Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cross-sections, but a rehash with added material
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:24 Mins
There have been quite a few books released on Star Wars vehicles already, namely:

Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode I
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode II
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode III
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode IV, V & VI
Star Wars Complete...
Published 17 months ago by Parka

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good If You Don't Already Own "Complete Cross-Sections"
What would any good Star Wars product be without a shiny new Special Edition every few years? I haven't considered myself a Star Wars fan in a long time, but I love the Incredible Cross-Sections books. I've spent hundreds of hours poring over them, laying out the floor plans and systems in my head, often just marveling at Richard Chasemore's and Hans Jenssen's attention...
Published 17 months ago by Daryl Carpenter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cross-sections, but a rehash with added material, July 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:24 Mins

There have been quite a few books released on Star Wars vehicles already, namely:

Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode I
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode II
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode III
Incredible Cross-sections of Star Wars Episode IV, V & VI
Star Wars Complete Cross-Sections: The Spacecraft and Vehicles of the Entire Star Wars Saga

Now, we have another new book, with most of the content rehashed though.

Compared to the previous compilation the Star Wars Complete Cross-sections which is 152 pages, also from DK, this hardcover is 208 pages. The extra pages come in the form of related film stills and commentary. Some film stills and additional commentary are also added to the cross-section pages.

The expanded edition comes with 4 new cross sections: Luke Skywalker's Landspeeder, the Medical Frigate, Home One and the Scout Speeder Bike.

The book itself is smaller in size to the first few books. It's not much an issue because the details can still be seen but you lose the effect of viewing those amazing artworks at even larger sizes.

The illustrations from Hans Jenssen and Richard Chasemore are amazingly detailed. It's quite a feat to imagine all those engines and wires running beneath the spaceships and whatever vehicles or walkers. When I look at Star Wars vehicles, part of me think of them as movie props, but these guys really make everything look so believable.

Even if you already have the Complete Cross-Sections, I think as a fanatic Star Wars fan, you would probably want to get this book just because of those four new cross-sections. I know that I-can't-help-myself-I-have-to-have-everything feeling when it comes to collecting.

5 stars if you're seeing the content for the first time.
3 stars if you already have the previous compilation book.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good If You Don't Already Own "Complete Cross-Sections", July 24, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
What would any good Star Wars product be without a shiny new Special Edition every few years? I haven't considered myself a Star Wars fan in a long time, but I love the Incredible Cross-Sections books. I've spent hundreds of hours poring over them, laying out the floor plans and systems in my head, often just marveling at Richard Chasemore's and Hans Jenssen's attention to detail. I bought "Star Wars: Complete Cross-Sections" for convenience sake, and for the four new cutaways and the making-of material.

"Complete Vehicles" incorporates all of the material from CCS and adds four new two-page cutaways - Luke's Landspeeder, the Medical Frigate, Home One, and the Imperial Speeder Bike. Along with the four new illustrations, each cut-away is accompanied by a number of screenshots from the movies. Some of the more iconic vehicles also receive an additional two-page spread with additional photographs and a couple paragraphs of information.

The new format is obviously more kid-friendly than the original ICS books (which were already written for 9-12 crowd) but the smaller format hurts the impact of many of the cut-aways. The pages are two inches shorter than they were in CCS, and many of the cut-aways have been shrunk to fit the busier format. Oddly enough, "side" cut-aways that were smaller in the original books, like the Tantive IV escape pod and the AT-RT, are bigger this time around and receive their own page.

If you already own "Complete Cross-Sections" you don't really need to buy "Complete Vehicles," unless you're a die-hard fan who HAS to have the four new cross-sections. The frequently awe-inspiring level of detail in the cut-aways, and the charmingly simple format which allowed the reader to focus on the illustrations, seem kind of lost in this shinier and more compact triple-dip.

Oh well. At least we still have the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book if you are like me and weren't able ..., July 7, 2014
By 
mPm (Western, Ma) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
Excellent book if you are like me and weren't able to ever purchase ALl of the Star Wars crossection books.
The size of all of artwork in this book is a little smaller than the size in the original DK books, but is still large enough to still marvel at all of the details in these intricately drawn, technical illustrations.
It's a plus to have all of these crossection illustrations under one complied reference style book.
Highly recommend even if you have the larger version illustration books.

Updated Review.
I have, recently, purchased the older 2007 version of this book to do a comparison.

I decided to update my previous review of this recent version of this book to both dispel the idea of this 2013 version of this book being a "money grab" by DK and just a, so called, smaller formatted, rehashed version of the previous 2007 larger formatted version.

First, and most important to note is that while the overall page size has changed only in height, the width of the 2013 version of this book is near identical to the 2007 version of the Star Wars Vehicle Cross-sections reference book.
I did a book over book comparison of almost every page and layout of each page.
The actual size/scale of the actual cross-section artworks have not been reduced so significantly from the 2007 version to be jarringly noticeable. They reworked some of the overall page formhat and item callouts to accomdate the shorter height of the book. The difference in scale is NOT enough to take away from seeing all of fine details of these drawings.
In some instances, some of the vehicle cross-sections have gotten a larger scale.
Obviously and noticeably, larger drawing of General Grievous's speeder/interceptor, enlarge views of the various components of AT-AT walker cockpit, larger drawing of AT-RT walker, larger drawings of the Republic interceptor's circular Booster rocket module, larger drawing of the TIE interceptor and a much larger scale of the snow speeder, which is one of my favorite Star Wars flying vehicles.
The only cross-section drawing that I noticed a jarring difference in scale is the Juggernaut land vehicle.
In the 2007 book, this is an impressive sized and scaled drawing. In the 2013 version, for some inexplicable reason, this vehicle is the only one that stood out that has been drastically reduced in scale in relation to the overall page size and the drawing image no longer "commands" the space on the page that the 2007 version did. Strange decision there.
You still get the same trI-fold/triptic pages of the much larger and detailed Star Wars vehicles from the 2007 book version. Again, at a slightly smaller, but nevertheless, still impressive scale.
Plus, you get 4 new cross-sections. Luke's speeder, the speeder bike, Home One and the Medical Frigate. All just as impressively detailed.
These weren't just sloppily added as an afterthought.
They are done just as well as all of the previously drawn cross-sections and the details on these new cross-section drawing are, again, impressively executed.
This book is NOT a money grab by DK as some suggest and if you do not have a complete set of the larger, previously published DK Star Wars cross-sectional reference books, then I still, solidly, recommend this recent 2013 offering as the version to purchase and add to your Star Wars reference book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Sci-Fi reference books out there, but the previous edition is better, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
I can't say enough good things about the Star Wars: Incredible Cross Section books. Its a perfect gift for any big sci-fi fan or one of the scientific/engineering mindset. Some of the specific bad things about this edition is that not a whole of new stuff is added. There may be three new cross sections, but there is not a whole lot provided in the way of new information about those vehicles. They changed the format around and put the awesome technical information in the back of the book. Lastly, to its detriment they removed or changed information from previous editions, so its better to buy Star Wars Complete Cross-Sections: The Spacecraft and Vehicles of the Entire Star Wars Saga.

Overall this book tries to bring some sense of reason, common sense and science into the Star Wars universe, but without impeding on the great sci-fi/fantasy setting. Its a great shame other Star Wars works do not follow this example and instead go down the path of "its a space opera" numbers/common sense/science don't matter at all. I hope the grand scale and wonder of the original trilogy is again captured in Episode VII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast!, August 20, 2013
By 
E. Preston "History teacher" (Jacksonville, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
As most DK books the illustrations in this one are first rate.
The commentary/analysis that goes along with it about the "history"
(real movie and Star Wars universe) of each machine is a blast.
I have always loved cut away drawings and this book is a treasure trove
of them. And did I mention it's about Star Wars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The force is strong in this book ., June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
Star wars: complete vehicles book was for my grandsons 8th birthday when he opened the package his eyes told me it was a five-star purchase .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STARS!, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
Just check it out! Yes! Its one of the best yet. I personally give it 5 STARS. I highly recommend it to your Star Wars book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book, awesome delivery., June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my dad. He wanted it for a very long time, and we cound't have been more exited when it arrived! It's so well-made and beautiful, it blew our Star Wars lonvers' minds. Definetely a must have.
Aslo, Amazon's shipping was amazing as well. The book arrived much earlyer than expected. We live in Brazil, and this was by far the fastest international delivery I've experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
My six year old Grandson loved this book. He is a huge star wars fan and I would recommend it to any star wars fan, especially those who collects star wars vehicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Complete Vehicles (Hardcover)
This is the best book of this kind, I recomend this book to all the fans or not of star wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: Complete Vehicles
Star Wars: Complete Vehicles by David West Reynolds (Hardcover - July 29, 2013)
$35.00 $27.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.