Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$21.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 17, 2002
This is the fourth season release of Star Trek The Next Generation on DVD. During the fourth season the Borg are defeated, Wesley leaves the show, Worf resigns from Starfleet, we see a Romulan officer that resembles Tasha Yar and the Cardassians & Trills are introduced.
All 26 episodes are contained on 7 disks.
1) The Best of Both Worlds (Part 2) - Riker is promoted to Captain, who then leads a fleet of starships to Wolf 359 to confront the Borg, but the fleet's efforts are in vain and almost every starship is annihilated.
2) Family - The Enterprise is undergoing extensive repairs while the crew recovers from the Borg invasion attempt. Picard returns home to see his brother.
3) Brothers - Data is "called" home to be given "an emotion chip" but his brother Lore arrives and put things in jeopardy.
4) Suddenly Human - Finding a Talarian training vessel in deep space, the crew discovers that one of the crew is actually a human teenager. Crusher's examinations reveal that his injuries may have been intentional.
5) Remember Me - Dr. Crusher finds herself inside a warp bubble, and the crew on the real Enterprise must enlist the help of a mysterious alien known as the Traveler to pull Dr. Crusher back into reality before her warp bubble shrinks to nothing.
6) Legacy - On Turkana III, the Enterprise is looking for an escape pod containing two men who left a damaged vessel. The Enterprise's liaison is the younger sister of the late Tasha Yar, and no one knows whether or not to trust her.
7) Reunion - The Enterprise is intercepted in deep space by a Klingon battle cruiser occupied by K'mpec, leader of the High Council of the Klingon Empire. Picard is the neutral arbiter to oversee the handover of the dying K'mpec's powerful to one of two contenders.
8) Future Imperfect - While investigating suspicious energy readings on Alpha Onias III, the Enterprise "loses" Riker. He awakens in the sick bay of the Enterprise, told by an older Dr. Crusher that 16 years have passed since that event, and that a virus he contracted on the mission to Alpha Onias III recently became active, causing him to lose all memory back to that event.
9) Final Mission - Picard reveals that Wesley has been accepted into Starfleet Academy. Wes's final assignment on the Enterprise is to accompany Picard on a trip.
10) The Loss - Shortly after counseling crewmember Janet Brooks over the loss of her husband, Troi begins to experience severe pain, and at the same time, the Enterprise is suddenly unable to go to warp speed.
11) Data's Day - Data records his observations of an average day in the Enterprise to be relayed to Dr. Bruce Maddox, a Federation cyberneticist who once wanted to disassemble Data to learn about how he worked.
12) The Wounded - Captain Maxwell of the Phoenix has severed contact with Starfleet and he has been raiding the vessels of Cardassians, a race once at war with the Federation but now peaceful under a treaty.
13) Devil's Due - The Enterprise arrives at Ventax III to retrieve a Federation anthropological team, only to discover that the planet is in a state of chaos and the team has been taken hostage by the Ventaxians.
14) Clues - The Enterprise goes through a wormhole that appears without warning and renders everyone but Data unconscious. As the rest of the crew investigates what happened, they begin to discover that someone's keeping secrets from everyone i.e., Data.
15) First Contact - Riker, having undergone surgery to look like a Malcorian beams down to Malcor III to coordinate other surgically disguised observers, is injured in a riot and taken to a hospital, where Malcorian doctors figure he is not one of them.
16) Galaxy's Child - Geordi is delighted to welcome Dr. Leah Brahms aboard the Enterprise, having already gotten to know through the holodeck in the past. But the real Dr. Brahms is nothing like her holodeck alter ego.
17) Night Terrors - The missing starship Brittain is found by the Enterprise and the away team finds that the entire crew of the Brittain went berserk and murdered each other, leaving a Betazoid who can't speak and whose telepathic "ramblings" to Troi are puzzling.
18) Identity Crisis - Starfleet officers who were on an away team five years ago investigating a mysterious migration of previous explorers to the planet Tarchannen III are beginning to mutate into aliens and migrate to the planet themselves.
19) The nth Degree - Lt. Barclay accompanies Geordi on an away mission and after being scanned, Barclay receives a massive mental "upgrade."
20) Qpid - Q turns Picard and his away team into Robin Hood, and his merry men, Q becomes Guy of Gisbourne, and Vash, is the damsel in distress.
21) The Drumhead - After an apparent sabotage of the Enterprise's warp drive committed by Klingon exchange officer, Starfleet sends Admiral Nora Satie out of retirement to investigate the possibility of a Klingon faction cooperating with the Romulans.
22) Half A Life - Kalon scientist Dr. Timicin is due back on Kalon II so he may carry out a ceremony in which one ends one's life by painless suicide at sixty. Lwaxana tries to convince him to continue living.
23) The Host - Riker risks his own life to serve as a temporary host for a Trill to aid in stopping a war between two moons.
24) The Mind's Eye - En route to an artificial intelligence conference on Risa, Geordi, is kidnapped by Romulans, who send a "copy" to Risa. Under the supervision of a female Romulan who remains in shadows at all times, Geordi is tortured and brainwashed to obey, through his VISOR
25) In Theory - During the Enterprise's investigation of a dark-matter nebula, Lt. Jenna D'Sora, recently having broken up with a longtime boyfriend, becomes attached to Data.
26) Redemption (Part 1) - The Enterprise is summoned to the Klingon home world so Picard may fulfill his final duty as arbiter of the succession of power there. Worf resigns from Starfleet. A Romulan officer shows up from the who bears a very strong resemblance to Tasha Yar.
88 comments|247 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2002
After the splendid third season, which kept most people wanting more after the season finale, the fourth season rolled along smoothly with high expectations from viewers. The basis of "character-development over action" was greatly improved upon and put to more use here, even though there are some great action episodes.
The fourth season got to a tremendous start with many action-packed and essential episodes:
1) "THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS, PART II. Like the first part, that episode has great music, action, acting, plot, and suspense. Although the first part os just a tad bit better, the second part has all you expect from a borg episode: Spaceship fights, good special effects, stuff exploding, phaser fights, etc.
2) "REUNION." (The second episode out of four in the Worf saga) After Sins of the Father, what I consider to be the first part in the rough quadrilogy involving Worf, came "REUNION," which is even better than the first part. Worf's girlfriend comes back (along with his unexpected son) and so do many characters from the "SINS OF THE FATHER" as Worf must confront old enemies and try to gain back his honor. Directed by Jonathan Frakes, this episode has great special effects, good acting, and a great fight at the end. Bring on the third part!
3) "REMEMBER ME." A great episode which emphasizes on Dr. Crusher. Although this episode is not really known for its action, it does have cool concepts and great suspense.
After those ground-breaking episdoes, there were more character-based and humorous episodes.
1) "DATA'S DAY." I can't say enough about how great this episode is. All of the characters have funny lines, Chief O'Brien gets married, and of course anything with DATA in the title has to be good.
2) "BROTHERS." Yet another Data episode, this brought back Lore and his creator, Noonien Singh. The chemistry between the characters is great in thie episode. Brent Spiner plays THREE roles, all on screen at the same time.
3) "Q-PID." Any episode with Q in the title has be good, and this one is great. The Trek crew goes on a Robin Hood adventure. Worf has some great lines in the episode.
4) "THE MIND'S EYE." A Trek remake of The Manchurian Candidate, this episode emphasizes on La Forge and shows he CAN say some great lines of dialogue besides techno-babble.
5) "FAMILY." Here we meet Worf's adoptive parents and Picard's brother. Some great scenes in this episode, especially the mud fight between Picard andhis brother.
6) "THE NTH DEGREE." This episdoe features Lt. Barclay in antoerh humorous episode, though it's a bit more complicated that the last Barclay episode.
7) "IN THEORY." This is (another) a great Data episode. Basically, he puruses a relationship with a female officer aboard the Enterprise. A very funnny episode that shows that Data is NOT gay.
8) "FINAL MISSION." A great episode which bases on Wesely Crusher and Picard. Will Wheaton is great in this episode.
The season ended with a great cliffhanger: "REDEMPTION." The third part in the Worf quadrilogy, this episdoe retunrs old characters from "SINS OF THE FATHER" and Worf conintues his quest to restore his family honor. Worf's brother also makes another appearance. Filled with great special effects, action, and acting, it will have you biting your nails until you get the second part on the fifth season gift set. Also features a great ending and a Tasha Yar connection through her alternate demise in "YESTERDAY'S ENTERPRISE."
All in all, better than season 3 but will still be surpassed by season 5.
1990-1991; 21 hours; All episodes are rated PG for mild violence and brief language.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
This is unquestionably one of the better seasons of TNG; in all honesty, most fans would probably have a hard time choosing between this and Season 3. Plenty of standout episodes, including "The Best of Both Worlds, Part II", "Family", "Reunion", "The Drumhead", "Redemption, Part I" and many more. The good episodes clearly outweigh anything resembling "below average", and there's nothing here that's as bad as some of the most offensive outings from TNG's first two years.

As expected, this Blu-ray is another winner. The A/V quality is again top notch, with all of the live action footage again being rescanned, cut and remastered by CBS Digital. The clarity on display here is simply astounding, as you probably already know if you've seen earlier seasons of TNG on Blu-ray. New CGI and effects shots were handled by Modern VideoFilm, who have done a very good job in ensuring that the quality is nearly as good as Seasons 1 and 3. Though a few shots stand out for the wrong reasons, it's still a quality effort considering the deadlines involved. I'd imagine that most fans, again, will be enormously pleased with the results. The audio is also fantastic, and it's available in 7.1 and the original 2.0 stereo.

As far as extras go, there are some good ones here, but overall it's a small step down from the ones we got with Season 3. These include a two-part documentary, a chat with the TNG art department, several deleted scenes, a gag reel, old Archive Mission Logs, the original episode promos and more. Though yes, these TNG seasons are priced very high, they're definitely worth the extra cash. A lot of love went into this release and it shows.

For more information please read my full review at DVD Talk, which is not affiliated with Amazon. [...]
44 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2002
Fourth season is a strong contender for best season of the entire series. Perhaps what is most admirable about this season is that it is probably the most consistent of them all; while there are many excellent episodes, there are very few which scrape the bottom of the barrel.
While I've noticed that some people have individually summarized the entire season I have neither the time nor inclination to do anything that in-depth. Instead I will pick out some of the highlights and briefly mention them.
Season three ended with what many Trekkers would consider to be the best episode of all time (of any of the five series').The Best of Both Worlds was a monolithic episode that exemplified everything that was good about the series. There was strong acting galore (Stewart and Frakes both turn in great performances), wonderful special effects, and a great villain (the Borg). Indeed, The Best of Both Worlds was a cliffhanger in the true sense of the word; it created a genuine sense of urgency within virtually any viewer. There is one particular scene that always stands out for me: The Enterprise has earned a brief reprieve from the relentless Borg by hding in a nebula. Picard, like a forlorn Captain takes what seems like a final tour of the ship before resuming the hopeless battle. He goes to ten forward, the ship's bar and quitly dispenses one of the most brilliant bits of writing Star Trek has ever seen ("will this be the end of our civilation?... Turn the page").
Although they could have easily ruined the second part, thankfully they didn't. Part 2, season 4's opener is almost as good as the first and features some equally brillaint moments (sailing through the debris field at Wolf 359, the "Data; SLEEP" first contact). A brilliant conclsuion to the best two parter in TV history.
The season rolls along swiftly and along has many great moments along the way. "Brothers" is undoubtedly a highpoint for Brent Spiner's acting career as he juggles the roles of the quiet Data, the evil Lore, and the enigmatic creator of the two Dr Sung.
"The Wounded" features a nice cameo by Shawshank's Warden Norton (Bob Gunton) as a distraught Captain who goes renegade. "Clues" is a cleverly staged mystery that never seems to feel tired (no matter how many times I see it on TNN). "The Mind's Eye" has Levar Burton's best performance of the season, an assassination plot, and Picard swearing in Klingon all wrapped nicely into fifty-some minutes. "Reunion" is both touching and thrilling as it cleverly introduces the Klingon civil war angle that the series frequently alludes to over the following three years.
Then there's the wonderful "Nth Degree" that inverts the role of Brocolli (Barclay), the bed-wetter, into a man of great intelligence, only for him to take the crew on a trip to the center of the galaxy.
Perhpas best of all is "The Drumhead." I hated this episode when I was growing up because it seemed to be completely lacking in everything that the show tried to explore (funny aliens, good space battles). However, after repeated viewings, this episode shows itself to be a true gem as it brilliantly explores the notion of McCarthyism in a seemingly Utopian world.
There are some brilliant speeches by Picard and a wonderful cameo by the woman playing Nora Satti (forget her name). "I've brought down bigger men than you Picard!" - Does TV acting get any better.
I see this episode and realize this is why none of the later Trek series's ever worked as well; they simply did not have either the acting or the writing. Voyager could only dream of having scenes this good.
Of course there are other winners, "The First Duty" being a notable one.
There are the some bad moments as to be expected. At this point I think every fan was hoping that Lwaxanna would die in a shuttle accident, and if not "Half a Life" certainly did them in.
"First Contact" is mediocre and makes me laugh to think that it is Frasier's icy cold Lilith who wants Riker. Still, who cares?
Brilliant
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
The season blu-ray is great. Better than Season 2's by a long shot. There are several episodes where the warp nacelle's color is purple instead of blue, but not too much, plus the live-action footage looks great with all the detail from the film they used to remaster the series. I recommend this set for all Trekkies looking for the best release for this series & in such a great format. You'll have a great time watching these episodes in HD. I know I do when I watch these.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I have home theater and project onto a 92" screen with a decent 7.1 system. These re-released blurays take an old grainy memory and turn them into gorgeous pixel-perfect high definition and essentially bring new life to the series which was shot on film, but broadcast in standard definition.

The beauty of old series being shot on film is that they can be scanned at a higher resolution even 4k or beyond and that old detail can be brought up to today's standards.

The producers of this series did not stop there. After scanning in the film, the digital effects were updated. It's a spectacular upgrade to an old favorite. I was blown away and am happy with the purchase to say the least.

The show is still formatted 4:3, but I think it's a good thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
Really, this release deserves 4.5 stars, but based on my minor disappointment with the presentation, I'm gonna stick with 4 stars because of my sour grapes. So, TNG was in its prime here. There was a learning curve in the first couple of seasons, and there was some minor decline in quality in the last couple of seasons, but these middle seasons produced very few episodes that aren't worth watching, and they boast some of the show's finest moments.
Since I'm reviewing this a good while after the release, I won't go into detail about the episodes except to say that a lot of people have voiced their satisfaction that Wil Wheaton left the show this season. I join them. Basically, I liked the idea of a character kind of like Wesley, But I think there should have been less emphasis on that character, as he tended to, well, annoy people. Also, while Wheaton's acting is serviceable during the series, it pales a little in comparison to that of the older actors, particularly the great Patrick Stewart. I think his leaving probably made room for some of the other, more interesting storylines, particularly ones regarding the Klingons.
Ok, my main beef. I was really looking forward to the commentaries! I had bought TNG when they were on VHS tapes, and I bought all of the absurdly-overpriced dvd releases, and while the DVDs had a generous offering of featurettes, there were no commentaries. A lot of people are not really interested in commentaries, but many of us are. When I bought the third season, I was somewhat dumbfounded that there was no commentary for the ICONIC season finale, "The Best of Both Worlds, part 1." I figured, oh, ok, they must be waiting to do a commentary for the season 4 premiere, part 2 of "Both Worlds." No dice! I don't understand it, given that so much care had been taken with the blu-Ray releases otherwise. Moreover, I was a little confused by the episodes they did choose to record commentaries for. They didn't seem the most obvious choices of which to give fans an in-depth explanation. The only thing I can think is that they were limited by by the personnel they had access to in order to record the commentaries. I dunno. That aside, these really are great releases, and I recommend them to any Trek fan and even to only modest fans who may fondly remember watching the show back in the day. Do yourself a favor and take this opportunity to revisit a show that you may not remember being as great as it actually was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 13, 2015
We can say that Season 4 of STTNG is not necessarily the best of the seven season run, but that’s not to say it’s not good: it truly is, and contains a number of very interesting and enjoyable episodes (often drawing on previous story arcs developed from the first three seasons), but we are let unexpectedly down after the nail-biting end of Season Three’s Borg episode. Again, these things are to be taken in context: most of the Season Four episodes are extremely well done, and certainly better than many of the episodes we see in other shows, but there is almost a sense that the show needed to stand back and catch its breath after what it had gone through in seasons one through three. Much of Season Four focuses on family relationships, and relationships of all types, and this gives the show a bit of a different feel than seasons one through three.

What must be stressed, as I have done in previous reviews, is the superb results of the remastering process that both the original series and the Next Generation series underwent. Nothing short of stupendous, these remasterings and digital enhancements have simply made these shows standouts in terms of their visual and audio quality. Resolution is so high as to beggar belief. Colors dance on the screen. There is a detail and “presence” that was never present before. We honestly watch these shows and find it difficult to accept that they were filmed more than half a century ago (STTOS) and more than a quarter of a century ago (STTNG). In most cases, it appears as if the shows were actually originally filmed in high resolution format, which, in a sense, they were, since they were recorded on 35mm film using camera equipment that buried an immense amount of information within each frame and permitted their extraction today. This was a laborious and expensive proposition, and it took a number of years to achieve it (the many special features of the show will explain and depict this in a fascinating way), but it was worth it in every way, and now that prices on the series have started coming down to more reasonable levels after the original costs were recouped, it is a no-brainer for any fan of the show. It has been repeatedly said, and by myself as well, but you’ll watch these episodes as though you have never seen them before, and that goes even for those of us who have memorized so much of the episodes from repeated re-watchings over the years.

Will the show once again be rescanned to meet the most recent 4K resolution technology that is now being released? In my mind, it doesn’t matter (even though the safe bet is, yes, it will, at some point). The fact is that the quality is now so high and the color and resolution so amazing that there is no point in sitting around waiting for that time. This current release is not simply a re-release of the same old quality shows on a new delivery format, like so many of the releases have been over the years. This is a new and entirely different release that breaks through the previous releases and allows the episodes to shine in ways never before possible. It’s an experience to enjoy regardless of how well you may or may not know the episodes. This release shows just how unique STTOS and STTNG were, and allows us to appreciate and enjoy them in ways as never before. Five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
I'm not going to bother going over every episode, other reviewers have done that.

First off, the transfer is fantastic! The colors and sounds are sharp and crystal clear. It's just amazing on how awesome this looks and sounds. The stories are fantastic. Even if you've seen them, as I have, when you see the blu ray, it's like you're watching them for the first time.

Second, the stories are just fantastic. They'll keep the trekkie in all of of hooked to the screen.

If you know a trekkie in your life, or if you're one yourself, then get it. I know you or your trekkie won't be sorry. I know I wasn't. I look forward to when I can sit down and enjoy an episode.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I've purchased TNG on VHS, Laser Disc, DVD, and now Blu-Ray. Each release on different media has been an improvement over the previous edition. The Blu-Ray release is no different. The video and sound is noticeably better than DVD. However, there's some digital "noise" in the shadow details, so I'm guessing it's not a true High Definition remaster. Will I buy the rest of the set as they are released on Blu-Ray? Absolutely!
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.