Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Star Wars Adventure!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 4:39 Mins
I always believe that pop up book is best reviewed by showing it to you rather than putting it into words, because words simply are not enough to describe the amazing, intricate, astounding pop ups that lie hidden in every page. and Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure is no exception. Matthew Reinhart has done it again with style! (and yes,...
Published on November 13, 2012 by Alen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Disappointing, battery didn't work for light saber. It was a gift--should have returned it.
Published 4 months ago by Barbara Peterson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Star Wars Adventure!, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
Length:: 4:39 Mins

I always believe that pop up book is best reviewed by showing it to you rather than putting it into words, because words simply are not enough to describe the amazing, intricate, astounding pop ups that lie hidden in every page. and Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure is no exception. Matthew Reinhart has done it again with style! (and yes, it has a lightsaber that lights up when you open the page!)

In comparison with his previous Star Wars pop-up book (entitled Star Wars: A Pop-Up Guide to the Galaxy), I'll have to say I prefer the previous book which is filled with stunning pop ups that will make your jaw drops when you see it (especially with the darth vader head pop up). Nevertheless, this book doesnt lack the same punch that will keep you mesmerized.

In conclusion, if you're a pop-up book collector (and chances are you're familiar with Matthew Reinhart's past works), this book is just as good as his other pop-up books and definitely worthy to find a place in your pop-up books collection. I'd highly recommend it!

If you're Star Wars fan and not a pop-up book collector or never seen a pop-up book before, then you're in for an adventure that will last for many years to come! and in fact, I would recommend to order Star Wars: A Pop-Up Guide to the Galaxy as well, if you have not already own one! These 2 books are a MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely meant for all those Star Wars fans looking for the greatest new retelling of their favorite story, January 11, 2013
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
I am constantly impressed and amazed at the artistry of paper engineers like Robert Sabuda and Matthew Reinhart, who consistently push the limits of this art form in even more outrageous ways. Beyond feats of engineering, however, these accomplished artists are also managing to get their works in the hands of audiences who, just a generation ago, wouldn't have been caught dead reading "pop-up books." Now, far from being limited to toddlers and adult collectors, pop-up books are bringing storytelling to life for readers of all ages.

Nowhere is that more true than in STAR WARS: A GALACTIC POP-UP ADVENTURE, Matthew Reinhart's follow-up to his earlier STAR WARS: A POP-UP GUIDE TO THE GALAXY. His earlier volume was a sort of road map to the main characters, geographic locales, vehicles, and vessels composing the Star Wars saga. This new volume is more of a narrative, loosely telling the story of the movies that make up Episodes 1 through 3 of the epic. The first two-page spread is dominated by a scene from young Anakin Skywalker's podrace, while the final spread shows a somewhat older and much more jaded Anakin donning the mask of Darth Vader for the first time.

I won't bother recounting the story of the book; after all, virtually the entire audience for this book will already be more than conversant in the Clone Wars, Order 66, and the rest of the plot unfolding as dramatically as Reinhart's paper sculptures. This is a good thing, too, because the nature of Reinhart's pop-up constructions means that recounting a single linear story is difficult, if not impossible.

So, for the most part, Reinhart doesn't even try. Instead, he focuses on the clever creation not only of these massive page-straddling sculptures that emerge from each spread but also of the dozens of smaller but no less impressive constructions that pop out of literally every corner of the book. Both Reinhart and Sabuda have long structured their pop-up books this way --- with a central focal point and several "mini books" poised around the periphery, each of which contains mini pop-ups as well. What's different and very exciting here is the way in which those smaller books unfold. Rather than working as conventional books, opening in only a single direction, they frequently challenge the reader to discover which side is going to open, which flap will hold the next surprise. Opening not just left to right but also up, down, and even diagonally, these small "books" are wonders of design in their own right.

Perhaps my description of the complexity of every single part of this volume gives you the idea that this book is not for the small or especially clumsy; it's true that very young children might grow frustrated with the unpredictable design, a design that also might make this pop-up even more fragile than most. STAR WARS: A GALACTIC POP-UP ADVENTURE is definitely meant for upper-elementary aged kids, teens, and grown-ups, all those Star Wars fans looking for the greatest new retelling of their favorite story. They've certainly found it here.

Reviewed by Norah Piehl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a n innovative book for all ages to enjoy, October 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
This book was a lot of fun to read. It is appropiate for older children and adults who are interested in Star Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty amazing book- best ages 8+, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
Bought this pop-up book for my 6-year-old grandson who loves all things Star Wars. At the end of the book there is a pop-up lightsaber that changes color to represent Darth Vader going to the Dark Side. The pop-ups are pretty complex and visually beautiful - and fairly easily damaged or crushed. Truthfully, age 6 is a little young for this book, but I knew that going into it. But my grandson still treasures this book, drooping pop-ups and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unreal, August 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
I bought this for $6 so I thought I would get what I paid for. No way. It is the most amazing popup book ever. Popups within popups, a light saber that actually lights up, and even stuff I didn't know. Both my two year old and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They call it "paper engineering" and boy! is it elaborate., December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
The book is filled with wonderful surprises that pop out at you. Not for kids because they would break the pieces easily, but definitely a collector's item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool book!, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
This Star Wars pop up book is the second one that has been released and it has amazing pop up pictures all throughout it. It's only real setback is that it's way too short! But that doesn't stop it from being very cool. This one is completely Star Wars episodes 1, 2, and 3, so if you're looking for the original saga, get the other pop up book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, September 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
Disappointing, battery didn't work for light saber. It was a gift--should have returned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your Grandmother's Pop-Up book! It's so much more!!, December 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book! I cannot believe the detail on every page. Each page has several individual pop-ups, along with a large pop-up and a wealth of Star Wars information! My little grandson loves that this book includes the Clone Wars. The light-up light sabers are a very popular page!! There are a couple of sticky pop-ups that you have to open very gently, but I'm VERY impressed and pleased with this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why don't kids write thank you notes?, July 2, 2014
By 
Marilyn Blanck (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure (Hardcover)
This was for a gift and I've not had feedback. I loved it, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure
Star Wars: A Galactic Pop-up Adventure by Matthew Reinhart (Hardcover - October 16, 2012)
$36.99 $24.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.