Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives me valuable backround in to the Era
When I heard this was going on sale I admit I immediately preordered, and having received it Monday afternoon and read it front to back I can honestly say I got my money's worth and more.

The Book itself covers several topics including The Republic, The Empire, seperate sections for the Jedi and Sith, as well as an entire section on the Hutts, Mandalorians and...
Published on October 10, 2012 by Ian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool artwork but not enough of it
Some very cool artwork but a lot of images just taken straight from the game. The game's graphics weren't amazing enough that I want a book full of them.
Published 12 months ago by Bryce Hierlihy


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives me valuable backround in to the Era, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
When I heard this was going on sale I admit I immediately preordered, and having received it Monday afternoon and read it front to back I can honestly say I got my money's worth and more.

The Book itself covers several topics including The Republic, The Empire, seperate sections for the Jedi and Sith, as well as an entire section on the Hutts, Mandalorians and the criminal elements of the Galaxy. Towards the end of the book it covers all planets currently in the game with one planet every two pages.

As a Roleplayer this has provided me with valuable insight in to the era that The Old Republic is set in, as well as source material to fill in gaps in my information. It outlines Imperial and Republic military rank structure, the ideologies behind both the Republic and Empire, as well as philosophies and structure of the Jedi Order and Sith.

In addition to the above it includes several biographies of key figures we've seen throughout the game like Darth Malgus, and it also has a summed up play by play of the class stories and an overview of the class itself (So maybe skip over the classes you haven't played!)

All in All I've gotten every dime out of this book that I was hoping to.

Be warned, this book is a cofee table book and reads most comfortably resting in your lap or on a table.

The Dust Cover is removeable and the hardcover underneath is just as well designed and artistic as the dust cover itself without the writing getting inthe way of the art

Must Buy for any enthusiast of Star Wars interested in this Era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome addition to the Star Wars Expanded Universe, October 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I've been playing The Old Republic since launch last year, and one of my favorite aspects is the great storytelling, and enrichment of the Star Wars lore. On a whim I decided to check out this book (since Amazon had a great price) and overall I'm very impressed with the quality and content. The book is big and heavy with thick, quality stock paper and vivid imagery and art. The book covers everything from the history of the galactic conflict, to individual notes about the classes and races in the game. I particularly enjoyed the history background prior to the timeline in-game, and was previously only hinted at in the game's cinematics. The book adds more depth and explanation about the return of the Sith, and the sacking of Coruscant.

If you're a fan of the game you will love this book. It serves as a great companion to further enrich the story and characters you experience in the game. If you're a fan of Star Wars, but never played the game, this book serves as a great introduction to the timeline and what happened before the Prequels.

Overall I highly recommend this book to all fans of Star Wars. It's easily worth the money and should be a must have for players of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Guide to The Old Republic, October 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Star Wars: The Old Republic Encyclopedia is a massive book full of useful information. It covers history, game events, species, worlds, spaceships and more. Throughout the entire book is a wide array of artwork that's visually impressive. Quite simply, there's a lot to like in this encyclopedia.

First off, the book covers a lot of ground. Near the front, there is a timeline covering events from the reign of the Infinite Empire in 30,000 BBY all the way to the breaking of the Treaty of Coruscant in 3,640 BBY. At the end, there's a 24 page guide to alien species (18 pages for sentient species, 6 pages for non-sentient), a 4 page guide to droids, a 60 page guide to planets, and a two page teaser for where The Old Republic MMO will be heading next. In between is 230 pages of history and overview of every faction loaded with interesting details. There is information on ships, military ranks, important individuals, weapons, game events, unit sizes, etc. It's just about everything you need to know to be well versed in every aspect of the game. As a non-gamer, I found it to be extremely useful in familiarizing myself with what happens in the game and its impact on the greater EU.

Beyond all the information is a ton of artwork and imagery. Every page is littered with concept art, paintings, illustrations, and a lot of game stills and screen shots. Many of the pictures are in the form of full, two page spreads. It's worth noting that the artwork in the TOR: Encyclopedia is very different from the artwork in a book like The Essential Reader's Companion. For one thing, much of the artwork in the Encyclopedia is computer models and scenery, where as The Reader's Companion used extensive paintings. That's not to say there aren't any paintings or illustrations in the Encyclopedia, but it's only about 10 to 15% of the total. However a lot of the computer imagery looks very nice and isn't a loss at all. The negative factor would be the extensive use of computer models for the characters which don't come anywhere near the level of visual splendor of actual illustrations.

The format of the book is also worth mentioning. The Encyclopedia is big. It's actually bigger than The Essential Atlas and over twice as thick. The size is pretty much identical to The Complete Visual Dictionary (but thicker). There's also a similarity between the bindings of the two books. As an added bonus, the dusk jacket comes off to reveal a fully colored cover with identical cover art (minus the lettering). Overall the book's format and binding was very impressive.

For Star Wars fans who love reference books, The Old Republic Encyclopedia is a must buy. It covers a little of everything. Really, it's like your standard set of essential guides all boiled down into a condensed collection where everything relates to the MMO game. Since I haven't played the game, I can't speak for gamers, but I would imagine they might find it useful if they have any interest in learning more about the Star Wars universe. With a high level of visual quality, a very nice hardcover binding, and tons of info, it's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I'll need to purchase another copy as I drooled all over my book when I flipped through it last night! I cannot think of any other book I've purchased that is as well put together. This book is a masterpiece! The book is big, thick and heavy. Each page is a work of art; well laid out and full of information. No space is wasted or purposeless. I could not read a lot of it due to spoilers since I have not read all the books and comics, and have only played the Imperial Agent in SWTOR. The Old Republic era is a fantastic period of Star Wars history with 1,000s of stories yet to be told through the game, books and comics. This book is a MUST for anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the name "Encyclopedia" with incredible detail, October 17, 2012
By 
Steve BDF (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
With a book this big, the layout and format is important. Fortunately, the SWTOR Encyclopedia does a good job with this. A detailed table of contents at the front of the book gives readers an immediate feel for the different chapters and sections. Notes from the authors discussing spoilers and "How to use this book" also help make it seem less intimidating. In the back, there is a full index of every person, place, or thing covered and their page numbers as well. The top right corner of each page also has a colored square with the chapter name. This simple feature makes flipping through pages looking for a particular section fast and easy.

The content layout can be broken down into four main sections: Timeline, Factions, Species and Planets. The bulk of the information is contained in the factions section, including overviews of all the playable classes, information about important characters in the SWTOR setting, and story related details.

The SWTOR Encyclopedia is exactly what any diehard fan can hope for. A beautiful comprehensive book that accounts the events within Star Wars: The Old Republic and documents important aspects with an incredible amount of detail. Not only does the book include all the facts and details one could hope for, but also each page includes amazing artwork that complements the information. The accompanying art includes concept art, pieces borrowed from other sources, stylized paintings, and in-game footage. For players who have enjoyed the game up to this point and want a tangible piece of its history to remember it by, the Encyclopedia is the perfect addition to their home library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey Back to the Days of the Old Republic, October 16, 2012
By 
Dax S. Torres (Waukegan, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Fans of the Old Republic rejoice!!! This book filled with many images, details and other goodies is the book you've been waiting for. This MASSIVE sized Encyclopedia will be the gem of your SW book collection. While I would have liked a few pages dedicated solely to the key characters of the game, this book really doesn't disappoint me in any way shape or form.

The only thing that would have made it better is if they gave a few more pages to the KOTOR games of yesteryears that set up this grand series. Once can only hope they do one for that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for any SWTOR Player, October 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
For anyone curious about the game Star Wars: The Old Republic (SWTOR), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (KOTOR), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords (KOTOR II), or any of the media from that time period in the Star Wars universe, this is a must have. It only collects and presents the various information in an easily readable format, but provides so much background for SWTOR.

If you are fan of SWTOR or are curious about the game, pick this up, you will not be disappointed. This book provides a lot of background for the game, but expands on the game with more details that while available, you don't have be looking at computer screen. You can be curled up in bed with a nice cup of hot chocolate and read about the vast universe of Star Wars 3,500 years before the movies and the epic game created by BIoWare, Electronic Arts (they can do things right at times people), and LucasArts.

This book is truly a must have if you are serious about SWTOR as it expands your knowledge, making you stronger. Remember "[t]here is no ignorance, there is knowledge" or "knowledge is power" depending on your side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well executed reference, March 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Very nice reference for the Star Wars universe. This is not a game guide. If you haven't yet finished the story lines for TOR, be warned that spoilers abound. Still nice to have, I just skip over areas that I have not yet discovered in game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, colorful and fun, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
SWToR's Encyclopedia fills in the gaps of story between KoToR 1 and 2 and the MMO while also embellishing of the history of the Jedi and Sith and expanding on the 8 class stories played through in the game. There are some spoilers through out the book but now that the game has been out a year, much of the class story twist and turns are pretty common knowledge.

This book is large, with a hard cover and beautiful dust jacket. The art is lovely. A great book to have on a coffee or end table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explore the history of Star Wars, December 17, 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Star Wars The Old Republic was released in 2011 as a multiplayer online role playing game. Though we are not familiar with the game itself, I thought the book would be a great addition to our Star Wars library as we have some comic books related to The Old Republic. In this book, you will get an up-close-and-personal view of the characters, places, and things found in the popular game. But it will also give you a new perspective of the events leading to the famous movies.

The book has nine major sections through which you can discover more about The Old Republic of Star Wars before the conflicts seen in the movies and the Clone Wars television series.

The Republic - Learn all you need to know about the Republic.
The Jedi Order - This section will highlight all you always wanted to know about the Jedi Order.
The Sith Empire - What is this empire of the Sith? Where did it came from? What is their objective? Discover the archenemy of the Jedi Order.
The Sith - The Dark Side of the force is strong with these people. Discover who the Sith are in this section.
Mandalorians - Learn more about the Mandalorians and how they were forged by war.
The Underworld - Organized crime, bounty hunter, smugglers,... This is life in the underworld where money is power and information is survival.
The Hutt Cartel - Learn everything you can about the Hutts.
Species - Discover the sentient species, non-sentient species and droids of Star Wars The Old Republic.
Planets - In this section, you will learn everything about the planets.
As you can see there is quite of lot of reading in this book. With over 350 pages of information on the Star Wars The Old Republic, you will be in good shape to play the online role playing game or simply know more about the history of Star Wars. The images contains in this book are beautifully drawn, colorful and sometimes comes from the game itself. The text will inform you of the history of Star Wars and help you in dealing with your adversaries in the game. You will discover more about the people, planets, ships, enemies, battle gears and more through this book.

The book is packed with interesting tidbit of information about the Star Wars The Old Republic. Not only this is part of the history of Star Wars but it also explain the origins of numerous things in the movies and the Clone Wars. The war between good and evil has been raging for a long time in the Star Wars realm.

If you have a loved one who is a die-hard fan of Star Wars or one who has just discover the Star Wars world, I think this book would be very interesting for them. Not everyone plays the online role playing game but this book can be an eye opener on the historical information of Star Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia
Star Wars: The Old Republic: Encyclopedia by Ian Ryan (Hardcover - October 15, 2012)
$40.00 $34.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.