Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 17, 2010
I've always been intrigued and impressed by the Scanimation line of animated picture books. Their lo-fi eye candy is especially compelling in todays increasingly digital world. As soon as I saw the Star Wars edition today, I bought it on the spot at a local bookstore. After I signed my slip I realized I was so blown away by the product I forgot to check the price before I bought it.

Like all Scanimation books, the pictures are small in scope but big on animation. the animation is provided by alternating bands of tint, a very cool effect. Even the presence of several (3 or 4) scenes from the most recent three movies did not detract significantly from my enjoyment.

An excellent book for any fan of any of the three movies, or pop-up/childrens book collectors.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
Star Wars: A Scanimation Book: Iconic Scenes from a Galaxy Far, Far Away...

This was bought for my 7 year old grandson. I purchased it because I had also bought this author's other 3 scanimation books, Waddle, Gallop and Swing for his 3 year old brother. The first 3 books were excellent and very unique. My grandson's older brother even got a kick out of looking at them. These books are made so that when you turn the page and move it back and forth the pictures actually move. These books should be considered board books since the pages are thick and cannot be bent or creased. Based on the above I decided to purchase the Star Wars Scanimation book by the same author. I was somewhat disappointed when it arrived. First of all the pictures are not that clear and most of them look like moving blobs. There is no story but instead the book contains quotes from the different Star Wars movies. If a child has not seen the movies the quotes mean nothing and the moving blobs mean even less. I would highly recommend buying this authors first 3 scanimation books that I listed above. This one cannot be compared to the others when it comes to quality. Very big disappointment.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
My only complaint is that some of the pictures are very dark and hard to see. That said, my son (35 years) and my grandson (3 years) absolutely love this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Hi, Fun moving pictures of Star wars for kids. I love these books. They are great fun. I am glad they invented this kind of book. Even young adult may like it since Star wars was going strong during their life. I hope they make more of these types of books. Worth it to see it. Happiness....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2014
I have now bought at least 10 of these Scanimation books because their animated pictures are absolutely wonderful for children of all ages. It is a board book that is truly interactive. This particular one covers Star Wars and I bought it along with The Wizard of Oz one for birthday presents for twin one year olds. They will keep a toddler amused for hours and they cover many topics: animals, sports, comics and movies!

Each book has exceptional illustrations in a format that allows the viewer to see captioned moving pictures with the turn of a page!
In this delightful book we learn of Luke Skywalker's adventures in Star Wars. Although I bought this for babies, it has become the 7 year old's favorite book recently and adults have commented on what a great keepsake it is, so I guess anyone would find something great about it. I think Rufus Butler Seder is a genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
Book arrive as expected. I purchased Star Wars: A Scanimation Book for my Star Wars crazed grandson. He loves it! The colors are a bit dark but does not bother my grandson so therefore, I highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2015
i have purchased several scanimation books and the kids enjoy them. this book came with a silvery/reflective front cover but had a noticeable crease in the upper left corner and various light scratches all over. the scanimation pages are difficult to see bc the pictures are so dark.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
Six months ago, I gave one of these to my 4 yo son and it's been on his nightstand ever since! He still looks at it several times a week. Here are my thoughts:

PROS

- Amazing design on how the animation works; pretty easy to be mesmerized by it.

- Even though it's not a board book, it's still sturdy enough to allow my 1 yo to play with it.

- Perfect stocking stuffer or companion gift. I bought many of these and like to include it with any Star Wars gift I give. I swear the parents love it more than the kids do.

CONS

- Due to the "magic" that has to occur, there really aren't that many pages and very little text.

- Slightly darker than other Scanimation books I have so you'll need more room light.

OVERALL

- Love it! Here's a test for you: put this on your coffee table and see how many people pick this up. Lots of entertainment value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
I bought this as a gift for my nephew who lives in a home for disabled children. He can't have a TV in his room or any sort of game system, and I thought this book was a good substitute for those types of distractions since the pictures really do move and come to life. It's infinitely better than the old style moving pictures which really only gave two different pictures. This looks like actual movement and is fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2013
i wasn't crazy about this 3-D book, but my grand nephew was.
He is entralled by the Star Wars stories and the book makes one come to life when it moves
from one scene to another.
He can pretend to be the one making things move.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.