Customer Reviews


489 Reviews
5 star:
 (368)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected.
Just received my Jedi Path Vault package and opened it up. I'll start out by saying that even the exterior packaging is very high quality. It came in a nice black cardboard box within another box, and within that had a wrapper that held the doors shut (which was hard to remove without damaging). Very simple setup - remove a plastic tab that's on the battery compartment...
Published on September 28, 2010 by J. Petersen

versus
117 of 144 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool, but over-all disappointing
For those of us who find the "Clone Wars" series to be an atrocity this book is a grim reminder of what Star Wars has become. The packaging and presentation of "The Jedi Path" is fantastic, and it is an honor to display it because of this fact alone. The content, however, leaves much to be desired. The comments in the margins are a little elementary for my tastes. One...
Published on November 2, 2010 by TyMo214


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected., September 28, 2010
By 
J. Petersen (Columbus, Ohio) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just received my Jedi Path Vault package and opened it up. I'll start out by saying that even the exterior packaging is very high quality. It came in a nice black cardboard box within another box, and within that had a wrapper that held the doors shut (which was hard to remove without damaging). Very simple setup - remove a plastic tab that's on the battery compartment and it's ready to go. Pushing down on the button does exactly as described. The vault doors slowly open, and the door rises to some nice sound effects and blue LED backlighting. The cover of the book is a nice leather (probably faux leather) bound jacket, and the pages all have the appearance of being hand cut. Inside the book, there was a coin, a used napkin, and an iron-on patch as per the description. Overall, I'm glad I spent the money on this, it seems like it's a great collector's piece, well worth the steep price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use the Force, you must...., September 11, 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path (Hardcover)
I just picked up this book a few days ago, and I must say....I'm really impressed. It not only garners information on the Jedi, the temple, the philosophies, but it gives insights into the characters starting with Yoda. The introduction by Luke Skywalker, from the Yavin 4 academy; shows the history of the book, and how it was passed down from Jedi to Jedi. It features many different "notes," handwritten anecdotes (by the different Jedi who possessed the book) that are humorous and insightful. The illustrations are helpful, and they detail weapons, ships and techniques that Jedi often use. It also has different lightsaber hilts, styles and such.

A breakdown of the book:

Part 1-Introduction to the Jedi Order
This part contains information on the Jedi Code (there is no death, there is the Force) and much needed history of the Jedi. The book is written well before the events of Eps1-6, so much of the information on the current activities are absent. Yoda even comments "Updated, this section should be." Whereupon Dooku says, "So update it, old one!" Another hilarous note, Yoda comments on knowing Grand Master Fae Coven (author of the Jedi Code chapter) as a youngling, and Ahsoka comments "Yoda was a youngling?!"

Part 2-Jedi Initiate

This section deals with "younglings" (as seen in Ep2) and how they begin their studies. It also features the trials needed to be undertaken for advancement into padawan status. It also details the three pillars of the Jedi (Force, knowledge and self-discipline). This section has many valuable insights into the minds of Dooku, Anakin and Obi-Wan.

Part 3-Jedi Padawan

Next up, this section deals with many aspects of training, lightsaber combat styles and building a lightsaber. It also mentions the cultures and politics of the Republic, as well as the Trials and Knighting ceremony. This section has a LOT of notes, and some notes by Sidious. It is interesting to note that Anakin mentions "phrik" deposits on Gromas (and should mention it to Supreme Chancellor Palpatine). This is the site of one level of "Dark Forces" (the PC/PSX game) and you blow it up. Also, Sidious mentions that the "Outbound Flight project" was a "Jedi failure," to which Luke responds that they are alive in the unknown regions (Luke and the New Republic found the survivors of the Outbound Flight project some years AFTER the Battle of Endor, and Luke had "The Jedi Path" at this point). Extremely interesting.

Part 4-Jedi Knight

This includes the roles and duties of Jedi Knights, the three basic classes (consular, sentinel and guardian), Alter abilites, advanced lightsaber techniques and taking on padawan learners. Also, it has a brief history of the Sith, and the dangers of the Dark Side. It also has the requirements of being a Master and Grand Master, as well as a short brief on transcending death (apparently Anakin didn't really read this section while in possession of this book. Luke's comments on this are fascinating).

Overall, I would give this book a 5 out of 5. The production value is awesome, and the information is enlightening. I would recommend this book for any fan. Add it to your collection, and you won't be disappointed. Also, if you are a fan of the Saga Edition of the Star Wars RPG, this book will really enhance your game sessions. The information is presented in easy-to-reference manner, all you have to do is look up the title heading. It will give your Jedi characters different views on the Jedi themselves, as well as much-needed lightsaber combat forms. Get it, read it, enjoy it. Kudos to Daniel Wallace and the team for creating a high-quality, multi-purpose book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "lost" treasure from "a galaxy far, far away", October 2, 2010
By 
L. W. Swint (Detroit, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..."

I had the happy opportunity to attend the 2010 Star Wars Celebration V in Orlando, Florida, which is a joyful event for any lover of the Star Wars Saga. While blissfully browsing through the huge dealer's room on the first day, I came across a particular display table surrounded by fellow Star Wars fans uttering exclamations of "Oh, that is cool!" and "Wow! That's sweet!" Making my way through the gathering of people, I reached the table to find two lovely young ladies presenting a unique item to an enraptured audience. Before me on their display table was a rectangular metal box embossed on its top with an artistic rendering of two hands gripping a light saber. One young lady smiled and directed me to press the button beneath the artwork. I did, and with the sound of air being released, the top of the box divided into two sections and opened. Within the box, a whinning sound could be heard as a small blue/gray leather-bound book was slowly elevated above the two open metal casings, illuminated with tiny blue lights. On the book's cover were the words, "The Jedi Path," along with the elegant wings and light saber symbol of the Jedi Order, surrounded by an ornate art nouveau-like design. My immediate response was, "Oh, that is cool!"

That afternoon, I attended a panel called "The Making of the Jedi Path," where some of the book's creators described the process of making this special Star Wars book. Unfortunately the book's author, Daniel Wallace, was unable to attend due to plane trouble. I had read about the planned release of the book earlier this year and was intrigued by the idea, but my con experience had me really excited about its publication. At the end of the panel, all the panel's attendees were gracious enough to autograph a flyer promoting the book for me. At the end of my first fun day at the Celebration, the first thing I did when I returned to my hotel was ask my friend, who was sharing the con experience with me, could I borrow her lap top computer so I could pre-order this "cool, sweet" work of Star Wars merchandise!!

While the "Vault" is the most immediate selling point of this collectible, the book it holds, "The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force," reveals itself to be an enchanting journey into the history of the Star Wars galaxy and its remarkable guardians, the Jedi Knights. It is a book that Star Wars fans will find a fascinating and fun experience. "The Jedi Path" is more than just a how to manual in Jedi training. It also delves into the ancient origins of the spiritual order's long history, the foundations of its philosophy, their bond with the mysterious energy field the Force, their relationship with the galaxy they protect, and also the continuing conflict the Jedi had with the temptations of the Dark Side of the Force and their ancient enemies the Sith.

The most fun aspect of "The Jedi Path" is the design idea of it being a tome handed down through generations of Star Wars characters, some of whom left not only their individual written impressions in the book but also actual physical items as well; captions and keepsakes from such characters as Yoda, Thame Cerulian (who left a "Jedcred" coin), Count Dooku, Qui-Gon Jinn (whose Padawan braid can be found within the book), Obi-Wan Kenobi (who sketched a light saber design on a napkin from Dex's Diner seen in Star Wars Episode II), his complex apprentice, Anakin Skywalker (who left behind a Jedi Starfighter patch), Ahsoka Tano (featured in the Clone Wars animated series), Luke Skywalker (who provides a historical preface for the book), along with other tantalizing inserts. Even Emperor Palaptine, the tyrannical ruler of the Star Wars Galaxy during the Original Trilogy of films, marks passages in the book, gleefully gloating over his murderous defeat of the Jedi Order in "Revenge of the Sith."

"The Jedi Path" is also richly illustrated by a number of gifted artists, displaying various elements of Jedi lore and legends. They include Paul Allan Ballard, Jeff Carlisle, and Tommy Lee Edwards. But I feel very special mention should go to the book's designer, Rosanna Brockley. She has created a beautiful addition to the ever expanding Star Wars library of books, and this particular Star Wars fan was very impressed with her work.

"The Jedi Path" was a joy to discover, a joy to read and is a Star Wars book I will sincerely treasure. It comes very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 144 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool, but over-all disappointing, November 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those of us who find the "Clone Wars" series to be an atrocity this book is a grim reminder of what Star Wars has become. The packaging and presentation of "The Jedi Path" is fantastic, and it is an honor to display it because of this fact alone. The content, however, leaves much to be desired. The comments in the margins are a little elementary for my tastes. One reviewer stated that the comments capture the characters personalities very well, and I suppose that is the problem. The personalities in the "new" Star Wars are so simplified that these comments do capture them perfectly. The fact that Asokha Tano's words are right along side those of Masters Yoda and Kenobi is a bit off putting to me. When I saw her refer to Anakin as "Sky-guy" in the text I had to put the book down and do something else for a while. Anakin's words, of course, come off as petulant and whiney, and further undermine the "Legend" of Anakin Skywalker that I grew up wanting to see and read about.

I don't regret this purchase at all, but I do wish that "The Jedi Path" was a bit more serious in tone and the margin scrawling had been left out or at least limited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun collector piece, October 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I pre-ordered this as a treat to myself. It is a fun collector's edition. The one thing is the price, but you get what you paid for- at about $65, not $100 as listed on the box.! The vault works smoothly and the effect is evocative. The sound is a bit overdone, but by removing the battery, it works without the lights and sound. The inserted extras are clever, especially Qui Gon's padawan braid, and put you in the Star Wars universe.

The book itself is well written. the illustrations are beautiful and colorful. The comments by the previous 'owners' are clever and fun. Makes me want to read more about the Force.

A perfect gift for a Jedi fan or collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alright, February 21, 2012
By 
lbshutes (Phoenix, Az USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm glad I waited for this to go on sale before purchasing as a birthday gift for my husband.
He saw it in the store when it came out and his eyes lit up until he saw the price tag.

I was a little disappointed in the quality of the "vault". It seemed more like a toy for an 8 year old.

The box was large, the book was tiny.

But, I suppose if you're a Star Wars fan, this is a must have. Just wait for a good sale :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty awesome, September 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is essentially a book, The Jedi Path, stuck in a big plastic box. When you hit the button the doors retract and a panel lifts the book out. It also makes noises vaguely reminiscent of Han Solo coming out of the carbon freezing chamber, and blue LEDs light up. Can't get much cooler than that, can it?

The book itself is covered in faux-leather and has a weathered look that makes it appear to be the beat up relic it's supposed to be. It describes various aspects of Jedi service, from the Code to lightsaber styles and equipment. It's illustrated in full color and has thick ragged-edged pages. It also includes several inserts like a Jedcred and half-burned poster of the Code. Notes in the margins by various owners add some amusing insights to the content. You can actually get this book separately, without the inserts, if that's all that interests you.

On to the case. This is what makes this really cool. It's plastic and runs on 3 AAA batteries. The doors and platform are spring loaded, so the batteries are just for the sound effects and lighting. The box is much deeper than the book and pretty large and hefty, as the dimensions indicate. It's quite a sturdy build and has inlaid patterns on the top. One thing I did notice, however, is that the sound effects occasionally go off without you pushing the button. After having the wits scared out of me at 3 in the morning, I took the batteries out. It still works fine without it, just doesn't have the lights and sound.

This is the perfect gift for any Star Wars fanatic, regardless of age. It's also a perfect example of the sort of thing that eBooks will never replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This set ROCKS!!!!, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Length:: 0:44 Mins

I have to say that I have been eyeballing this book ever since it hit shelves. A little steep at $100, but it was amazing.

I had decided to start saving up change and whatnot to get this. $100 can be saved up rather easily. Then I found it here for $57!!! Much more affordable.

There is a version out now that is just the book, but let me tell you, it is worth the extra money for the Vault edition. I know it is just plastic with springs and timed sound effects, but it just makes reading the thing so much more enjoyable.

Within the pages of the book are explanations for different things we have heard discussed in the movies and other series, with sometimes comical notes written by other students who have used this book (Yoda, Ahsoka, Luke) and comes complete with missing pages that had been ripped out by a former student. It also has 8 removable items ranging from a lightsaber sketch on a napkin to your Padawan braid that has been cut off as you progressed beyond that rank.

Again, this is a great set. You will love this. Your kids will love this. Everyone will love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some what disappointing..., December 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased this item for my husband for Christmas this year. Knowing how much of a Star Wars fan he was and that it was one of the few things he really wanted. I figured that it would be a safe bet. I can not deny the presentation of the book with the vault is impressive. Online at least. Christmas day when my husband opened it he was geeked. When we looked it over. We found that the product wasn't exactly as they had presented online. The book sadly was not hardcover like they had stated. It was firm at best. Bends easily without much trouble. The hardcover edition at the local Barnes and Nobles was better quality. The vault after the first cycle of use (opening) found that you have to manually close. In which the doors no longer close shut completely like it originally came. A small gap can be found between them. My husband was happy enough with it that justified from returning it. He has the Sith book with vault on pre-order now. I fear that we will have the same kind of quality. One left to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Star Wars fans, March 11, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path (Hardcover)
If you have a strong aversion to the EU and any reference to it, you probably won't like this book. If, however, you have been curious to learn more about the Jedi Order, it's trials, specialties, philosophy, etc. this is the book for you.

The production quality of this book (for only $12 on Amazon) is really astounding. You get a lot of content for a very good price. There are wonderful illustrations, there are lots of fun and interesting notes in the book from various characters from the movies and EU, and the author shows his considerable knowledge of the Star Wars universe throughout the pages of this book.

If I had any criticisms of the book, it would be why would the Jedi still be using a text created a 1000 years before the Battle of Yavin (BBY) around 150-100 BBY? Certainly they have the resources to print more books with regularly revised editions rather than force 5-6 generations of padawans to use their master's old copy? Perhaps that is indicative of how they were set in their old ways and thus didn't adapt to changing circumstances that ultimately led to their undoing when Sidious overthrew them. Also, while most of the notes in the margins are brilliant, some of them could have used a little more work. Sometimes they repeat almost word for word something already in the text, either what the user underlined right next to the comment or a nearly identical phrase appears in the very next paragraph. That is only a minor quibble, however, for most of the notes are well-done and all capture the personality of the character who wrote them very, very well.

So, despite the above paragraph inserted for the sake of objectivity, I strongly recommend this book. It is one of those must have guides to the galaxy that go above and beyond and really try to present a faithful in-universe exploration of the Star Wars galaxy (in this sense the book is very similar to the "dewback-hide" covered book about animal life in the Star Wars universe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: The Jedi Path
Star Wars: The Jedi Path by Daniel Wallace (Hardcover - September 7, 2011)
$19.95 $11.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.