Star by Star: Star Wars (The New Jedi Order) (Star Wars and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $7.99
  • Save: $0.80 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book has already been loved by someone else. It MIGHT have some wear and tear on the edges, have some markings in it, or be an ex-library book. Over-all it is still a good book at a great price! (if it is supposed to contain a CD or access code, that may be missing)
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Star by Star (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 9) Mass Market Paperback – October 1, 2002


See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$7.19
$3.15 $0.01


Frequently Bought Together

Star by Star (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, Book 9) + Dark Journey (Star Wars, The New Jedi Order #10) + Edge of Victory II: Rebirth (Star Wars: The New Jedi Order, No. 8)
Price for all three: $21.57

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Bone Clocks
David Mitchell's hypnotic new novel crackles with invention and sheer storytelling pleasure. Learn more

Product Details

  • Series: Star Wars: The New Jedi Order - Legends (Book 9)
  • Mass Market Paperback: 640 pages
  • Publisher: LucasBooks; 1st edition (October 1, 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0345428676
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345428677
  • Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 4.2 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (280 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #153,463 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

A new book in the successful "New Jedi Order" series, created jointly by Del Rey and Lucasfilm, this adventure pits the children of old favorites Luke, Leia, and Han against alien invaders.
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Inside Flap

The New York Times bestselling Star Wars series The New Jedi Order enthralls readers with its epic drama and thrilling adventure. Now readers will pierce the very heart of darkness, as those fascinating figures in that galaxy far, far away--Han Solo, Luke Skywalker, Leia Organa Solo, as well as their children--spring to vivid life to battle their deadliest adversaries.

It is a solemn time for the New Republic, as the merciless Yuuzhan Vong continue their ruthless campaign of terror and destruction. The brutal enemy has unleashed a savage creature capable of finding--and killing--Jedi Knights. And now Leia Organa Solo faces a terrible ultimatum from the mighty alien foe determined to conquer the galaxy. If the location of the secret Jedi base is not revealed within one week, the Yuuzhan Vong will blast millions of refugee ships into oblivion.

As the battered but still unbroken Jedi scramble to deal with the newest onslaught, Leia's son Anakin lays out a daring plan. A Jedi strike force will allow itself to be "captured" by the Yuuzhan Vong and taken to their stronghold in the realm of darkness, where the Jedi will sabotage the evil empire's deadliest weapons. The leaders of the force are the three Solo siblings. The risks are tremendous. Can the Jedi fight a ruthless enemy without becoming ruthless themselves and falling victim to the dark side? --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Troy Denning is the New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Tatooine Ghost and Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Star by Star, as well as Waterdeep, Pages of Pain, Beyond the High Road, The Summoning, and many other novels. His most recent Star Wars novel is Star Wars: Crucible. A former game designer and editor, he lives in western Wisconsin with his wife, Andria.

Customer Reviews

I have read every book and I am pre-ordering the next book in the series.
Sam Uhlhorn
With far too many people, especially one big character, dying and very hard to follow plot lines and even worse battle scenes.
Jamie Richards
A reader can't go through this series thinking the good guys will always win - because in this book, they lose.
Chicago SW Fan

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful By Nathan on November 15, 2001
Format: Hardcover
According to fellow NJO author R.A. Salvatore, one of Troy Denning's strengths is that he "can tell a BIG story, keeping control of all the side details, as well as anyone." And he's right. Star by Star is one of the three biggest SW novels ever, perhaps THE biggest, and it is also, quite simply, the best. Star by Star, marking the beginning of the third year of the Yuuzhan Vong invasion, is an important novel in the New Jedi Order arc in that it's the centerpiece of the series. This book doesn't center on any one character, but instead gives all the main characters (The movie characters, Mara, the Solo twins) approximately equal time. He gets all the characters in character, except for one, but more on that later.
Before I continue this review, I think that something needs to be cleared up. Yes, there is a major death in this book. Yes, it is sad. What people don't seem to understand, though, is that Denning didn't arbitrarily decide to kill this character, any more than Salvatore arbitrarily decided to kill Chewbacca. The New Jedi Order series is something new in Star Wars literature - a story arc. The major plot points are planned and decided, by a committee of authors and editors, well in advance of the writing of the individual novels. The reason this character was so built up in previous books was so that, like the death or hate it, the audience would care, would feel the impact. The death was not randomly thrown in as "shock value" or to piss off the fans. They are trying to show that this is war, and in war, people die, especially those who undertake suicidal missions. I applaud the NJO creative team for not shying away from such a move.
As to the characters and situations, I was very pleasantly surprised.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Nom de Guerre on July 27, 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
This is one of the most powerful books in the New Jedi Order series, not least of all because of the major twists it introduces to the series' plot arc. As a result, readers are sure to be torn as to whether to love or hate it. Star by Star does start slowly, and some apparent errors occur in the opening chapters (Jaina's status with Rogue Squadron is altered from the last book, for example). The scenes with the adult characters are often slow throughout the book, and in some places Denning insufficiently explains events, leaving the reader wondering how the story got from point A to point B. These are my only trifles with Denning's writing. His character development is good and he manages to breathe life into a number of the rather flat Jedi from Kevin J. Anderson's young readers' series. He also creates an exciting new group of characters--the Barabels, whom we meet in the e-book Recovery (included in the paperback). In addition, Denning writes excellent action scenes. Every chapter about the mission of the young Jedi is a page-turner. This is a blessing in a 600+ page book. On the whole, I think Denning is one of the most skilled writers in the Star Wars franchise.
In part because Denning writes so well, some of the plot is hard to swallow--bad things happen, and Denning emotionally involves the reader in them. Despite the book being a page-turner, I had to read it slowly because I found that the only way for me to deal with how upsetting the events in it were was to take them in small doses. At one point I even wished I could un-read what I had read because it was so depressing. Star Wars fans who prefer to see the franchise's characters cleverly work their way out of tough situations will really dislike this book.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on January 6, 2002
Format: Hardcover
This book was quite intresting in almost all scenes and I have enjoyed it. Yet the most chilling part about this is the death of a great character we've all come to love. Other authors spent years developing this character and he was just killed of in this book. I really don't think that was justified.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful By JediMack on July 21, 2003
Format: Hardcover
Now that I have read all the books up to SBS once and listen to the audio versions at least twice, I feel my Vector Prime review was right on. The new bosses sold Lucas an interesting concept, but they executed it with way to much darkness and gore. Tom clancey takes his characters into deep PooDoo for a couple hundred pages. These people took usinto the poodoo for a couple thousand pages, then kill the heir apparent and hero in grooming.
There is no question that after a string of really bad books, largely running on the SW time line from year 12 to 16, something had to change. The concept of an invasion from outside the galaxy to provide a new enemy was a great idea. But if you're going to create a new darkness and dread in the SW universe, killing Chewy and Anakin is to much overkill.
Clearly among some this darkness and gore was well received. Among the hundreds of reviews of this book there are a lot of 1 star reviews and a lot of 5 star reviews. Based on my experience in the SW EU chat rooms, the older fan tended to hate to the new direction, but not exclusively. Frank McI., a reviewer I respect liked the new direction a lot more than I.

A common complaint in the reviews I have read is that the author and editors didn't understand the force and the abilities of Luke and Mara as they had evolved. For fans of Luke and Mara this was a problem. Often the author was instructed to include Luke and Mara in the book but had to write Luke out of the important plot lines, because he and Mara are a team that is extremely powerful.
Star Wars is sci fi fantasy where continuity has been maintained. I visit the SW universe (re reading sw books) for escape, not to have my favorite characters killed. It just did not seem necessary to remove the fun from SW over a span of so many books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?