Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (174)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic score, becomes brilliant when reorganized
I know Williams prefers creating albums that are a stand-alone listening experience but, honestly, is there anybody who liked the music enough to buy the album but not enough to remember the basic order it came in? When it's all out of order I'm sorry but it sounds out of order and disjointed.

I thought this album was okay when I first listened to it, but once...
Published on May 13, 2005 by James Luckard

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much is missing
I am a diehard Star Wars fan and own all the scores. This one, though good, fell short. Take Anakin VS Obi Wan for instance, the beat just isn't there like it was in the movie, drums perhaps, and takes away the excitement contained in that scene. Later in the movie, we see Vader on the Star Destroyer and Padme's funeral, and the music isn't on this CD. Palpatine's...
Published on January 16, 2007 by Rory


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic score, becomes brilliant when reorganized, May 13, 2005
By 
James Luckard (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I know Williams prefers creating albums that are a stand-alone listening experience but, honestly, is there anybody who liked the music enough to buy the album but not enough to remember the basic order it came in? When it's all out of order I'm sorry but it sounds out of order and disjointed.

I thought this album was okay when I first listened to it, but once I put it in order and, equally importantly, added Duel of the Fates in where it belonged off my Episode I CD, I fell in love with the score.

Here, then, is the film order for this CD:

1, 7, 13(0:00-1:50), 2, 6, 5, 8, 4, 11, 10, 13(1;50-end), 9, Duel of the Fates off Episode I album, 3, 12, 14, 15

Tracks 5 and 6 are made up of multiple small cues from the film, but they can't be taken apart easily, and they all come from roughly the same point in the film, so it seemed logical to me to leave them together. If you want to know exactly how to slice them up, go to jwfan.net.

The album as bought doesn't grab me, but the reorganized CD is one of my favorite score albums in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Final Score to the Star Wars Prequal Trilogy, May 11, 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
With Revenge of the Sith, John Williams completes the epic scores for all six of the Star Wars films. Revenge of the Sith is the darkest of the scores, but he is able to keep the score fresh despite using several themes heard in previous films. He doesn't go overboard with the Imperial March, and other themes like the Force theme are very solemn. There are new themes added to the fold, including one that describes Anakin's fall to the Dark Side, heard on tracks 3, 4 and 9 best I think. Despite the fact that this cd does not contain every aspect of the score like the soudtrack releases for the original trilogy, it flows very well. From the first track, one can tell that this score is action packed and very very somber and dark. Yet, as the last track says "A New Hope and End Credits". Right before the final bombastic rendition of the Star Wars theme, one hears a very tender rendition of Princess Leia's theme and Luke's theme from Episode IV as the twins are born, linking the 2 trilogies. Overall, I rate this score highly and believe it is a great finish to this Star Wars Saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Wars score (and movie?) since Star Wars Episode V, May 1, 2005
By 
Jeff (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
WOW!! I just finished listening to the CD, courtesy of AOL's listening party. It is the best prequel score, and the best Star Wars score since Star Wars Episode V. It must be heard to be believed. We all know that the score for Star Wars Episode II was lacking. Williams makes up for it this time. My only complaint is that there isn't enough classic stuff: not enough Imperial March and I was hoping that the male choir piece that plays for Darth Sidious in Star Wars Episode VI would make an appearance. However, THIS CD alone is one of Williams' best work. The new theme, 'Battle of the Heroes' that plays throughout is awesome. One fianl note: at Celebration III it was said that next year, there might be a prequel bxed set of the complete score. So, 2 CDs for each film (Episodes I-III) makes a six disc set. I hope so, because while the prequel trilogy music is awesome, give us the complete score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Williams at his Best!, May 3, 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This score CD is incredible. It fits perfectly into the Star Wars saga and succeeds at evoking the various moods and emotions of Episode III in particular. Less atmospheric in nature than "Attack of the Clones," this album hearkens back to Williams' earlier Star Wars works, particularly "Star Wars" and "The Empire Strikes Back." This is due in part to more frequent appearances of familiar themes (and in some cases, suites) from those films into this score. This is perfectly logical, given that this chapter in the prequel trilogy completes the bridge to the original trilogy.

"Battle of the Heroes" is the latest grand Star Wars suite, offering an energetic three minutes and 42 seconds of Williams at his best. Operatic in scope, desperate in mood, precise in execution, this track will almost certainly rank as highly as "Duel of the Fates" with fans of Williams' previous Star Wars scores.

Other tracks of note include the bombastic opening "Star Wars and The Revenge of the Sith," the moody and sinister "Palpatine's Teachings," "Anakin Vs. Obi-Wan," the tragic "The Immolation Scene," and "The Birth of the Twins and Padme's Destiny."

An extra special bonus is the inclusion of "Star Wars: A Musical Journey," a 70 minute DVD featuring 16 muisc videos of selected Williams-penned suites set to video and audio from all six Star Wars films. Actor Ian McDiarmid (Palpatine) is our host for the DVD, introducing each video with a brief synopsis of the particular events surrounding the images we are about to witness. Seeing these videos tell the grand story that is Star Wars is nothing short of pure magic. Kudos to the production team for a perfect editing job. This DVD - indeed, the highlight of this soundtrack package - is enhanced for widescreen displays and the film footage is presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio.

For Star Wars fans, this purchase is a no-brainer. The included DVD makes it even more of a must have. A fine set with which to send off the Star Wars saga. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Williams scores again, May 5, 2005
By 
R. Huckins (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
John Williams is tied to the Star Wars more tightly than anyone, outside of George Lucas himself. His scores simply make Star Wars more than just an FX adventure, and this soundtrack is no different.

Williams uses the perfect tone for this score, which looks to be easily the darkest of all the films, with brooding, choral pieces that carve out new territory while echoing already established themes. "Battle of Heroes", "Enter Lord Vader", and "Anakin vs. Obi-Wan" are especially rousing, with shreds of old themes interspersed with fresh new musical arcs.

Williams has a real dilemma with Star Wars: how to maintain the consistent feel of the film's musical tone while still introducing new material that works. I think "Duel of the Fates" and "Across the Stars" from Episodes I & II worked toward this end, despite people's criticisms of the films. I think Williams lives up to this challenge each time out, and Revenge of Sith's music is another enjoyable journey into Lucas's visionary world.

Now, the DVD. Simply put, this is enough of a reason to buy the CD by itself. Each musical vignette (video, I suppose) traces the story arc of Star Wars in an entertaining way, as prequels and originals come together to tie the saga into one series. It is interesting to finally see Anakin's face blend into Vader's and then into Anakin again. Obi-Wan becomes young and aging in a seamless visual sequence. This is done again and again to satisfying degree. For those hungry for a preview of Episode III, watch "A Hero Falls" which shows new footage not seen in any of the trailers. The narration of Ian McDiarmid is also a nice touch--one can almost hear Palpatine in his pleasant dictation.

Simply put, this music is what Star Wars should be, plus a bonus DVD. You can't beat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So much is missing, January 16, 2007
By 
Rory (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I am a diehard Star Wars fan and own all the scores. This one, though good, fell short. Take Anakin VS Obi Wan for instance, the beat just isn't there like it was in the movie, drums perhaps, and takes away the excitement contained in that scene. Later in the movie, we see Vader on the Star Destroyer and Padme's funeral, and the music isn't on this CD. Palpatine's Teachings is my favorite because it is as dark as we heard it in the movie, but a lot shorter. Granted, it took several years before all of the music was released for the original three episodes and I think that stinks. Why can't these scores be released the way we heard them in the movie and all at once?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...Rise!, May 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This CD is definitely worth the investment from any Star Wars fan; not just because of the music, but because of the free bonus DVD!

THE CD: The music for the new movie sounds great. Unfortunately, "Duel of the Fates" does not seem to make an appearance. The fun of buying the soundtracks ahead of time is to try to guess at the action it accompanies. Also, the tracks won't necessarily go in order of appearance. I will not read the titles of any of the tracks, lest some vital plot point be given away the way it was in The Phantom Menace.

THE DVD: This disc contains over an HOUR of Star Wars footage cut to music - including the new "Hero Falls" video. They are all introduced by Ian McDairmid, aka Emperor Palpitine. I didn't watch the whole thing as I am trying to keep my exposure to Episode III to a minimum before I see the movie; all ready, the clips on talk shows have me closing my eyes and singing "LA-LA-LA!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, June 13, 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This overall is a very good soundtrack. It contains 15 tracks with an additional bonus DVD titled "Star Wars, A Musical Journey" which is a compilation of scenes from the entire saga set to music from the entire saga. The following is a description of the individual tracks on this CD.

Star Wars and Revenge of the Sith

It begins with the standard star wars opening crawl music then goes right into a fast paced version of the force theme which I really like. After that it is pretty much standard battle music.

Anakin's Dream

A slower piece of music. It is very dramatic. "Across the Stars" the love theme from Episode two is in there but in a darker, more dramatic version. It also contains some new music.

Battle of the Heroes

This is a fast paced piece with choir in it pretty much throughout the piece. It is similar to other dueling pieces such as "Duel of the Fates" but a lot darker.

Anakin's Betrayal

A very beautiful slow paced piece of music. There are some parts of it that are really good but overall it is one of the best tracks on this CD. It is very sad.

General Grievous

Pretty much all new music. It has some good parts and is a very charged theme.

Palpatines Teachings

A very dark evil piece. It is mostly these really low voices that sound really creepy.

Grievous and the Droids

Pretty much an action piece that is very well done and sounds really cool

Padme's Ruminations

A slow, darker and sad piece. It has a strange choral part that sounds really cool.

Anakin vs. Obi-Wan

The music played during the epic duel between Anakin Skywalker and Obi-Wan Kenobi. It contains a fast paced and very dramatic and dark version of "Battle of the Heroes." It also contains the theme of Darth Vader from Episodes 5 and 6. There is a very dark version of the force theme and some of it is accompanied by choir.

Anakin's Dark Deeds

A very dark and dark, dramatic piece accompanied by choir. It is overall very well done.

Enter Lord Vader

A faster piece. It almost sounds like a march. Very dark and evil.

The Immolation Scene

A very sad and dramatic piece played when Anakin Skywalker is being burned in lava. It is just really sad and very well done.

Grievous Speaks to Lord Sidious

A fast paced and really cool piece accompanied by choir in some parts.

The Birth of the Twins and Padme's Destiny

The part where the twins are born is actually kind of creepy. However it is very good. It then goes to the funeral theme from Episode 1.

A New Hope and End Credits

A beautiful track containing Leia's them, Luke's theme and then going into the force theme very similar to the binary sunset theme of Star Wars. It then Goes into the familiar end credits.

Overall, this is just an awesome CD and the Bonus track is great too. I would recommend this not just to any Star Wars fan but also just to anyone who likes good instrumental music. Well done John Williams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, May 22, 2005
By 
Mr. Jenson (Californa, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The opening theme normal, but becomes a dark struggle.

'Anakin's Dream' is quiet, sad, wistful, and nearly a requiem.

'Battle of the Heroes' is the best song since Duel of the Fates.

'Anakin's Betrayal' is dark, hopeless, and strangely beautiful.

'General Grevious' is like a feral cat; wild and angry.

'Palpatine's Teaching' is slow and evil, but ends oddly.

'Greivous and the Droids' sounds like good Star Wars action.

'Padme's Ruminations' is depressing, showing her bitter sorrows.

'Anakin vs. Obi-Wan' is great, it's fast, and very energetic.

'Anakin's Dark Deeds' is quiet, foreboding - then turns horrific.

'Enter Lord Vader' is not his usual theme, but has some old cues.

'The Immolation Scene' sounds just like title expresses: murder.

'Grevous speaks to Lord Sidious' is a strong mix for it's lenght.

'Birth of the Twins & Padme's Destiny' is sad and dedicatory.

'A New Hope & and Credits' is an enormous but wonderful medley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So . . . what's on the DVD?, July 11, 2005
This review is from: Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
In terms of value for money, this CD/DVD combination makes the purchase price easily worthwhile. Is this the soundtrack in any way complete? Of course not. Would any STAR WARS fan really pay much for the DVD alone? Also, no. But when together they cost no more than the CD would alone, the "lightness" of the CD alone can be forgiven--so long as one day we get the dual-CD releases for this movie that the original trilogy films now enjoy.

What I wanted to focus on here, though, is the nature of the accompanying DVD.

I think the worth of the piece depends on the audience involved. For someone looking for a very general overview of the STAR WARS saga, it's an enjoyable enough ride. It whets the appetite and doesn't spoil too much (of Episode III--though people who've never seen any STAR WARS at all would definitely not want to start their STAR WARS experience with this DVD).

Even those who have seen the films once or twice--casual fans--might well find it a nifty trip. Pure music fans--people who perhaps are John Williams fans first and not really that interested in the films--will enjoy it on the level of a concert performance.

But it does nothing to explain what Williams' real impact on the series is all about. The viewer gets only the most superficial of understandings that his music provides a narrative function, without really delving into how this has been achieved over the years. Indeed, the DVD does this a disservice by splicing together scenes that were never meant to be underscored by the music being played.

If you take it for what it is--a kind of video version of a "program guide" that you'd get if you went to the opera--you'll enjoy it. I'm tempted to say that, on that basis, it's even kind of a cool idea. But if you think you're getting something more akin to a documentary, you'll be much more disappointed.

It's pretty pictures set to pretty music, with a somewhat eerie narration given by the man who's the villain of the piece. And so it's fun--nothing more, nothing less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.