Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You may want to wait.
It has been confirmed that the missing episodes of the clone wars series will air in 2014. I can already see the inevitable double dip re-release of this set on the horizon.

Case in point: Clone Wars fans will get some closure next year, as Filoni has revealed through his Facebook page:

Star Wars fans – I have some exciting news! We have...
Published 8 months ago by Edward Figueroa

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Formatting Errors/Audio Sync/Defective Season 5
I quite enjoy the actual show itself, unfortunately, this particular product has a host of issues. The Blu Ray disks are set up in some strange format which makes them unviewable on certain Blu Ray players or even my PC. There are multiple audio sync problems which are very irritating, and Season 5 does not function at all. Apparently these issues are fairly...
Published 7 months ago by Monty


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You may want to wait., October 27, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It has been confirmed that the missing episodes of the clone wars series will air in 2014. I can already see the inevitable double dip re-release of this set on the horizon.

Case in point: Clone Wars fans will get some closure next year, as Filoni has revealed through his Facebook page:

Star Wars fans – I have some exciting news! We have wrapped production on all of the remaining Star Wars: The Clone Wars episodes, and while that might be sad news in one way, it’s good news in another. It means you will finally get to see them. When, exactly, is a detail I cannot yet share. I can confirm that in early 2014 you will be watching the final episodes of The Clone Wars, including one of Master Yoda’s most challenging missions. So, get ready. We’ve got Clone Wars and Rebels coming at you in 2014. Animated Star Wars is alive and well. Trust in the Force my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massive 14-Disc Set for Clone Wars Fans, September 8, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Seasons one through five of Star Wars: The Clone Wars animated series are included. There are 22 episodes per season (except Season 5 which has 20 episodes). This Blu-ray collection is absolutely massive spanning 14-discs! The 14-disc BD set is identical to the 19-disc DVD collection. The picture and audio quality are great in this release. Clone Wars fans are sure to love this set because it comes loaded with bonus materials. There is roughly 5-8 minutes of featurettes per episode. Total bonus content is over 7 hours. Season six episodes are not included.

Special Features:
Director's cut episodes
Deleted and alternate scenes
Cast and crew interviews
Making-of materials
Collectible 54-page Art of the Clone Wars booklet that features never-before-published artwork and episode guide.
Video Resolution/Codec: 1080p/AVC MPEG-4 | Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Buy this Blu-ray Collector's Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great set, October 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I won't talk about the actual show because I imagine most people reading this already know that the Clone Wars is Star Wars done right. However, what I think bears mentioning is that Lucasfilm really created a great collector's edition here. First, the packaging is wonderful and really manages to incorporate many of the characters from the show. Second, the Art of the Clone Wars book is a wonderful look at the series and something we'd been clamoring for since the The Art of Star Wars: The Clone Wars was first released. The included episode guide should also help fans who want to watch episodes in chronological order and not the order in which the episodes were aired. Finally, I applaud the pricing - this set is very cheap for 5 seasons of television. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Star Wars Entertainment, October 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm a Star Wars fan. However, I purchased this set without having watched the series beforehand. After reading comments about BD-discs not working properly, I briefly tested all seasons 4-5 discs by playing the first 10-20 minutes, with different languages and subtitles. I found no problems at all with my Sony Blu-ray 3D player. I have now watched the first two discs of season 1 without incidents. I expect the rest of the set to play properly but I'd keep an eye for the issues other people are experiencing.

The hardcover box is very attractive, with a metallic finish and textured characters. The extras (graphic art and episode guide) are nice but not very impressive, at least not for a collector's edition. I think the set offers a great value (price-wise) when compared to the individual season sets. The animation and sound are outstanding and the episodes entertaining. The series appears to mature and improve progressively.

For those interested in languages, the discs offer a variety of both sound and subtitles: English, French, German, 2-Spanish options (Spain and Latin America). This is a welcome addition for those who need or want alternatives while watching. Although my first language is Spanish, I prefer watching in English as the voices of the actors somewhat resemble those of the actors in the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Formatting Errors/Audio Sync/Defective Season 5, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I quite enjoy the actual show itself, unfortunately, this particular product has a host of issues. The Blu Ray disks are set up in some strange format which makes them unviewable on certain Blu Ray players or even my PC. There are multiple audio sync problems which are very irritating, and Season 5 does not function at all. Apparently these issues are fairly widespread.

I was willing to let the audio and formatting thing slide, they are relatively minor, but the fact Season 5 doesn't function at all pushed me over the edge. I would not advise purchasing this product until Amazon/Warner Bros get their issues sorted out.

If it actually worked it would be worth the money, I enjoy the series and its awesome to watch in all it's HD glory. Unfortunately, its a $120 TV series that may or may not work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Star Wars Since 1980, August 12, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
In January of 2008, a 12-year-old boy went to his friend's house to watch a movie. The popularity of Star Wars since the release of Revenge of the Sith had been on the decline and superhero movies had begun to take its place in their minds. The boy's friend showed him the movie trailer for Lucasfilm's first animated movie, Star Wars: The Clone Wars. The boy was skeptical. He was there to watch Spider-Man and was convinced that this movie wouldn't count as real Star Wars. The REAL Star Wars was in the comics books that came out each month. But his friend persisted. As the August release date got closer, the friend's bedroom began to fill up with Star Wars: The Clone Wars action figures and Star Wars: The Clone Wars visual guides. The boy's friend even made plans for the two of them to see the movie on opening day. When the boy made camping plans with his family, his friend managed to get pre-release screening tickets so they wouldn't have to delay seeing the movie. Although it seemed an awful lot of effort to put towards seeing a Star Wars spin-off, they went to see the movie all the same.

They both came out of the movie astonished. They spent the whole ride home telling their parents why the movie was better than I, II, and even III. This feeling may have worn off eventually but what didn't is what the movie stood for. The prequel films, as flawed as they were, had the unmistakable "Star Wars DNA" in them that could captivate kids no matter how confused they were. But as hard as the music tried to say otherwise, those movies lacked the life of the originals. The machine had worked so fast that there was no time to bring the same kind of fun that captivated audiences all over the world in the late '70s and 80s.

These two boys were both hooked on the idea of The Clone Wars and that it would be continued in a weekly television series that was starting in the fall. 22 minutes of new Star Wars! Every week! The Clone Wars movie may have had limited success but it succeeded in showing that there were some serious filmmakers out there who still loved and cared about Star Wars enough to bring those stories to the screen. Although the 12-year-old boy's opinion of The Clone Wars movie faded over the years, his opinion of the series never did.

6 years later and I am 18 years old and prouder than ever to call myself a Star Wars fan. The news of Episode VII has created a buzz in the air that I never thought would exist again. But what really saved Star Wars was the spirit of the animated series that had its five-year run on Cartoon Network and reminded its fans what Star Wars really is. Although this review has very little to do with content, I can guarantee that talking about its contents would only spoil the experience.

You can choose your favorite and least favorite stories along the way but what's so incredible is that we now have enough Star Wars to be able to compare like that. The money is a small price to pay considering the hours of pure entertainment that's in store for whoever purchases this gem of a television series. So all fans - of the originals, of the prequels, or of both - strap yourselves in and get ready for the best Star Wars since 1980. These ARE the discs you've been looking for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it., October 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love this series, some parts of it even more than some parts of the movies. I like that there is more character development for the majority of the characters.
Everything is neatly organized in a sturdy box, which is colored in a way that makes the characters shiny and pop out.
All of the disks are held securely in there own place in a center flip holder, with none of those annoying "folders" only holding two disks each.
Overall, a very nice complete set of a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Season 5 on Blu-Ray STILL defective, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Take note that most of the positive reviews here are for the DVD release. The well-publicized Blu-ray load errors for season 5 are still present, and more than likely you won't be able to get the discs for season 5 to load on any device. It also won't matter how many times you exchange it with Amazon. Ultimately you'll be forced to call Warner Bros to get replacement discs, as they've apparently printed up discs for Season 5 that actually work. I have yet to receive mine, but hopefully that will rectify this situation. But if that's not something you're willing to do, then stay way from this set on Blu-Ray and buy it digitally instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Collector's Item for Clone Wars Fans, October 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've bought almost every episode of The Clone Wars on iTunes and watched them several times, and I'm still glad I decided to get the complete series box set. I haven't watched everything in this set yet, but I've watched several episodes and bonus features from multiple seasons, and so far I'm 100% satisfied with my purchase. It's a great price for all five seasons, and includes deleted scenes, featurettes, and other bonus materials that you won't find on starwars.com, Cartoon Network, or anywhere else. In addition, the episodes on blu-ray look great, sound great, and are presented in full anamorphic widescreen (2.35:1 aspect ratio). They air on TV in 1.85:1, so you're seeing the whole picture on blu-ray that they had to crop slightly for TV. There are also director's cut episodes that contain scenes that Cartoon Network censored in the original airing, so a few of the episodes are a bit more intense than you may remember, which older fans like myself may find enjoyable.

The set comes nicely-packaged in a great-looking box, with a handy booklet that lays out which episodes and bonus features are on each disc. It also comes with an all-new book of concept art that has some very neat stuff in it. The only criticism I can think of is that Season 4 is a bit lacking in special features compared to the other seasons. Also, if you already own multiple separate seasons of the show on blu-ray, this complete set doesn't bring anything new to the table except for the packaging and the art book, which is nice but not worth $105 by itself.

If you're a fan of The Clone Wars, and even if you've already watched every episode multiple times like I have, this is one of the best blu-ray purchases you'll ever make. The show itself was already amazing, but with the fantastic blu-ray picture and sound quality, the nice collector's edition packaging, and the wealth of extra content, this is a must-have addition to your Star Wars collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I feel (kinda) cheated., December 12, 2013
This review is from: Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I "upgraded" to this box set from the individual seasons and am a bit disappointed. The hardcover artbook included with this set is roughly the same number of pages (and same size pages) as each of the art booklets that were included in the Season 1 and Season 2 digibooks. So if you had both digibooks, as I did, you already have twice as much artwork as is included in this entire collectors edition. So that begs the question - did the design of this collectors edition play a role in the discontinuation of those digibooks after Season 2? Did they realize the digibooks were outdoing themselves and might trivialize this collectors edition? Whether or not that's the case, one cannot help but wonder - nor help but be dismayed by the mediocrity of this set.

On the upside, the heavily embossed chipboard artbox that this comes in, which admittedly is where the large portion of the manufacturing costs lie, is magnificently done. Truly beautiful. But by skimping so badly on content inside I can't shake the feeling of style over substance.

Whoever is responsible for these packaging and extras decisions either deliberately or incompetently screwed over us loyal customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: The Clone Wars - Seasons 1-5 (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
$149.99 $114.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.