Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Star Trek: Enterprise - Season One [Blu-ray]
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$53.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2009
It is the mid 22nd Century: over a hundred years before Kirk and Spock. The crew of Earth's latest breakthrough Warp 5 starship; led by Captain Jonathan Archer, are making their first steps into the galaxy. Firmly believing humankind has been held back for too long by Vulcan interference, Archer is eager to embark on Enterprise's mission of deep space exploration. Survival proves perilous the farther from home they travel. Outmatched by superior aliens equipped with far more powerful weaponary, this first crew face a steep learning curve. Among their challenges will come Klingon aggression, militaristic Andorians and the Suliban; a race receiving aid from the future.

Those whose discovered Star Trek through JJ Abrams' 2009 movie and are currently awaiting the 2013 sequel - Star Trek Into Darkness, will probably appreciate Enterprise's uncomplicated "stripped back" technology style the most. It pitches all the familiar trek-nology seen in the other Star Trek TV series and films at a less advanced stage, trying for something less routine and far-future fantastical. Much of the crew are too scared to use the transporter, a device mostly called upon to beam equipment and supplies around. Instead space suits are regularly seen, together with having to step through complicated airlocks and time spent in decompression and decontamination. Phase pistols are the defensive side arm of choice. Although with projected energy weapons having only recently replaced pulse, blaster-style ones, they're still as Starfleet experimental as the Enterprise NX-01 starship itself. Instead of invisible shields that encompass whole starships like a bubble, protection from alien attack comes down to polarising the hull plating. Instead of tractor beams, capturing another ship requires a grappler deployed from bomb bay doors on the underside, through which small shuttlepods are regularly launched. When you're at a disadvantage, you have nothing but your wits to rely on and this show was about as far from the 24th Century's technobabble saves the day approach as it was possible for Trek to realistically get.

One of the aspects that sets Enterprise apart from Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager, is the more down-to-earth characterisation of its crew and often a "first time" naivety when faced with a perilous universe. They're imperfect and largely unprepared for a galaxy full of alien lifeforms, extraordinary circumstances, stumbling and making misteps along the way - often with best of intentions. Captain Archer, interested me from the outset (being a fan of Scott Bakula from Quantum Leap) his Captain out there alone with no support, no rulebook or role models to learn from their mistakes. He's a man with a strong prejudice about the Vulcans. While that and some questionable decisions often bring him dangerously close to unlikeable, we get plenty of examples throughout the series that Star Trek's most famous pointy-eared race also still have someway to go, in order to evolve into the likeable kind typified by Spock and Tuvok. Better aspects to Archer's personality are brought out by Shran, a blue-skinned Andorian who appears semi-regularly throughout the 4 years and twice during Season One. Both are deeply skeptical of the Vulcans and yet altogether, they will ultimately end up forging an interstellar alliance known as the Federation.

Other notable crew members include Trip, a likable Southern Engineer who's long friendship with his Captain, somehow manages to survive his occasional bouts of insubordination. T'Pol, initially an observer from a Vulcan government concerned about the impact of humankind's deep exploration, serves as the Enterprise's Vulcan Science Officer and gradually grows more accustomed to an almost entirely human crew and their different perspective. Also helpful is the ship's eternally optimistic alien Doctor, Phlox. He's a Denobulan, who often treats the crew with some very unusual medicine including the leech-like, osmotic eel! In charge of defending the ship, is an explosives obsessed, British armoury officer named Malcolm Reed. Hoshi Sato deftly handles alien languages, in her role as the ship's Communications Officer. Finally space boomer Travis Mayweather is the navigator, one of few humans born in space to a family who run a cargo ship.

Like the Original Series in the 1960s, Enterprise came to a premature end when it was cancelled in 2005 after only 4 seasons. Unlike previous series The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine and Voyager, this show wasn't widely syndicated beyond the now defunct network TV station, UPN. A revealing brand-new 3 part retrospective documentary promises to delve deep into Enterprise's misfortunes. What it was like making Star Trek after a decade and a half uninterrupted run... and how the show wasn't entirely the prequel its producers wanted to make. How they had to deal with Network Executives for the first time, who hampered creative decisions with what they required a Star Trek series to include. Even given those flaws, I ultimately enjoyed much of this show while it lasted... particularly Season 4. I still believe there is unfulfilled potential left in Enterprise and it holds a unique place - as a prequel to both the old franchise and JJ Abrams' motion pictures. After many years without brand new Star Trek adventures beaming across our television screens (where it belongs)... there's perhaps no better time to reappraise this in High Definition. See both where it all began and ironically, how it all ended. Judge for yourself.

-------------

Episodes ratings: * poor, ** average, *** good, **** excellent, ***** classic

DISC ONE:
1 & 2. BROKEN BOW ***** Feature-Length Premiere
3. FIGHT OR FLIGHT ****
4. STRANGE NEW WORLD ***
Audio Commentary with co-creator/executive producer Brannon Braga, director James L. Conway, visual effects producer Dan Curry and cast members Connor Trinneer (Trip Tucker) and Dominic Keating (Malcolm Reed) on Broken Bow -- NEW!
Audio Commentary with Brannon Braga and Rick Berman on Broken Bow
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on Broken Bow
Deleted Scenes from Broken Bow (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Fight or Flight (SD)
In Conversation: Rick Berman and Brannon Braga--NEW! (HD)
Archival Mission Log: Creating Enterprise (SD)
Archival Mission Log: O Captain! My Captain! A Profile of Scott Bakula (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 02 (SD)
Cast Introduction -- NEW (SD)
Network Presentation -- NEW (SD)
Syndication Presentation -- NEW (SD)

DISC TWO:
5. UNEXPECTED **
6. TERRA NOVA ***
7. THE ANDORIAN INCIDENT *****
8. BREAKING THE ICE ****
9. CIVILIZATION ****
Deleted Scene from Unexpected (SD)
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on The Andorian Incident
Archival Mission Log: Cast Impressions: Season 1 (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Enterprise Secrets (SD)

DISC THREE:
10. FORTUNATE SON ****
11. COLD FRONT ***
12. SILENT ENEMY ****
13. DEAR DOCTOR ****
14. SLEEPING DOGS ***
Audio commentary with writer/story editor André Bormanis and visual effects producer Dan Curry on Silent Enemy -- NEW!
Deleted Scene from Sleeping Dogs (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Star Trek Time Travel: Temporal Cold Wars and Beyond (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Admiral Forrest Takes Center Stage (SD)

DISC FOUR:
15. SHADOWS OF P'JEM ****
16. SHUTTLEPOD ONE ****
17. FUSION ***
18. ROGUE PLANET **
19. ACQUISTION **
Audio Commentary with writers/executive story editors Mike Sussman and Phyllis Strong on Shadows of P'Jem -- NEW!
Audio Commentary with co-creator/executive producer Brannon Braga, director David Livingston and cast members Connor Trinneer (Trip Tucker) and Dominic Keating (Malcolm Reed) on Shuttlepod One -- NEW!
Deleted Scene from Shuttlepod One (SD)
Archival Mission Log: Inside Shuttlepod One (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 01 (SD)
Archival Mission Log: NX-01 File 03 (SD)

DISC FIVE:
20. OASIS ***
21. DETAINED ****
22. VOX SOLA **
23. FALLEN HERO ****
24. DESERT CROSSING **
Deleted Scenes from Oasis (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Fallen Hero (SD)
Text Commentary by Michael and Denise Okuda on Vox Sola
Archival Mission Log: Enterprise Outtakes (SD)
Enterprise: ON THE SET -- NEW (SD)

DISC SIX:
25. TWO DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS *
26. SHOCKWAVE ****
Deleted Scene from Two Days and Two Nights (SD)
Deleted Scenes from Shockwave, Part 1 (SD)
Documentary: TO BOLDLY GO: Launching Enterprise -- NEW! (HD)
Part 1: Countdown
Part 2: Boarding the NX-01
Part 3: First Flight
Archival Mission Log: Celebrating Star Trek (SD)
review image review image review image
1212 comments| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2006
Good space Sci-Fi is hard to come by. And Star-Trek (TOS) created a lot of fanatics that were spoiled by great Star-Trek concepts for years. I speak for myself when I say that Enterprise was one of my favorites! Whether from great story lines, Computer graphics, or acting that was actually believable so you were locked into the story and couldn't wait for next week. The crew of the Enterprise was an outstanding cast that had personalities you loved. And we finally got a good Vulcan again. Jolene Blalock did a superb job and Scott Bakula was an obvious choice for an early pre-federation Captain.

This series of Star-Trek makes you want to get going on space travel and since Kirk and Spock, We forgot about steps to get to where they were. The first time the transporter was used in an emergency situation made you proud. And the early dangers of space travel and new species that we took for granted were great writing.

I was very sadden that Enterprise never got to go as long as The Next Generation, Deep Space 9, or Voyager, but it was some of the best Star-Trek concepts ever... I will watch these disks over and over so this was a great investment
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2005
I wish people would stop to think about the "greatest" Star Trek show ever... especially about how it took 3 season's before The Next Generation really got good. Enterprise was pretty good all along and the fourth (and sadly last) season is by far one of the best season's of Star Trek ever created. I only hope we fans won't have to wait too long for Star Trek's comeback from UPN/Paramount's mistake.
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2005
Following the success of four live-action TV series and ten feature-length films, producers Rick Berman and Brannon Braga attempted to create a fifth live-action "Star Trek" series that would be set approximately 100 years prior to the time of Captain Kirk (during the original "Star Trek" series, which ran between 1966 and 1969) and 100 years after the fictional character Dr. Zefram Cochrane flew the first warp-capable spaceship, as depicted in the 1996 film "Star Trek VIII: First Contact".

The new series, entitled "Star Trek Enterprise" debuted in the fall of 2001, only months after the previous "Star Trek" series, "Star Trek Voyager" concluded its seven-year run. The show's series premiere, entitled "Broken Bow", began with the appearance of a Klingon on Earth following a mishap long before the formation of the United Federation of Planets. To return the Klingon back to his home world, Capt. Jonathan Archer (played by Scott Bakula, formerly the lead actor of the sci-fi TV show "Quantum Leap", that ran between 1989-1993), gets permission from Starfleet to take the experimental starship named Enterprise, with serial number NX-01, to Kronos, in spite of the misgivings from Vulcans, who don't believe that mankind is sufficiently prepared to begin exploring other worlds and encounter more alien species. The NX-01 is the first man-made starship capable of traveling at a speed of warp 5. Capt. Archer then assembles the rest of his crew for the new Enterprise, including the non-human Dr. Phlox (John Billingsley), the Vulcan Subcommander T'Pol (Jolene Blalok), Lieutenant Malcolm Reed (Dominic Keating), Ensign Travis Mayweather (Anthony Montgomery), Ensign Hoshi Sato (Linda Park) and Commander Charles 'Trip' Tucker III (Connor Trinneer). With over 12,000,000 viewers watching the premiere episode, it initially appeared that UPN, which broadcasted the show, would have another successful "Star Trek" series, just as it had with "Star Trek Voyager". Unfortunately, subsequently shows had much smaller audiences that only continued to shrink with each season. The average number of viewers per episode for the first season was about 6.7 million; for the second season, this number dropped to 4.4 million and for the third season, the number dropped further to 3.8 million. It was during the fourth season that UPN decided to cancel the series, even though there were still another three seasons to be produced because the fourth season ratings dropped even further to 3.1 million viewers per episode.

The question, then, is why did "Star Trek Enterprise" fail to capture the attention of the estimated 30,000,000 "Star Trek" fans living in the U.S.A.? Personally, I believe several factors are responsible. First, the only truly interesting characters were Dr. Phlox and T'Pol. The characters of Reed and Trip were often annoying. However, the most annoying character during the first season was Capt. Archer himself, who repeatedly acted like an arrogant uninvited guest towards every alien species and outpost encountered. Second, the inclusion of the previously unknown species called the Suliban and the notion of a "temporal cold war" from the far distant future ran tangent to the notion that "Enterprise" was supposed to be a prequel leading up to the time of Capt. Kirk. Third, the technology and overall look of the NX-01 often appeared more advanced than what was used in the original 1966-1969 "Star Trek" series, which is supposed to be 100 years more advanced than "Enterprise". Fourth, insufficient attention was given to portraying the various extraterrestrial races responsible for for forming the United Federation of Planets: the Vulcans, the Andorians, the Tellarites, and the Alpha Centauris; as well as to other races known during Capt. Kirk's time. Though the Vulcans were a frequent race depicted in the first season of "Enterprise", the only other future founding race of the United Federation of Planets were the Andorians, which appeared in only two first-season episodes: "The Andorian Incident" and "Shadows of P'Jem". The blame for these various factors that directly contributed to the premature cancellation of "Star Trek Enterprise" rests solely with producers Rick Berman and Brannon Braga. Unfortunately, the addition of producer Manny Coto who did an amazing job of reconnected the fourth season of "Star Trek Enterprise" to the rest of the "Star Trek" TV series came too late to save the show.

Of the 26 episodes the comprise the first season of "Star Trek Enterprise", the most memorable were "Broken Arrow", "Fight or Flight", "Strange New World", "Unexpected", "Terra Nova", "The Andorian Incident", "Breaking the Ice", "Civilization", "Fortunate Son", "Silent Enemy", "Dear Doctor" (one of the best first-season episodes), "Sleeping Dogs", "Shadows of P'Jem", "Oasis", "Two Days and Two Nights" and season finale "Shockwave, Part 1". One disappointing episode was "Fusion", which appeared to contradict descriptions from other "Star Trek" TV series that Vulcans had always practiced mind melds; as was the episode "Acquisition", which included the Ferengi: a species that had only been introduced in "Star Trek: The Next Generation", 200 years later.

Overall, I rate the first season of "Star Trek Enterprise" with 4 out of 5 stars. It was an interesting experiment that had it been given more time, probably would have blossomed into a far better series thanks to the efforts of Manny Coto.
22 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I am bringing this review over from the DVDs. It still holds true!

This is a long time coming, and I know there is already a ton of reviews for this series. I just have to give my take on this series just too kind of cleanse my soul after watching it for the second time.

Broken Bow was the start of the series, and it had a lot of promise and it gave me so much hope for the show. Who wouldn't want to see the missions before the Original Trek Crew of Kirk and Spock? In this episode we see the Klingons for the first time in the Trek universe and to any fan of Star Trek you immediately notice something that most casual fans might not. So it starts to make you think about the possibilities of what could have happened. It was a great time to be a Trek fan.

Season One started out strong and for the most part was a great first step in building the Trek universe, That said Season two was dragged down by time travel, too much was used to try and explain things. It was unnecessary and a cheap way to explain things. In my opinion it brought the show down and ruined what could have been an outstanding show. The second season turns Enterprise into an acceptable TV drama that was to busy trying to confuse everyone.

Season two brought more time travel into the mix with trying to expand the "Temporal Cold War". Season one had the "Temporal Cold War" and if you didn't get it by the end of season one, season two and three throw it in your face every time they can. It really cheapens the Trek universe and it reveals too much to Captain Archer. Even with all the future information given to him you wonder why he makes some of the decisions he makes knowing full well what would happen if he just did it another way. With the information given to Captain Archer about the Federation being formed you feel as if it deprives you and him of the experience of creating it. There was no need for time travel in this show. Season two was were a lot of the fans left the show on to better things.

If Season two was not enough to make you turn it off, Season three was another good reason to do so. As with season two and one the "Temporal Cold War" plays a big role with the Xindi learning of how Earth is going to destroy their home world from another faction of the Cold War feeding the Xindi lies. This in an attempt to destroy humans so the other species manipulating the Xindi could eventually take over the known universe. So you guessed it, more time travel and more nonsense. The Season starts off with the Xindi sending a massive weapon of mass destruction to Earth which ends up killing 7 million people. So humans and Enterprise has to go to "The Expanse" to find the Xindi and stop them from completing an even bigger weapon that would destroy Earth in one blow. This Season also tries to strengthen a romance that you feel was developing slightly in the First and Second seasons. The season ends with Enterprise being thrown back into time. Once again you're left wondering if they will just let the "Cold War" die and get back to being Star Trek!!

If you managed to stick with the show you're finally made it to the best part of what unfortunately became the last season of this show. It started out weak with the whole time travel thing, but they finally stopped the nonsense with time travel and focused on what was important. It got the series back on track, and featured more of the aliens we have come to know. The first part started off with the Augments and even has a reference to the "Botany Bay" and "KHAN"! The show also started to explain the Klingon disease that changed their appearance to what we saw in the Original Show with Kirk. This Fourth season was what we craved the show to be from the start and it was delivering on so many levels only to destroy you in the finial episode.

The last episode is what makes people cringe with fear when they watch this show. They know what's coming. I for one hated the last episode as it basically makes you feel the whole experience was a joke from the start. Was it real or all fake? The little joke they had going though the whole series about a chief which you never see until now makes you wonder was it all worth it. The last episode cheapens what the whole cast had worked for and basically turned it into a half baked Star Trek "The Next Generation" episode.

A few things could have been changed and this episode would have been great! Change one would be get rid of the TNG cast and all references to TNG. Let it be about Enterprise and not William Riker! Don't kill off an awesome character that everyone agrees is one of the best in the show for no reason. This was done just to make fans talk, and it was senseless, there was no point in the killing and it seemed so forced like it was a joke to the writers. Lastly show the speech we all wanted to see. Why was this never shown? It was start of the federation, the speech that made it comes into being and nothing was shown. If you took out all the worthless TNG crap they would have had plenty of time to show the speech. Besides that it was an ok episode and I understood what they were trying to do, but it failed miserably. ( I really believe if you just take out the one death, everyone would be happy with this episode, it would not make it so hated like it is. Still a bad episode but that one death thows it over the top of being bad).

Besides the last episode and the clunky 2nd and 3rd season, this is a great show. The fourth season really does hit a home run, and it's too bad they canceled it. I hope they could do something in the future with Star Trek. It's like something has been missing for so long from TV and it needs to come back in the "Original Time Line". Maybe the first episode should try and fix the damage done to Enterprise with another holodeck recreation of the 'Real Events". Having said how badly this show ends, I would still recommend this show to Trek Fans. It's a great show and it was enjoyable to watch twice though.

Update:

I got the Blu-Ray and I am not blown away by the picture, but I am very happy. I never really owned the real DVD set so(I bought my DVD's in Afghanistan, so what I really have is a Ripped version of the show. :-), I thought it was about time I buy the show in a proper format.

First, I would like everyone to understand the reason why the first season of "Enterprise" is not up to picture quality like "The Original Star Trek" or "The Next Generation". This is not a remaster of "Enterprise". This is simply a transfer of the original film to blu-ray disk. I am not the only one to realize this, Blu-Ray.com does not really talk about this, but another review does. Read the Digitalbits review it's very spot on!!

The picture is an upgrade over the DVD's, but its not a huge upgrade. If you are like me and have not bought the DVDs yet, than this is the set you want. You will not be disappointed in the quality. The first episode was the worse picture out the whole season, but it did get better along the way. I believe this is due to the fact that the show was filmed when HD was still very young. On the plus side it's the first Star Trek filmed in Widescreen.

The sound is not great, but it is 5.1 and it's an upgrade over the DVD's. The best thing about "Enterprise" on blu-ray is the special features. Words can not express the amount of extra's you get on this Blu-Ray. The extras alone prove how much love CBS put into this Blu-Ray set. If you think CBS is taking your money for a substandard blu-ray than the Special Features prove you wrong. All of the DVD extras and even the Best Buy Extras are presented here, plus a few new ones that will blow you away on the amount of information given on why the show was not what it could have been.

Overall the score for this release is a solid 8 out of 10 for me. The picture could have been remastered, but I understand the reason why it was not. The picture was state of the art back in 2001 but today it does not hold up. The sound is good but could have been great. Despite the little problems "Enterprise" on blu-ray comes warping out of space dock onto your TV in a great package and is a overall great value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
I watched TNG, DS9, and VOY when they were on television but I never watch Enterprise. Once I saw Star Trek was added to Prime I decided to try it out so I could see the shows again. I just finished watching the entire series of Enterprise. I really enjoyed watching it, it brought back memories of the other ST series. I thought this series was a little different than the rest though. This series seems to have more suspense in the episodes and less of the Federation ideals-- since this supposedly takes place before the Federation is formed and before the other series then it portrays it well. The last season of the series I thought was lacking and didn't end how I would've hoped but I still thought it was worth watching and overall liked it. I just wish it wasn't cut short and there had been more seasons!
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2005
I thought this series had a nice, comfortable, retro kind of feel that felt like watching an 'enhanced' version of the original series. I don't think it was pretending to be anything more. Take it on its own merits, enjoy it simply for what it is, and I think it stands up just fine all on its own.

Take my opinion for what it's worth folks. I'm not a 'die-hard' Trek fan. My Trek experiences are severely limited, mostly exposed to the original series and early Next Generation stuff. I'm no expert here. All I'm saying is that with my limited knowledge of the Trek universe, I personally was not disappointed in the least, and will now pre-order this set. And as an admitted Trek-novice, I do recommend reading some other reviews by people who are more knowledgable of the subject before you decide.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
Over the next few weeks there is likely to be a lot of online chatter about how this blu-ray release is a disappointment. Having spent several hours already viewing season 1 of Enterprise on blu-ray, I'm not here to disagree. It is a disappointment, but only to a certain degree. When TOS and Next Generation were debuted on blu-ray, everyone was stunned by the improvement in audio and especially the video quality. That excitement will not likely greet this release, but Enterprise on blu-ray is still a great thing, and I wanted to give what I hope is a balanced view of the good and the not-so-good.

I'll start with the not-so-good: The video quality on season one is a major disappointment. Ironically, the newest star trek television series is the least compelling in its blu-ray release. The clarity is not spectacular, the color is rather dull, the dark scenes look particularly muddy. And that's just the live action footage. The CG work was not re-rendered in 1080p, but upscaled from its original 720. The cheaper approach definitely shows. There is noticeable artifacting that occurs when you do this, especially when objects like space ships are in motion. It's not awful, but it's disappointing.

There are a few comforting realities. The series pilot (Broken Bow) is noticeably worse than the others; it does not represent the overall quality of season one. Don't watch it and assume all of season one will be as bad. According to a review on Digital Bits, there is a likely explanation. When the pilot was being shot, it wasn't yet decided if the series would be broadcast in 4:3 or widescreen. The decision was then made to broadcast in widescreen, and apparently the pilot had to be reframed for this, which would reduce the resolution. Having had the chance to compare the video quality with other episodes in season one, this is exactly what it looks like happened. I can't confirm this, but it would explain why the pilot looks especially bad. The second episode was noticeably improved. I then decided to jump ahead to the season cliff hanger, and it looks better yet. For whatever reason, the look of the series seemed to improve over the course of the first season, at least in its first blu-ray release.

As an experiment, I pulled out my dvd edition of season 3 and popped in the first episode. I was immediately jolted by how horrible it looks! I had forgotten what an upgrade hi-def, even not stellar hi-def, provides. And I have a reference quality blu-ray player with good internal upscaling. So yes, even though this blu-ray could have been better, it's still quite an upgrade from dvd!!

More of the good stuff: There is a significant improvement in sound quality with the lossless 5.1 audio. CBS did not choose to give the audio the 7.1 treatment, but it's still very satisfying, with better low-end and clearer dialogue. The menus are nicely done and the series theme song (which many people hate!) has never sounded better!

And the best of the best is the ton of extras included. Among those is an hour-long dialogue between Rick Berman and Brannon Braga about the series inception, high points and problems. It's the most frank discussion they've ever given on the topic. These two men were vilified by many star trek fans when Enterprise was floundering. In my opinion, much of the criticism was undeserved, to the point of being hysterical and bizarre at times. The interview is a good window into these two men, and the struggles of bringing Enterprise to the small screen when interest in Star Trek across the board was waning.

All of the previous special features from the dvd release of Enterprise are carried over, as well as several other new documentaries that are presented in HD.

All in all, I would recommend this blu-ray release to most Star Trek fans. If you want to buy it only to be dazzled by the new HD presentation, you will be disappointed. However, don't view the pilot episode and assume the rest will look as bad. The other episodes are better. If you are interested in the history behind this series, and a perspective on how it fits into the Star Trek universe, you will have hours of special features to give you such insights.

CBS obviously decided that this series did not have a large enough audience to justify the financial investment that would have been involved in making it look spectacular. My guess is that season two, and especially 3 and 4 will look at least a little better than season one. Hopefully CBS will continue to offer fascinating new special features to accompany these coming seasons.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
For all the Enterprise haters in the ST world, remember that the original series was technically a flop and pretty much panned by everyone when it was first aired.

The first time I watched Enterprise (a couple of years after it had originally aired) I went in with very low expectations.

I was very surprised how well done the show was overall, from the cast to production values, etc.

Of course there were the odds and ends that I personally didn't care for but overall I found Enterprise to be the best Trek series overall.

Extra kudos to Amazon for offering it through Prime for free streaming. I just purchased the Blu-Ray for Season 1 and to be honest I don't think the quality is that much better than the Amazon HD stream.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 23, 2005
I'm so sad that this show is leaving us after such a short life. But fear not fans because they will live long in beautiful long lasting DVD. I liked this show from the beginning and thought it was well done, Scott Bakula was a great captain and the rest of the crew was well cast. The early episodes were actually pretty good for a new show and I was quickly impressed. The effects were great and the set design was top notch. I have had this item on pre-order for quite a while now and am eagerly awaiting it's arrival. I've been a fan of Star Trek since I was a little girl watching re-runs on our 13 channel TV and have watched every movie/spin off series that has come around, some were better than others but all were satisfying and carried their own. Maybe there will be a movie in the future, hey one can hope right?
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse