Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For "Star Wars" fans of all ages
This delightful little book features just about all of the recognizable characters from all six "Star Wars" movies, including droids, creatures, and certain groups (like the Gamorrean Guards, Stormtroopers and X-Wing Pilots, for example). Even characters who I recognized but didn't even know the name of are featured.

Of course a few appear more than once,...
Published on June 29, 2011 by James Pernikoff

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile
Decent book, I guess, but somewhat juvenile. Info pages seems kind of choppy on the way the details are given about characters. Would be better if there were just pictures and paragraphs instead of chopped up info. Would not have bought it if I found it in a bookstore. Might be good for kids.
Published 5 months ago by LJ in WP


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For "Star Wars" fans of all ages, June 29, 2011
By 
James Pernikoff (Marietta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
This delightful little book features just about all of the recognizable characters from all six "Star Wars" movies, including droids, creatures, and certain groups (like the Gamorrean Guards, Stormtroopers and X-Wing Pilots, for example). Even characters who I recognized but didn't even know the name of are featured.

Of course a few appear more than once, where their identity changed (Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader, etc.). About the only omission are the individual Podracers, who (aside from the dastardly Sebulba) are all featured on one page. And some entries are on pages with a black, rather than white, background (and not necessarily signifying evil vs. good), which makes them a bit harder to read.

No matter; this is an indispensable reference to "Star Wars" fans, young and old. But it only applies to the six movies of the saga; characters from "Clone Wars" are featured in their own book, and characters from the "extended Universe" are not here, either. But if you want to know more about General Grievous, Sy Snootles or Zam Wesell, they're all in here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars, A to Z, June 21, 2011
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
My kids love Star Wars. They play Star Wars. Frequently they role play one or another, and now, now, they can be 'authentic'.

Yep, authentic is a word that only describes a 'real' Star Wars character that is true to the film or books. In this case, this is 200 pages of detailed research complete with pictures, and basic character data such as homeworld, affiliation, species, height, appearance and references. A brief character bio accompanies each page. For some of the entries, one paragraph is more than enough, while others it is too little.

I appreciate the format, size, and intent of the book.

Back to my kids, for anyone wishing to learn more about who inhabits the Star Wars world, or wants to role play with accuracy, this is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing at least one essential character, January 19, 2012
By 
Mama Rose (Minneapolis, MN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
In general, I am enjoying reading this encyclopedia with my 8 year old son, BUT the first thing we both noticed was that Gor, General Grievous's pet roggwart, is not included. Since Gor is one of my son's favorite characters, this was a huge disappointment for both of us, especially given that they do include such creatures as colo claw fish, dewbacks, and bantha. I'd give it 5 stars, but this major oversight knocks it down to just 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, June 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
i also got the marvel and dc one. the three are great and discriptive. it tells you the species, home planet, how many movies they are in, there alliance and more. i recommend to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but heads-up to parents of young children, January 27, 2012
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
What a great encyclopedia of all the main characters in the Star Wars universe! My son bought the paperback version of this recently. Parents may want to check out the entries for the characters "Lyn Me" and "Oola". You may recall that they're dancers from Jabba's palace, most notably (although briefly) seen in "Return of the Jedi". They're fairly scantily clad, and Oola's picture leaves little to the imagination in her chest area. "Greeata", another dancer, has a similar outfit, but her alien costume is so all-encompassing that she looks more like a muppet than an exotic dancer.

You may have no problem with the depictions of "Lyn Me" and "Oola", but I just thought that parents of young children (young boys in particular) might want to know.

Otherwise, this is a great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves this book!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I got this book for my 8-year-old son who didn't really care about reading at the time. As soon as he got this book he starting reading it all the time and his reading score at school went from 2.8 (2nd grade, 8th month) to 9.1 (9th grade, 1st month) within a few months. His teacher couldn't believe the improvement. This is probably the best gift I have given him so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present Ideas, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Hello, I bought the Star Wars Character Encyclopedia for my 7 year old niece. And it arrived ok and she loves it. She is currently into Star Wars. She said "it was one of the best presents ever"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent resource for all star wars fans, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
though this book seems very simple and almost childlike at first, upon further inspection, it not only shows hwo incredible the costume design is, but clarifies alot of semi confusing facts like captain pannaka verse captain typho being different characters (they looked alike, I figured he just lost an eye between episode 1 and 2)..real good read for a low price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, August 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I gave this to my son for his tenth birthday, and it's quickly become his all-time favorite book. LOVES it. He takes it everywhere. He says it has absolutely every character you can imagine in this book, and a detailed description of each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Star Wars fan must have!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
My 7 year old daughter loves this! She and her friends take it to school every day and it has stood up well. Pictures are good and the facts are interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars Character Encyclopedia
Star Wars Character Encyclopedia by Simon Beecroft (Hardcover - June 20, 2011)
$16.99 $9.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.