rene Auberjonois who Odo on DS9 guest stars in this episode)

Detained

Mayweather and Archer are captured by a group of aliens and taken to an internment camp for the Suliban.

Vox Sola

A non-humanoid alien comes aboard the Enterprise and starts attacking crewmembers. Hoshi attempts to learn the alien's language so she can communicate with it.

Fallen Hero

The Enterprise crew are assigned to transport the Vulcan ambassador to be questioned about alleged misdeeds.

Desert Crossing

Archer and Trip is invited to an alien world by a man who unbeknownst to them, is a terrorist.

(Guest stars crew from the real USS Enterprise which had just gotten back from Afghanistan prior to filming)

Two Days and Two Nights

The Enterprise crew take shore leave on Risa

Shockwave part I

The Enterprise is recalled after apparently causing the destruction of an alien colony, on their way back they are attacked by the Suliban and Crewman Daniels returns telling archer that the timeline was altered.

This overall is a great season and it is such a shame that ther series was cancelled so early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better all along, April 12, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish people would stop to think about the "greatest" Star Trek show ever... especially about how it took 3 season's before The Next Generation really got good. Enterprise was pretty good all along and the fourth (and sadly last) season is by far one of the best season's of Star Trek ever created. I only hope we fans won't have to wait too long for Star Trek's comeback from UPN/Paramount's mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The "Star Trek" Prequel That Failed to Attract Enough Fans, April 17, 2005
Following the success of four live-action TV series and ten feature-length films, producers Rick Berman and Brannon Braga attempted to create a fifth live-action "Star Trek" series that would be set approximately 100 years prior to the time of Captain Kirk (during the original "Star Trek" series, which ran between 1966 and 1969) and 100 years after the fictional character Dr. Zefram Cochrane flew the first warp-capable spaceship, as depicted in the 1996 film "Star Trek VIII: First Contact".

The new series, entitled "Star Trek Enterprise" debuted in the fall of 2001, only months after the previous "Star Trek" series, "Star Trek Voyager" concluded its seven-year run. The show's series premiere, entitled "Broken Bow", began with the appearance of a Klingon on Earth following a mishap long before the formation of the United Federation of Planets. To return the Klingon back to his home world, Capt. Jonathan Archer (played by Scott Bakula, formerly the lead actor of the sci-fi TV show "Quantum Leap", that ran between 1989-1993), gets permission from Starfleet to take the experimental starship named Enterprise, with serial number NX-01, to Kronos, in spite of the misgivings from Vulcans, who don't believe that mankind is sufficiently prepared to begin exploring other worlds and encounter more alien species. The NX-01 is the first man-made starship capable of traveling at a speed of warp 5. Capt. Archer then assembles the rest of his crew for the new Enterprise, including the non-human Dr. Phlox (John Billingsley), the Vulcan Subcommander T'Pol (Jolene Blalok), Lieutenant Malcolm Reed (Dominic Keating), Ensign Travis Mayweather (Anthony Montgomery), Ensign Hoshi Sato (Linda Park) and Commander Charles 'Trip' Tucker III (Connor Trinneer). With over 12,000,000 viewers watching the premiere episode, it initially appeared that UPN, which broadcasted the show, would have another successful "Star Trek" series, just as it had with "Star Trek Voyager". Unfortunately, subsequently shows had much smaller audiences that only continued to shrink with each season. The average number of viewers per episode for the first season was about 6.7 million; for the second season, this number dropped to 4.4 million and for the third season, the number dropped further to 3.8 million. It was during the fourth season that UPN decided to cancel the series, even though there were still another three seasons to be produced because the fourth season ratings dropped even further to 3.1 million viewers per episode.

The question, then, is why did "Star Trek Enterprise" fail to capture the attention of the estimated 30,000,000 "Star Trek" fans living in the U.S.A.? Personally, I believe several factors are responsible. First, the only truly interesting characters were Dr. Phlox and T'Pol. The characters of Reed and Trip were often annoying. However, the most annoying character during the first season was Capt. Archer himself, who repeatedly acted like an arrogant uninvited guest towards every alien species and outpost encountered. Second, the inclusion of the previously unknown species called the Suliban and the notion of a "temporal cold war" from the far distant future ran tangent to the notion that "Enterprise" was supposed to be a prequel leading up to the time of Capt. Kirk. Third, the technology and overall look of the NX-01 often appeared more advanced than what was used in the original 1966-1969 "Star Trek" series, which is supposed to be 100 years more advanced than "Enterprise". Fourth, insufficient attention was given to portraying the various extraterrestrial races responsible for for forming the United Federation of Planets: the Vulcans, the Andorians, the Tellarites, and the Alpha Centauris; as well as to other races known during Capt. Kirk's time. Though the Vulcans were a frequent race depicted in the first season of "Enterprise", the only other future founding race of the United Federation of Planets were the Andorians, which appeared in only two first-season episodes: "The Andorian Incident" and "Shadows of P'Jem". The blame for these various factors that directly contributed to the premature cancellation of "Star Trek Enterprise" rests solely with producers Rick Berman and Brannon Braga. Unfortunately, the addition of producer Manny Coto who did an amazing job of reconnected the fourth season of "Star Trek Enterprise" to the rest of the "Star Trek" TV series came too late to save the show.

Of the 26 episodes the comprise the first season of "Star Trek Enterprise", the most memorable were "Broken Arrow", "Fight or Flight", "Strange New World", "Unexpected", "Terra Nova", "The Andorian Incident", "Breaking the Ice", "Civilization", "Fortunate Son", "Silent Enemy", "Dear Doctor" (one of the best first-season episodes), "Sleeping Dogs", "Shadows of P'Jem", "Oasis", "Two Days and Two Nights" and season finale "Shockwave, Part 1". One disappointing episode was "Fusion", which appeared to contradict descriptions from other "Star Trek" TV series that Vulcans had always practiced mind melds; as was the episode "Acquisition", which included the Ferengi: a species that had only been introduced in "Star Trek: The Next Generation", 200 years later.

Overall, I rate the first season of "Star Trek Enterprise" with 4 out of 5 stars. It was an interesting experiment that had it been given more time, probably would have blossomed into a far better series thanks to the efforts of Manny Coto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Naturally Expected Prequel, July 6, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good space Sci-Fi is hard to come by. And Star-Trek (TOS) created a lot of fanatics that were spoiled by great Star-Trek concepts for years. I speak for myself when I say that Enterprise was one of my favorites! Whether from great story lines, Computer graphics, or acting that was actually believable so you were locked into the story and couldn't wait for next week. The crew of the Enterprise was an outstanding cast that had personalities you loved. And we finally got a good Vulcan again. Jolene Blalock did a superb job and Scott Bakula was an obvious choice for an early pre-federation Captain.

This series of Star-Trek makes you want to get going on space travel and since Kirk and Spock, We forgot about steps to get to where they were. The first time the transporter was used in an emergency situation made you proud. And the early dangers of space travel and new species that we took for granted were great writing.

I was very sadden that Enterprise never got to go as long as The Next Generation, Deep Space 9, or Voyager, but it was some of the best Star-Trek concepts ever... I will watch these disks over and over so this was a great investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this series., April 8, 2005
By 
Mark Lahren (Bismarck, North Dakota USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this series had a nice, comfortable, retro kind of feel that felt like watching an 'enhanced' version of the original series. I don't think it was pretending to be anything more. Take it on its own merits, enjoy it simply for what it is, and I think it stands up just fine all on its own.

Take my opinion for what it's worth folks. I'm not a 'die-hard' Trek fan. My Trek experiences are severely limited, mostly exposed to the original series and early Next Generation stuff. I'm no expert here. All I'm saying is that with my limited knowledge of the Trek universe, I personally was not disappointed in the least, and will now pre-order this set. And as an admitted Trek-novice, I do recommend reading some other reviews by people who are more knowledgable of the subject before you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, September 28, 2011
I watched TNG, DS9, and VOY when they were on television but I never watch Enterprise. Once I saw Star Trek was added to Prime I decided to try it out so I could see the shows again. I just finished watching the entire series of Enterprise. I really enjoyed watching it, it brought back memories of the other ST series. I thought this series was a little different than the rest though. This series seems to have more suspense in the episodes and less of the Federation ideals-- since this supposedly takes place before the Federation is formed and before the other series then it portrays it well. The last season of the series I thought was lacking and didn't end how I would've hoped but I still thought it was worth watching and overall liked it. I just wish it wasn't cut short and there had been more seasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it another chance, April 3, 2005
By 
Sunshine Hillbilly "cpa4601" (Fort Myers, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Enterprise admittedly got off to a slow start and, yes it spent far too long in the "expanse". The cast and acting on the show were always excellent. By the 4th, and unfortunately last, year the writing finally caught up. Then, in an obvious move to kill the show, UPN moved it to the 8:00 Friday time slot against Star Gate. Even though the show struggled to find itself, it was still very, very good. Given the chance to continue, future years could have been excellent. I will definely purchase the Season 1 DVDs and pray that they will issue the other 3 years. Try it you'll like it.

Oh!, note to Sci-Fi channel, why don't you pick it up for a 5th season? It would be a heck of a lot better than that horrible Battlestar Galactia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better, but not great., March 27, 2013
By 
D. Loiacano "Play Me a Song" (Kalamazoo, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Enterprise - Season One [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Over the next few weeks there is likely to be a lot of online chatter about how this blu-ray release is a disappointment. Having spent several hours already viewing season 1 of Enterprise on blu-ray, I'm not here to disagree. It is a disappointment, but only to a certain degree. When TOS and Next Generation were debuted on blu-ray, everyone was stunned by the improvement in audio and especially the video quality. That excitement will not likely greet this release, but Enterprise on blu-ray is still a great thing, and I wanted to give what I hope is a balanced view of the good and the not-so-good.

I'll start with the not-so-good: The video quality on season one is a major disappointment. Ironically, the newest star trek television series is the least compelling in its blu-ray release. The clarity is not spectacular, the color is rather dull, the dark scenes look particularly muddy. And that's just the live action footage. The CG work was not re-rendered in 1080p, but upscaled from its original 720. The cheaper approach definitely shows. There is noticeable artifacting that occurs when you do this, especially when objects like space ships are in motion. It's not awful, but it's disappointing.

There are a few comforting realities. The series pilot (Broken Bow) is noticeably worse than the others; it does not represent the overall quality of season one. Don't watch it and assume all of season one will be as bad. According to a review on Digital Bits, there is a likely explanation. When the pilot was being shot, it wasn't yet decided if the series would be broadcast in 4:3 or widescreen. The decision was then made to broadcast in widescreen, and apparently the pilot had to be reframed for this, which would reduce the resolution. Having had the chance to compare the video quality with other episodes in season one, this is exactly what it looks like happened. I can't confirm this, but it would explain why the pilot looks especially bad. The second episode was noticeably improved. I then decided to jump ahead to the season cliff hanger, and it looks better yet. For whatever reason, the look of the series seemed to improve over the course of the first season, at least in its first blu-ray release.

As an experiment, I pulled out my dvd edition of season 3 and popped in the first episode. I was immediately jolted by how horrible it looks! I had forgotten what an upgrade hi-def, even not stellar hi-def, provides. And I have a reference quality blu-ray player with good internal upscaling. So yes, even though this blu-ray could have been better, it's still quite an upgrade from dvd!!

More of the good stuff: There is a significant improvement in sound quality with the lossless 5.1 audio. CBS did not choose to give the audio the 7.1 treatment, but it's still very satisfying, with better low-end and clearer dialogue. The menus are nicely done and the series theme song (which many people hate!) has never sounded better!

And the best of the best is the ton of extras included. Among those is an hour-long dialogue between Rick Berman and Brannon Braga about the series inception, high points and problems. It's the most frank discussion they've ever given on the topic. These two men were vilified by many star trek fans when Enterprise was floundering. In my opinion, much of the criticism was undeserved, to the point of being hysterical and bizarre at times. The interview is a good window into these two men, and the struggles of bringing Enterprise to the small screen when interest in Star Trek across the board was waning.

All of the previous special features from the dvd release of Enterprise are carried over, as well as several other new documentaries that are presented in HD.

All in all, I would recommend this blu-ray release to most Star Trek fans. If you want to buy it only to be dazzled by the new HD presentation, you will be disappointed. However, don't view the pilot episode and assume the rest will look as bad. The other episodes are better. If you are interested in the history behind this series, and a perspective on how it fits into the Star Trek universe, you will have hours of special features to give you such insights.

CBS obviously decided that this series did not have a large enough audience to justify the financial investment that would have been involved in making it look spectacular. My guess is that season two, and especially 3 and 4 will look at least a little better than season one. Hopefully CBS will continue to offer fascinating new special features to accompany these coming seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First season better than the rest of Trek's first, March 18, 2005
By 
Jeffrey D. Messer (Asheville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lot of people slam this show. However, it was a brilliant concept and a great pilot episode. Too bad the people behind it lacked talent for execution of good ideas. They should have hired a better writing staff (like that of season four) and let them take the series where no series had gone before.

And while most episodes in season one were very good, about one out of every 5 were pretty bad. Terra Nova with it's not so clever alien language morphed from English was a low point. But others were super episodes including the hailed Shuttlepod One, which was one of the best Trek episodes of all time.

Out of the 26 season one episodes, at least 15 to 20 were very good, and better than the first seasons of Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager, all of which took 2 to 3 seasons before the great episodes actually outweighed the bad ones in any given season.

TNG had season 3 before it found it's footing. DS9 had to let Avery Brooks Hawk-ify his role before things got good. And Voyage floundered aimlessly like Battlestar Galactica 1978-lite until 7of9 came on board. In most cases I started watching the previous series in their first season, then bailed out only to return years later when it was in syndication. Even now, I never watch reruns of seasons one two and three of any of those series when they air.

But Enterprise had me at hello. I watched it from beginning to end, and never missed an episode. Sure, season two lost some focus and had too mainly aimless episodes. And season three had it's single story arc which they couldn't keep interesting for a whole season and ended up havng filler episodes to avoid showing the holes in their storytelling ability. But season four got it all right. And just like the previous series, season four was to be the real start of better things to come. But it got cancelled.

People scratch their heads and wonder why it couldn't get the ratings to stay on. Yet no one recalls that all 3 previous series launched in syndication, not on UPN solely. In fact UPN launched on Voyager's back as a network, yet I watched Voyager on the local Fox network which played all Trek shows in syndication. SO ENTERPRISE was the first of the series to actually only have UPN as it's home. So less people were able to see it. Somehow people forget that.

And when we talk about Trek people who slam Enterprise heap praise on the original series, which I can happily say I can't really bear to watch a full episode of. For the time, it was revolutionary, but out of that time... well, it's aweful. No doubt about it. It stinks in a modern context. But then again, I was not born until 5 years after it got cancelled, so I had no original point of entry. The first original Trek cast thing I saw was ST 4 The Voyage Home. From there I became a fan of Trek.

But it is perspective. I like the New Battlestar Galactica quite a lot, but I love and adore the original which came on when I was 8. The original was a classic and will always be. Yet some of the fans of the new series who were born less than 2 decades ago, seem to have a hatred for the original, which offends me. I am sure my dislike of the original Trek offends some of those fans similarly. >But I digress.

Enterprise is great Trek. But like all Trek, is flawed by often weak writing and poor executive producer mindset. But everyone knew that going in. And if they say they didn't, they are having selective amnesia. Go back and watch Seasons one of TNG, DS9 or Voyager. Then watch season one of Enterprise. Tell me which of the four has more quality episodes. ENTERPISE. Pound for pound, more satisfying than the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Trek: Enterprise - Season One [Blu-ray]
Star Trek: Enterprise - Season One [Blu-ray] by Roxann Dawson (Blu-ray - 2013)
$119.99 $49.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.